What is your take on this? How do you see couples having besties aside from each other? Or having opposite gender besties? Is your bestie your gender? Do you have problems with your spouse or lover having another bestie aside from you?
Tuesday, March 10, 2026
15 comments:

A married man or woman to having a bestie of the opposite gender… I don’t support that at all.
ReplyDeleteI mean, why can’t your partner be your bestie?
If even if you had one before getting married, there should be boundaries now. Give yourself sense ni
I have besties oh or should I say really close friends outside my husband. Most of them are ladies, both single and married and only one of them is a man and he’s also married now!
ReplyDeleteFor my female besties, we talk oh, we talk and If anyone have issues (even marital), they never fail to tell me and I’m sure I will discuss if (God forbid), I ever have.
For my male bestie, we are still close till date but boundaries were unintentionally established! Let’s say there’s something really important I need to call him about at an hour I don’t deem appropriate, I would call his wife instead (yes, his wife and I also have some kind of relationship and he also has some sort of friendship with my husband) and ask if he was available for me to speak with.
I am not of the school of thought that because u are married, your partner should be your only best friend! This particular thing has made a lot of women alienate their friends after marriage and then regret it later.
Your partner should be your bestie but there’s no rule that says you can’t have other besties.
If I'm not enough for you then oga abeg dey go front. Which one is bestie again? Bestie, bestie, peant go shift. Lol
ReplyDeleteIt is the easiest way for partners to drift apart. Reason we say marry your friend. If your bestie was that important why did you not marry them? There's no smoke without fire. So many things are left unsaid and hidden in bestie affair relationships.
ReplyDeleteDo people stop being best friends with their besties after marriage?
ReplyDeleteI maintained a relationship with all my friends after marriage, I have very few friends and we've been together long before I met my husband. I can't start cutting them off bcos I'm married, no be my head marriage start.
Lol...... I Remembered I had a bestie(Female) she got married and the husband jokely told her " baby I dey fear this your bestie oooo"
ReplyDeleteI noticed they mostly discussed me @ home....most especially her husband& I got the memo.
Putting myself in his shoes.....
I closed the curtain friendly & distanced myself.
Do I blame her husband? NO
BUT JUST BE INTENTIONAL IN EVERYTHING YOU DO.
I fit friend zone you without anything attached.
In Nigeria, the word bestie with the opposite gender, it's meaning and reason have been bastardized, hardly will you see any bestie with genuine reasons, I stated my reasons and personal experiences with having opposite genders as besties in SP, my partner and I, or spouse should be each other's bestie, we can have opposite genders as friends, but boundaries must be set, and no clinginess to each other in disguise of bestie.
ReplyDeleteYou see this bestie of the opposite gender? I never do hm before.
ReplyDeleteTell me you and Paris are taking thing serious?here? Wow
DeleteKeep the friendship. And make them acquaintance with your hubby or make them family friends.
ReplyDeleteDon't forget to observe the boundaries. You can only vouch for your self
In my opinion, it's not wrong to have besties. Sometimes we as humans need to talk and mingle to others apart from our partners. My hubby having a female bestie is not a problem to me, just let there be boundaries.
ReplyDeleteHaving close friends outside your partner isn’t inherently wrong, but it becomes risky if boundaries are unclear or ignored. Without them, trust, desire, and responsibility get tangled.
ReplyDeleteSecrecy or over-reliance on someone else is an emotional shortcut - a comfort that undermines honesty and intimacy in your primary relationship. The consequences are subtle but real: your partner feels sidelined, your friend exposed, and you unsettled.
For jolly good people, the right approach is simple yet demanding. Set and maintain clear boundaries. Speak openly with your partner. Prioritise accountability over convenience.
How you navigate this now determines the trust you can cultivate tomorrow. Leaving choices undefined is a decision in itself - one that shapes the stability and respect of every relationship you hold.
So, prioritise your primary relationship far above every other distraction. But keep a robust support team.
Your spouse should be your bestie, you can have other friends but besties should be strictly reserved especially besties of opposite genders.
ReplyDeleteI don see from many experiences when from bestie bestie paent shift on many occasions, sharing too many personal details, spending long hours communicating both physically or otherwise can create a form of attachment that if left unchecked can develop to deep feelings
ReplyDeleteIt depends on individuals. Some people will tell you they can't do ordinary friendship with the opposite gender. They understand themselves and their weaknesses and it's ok if such keeps off.
ReplyDeletePersonally I don't have what can be called a bestie, but i have few good friends of both gender that we've come way back. I believe everyone should maintain the friendships they had before marriage as long as it'snot detrimenta lto your marriage. You should have a life outside being a wife or a husband .
What is important is knowing how to create healthy boundaries. Respect yourself and your partner while maintaining your friendships.