Under MAP, people bought and installed meters themselves because DisCos were not supplying them quickly enough. The rules always required DisCos to refund that money gradually through extra energy credits added to prepaid tokens whenever customers recharge. Many DisCos delayed these refunds for years. Now NERC has stepped in with a fresh order (signed by Chairman Musiliu Oseni and Commissioner Dafe Akpeneye) to fix the problem.
Key points from the directive:
- The full ₦20.33 billion still outstanding must be refunded within 12 months.
- Refunds start automatically from March 1, 2026.
- Credits will come in equal monthly amounts when you buy units—no skipping months and no using the credits to clear old bills or debts.
- The process must be fully automated so customers get the benefit without hassle.
As of December 2025, only about 57% of customers nationwide had proper meters, so this is part of bigger efforts to reduce estimated billing and improve fairness in the power sector.

I hope disco will follow this directives 🙄
ReplyDeleteSo there are people in this country that have sense like this? This is very commendable. We hope it sees the light of day.
ReplyDeleteI bought mine 2020 but no longer stay in that Estate again.
ReplyDeleteI guess whosoever lives there now will benefit from this.
Marie, you're supposed to take your metre along with you if you bought it on a rented apartment. But if it's on your personal building, no problem.
DeleteYou left it there?
DeleteYou were supposed to take it with you unless the owner of the house decided to pay you back.
@ Fair Lady,it was a Rented Apartment.
Delete@ Osundi,Toor we Moved and Left it.
We Moved to A Place that already had A Meter,So We didn't Reason it.
I was getting Text messages till 2023 sef
@ Fair Lady,it was a Rented Apartment.
Delete@ Osundi,Toor we Moved and Left it.
We Moved to A Place that already had A Meter,So We didn't Reason it.
I was getting Text messages till 2023 sef
I dey wait for my own money
DeleteThat's good.Hope the directive will be followed!
ReplyDeleteWow, that's very commendable.
ReplyDeleteI pray they follow the directive
ReplyDeleteIt appears that when you newly get a meter, they always include some charges in the sense that when you recharge, certain amount of money goes to the Disco whatever. It happened twice in this new apartment, as we were each given fresh meters. After recharging for about four times and it going with the flash of lightening, it is now stable.
ReplyDeleteThe so called fresh metres belong to old customers with outstanding outstanding debts. Whenever you recharge, a percentage will be used to offset thatdebt until it's fully paid.
DeleteThis one go be after the second coming of Christ
ReplyDeleteWe bought ours too. Hope we get the refund too. Good one
ReplyDeleteHow do I get mine mbok. I got a 3phased meter last year. 100units accompanied it though
ReplyDeleteGood one!
ReplyDeleteI hope the refund gets to our meter because we payed for it.
Future impossible tense
ReplyDelete🤣🤣
DeleteAPL should come and unlock ours oh.