Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Fausat Balogun Recounts Pre-fame Struggles And How She Stole Food To Survive:

Tuesday, April 07, 2026

Actress Fausat Balogun Recounts Pre-fame Struggles And How She Stole Food To Survive:

Actress Fausat Balogun, who is popularly known as Madam Saje, has opened up about the hardship she faced before fame, and recounts how she once stole food just to survive and acted in films without earning a kobo.

Speaking with The African List, she said the early years of her career was filled with struggle.

In her words, “Anyone who says they don’t face challenges in this job is lying. I suffered a lot in this job. My sufferings have turned to joy.
We went to shoot a movie at a school, didn’t make any money, and came back empty‑handed. We even stole food to survive.
In Oyo State, there was a place where you pay for Amala in one spot and collect soup in another. The little money we had, we would manage to eat. Don’t be faster than your destiny. When your time comes, it will be like you did a money ritual.”

9 comments:

1. Some things are better not said abeg. What if one day singer Portable decides to use this one and bash her

1. Then the shame is on him, for using someone's down moments.

2. Thank God those days are gone.

3. Don’t be faster than your destiny. When your time comes, it will be like you did a money ritual.
    I love this ☝️

4. No pain no gain. I dey gbadun you for movie madam Saje.

5. Fine woman..
    I love watching her movies

6. I was almost in the same situation some weeks ago, I was very hungry to the extent of having stomach cramping, one of my cousins cooked rice and the aroma of the rice was tempting, we don't eat together because they contribute money for feeding and I can't afford the contribution because I have other responsibilities.
    I was literally crying because the hunger was too much and I wanted to save the remaining money with me for the next day to eat, I was tempted to open the pot and take from it or even begged him, but I maintained my dignity and respect my old age.
    Guess what the food was later thrown away after it got spoiled, I was like see food that I didn't have and was very hungry for, is been thrown away, this life is not balanced.

7. Thanks Big Mama Saje.
    That last advice resonate with me. I hear you and I'll wait for God's appointed time.