Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hon Desmond Elliot Explains Why He Signed Notice To Remove Lagos Speaker Obasa

Wednesday, May 20, 2026

Hon Desmond Elliot Explains Why He Signed Notice To Remove Lagos Speaker Obasa

Lagos lawmaker Desmond Elliot has spoken out about why he signed the document to impeach Speaker Mudashiru Obasa in January 2025. He said he was not in the country when the move started and only added his signature after seeing many others had done so.

Desmond Elliot, who represents Surulere Constituency 1, alleged he travelled to South Africa with his wife for his sister in law’s wedding.

The Lagos State House of Assembly was on recess at the time. When he returned, he found out about the impeachment process and felt confused. He noticed that almost all his colleagues had already signed the notice. He thought the action had the support of President Bola Tinubu, so he signed it too.

Later, President Tinubu made it clear that he did not approve the impeachment. He directed the lawmakers to reinstate Obasa as Speaker. They followed the order and reinstated him back.

Desmond Elliot spoke about this during a recent interview on Channels Television’s Sunrise Daily. His comments came after Femi Gbajabiamila, the President’s Chief of Staff, mentioned him in connection with the crisis. Gbajabiamila said the situation nearly cost him his job. Desmond Elliot has since apologized and denied masterminding the impeachment and described Gbajabiamila as his political leader.

And he could not explain all these since to his alleged godfather??? na now morning dey break???? Explaining upandan after loyalties have shifted?explaining after your alleged godfather has publicly disowned you? why wait so long?

11 comments:

1. All these shalaye ko necestri.
    Take a bow Desmond.

2. Let this be a lesson to all those “bandwagons” who never have a mind of their own, or stand for anything. Imagine making a decision not because it is yours but because you saw others do so. This man has zero leadership skills.

3. Desmond give it a rest.

4. These people love the easy money they get from government lmao 🤣

5. Oga go and rest na, allow another person to enter na.. this your explanation is because boring abeg..

6. Spongebob Squarepants20 May 2026 at 15:43

Imagine the people who make laws for us,who knows how many laws he must have appended his signature like this, you go explain taya

7. They no want you for village, you say you get song wey you wan sing, who be the people wey go help you sing am

8. Desmond ediot oops Eliot take your L in peace 😂 you can make your way back to Nollywood if you can still act oh