Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu's COS Gbajabiamila Explains Why He Cut Off Ties With Hon. Desmond Elliot

Friday, May 15, 2026

President Tinubu's COS Gbajabiamila Explains Why He Cut Off Ties With Hon. Desmond Elliot

So this is what happened!!!

Femi Gbajabiamila, Chief of Staff to President Bola Tinubu, has openly shared how he almost lost his important government position in 2025. The reason was the alleged involvement of Lagos State House of Assembly member Desmond Elliot in the crisis that led to the impeachment of Speaker Mudashiru Obasa.

Speaking at an All Progressives Congress (APC) stakeholders’ meeting in Lagos on Thursday, Gbajabiamila explained what happened. He said President Tinubu called him to his residence in Abuja during the height of the Obasa impeachment matter in early 2025. According to Gbajabiamila, the President asked him directly if Desmond Elliot was “his boy.” Gbajabiamila confirmed the relationship, as Desmond Elliot represents Surulere Constituency 1 and has been backed by him for previous terms. 
Tinubu then told him that intelligence reports showed Desmond Elliot was among those causing problems in the Lagos Assembly.

Gbajabiamila said he defended Desmond Elliot at first, telling the President that he was not involved. But the President insisted the reports were clear. Later, the Director-General of the Department of State Services (DSS) also reached out to Gbajabiamila, saying his own name was being linked to the impeachment plot because of his close ties to Elliot. 

He revealed that he urged Desmond Elliot to publicly clear his name and distance himself from the crisis, but Desmond Elliot did not do so. This situation put a serious strain on their relationship.

As a result, Gbajabiamila has withdrawn his support for Desmond Elliot’s bid for a fourth term in the upcoming APC primaries.
He is now backing another aspirant, Barakat Adenuga, for the Surulere seat.

15 comments:

1. I saw Desmond recently, he looks emaciated and sick. God pls heal him of whatever he is going through, forgive his short comings 🙏

2. Surulere, suru laye mi o!!

Dear Desmond can now shoot a movie titled "Surulere"

3. Desmond did himself and they'll surely remove him.

1. E don cast for him be dat
      His political backers have withdrawn their support. He is on his own now
      They have decided to remove him and that is exactly what is going to happen
      Nothing is going to stop them. It is over for him. This is the end of his political career
      If you decide to involve yourself in Nigerian politics, you have to know how to play the game
      You cannot go against your superiors and continue to expect to receive their support. If all they are claiming is true, then he played himself
      Unless you are in a very high untouchable political office, you have to learn to play ball so you do not become a casualty along the dangerous highway of dirty Nigerian politics

4. Please allow him to come back for 4th term.
    Please and please.
    Let him construct a chair for that his wooden bridge he constructed earlier.

5. Is there happiness in this world?
    Desmond, Your public life is like a rags to riches nollywood story. Assin before our eyes, you were elevated to a position whereby you and your family will never know hunger. lack of shelter, lack of clothes etc etc. Your story is so inspirational yet you put hand in treason?
    Again I ask, is there happiness in this life?

1. Your warped sense of perception of him.

6. Good bye to 4th term ticket. The kingmakers in Lagos have cancelled Desmond politically. He can relocate to his home state and rebuild his political career from there.

7. Watched him on TVC recently & he looked so different. Wahala no too much like this? 🥹

8. He should thank God for 12 year in the assembly. He should leave their amala politics for them and do other things or join another party and see how it goes.

9. Desmond is a two faced being. Which is not alien to most Nigerian. His time is up though. 🙄🙄🙄

10. Done and dusted deal
    Des, so pe oti lo

11. Desmond the donator of toilet. Papa portable potty! Foolish young man with no sense of responsibility.

12. In politics, the moment your loyalty shifts away from the person who endorsed or elevated you, you’re often left to stand on your own, especially when that person still holds influence or power over your political future.