Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Boredom Eliminating Post

Friday, July 17, 2026

Boredom Eliminating Post

3 comments:

1. The first time I traveled out of my home country, I was so scared because I have a phobia of flying. I didn’t even stand up to use the restroom out of fear. I held my urine until I got to my destination.
    I prayed like never before on that flight 😂😂😂
    A few days before I returned home, an Air France plane crashed. Omo, fear gripped me ehn. My late sister had to convince me that my trip would be smooth. And it actually was a smooth flight until we got to Lagos and the weather turned terribly bad. We thought the plane was going to crash. People were just screaming and all.
    That experience made me avoid flying for over 10 years.
    I enjoyed my vacation sha😂😂

2. Istanbul, Turkey.

It was my first time outside the country. We were told we would be connecting flights, that is we get to Cairo and then join another flight to Turkey. Amongst us, those who knew better paid more and took Turkish airline direct. Being my first time, I thought we were going to be lodged in a hotel for the waiting hours before the next flight but alas! nothing like that. We got to Cairo and it was good cos we were served dinner upon arrival.

Because of my claustrophobia, I took some sleeping drugs just when we boarded from Abuja, but this fucking drug didnt start working until much much much later. Na stagger i even stagger comot from plane. Nowhere to properly lay my head to sleep. Those who made proper arrangement for themselves were checked into hotels. The rest of us slept about the airport like refugees. Only thing be say the airport neat die.

Turkey is a very beautiful country and her citizens are so beautiful. The men ehnnnn, yummy yummy. The only bad thing be say them no dey speak English. Our instructor, abi wetin them dey call them, could speak fluent English and he served as the interpreter. All the factories we visited were all well organised. They work in shifts. About three or four shift. We didnt see anyone on their phones. They were all focused on work.

Yeye me told myself i was gonna search for African restaurants because the food i was seeing ehn.... Did I find any? We found one but when they told us a plate of fufu and egusi soup was going to about one hundred dollars, we retraced out steps. We were entitled to breakfast at the hotel. E get one Muslim babe wey dey with us. Her jacket get plenty compartments. She was storing food there. Na so we sef begin copy her. We will carry leather (nylon) to the restaurant. Collect this one, keep. Collect that one, keep. Mostly snacks (chai, the cupcakes suffer for my hands ooo). We go pack snacks and fruits wey go last us for the whole day. Lol. The chinese there, their own na eggs. One person fit pack like 10 eggs, chop am there.

Highlight of everything was when I got lost at the mall. We went for shopping at the open market and when I saw that i still had some money (lira) left, I decided to go to the mall with one lady and our instructor. She went with the instructor to the child section and we agreed to meet at a spot. When I was done with shopping, I went to wait at that spot. I waited ooo, they didnt show. I went to where they went but didnt find them. Haba. Two hours, three hours and counting. I didnt even know how to converse with the people. It was getting dark. I was trying to get them on the phone but for some reasons, it was not connecting. I started crying. I called 911, language barrier again. They could only understand the name of the hotel, Pullman hotel. They could not explain to me how to get there. I just sat outside and told myself any how e wan be, make e be. Then a guy approved me and we started talking with a phone interpreter. He said he will help me but I should wait till he is done with shopping. As he entered, na so my people come out, saying them dey look for me sef. E pain me say they no let me meet my new turkish friend but its all good.

I still have some Turkish currency (Lira) with me.

3. Never travelled out of Naija before, but I have been to MMIA several times to see off and receive people, and I can attest to the fact that our international airport is very fine especially at night, to travel outside Naija go dey hungry person, especially that departure area where dem go check everi everi wey dey person hands. Chai, God when?