Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Drama King Teejay's CORNER

Sunday, August 30, 2026

Drama King Teejay's CORNER

Earlier this week I walked down my street to buy banana. The seller told me it was ₦2,000 for the banana. I picked up one of it to check if it wasn’t soft and overripe, and in the process one fell off the bunch onto the table.

I picked it up and told her I’d pay by transfer since I didn’t have cash. Immediately she pointed me to a POS operator or if I transfer to her, I’d have to add the charges. I got upset. I told her I have someone else I buy from and I pay by transfer without additional money as charge. She said, “But you’ve cut one already, you have to buy it.”
I said I had no problem buying it, but I didn’t have the extra ₦100 for charges.

She said no problem I should send the money for the banana. As I was about to transfer, a gentle thought came to my heart: “What’s ₦100 you’re struggling with this woman over?” So I asked, “Where’s the POS?” I went, made a withdrawal, and paid her cash. As I was leaving, she smiled and said, “Thank you, sir.” That “thank you” hit me. I asked myself would she have said it with that same warmth if I’d insisted on transfer without the charge?

I felt like giving her some extra money, but I told myself I’d do it another time. I didn’t have much on me. This wasn’t just a woman. She was a mother. I saw her child sitting in the cold weather. Looking at her table, I’d estimate everything there was worth less than ten thousand naira. So why would I be bargaining over ₦100 with her? Is it because she’s not a young, charming lady whose smile alone would make me say, “Just keep the change”?

What hurts me the most is how we treat these women who are struggling to feed their children through small roadside businesses, not even in a shop. We bargain down the price of what they’re selling. And sadly, they agree, because they have no choice. They can’t afford to let those goods spoil in their hands. Most times, these women stay out till 10pm just to make sales so their family can eat. And the worst part is, even the little profit they make can’t cook a proper meal for themselves. Ironically, sometimes the things we buy after bargaining with these women are even better than some of the things we buy at the mall or big shops without negotiating at all.

We can all make a difference and put smiles on the faces of these women. Especially when we know the price they’re offering is fair, let’s not bargain them down and force them to sell at a loss. If we’re moved to, we can also support them by giving a little extra cash or simply leaving our change with them. The excitement in their eyes and the prayers they’ll say for us in that moment will mean more to us than the few naira we let go.

Finally, it doesn’t matter if a seller has a POS in their shop. If you’re being asked to add a charge to your payment for whatever goods you purchase, please don’t feel bad. With a POS, whatever money you pay into it has a small fraction deducted from the owner’s account by the bank. That’s why the extra charge is necessary.

Also, the POS business is usually separate from the main business. It runs on its own. Unless the business owner says you don’t need to add the operational charge, it’s fair for them to ask for it. And if they do ask, they haven’t done anything wrong.

11 comments:

1. Hmmm, I totally agree with you. One day I was bargaining for a bottle of groundnut around Surulere stadium, my husband was like buy this thing let us go , can you stand in the sun to sell. Since that day I stopped pricing anyhow but some can be funny and hike the price when they see a car . Just try to buy averagely.

2. I agree with you TJ, once i patronise your shop and you add charges on it if i want to use POS, i always pay for the extra charge.

3. You did well
    But to be truthful, from my experience, some of these roadside sellers hike their prices more than what we buy in the stores. I remember trying to buy a roll of viva detergent that I buy in the store for 1800(4 packs in a roll, #480 per one), the roadside woman said hers was 2200, 550 per one.
    I just left her and walked into a store nearby and saved extra #400..
    Most of us are also struggling like these roadside women, the difference is that we cannot all sell by the roadside, we do different hustling to survive.

4. Same ppl wey go cheat you wen you dey buy grains and tomatoes with special arrangement

5. You did well. I don't bargain too much with many of these mama. I know they're shouldering many expenses.

6. Some of them don't pity themselves, they harvest children like water and struggle extremely to carter for them. Mrs O

7. You did well Teejay 👍🏾

8. I don’t bargain unless it is in a shop.