Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Monalisa Chinda Gives Hope To Kiri-Kiri Inmates....Bless!

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Monalisa Chinda Gives Hope To Kiri-Kiri Inmates....Bless!

On Sunday September 15, 2013, Nollywood star Monalisa Chinda visited the Kirikiri Prison, Apapa, Lagos for a charity visit which lasted for several hours.
Monalisa donated various items including food stuff, clothes, underwear, toiletries, perfume bottles and sanitary provisions, through her Arise Monalisa Foundation.

She also took time to interact and encourage the prison inmates who were happy to receive her.

Speaking to the inmates on the visit, she said “Though we may not be in control of what happens to us in life, we are absolutely responsible for our reactions to what happens to us. And it is our reaction that ultimately determines the results and quality of our lives. On getting here today, I was told some inmates were recently released by strange interventions, so this can’t be the end for you.I want you to know that there is more to your life than your present state and, no matter what anyone has said to you, there is hope for you.”.....Some of them wept.

According to her rep, the inmates were not allowed to be photographed, but they had a great time bonding with the actress.

culled from Bellanaija.com

*Well done Monalisa....I am really proud of you.
Why do Nollywood celebrities like to announce their visits to orphanages and charity homes?whatever happened to giving in private?...I dont have much but when i give my widows mite i do not announce it and i am sure there are people out there and even reading this who give more but choose to stay in the background....I may be wrong but i prefer those who give silently..Please correct me if my thinking is wrong ok?

22 comments:

1. SDK you're so on point. Those who give silently, give more than does who give publicly, in The EYES of The Big Guy Upstairs. But the good thing about it is that they give. So they should keep it up, but it's best if they could be less loud about it in future. Kudos to Monalisa.

2. it is a double edged sword, people look up to celebrities, so actions like this would ultimately encourage the public to give as well. it would appeal to peoples consciousness when publicised. All over the world charities affiliate with celebrities to appeal to the wider public, so whether said celebrity is using it as a tool for profiling, at least there are people such gestures have put smiles on their faces, so whether you give in public or private the important thing is that someone less privileged is benefitting from it! better to give publicly than not give at all! So please Stella quit ur sanctimonious bullshit

3. it is a double edged sword, people look up to celebrities, so actions like this would ultimately encourage the public to give as well. it would appeal to peoples consciousness when publicised. All over the world charities affiliate with celebrities to appeal to the wider public, so whether said celebrity is using it as a tool for profiling, at least there are people such gestures have put smiles on their faces, so whether you give in public or private the important thing is that someone less privileged is benefitting from it! better to give publicly than not give at all! So please Stella quit ur sanctimonious bullshit

4. How would it occur to other people to give if they don't see an example of their 'idols' giving. I had forgotten about going to motherless babies and prisons until pictures of Nigerian celebrities doing that were everywhere. I go 2 times a year now. On val day and on my birthday, and I'm sponsoring an orphan child. I don't know for others but it had a positive impact on me. If they continue showing the pictures, perhaps other people would be motivated too....

5. Thanks for giving and continue giving.

6. I have an NGO too with my late sister,we do it secretly,we visit Prisons,hospitals and even Cementary,now that she is no more I still do,I went to d Cementary today to pray and clear the grass not only her Grave other people,how many pple remember to do this,also when u see prisoners been taken in black Maria pls pls always give the warders money to give them......,Monalisa gud job.

7. There is nothing wrong in making ur donations public. Most times it encourages others to also give

8. Prisoners are under punishment. They are there to serve time according to their deeds. Tho not all are guilty, but eh. What I would rather do with prisoners is preach God to their conscience. Or perhaps stand in d gap for the ones imprisoned unjustly. Otherwise I would rather the ones who need more help. Destitute/orphans/sick etc. It is only in Nigeria that prisoners are not adequately catered for. Otherwise no need. But a kind gesture from Mona all the same

1. I totally agree with you Bro/Sis. Nice one. God bless you for this.

9. Lets hope these donations reach the inmates. I understand most times all these donations are carted(stolen) away by the warders and not given to those for whom it was meant. It happens a lot even in motherless babies home and orphanages. All the donations never reach those children. So maybe its good to make it a public donation. Maybe some accountability can be demanded. Well done Monalisa.

10. I said it before, they are lots of foreigners who visit that same kirikiri and orphanages all the time with lots and lots of goodies and people don't even hear about it. Nigerians and their emptiness.

11. Nigerians too like show off, must you announce? Rubbish

12. Dis babe is so so clean...I hope d inner side is same sha :D
    Well done tho

13. I don't know about other places sha but go to prison to give money to murderer for what?rubbish&nonsense!

14. Show off, do it without the cameras o

15. Well-done Lisa. God will bless you back in a thousand fold.

I once thought like that Stella, but i later understood that, it is a tactic to curb the corrupt workers from stealing most of the items without getting to the beneficiaries. Because all eyes and ears have heard and seen them. So if they want to steal, it would be minimal.

The cash gifts given by people or celebrities are not disclosed because they cannot steal that as it goes directly into the bank account that has a joint signatory after approval by the board.

16. stella you did this deliberately to belittle ms chinda's action. Its not fair at all. How are we even sure you give? At the end of the day, charity was done

17. that's why they are celebrities...whatever they do will be known to all..so Stella forget dat tin wey u dey talk. will u see commoner giving out to orphanage and bring it up here? NO!

18. TRUE TALK MY DEAR...WELDON MONALISA

19. hahahhaha, 90% of the gifts don enter one chance. Who will cook noodles for prisoners? lmao.

It is a prison not an orphanage, rice, beans and the like would have been better.

@gba, not everybody in prison is a murderer.

20. rubbish,as usual they use the poor and vulnerable to further their public personae for endorsements.what female prisoners need are help with relevant skills,SMEs and other long term psychological support,help with jobs so they can support themselves and they certainly dont need to be showcased in public

21. help with jobs while in prison?
    you head surely no correct.