Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Jonathan Promised Not To Contest In 2015.....Flashback.

Sunday, September 08, 2013

President Jonathan Promised Not To Contest In 2015.....Flashback.

In a  Vanguard report in 2011 President Goodluck Jonathan, said he had no ambition to stay in office beyond 2015, assuring Nigerians in Diaspora that while he will not contest the 2015 election, he will ensure that the year’s election was free and fair.

Read the report from 2011......i wonder why he changed his mind!

''The President promised that if voted in for the next four years, he would ensure significant improvement in key sectors of the economy — security, power, education, road, health amongst others.

“Without security, there is no government. So it is not debatable, it is something we have to addressed and we are working towards that with vigour. But if I’m voted into power within the next four years, the issue of power will become a thing of the past. Four years is enough for anyone in power to make significant improvement and if I can’t improve on power within this period, it then means I cannot do anything even if I am there for the next four years.”

Jonathan said this while interacting with Nigerians mainly diplomats working in the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, UNECA, and the African Union, AU, in Addis-Ababa.

While fielding questions from those present at the interactive session on whether Nigerians abroad will vote, Jonathan said: “I would have loved that the Nigerians in Diaspora vote this year but to be frank with you, that is going to be difficult now. Presently, the law does not allow the voting outside Nigeria and so this year Nigerians in Diaspora will not vote but I will work towards it by 2015 even though I will not be running for election.”

On the issue of security, Jonathan said the government was doing everything possible to arrest the situation. He disclosed that all those involved in the October 1 bombing had been arrested and were being prosecuted. He, however, said he ordered the release of the car dealers because they were just businessmen who could not have known that the vehicles were to be used for such heinous crime.

On education, the President said, the nine new approved universities were to be specialised and to be headed by at least three Nigerians experts in Diaspora.

On the concerns raised of having a database of Nigerian experts in Diaspora, President Jonathan assured that he was working on creating a forum for interaction between them and government and also develop a database, where experts needed to address the various challenges of the economy will be drawn. He hinted that this was why the Diaspora Commission was being set up as the bill was already before the National Assembly.

The President also disclosed that the government is looking towards reviewing the country’s foreign policy to ensure that Nigeria gets maximum benefit from its roles and contributions to international organizations like the AU, UN and ECOWAS.

He lamented that right now Nigeria’s contributions were not being recognized adding that “there is need for Nigeria to have something in return for our investments. We are investing so much but it is not being noticed and there is need to reverse that trend.

On the concerns about road network and transportation in the country, President Jonathan assured that the railway system will be revamp because presently heavy duty vehicles were destroying the roads. “Why we cannot have continuous road maintenance for now because no contractor wants to go into it because of the continuous pressure on the road by heavy duty vehicles. That is why we are working to ensure that we revamp the rail”.

The President also assured that Nigerians working in international organization and institutions would be issued diplomatic passports. He directed the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Odein Ajumogobia to submit the list of those qualified within the shortest possible time to him.

On the 35 per cent affirmative action implementation and the domestication of protocols signed, he assured that he will present before the National Assembly within the shortest possible time''

*So many promises made back then...so many.
what do these people see in aso rock that leaving is a big problem?why not just pack your bags and leave and let someone else try their luck at fixing Nigeria?

32 comments:

1. To those who believed him then, na wa for una o!!!!

1. @ Eze Wanyi, what an unpatriotic thing to say. As you shout "Up NEPA" everyday, that's how your children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren will also shout "Up NEPA" if you and your generation continue this "siddon look" attitude. This is your home, I suggest you start showing some concern for it.

2. Gbamest!!!!!!!!!

3. @ memphis,go siddon jhor!talk is cheap,d only thing u guys know how to do is talk,talk and more talk, anyway politics is not my turf so na siddon look I dey.

3. After promising not to remain Jona has suddenly realized that he has a right to contest elections in 2015, and uses the clause "the wish of the people" to drive home his point. He should realize some certain things: He has a right to contest, he's allowed to perform the desires of the people. But a man who keeps his word for the sake of peace becomes honorable in the sight of GOD and Man. If the people wanted him to continue his presidency for life, would he now say he desires to respect their wish or do what is necessary? Honor is priceless as it's the direct product of a man's conscience. A man who fails to fulfill his promises must be humble before God and his people, seek forgiveness, and try to make ends meet so he can have some respite. But the way he's gone about all these is extremely sentimental and far from honorable. A lot of promises made, and like he said, a lot can be done in 4 years. What has he done? Some people may even argue that BH concerns hindered him, but they forget easily that their "man" at the time was speaking without sincerity: "BH is in my cabinet".."BH are ghosts..". 2015 is around the corner peeps. Vote WISELY, because 4 years is a lifetime, and cannot be retrieved.

4. Thank God I didn't believe his fake promises den. All dis politicians are all d same with deir sugar-coated mouths in decievin people. To all dose who voted for Jonathan and not PDP shame on u guys.

5. Stella, Goodluck used all does promises he made to buy okrika shoe in aswani market. And to think that i was part of d brainwashed nigerians then that believed him, so sad. All i owe Nigeria now is ♍γ̲̣̣̥ prayers, n to Perform ♍γ̲̣̣̥ civic duties as a citizen, but say i comot ♍γ̲̣̣̥ house again go vote 4 any election, hnmmm, e go hard oh.

6. Of course I am not surprised none of these promises are kept,they were all political propaganda to get into aso rock like a man sweet talking a gal to get btw her legs.
    Nigerian politicians are liars and evil lives in them!i dont even trust anyone of them right now.but for 2015,anybody coming from another party other than PDP might be a lesser evil!

7. Stella dimokorkus Ewuoma u are nt in Nigeria so you might not understand d situation of things. This country is at d break of civil war. D hausas want power by all means and it will never happen I don't care who is in dat office but it will never be an Hausa man. So do ur research well before u post nonesense hia!!!

1. Hey watch ur tongue.... It can never be Jonathan again jor. We can't be fooled again b4 we learn.

2. Whoever typed dis is obviously as daft as d comment itself. So if aunty Stella Obukokwo Ewoma isn't in nigeria does dat mean she's not abreast wit developmnts in her country? Hw is it even related to what she posted, na wa o. Olodo civil war.
      Jonathan seemed d lite at the end of the tunnel bak den, it was in dat faith dt I voted for him. Hoping d birth of a fresh man frm a fresh zone other dan d usual hausa, igbo nd yoruba calendar, will liberate our polity frm all of dis excruciating pain.
      Jonathan titled himself power minister den, he droped d title later and focused on garnishin his loyalists' wit appointments in federal parastatals.
      And that's d usual norm, dey keep promisin d same tin, road, light, water, infrastructures. Wen dey win, dey loose focus on work, nd concentrate on d euphoria; travellin abroad, rewardin deir faithfuls, buyin jeeps, sendin deir kids abroad etc. We got to strike for minimum wage increase, we go to strike to pay lecturers allowances.
      Just check,
      Jonathan gets 24hrs uninterrupted electricity-Average nigerian, 6-7hrs electricity.
      Jonathan flies private wit d aircrafts properly checked b4 takeoff-Average nigerian, deres a boy flyin wit u inbtwn d wheel.
      Jonathan's family, extended family etc all get work b4 dey finish skool-Me, I no see job!
      Oshiomhole banned bikes/kekenapeps, nw dey can bearly feed-Oshiomole eats more dan enuf in a day!
      That's how disconnected we are frm government!
      Naija tire me O!
      Mtush

8. Stella Jonathan haven't declared his contesting!!!! WHY NOT WE ALL SIT BACK AND WAIT FOR THE ANNOUNCEMENT,....

9. The people behind him are baying for him to stay. *cabal politics*

10. It is ok to change your mind, he changed his mind.

11. GOD plssssssss give Nigerians wisdom to vote for the right president and the courage to say Noooooo to the wrong rulers,and politicians.derz too much of suffering in the land.

12. patience no go allow am leave aso rock,she go like die put for there,this what fashola said during his first tenure ,that him contesting for 2nd term is like failing exam and his still did contested,abeg Stella no mind all this politicians.

13. All politicians make promises..even your beloved Obama, how many of them has he fulfilled? It's easy to say from outside Aso rock until you get in. Yes, I feel GEJ has a right to second term, He should contest in 2015. We all say somethings and later on change our minds. Afterall, even Stella promised not to post pictures of her family but she did. So we should not judge him because he changed his. Jonathan has been president for just two years, who can transform nigeria in two years? People are making it hard for him because they feel Nigeria is theirs to rule. Asuu has been politicised, the media is owned by the opposition so what do you expect. Even if Jesus comes down from heaven to rule nigeria we will still complain. My problem with Jonathan is that he is too slow, always trying not to hurt people and being Mr goody goody, Nigeria needs a radical. He has done well in 2yrs in my opinion. Be wise, I love you Stella but you are not very intelligent you just join the bandwagon. Please research properly before writing any rubbish so you sound smart.

1. Oh! So u know he's slow? And he shd still contest in 2015 wit dis sluggishness? U re a skank!

2. Oloriburuku! Point to just 1 thing he has done? The country has never bin dis volatile! Too many things not working! Haba! Point to just 1 thing he has done in 2 years. Tape him to the presidential seat if Nigerians don't vote for him in 2015. Were somebody!

14. Anon 11:14am must be one of those wretched GEJ apologists if not one of his media people. Y are U 'codedly' cautioning Stella for this? Doesn't she have the right to air her views? Silly hypocrital slave!!! Even if U have to support your Master,it's best that U are rational. Mark

15. Anon 11:14 mind urself o,how can u say she's not intelligent cos she joined the bandwagon?that bandwagon is where the truth is and dat truth is at risk of being choked by pple like u.
    What research are u talking about?if he has done any thing gud,it will be seen clearly,results don't hide,we must not research only if it's only in his imagination he did something gud in naija,then we need to also go to the fantasy world and daydream of those results!
    Jona is just a dulling' guy u said it urself,and dats not wat naija needs.he should just vacate dat seat 2015.

16. Commenting anonymous and cussing people is height of cowardice I actually listened to jonathan when he made those promises on tv in 2010 and then i told my friend that I was watching with that its all lies but being a die hard jonathan fan he bet with me that he won't run second term...
    Everything opposition talked about him is happening
    Everything he talked about is not happening...
    Its only wicked people that wanna support our present president after the north promised to make nigeria hard Fø̲̣̣я̅ him to rule and did it,who wants another term of bloodshed and bad everything...
    May God break two front teeth of any enemy of this country so that we will know them when they talk or laugh...
    God bless you stella

17. MY DEAR BROTHER PLS PLS DONT STAND ELECTION 2015 BECAUSE ALL YOUR CARRIER IS NOT ENDING BECAUSE WHEN YOU ARE DEPUTY GOVERNOR YOU DIDN FINISH IT YOU ARE PROMOTED TO BE A GOVERNOR WHEN YOU ARE GOVERNER YOU DIDNT FINISH THEY PROMOT YOU TO BE VICE PRESIDENT YOU DIDNT FINISH YOUR TERM YOU ARE PROMOTED TO BE THE PRESIDENT OF NIGERIA AND YOU PROMISE YOU CANNOT STAND ELECTION 2015 KNOW YOU ARE PUSING TO STAND ELECTION IS A DREAM MR.PRESQIDNET I AM NOT HINKING YOU WILL FINISH YOUR TERM AS APRESIDENT IF YOU PUSH TO STAND ELECTION 2015 PLS GOD GIVE YOU THE HIGHNEST POSTION IN THE EARTH KEEP YOUR PROMISE AND GO TO LEAVE PEACFULLY/ THANK YOU VERY MY THIS MY PREDICTIO FOR YO MR PRESIDENT GOD BLESS YOU AND GIVE YOU WISDOM AND KNOWLEDGE TO DO YOUR WORK MY TEL 00228 9004 0023

18. NIGERIANS GENERALLY DON'T KEEP PROMISE. IT IS NOT IN OUR DNA. AND IT WILL NEVER BE. POLITICIANS, BANKS, GSM COMPANIES, NEWSPAPER, EMPLOYERS, GOVERNMENT....EVEN YOU, STELLA..YOU NAME IT...

AS A NATION AND PEOPLE, WE WILL 4EVER CONTINUE TO FUMBLE AND WOBBLE UNTIL END OF THE WORLD. IT IS AS SIMPLE AS THAT.

19. well,it doesn't matter whether Stella lives in Nigeria or not,what is Important is she gets her facts right, However, i don't see GEJ returning to the Villa in 2015.All i see is a failed and divided PDP same with the OGB PPA fraction in 2011 election. As for Civil war,blve me nothing of such is going to happen' Nigerians Love their Lifes and Money oh.
    please let those close to GEj, just tell him the Truth

20. well,it doesn't matter whether Stella lives in Nigeria or not,what is Important is she gets her facts right, However, i don't see GEJ returning to the Villa in 2015.All i see is a failed and divided PDP same with the OGB PPA fraction in 2011 election. As for Civil war,blve me nothing of such is going to happen' Nigerians Love their Lifes and Money oh.

21. well,it doesn't matter whether Stella lives in Nigeria or not,what is Important is she gets her facts right, However, i don't see GEJ returning to the Villa in 2015.All i see is a failed and divided PDP same with the OGB PPA fraction in 2011 election. As for Civil war,blve me nothing of such is going to happen' Nigerians Love their Lifes and Money oh.

22. Stella is obvious ur so biased against our president!ur duty as a blogger is not to take sides but to just report but I don't blame u bcos is obvious u were paid for this and other senseless attacvks on our president. Whether we want to accept it or not GEJ is still d best president Nigeria has ever produced(take a look @ our airports,lights are improving slowly but steadily,our roads are getting better etc. And yes it is the wish of the people like us that he continues!!becos u beta believe it;this is the 1st and last time any s/s man will smell d@ seat as long as we remain a nation. All these people clamouring for him to step down are only looking to satisfy their own selfish desires. And there's a wise saying'the so called 'devil' u know is better than the so called 'angel' u don't know.GEJ is really doing his best and if only these disgruntled elements(bcos dey are no longer in power,as dey see themselves as d only ppl to be in power) will just let this president concentrate and do his plans; Nigeria will be better off for all of us. B4 GEJ, who knew anything called'crude oil theft' and d billions 9ja was loosing tru d@? I can go on and on but for time. And no,I am not from s/s,not in pdp,GEJ most definitely doesn't know me so if u wanna say anything ur free!!!