Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obamacare: Separating Truth from Fiction

Tuesday, October 01, 2013

Obamacare: Separating Truth from Fiction

Who is following the news in America?There is something interesting going on that we need to discuss.#Obamacare..............Jonathancare?..........story!

Starting today individuals can sign up for health care insurance by way of the exchanges created under the Affordable Care Act. So far  seventeen states and the district of columbia  have set up their own exchanges, also known as insurance marketplaces; the rest will use either the federal health insurance exchange or run a joint state-federal exchange to provide coverage.

It's been a bumpy ride so far, given the complexity of the effort and the politics surrounding it. Many Republican Congressional members are hell-bent on defunding Obamacare even though it's law and the Supreme Court reaffirmed its constitutionality. They won't agree to continue funding the government unless Obamacare is defunded or delayed by a year. And Democrats -- in Congress and the White House -- are firmly committed to just the opposite: implementing Obamacare.
That leaves America where it is today: a government that is partially shut down and lots of confusion about coverage under the ACA.
Lori Robertson managing director of Factcheck.org, spoke with The Daily Ticker's Aaron Task, about some of the major misrepresentations surrounding Obamacare, 

Myth #1: Health Care Premiums are Rising.
Robertson says whether health care premiums are rising or falling for individuals depends on their particular situation. "Whether your new plan on the exchanges...is going to be more or less what you're paying now really depends on you," says Robertson. "If you have a health condition you may see a decrease. If you don't, you may see an increase."
You health insurance premium will also depend where you buy your insurance--including the state and locality--your age and your income. (At certain income levels, participants in so-called "silver" plans--the second cheapest--can qualify for government subsidies, which would reduce costs.)

Myth #2: Obamacare is Killing Jobs.
Robertson says there's little evidence that Obamacare is a job killer. "The CBO has estimated it will have a small impact on jobs and ...mainly from workers choosing to work less," says Robertson. She explains that some people may reduce their working hours because they no longer need a second or third job to pay insurance premiums, while others may choose to retire early knowing they can't be denied coverage due to pre-existing conditions.

Myth #3: You Can't Choose Your Own Doctor Under Obamacare.
Not true, says Robertson. "There's nothing in the law that's going to pick your doctor for you," says Robertson. But she notes that "some exchanges may have a small provider network," so if you choose such a plan you may have to choose a new doctor.

Myth #4: The Increase in Health Care Spending is Slowing Because of Obamacare.
Another misconception, says Robertson: "Experts have said that the overwhelming reason" for the slower rise in health care costs is "the down economy." She cites a Kaiser Family Foundation report that found that 77% of this deceleration is due to the economy.

Myth #5: Congress is Exempt from Obamacare.
Not true, says Robertson. "Congress is not exempt from the law...The law says that Congress and its staffers have to get their coverage through the exchanges that are being set up." But, Robertson says, the federal government can help pay for the premiums of that coverage, just as it does now under the Federal Employee Health Benefits program for Congress and staffers. daily ticker

Those following this scenario in Yankee,please discuss this and how it affects you directly or indirectly.

What is Obamacare: PPACA

What has been deemed the term Obamacare, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act that was signed into law by President Barack Obama on March 23, 2010 is a United States federal statute. According to Wikipedia, the PPACA  is the principal health care reform legislation of the 111th United States Congress and requires individuals not covered by employer or government-sponsored insurance plans to maintain minimal health insurance coverage or pay a penalty unless exempted for religious beliefs or financial hardship, a provision commonly referred to as the individual mandate.

In addition to the individual mandate, the Act also reforms aspects of the private health insurance industry and public health insurance programs by increasing insurance coverage of pre-existing conditions and expanding access to insurance to an additional 30 million Americans. Moreover, the Act increases projected national medical spending while reducing the national deficit, slowing health care cost inflation and lowering projected Medicare spending.

34 comments:

1. Now Stella I think you are losing it. Have you forgotten that the vast majority of your blog followers are Nigerians whose only interest is celebrity gossip and sex related topics?
    This is too serious for them o!!!!! Abeg non drive them. Country wey who get internet non fit use google, but will be calling you to ask stupid question, na dem wan bother about Obamacare? Thank you. I think that Germany don dey deceive your Naijaness small small.

1. Sure. People love celebrity gossip. Not this type. This thread may not reach 30.

2. SDK, Obama care has a synonymous scheme in Nigeria. It's NHIS; I hope you've heard about it? Jonathan is under-performing, YES, and I don't appreciate him as Nigeria's president. But e never reach that level. NHIS is like a *Jonathancare*.

3. If I say I understand all this yarn am a liar,and ezewanyi does not lie.
    I will wait for wide eye to shed more light biko.

1. Am waiting for wide eye too!

2. This one pass my power o! Na only malls,delis and my personal persons I dey see for yankee. Even those bill boards around about vote for judge this and that,make no meaning to me. My regular hostess and besto,tried to explain it to me once(as nurse concern).My only question was "shebi if I born here my pickin go still get passport?". As she say yes,I come and bone the matter.My only political interest in America for now,is obama's gift of the gab. That Dude knows how to work a teleprompter! His sway when he walks makes his swag mind blowing! oh...off topic! Lucabracee loves obodoyibo.he can help us out!

3. I live in Texas; although I don't know much about their politics stuff, but when this obamacare issue started , curiosity griped me because I don't have health insurance. My husband used to be in the militry ,and Iwas using the militry insurance until recently that he got out. I had my two kids with their insurance. My curiosity started when i realized that I am the only one without health insurance in the house. My husband uses the veteran insurance while the kids use medicaid,which is for kids age 0 to 18yrs. All other available insurance are too dam expensive; therefore, I signed up with the market place few minutes ago in order to check for my eligibility since Obamacare is an insurance for low income people who doesn't have an healthcare due to the expensive fee. I prayed that i qualify though. They also said by 2014, anybody without health insurance will be ticket about $95. I just hope the market place gets me an affordable insurance.

4. Stella...though this topic no concern me,I just wanted to tell u that I love ur blog. You are real and mature! I also noticed that a lot of married people follow your blog unlike other blogs where only teenagers comment..good work gal...there's a lot to learn and discuss in this blog...since I discovered this blog,I haven't looked back... A day without stella's blog is like a day without sunshine....lol

5. Who care first to comment dancing etigh

1. Another one of those kids.

2. Carry ur first to comment attitude commot frm dis blog. This blog is for matured minded indiividuals

6. Obamacare is actually going to cost me money based on my income but I will still sign up. I just started shopping around today and hopefully I will get less than $400 a month I keep getting.

1. okwa dat igbo gal1 October 2013 at 22:39

Shukurah!!! How did someone with that your name migrate to the united states???? I tot It was only pepper sellers that bear that name

7. wetin concern us with Obama care , when millions are dying here from a lack of subsidised health care

8. Obombacare. America(or Babylon) is fallen. This might be the beginning of the collapse of their economy.

1. Shut up joor! Don't come here to display your ignorance.

9. A lot of people go dead broke in America because of lack of health insurance. With #Obamacare, everyone is covered. Certain parts of the previous health care plans did not cover certain medical conditions and procedures meaning if you have Cancer or any terminal illness, your insurer could turn you away citing Preexisting conditions meaning, go and Die jejely or na your own Wahala. Certain health care provisions were also exempt in the previous health care system e.g Mammograms for women, Cancer screenings and so on. Even some medical facilitators had the power to turn you back if you'd had a C section and required another citing the same crap, preexisting blah blah. Not so with #Obamacare. Once you pay a premium meaning a deduction from your wages / salary which is now becoming Mandatory, if you fall sick, you will be seen by a health care provider no matter what. If you have children up to the age of 26, they can still be under your insurance coverage, meaning they wouldn't have to have a separate account to pay into for health coverage. The benefits of #Obamacare are numerous but rumour has it that a lot of Republicans have shares and investments in drug manufacturing companies and health care companies and let's face it, unless you are a machine, at one point, you will need to see a Dr. Even machines need their own "Dr's" sometimes. That's the alleged accusation being thrown around and if this is true, those who have a lot to lose are trying to debunk #Obamacare which also gives subsidies to medical prescriptions.

So, these are some of the benefits but remember, people always fight if they are about to lose a chunk of money, so, it's all about $. #Obamacare is trying to provide for all and sundry while the ones who believe they are the "Privileged" are painting a different picture despite all the efforts being made to make people see the big picture. Americans, na serious Wa for dem,

Read my tweets and follow if you like and yes support #Obamacare. We too should have #JonathanGoodluckCare too many people are dying unnecessarilly in Nigeria.

@DSmartNigerian. Happy Green white Green day to you all, may your lives be full of Green MEANING $'s, fertility and we'll being Aminah!

1. 'Well being' Typo. Sometimes my phone is way too Smart for my liking.

$400 every month might sound a lot but just pray you don't need a Colonoscopy or. General MRI with no insurance. With the old system, you'd have to pawn your car to get these done. Fear not my Naija Pall's, if your wives are expecting, you won't have to rely on pawing Baby shower gifts to pay for. Health care. #Obamacare all the way.

@DSmartNigerian

2. Go and write a book on dis or open ur own blog...don't bore us with dis long epistle pls

3. Thanks for explaining this. Helped me understand lots

4. Well, I did already mz Bitchplis and Ignorance wouldn't get you far. Don't you want to learn?

10. Yes Nigeria is 53 today!
    We have been together for this long
    And tested all the good and bad of this nation.
    Shortcomings are there, But all what we say is "Thank You Lord for this day again"
    And let life move on!
    Nothing like the sights and smells of barbecue on the grill,
    The fireworks glowing into the sky,
    And the Nigerian flag waving everywhere around the world!
    To all of you who love freedom,
    Have a Happy Independence Day!
    Lets enjoy the spectacular display of fireworks.
    Set to the sounds of music.
    And Remember; This is the day we as a nation declared ourselves free.
    As today goes by, I will like to remind every citizen of this nation, that what is holding us together is greater than what is trying to divide us.
    God Bless Nigeria!

11. haha i need to start shopping or just stick to work insurance cos its less than $400.00. Naija folKs wont undestand cos naija is in a hole already. Health INSURANCE KE FOR NAIJA?

12. Never understood either, thanks comment #11 for shedding more light on it.

13. You broke it down well and from what you (anonymous October 1, 2013 at 9:36 PM) typed, they are kind of fashioning it after the UK's NHS. Although with the NHS, a set premium isn't paid, the contribution for healthcare comes from the income tax and NI contribution.

14. I nor fit shout for obamacare oh! My concern dey for Nigeria crude oil money.

15. so sad to see our level of information. I will simply summarise that we have it in Nigeria called national health insurance scheme and is compulsory for public and private workers. Ask a friend or relative to educate you further. No knowlege is a waste. A reading informed society makes an enlightened one.

16. Hahahhahahaa...wide eyed! Me sef on code been de wait you cos I no get power for hard core news. But u sef don down-shift to Luca.
    Ngwanu, Luca where art thou? Come o! We need your attention hiaa! Forget Jim dia tori, come ds side.

17. Bloglord, Wide-eyed and the multiple accounts you people opened to hype yourselves, shut the fuck up.

There's no popularity competition here.

1. If I wanted hype,you won't ve found space to write your pain. Sweerie, I am just as anonymous as you re. I could be anyone around you and you wouldn't know it. So what popularity are you talking about? Many ve accounts with their real names and photos. Why pick on a select few and tag them as competition? What's the prize to be won? I know your kind.They feel their inadequecies are as a result of someone else's strength. I guess you ve multiple accounts hence you know it can be done.Goodluck as you go through life feeling left out! I am not responsible for your inferiority complex.Bring it on for yourself here! Am done it you!

18. Stella where u copy this story from

19. They said u hav to get a mark on ur forehard or ur hand. And dat is 666 people bewerd

20. @ anon October 2, 2013 at 11:36 AM your ignorance isn't wanted here.