Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Codeine And Its Use........Are You Abusing it?

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Codeine And Its Use........Are You Abusing it?

Codeine is a syrup used to manage cough right?
did you also know that this syrup is really destroying young men and ladies.....Especcially ladies because they consume it more.
Did you also know that It is highly addictive and destroys both liver and lungs in a short space of time?

Doctors in the house please give us a practical lecture on Codeine because some people are abusing this drug and when the problems start,they will say their enemies are at work.

Check your first aid box and minimise your use of codeine or throw it away....or better still stop self medication!

77 comments:

1. Stella its Good u brought this up o cos d way pple consume it dis days is scary. U go to a joint n pple r drinking it like beer.

1. Codeine originally is administered as a cough syrup which should be used under strict prescription dosage. But the tab codeine used to be given to women who just put to bed according to grand ma(in the olden days). But abuse these days is alarming. Ladies/Guys use it to get "HIGH". Awon Hausa gan o gbeyin(those Hausa men who carry load in the market are not left out),u see them carrying any m*phuckin load na codeine dey work. These guys can give u #2,500 as long as you can get them a bottle(something that goes for #750 normally). Its all abuse,tho
      PS: The more you abuse a drug,the more it damages your liver and kidney.

2. I Use to finish 1 bottle of bennylin in 2days way back.....its so so addictive I must say....thank God I have stoped

1. Same here. I use one bottle Bennylin with codeine to fly cos I hate flying.

2. There is a Panadol Ultra that comes with codeine, I take that too. Thanks for the info. Time to divorce codeine.

3. Same here. I use one bottle Bennylin with codeine to fly cos I hate flying.

3. My friend should see this o,she cnt stay away frm it,

4. Helo doctors we need to knw more

1. No free knowledge or service, keep consuming the codeine. when u develop complications we will be right by ur side to reap the rewards

2. Foolish college dropout! Is dt how u plan to make a living?

3. JD is that you?

5. i actually thought the drug was used for something else than cough...please educate us

1. Some women use â„“̊Ï„̅ †Î¦ commit abortion....some guys can slip â„“̊Ï„̅ I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ an unsuspecting victims drink †Î¦ incapacitate her muscle thereby raping or doing 3-some or 4-some with her....its really annoying when people just use drugs without adequate prescription α̲̅πϑ care!

2. Some women use â„“̊Ï„̅ †Î¦ commit abortion....some guys can slip â„“̊Ï„̅ I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ an unsuspecting victims drink †Î¦ incapacitate her muscle thereby raping or doing 3-some or 4-some with her....its really annoying when people just use drugs without adequate prescription α̲̅πϑ care!

6. Hw r dey abusing it Biko?
    DEW

1. A lot of pple take it with sk and co to get high and I knw dis cos av got friends dat do it.

2. Hehehe, you are a Learner.

7. This is informative. Thanks for sharing.

8. Hmmm. I had to stop taking any cough med that had codeine in it. I realised then that each time I take Benylin,I itch for days, sometimes resulting to me taking injection to calm it. Until I realised that codeine give me rashes. Septrin too. Back in sec schl,I had friends who drank like two bottles before a party. They said it makes them high and I'm like whaaaa....!!! The rate at which we abuse drugs in this country is crazy and its cos it is very easy to purchase them over the counter w/ot prescription. Some people sef, at the slightest throb of their head, they consume panadol. We had a help that took 3 at a time. We need serious awareness sha.
    Xoxo

9. I have seen some people that don't have cough, but take the syrup to get high. Parkalin cough syrup was one of them.

10. I know someone who takes at least two bottles a day, she even buys on credit whn she is broke to crown it all she drinks it after smoking hemp.

1. sshes finished

2. Tell, her to calm down... she really believes dirs life after death abii?

3. Ahn Ahn Haba. Smoking hemp alone wil finish her, so no need for d syrup na.

11. He that watches over me doesn't drink codeine

12. I used to take Panadol Ultra which consists of paracetamol and codeine up to 4 times a day for ovarian cyst and endometriosis pain because it was very effective.
    It can affect the liver if there's an overdose.

1. Doc only gave me paracetamol when i had ovarian cyst cos am pregnant....α̲̅πϑ i also used lots of hot water....drinking α̲̅πϑ bathing...α̲̅πϑ â„“̊Ï„̅ deflated without affecting ♏v̶̲̥̅ baby....now, the pain ÈŠ̝̊̅§ gone!

2. Doc only gave me paracetamol when i had ovarian cyst cos am pregnant....α̲̅πϑ i also used lots of hot water....drinking α̲̅πϑ bathing...α̲̅πϑ â„“̊Ï„̅ deflated without affecting ♏v̶̲̥̅ baby....now, the pain ÈŠ̝̊̅§ gone!

13. Yer codein is really bad, must confess, back in uni we abused it to d core. People refer to it as 'slow', and at some point pharmacies wouldn't sell it to any1 who didn't have a doc's prescription. It was mixed with lacasera, fanta etc. Personally I stopped the intake when my voice started becoming croaky. A lot of youths today will do anything for the feel of high/slow. I was totally unaware of the liver issues it brings. Thanks for this SDK

1. I know a guy dat doesn't take anytin apart from benylin with codeine n lacasera (d one dats not cold)

14. Codeine is an opiate and is very addictive. It's from poppy, the same poppy that heroin is from. The sad thing is that it's bought OTC and unknowingly people get hooked on it.

Lil Wayne and Shia LaBeouf are hooked on Sizzurp (Purple Drank) - a codeine derivative with LSD like effects.

Big Pharmaceutical companies are covertly dangerous.

There's also Tramadol. Stay away from it.

1. Hmmm... My cousin was in the habit of taking tramadol, she actually lost a lot of weight so I asked how she did it and she told me it was due to her intake of tramadol. Honestly I got a pack but I tot its better I look it up online first, what I saw kept me in shock as d drug is definately a killer. Told my cuz but she refused(she was already addicted). Suddenly the veins on her hand became swollen and she became very sick plus missing her period. She stayed in the hospital for about a month plus b4 she became normal again. These things actually kill o!

2. Me I won't lie o. I take the benylin to sleep. Not to get high or whatever. It just calms me and it eases sleep for me. Very addictive though...it will take the grace of God to stop it because I have become so reliant on it like crazy. baba God abeg ooo.

3. Plsss what aby cataflam, cos I do take tramadol 4 mestral pain every month... Help a sister plss. God bless u!

4. That's what Tramadol does. Its side effects are so bad.

Cataflam and Tramadol? You have some cocktail going there. Please be careful with them. Does your doctor know you take these tablets? Why Tramadol for MP and why not something simpler like Midol, Buscopan or Tylenol extra?

5. Anon11:17. If it has no codeine then I bet u are safe. The codeine content and it's excessive use is the contention here dear.

15. It is originally for cough,but it gets you high when you overdose,that's all I know about codeine.

16. Stella tnx for this o,pple don turn am 2 water o

17. Stella tnx for this o,pple don turn am 2 water o

18. lil wayne uses codeine to get high...that's wt hes addicted to and has issues with. its really bad

19. Really??? i don learn new thing!

20. Its so bad .... As in its one of the fastest selling 'drugs' in nja now oooo. Its so crazy. They drink it like water oo

21. Nice topic SDK, Uni Abuja pple take note. You can't buy Benylin wth Codeine without a doctors prescription in abuja, all thanks 2 Uni students. Majority of them use it to get high. I knew of someone that used to buy it in cartons and store in his booth. I hope and pray people are educated n aware of d side effects...

1. All hail my alma-mata... We abuse am wella. Uld see a lot of us in class with fanta or lacasera and long throat catch u, OYO ooo. Asin SLOW na bad thing o, uld start to think, talk, function like a snail. Voice becomes cracky n croaky. I'm guilty, at least I was, the year I was a student.

22. More medicine shops/stores,cos we got more drug dealers than pharmacists....who cares what you wana use it 4 as long as money crossed over d counter?who cares???...well stella does !

Cici

23. Dont even know wat u guys are talking about can someone please enlighten me? .

1. Lol u are already Light dear, infact u are bright!

2. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

24. Omg! Benylin is like a comfort Zone for me wen I'm Angry or in a bad situation.wud slow down on it.thanks for d info

25. most runs girls use codeine and benylin before they hit the road and most joints on the lekki/ajah axis sell it codedly.

26. Weed and syrup till i die

1. Ur dead alrdy

2. This anonymous 4:00pm,must be Stella Moon or Abdul of Abuja

3. lol as in dead and gone lol

4. word is enough for the wise.

27. I must confess,I take it but I'm not addicted to it,it makes me happy and I sleep very well once I take cause I hav insomnia.its a drug many youths and adult abuse cause its a quick and cheap high.I don't think I'm ready 2 stop yet since I don't take it everytime.

1. Stella God bless you...trust me when I say codeine consumption rate is so alarming...benolyn,benzolyn,parkalyn,tuxolyn,coflin are all cough syrups & contain codeine AKA slow..The no 1 effect is it makes some pple high and some Sluggish
      Some mix these cough syrups with water or sprite & some fayrouz
      Went to a party @ lasuth & a large can of drink was brought I don't drink so I didn't take but my peepz dat drank omg some slept some started dancing like mami water other pple we're making out in d bathrooms & dorm corner....its so bad
      Some runs girl in my area take it with either ganja,SK or tramadol...
      Yall should slow down,life is too short to die young...A Word...

2. Be careful with the codine. I also hve insomnia but t don't take anything for it. I just make sure all lights are off put my ear plugs on and lay down. Try it with a soothing music to relax the nerves u will sleep. And make sure u don't get yourself worked up unnessasry. In ph must joints serve codine oh. The day I saw it I just opened my mouth and asked if the person was sick. Because they serve the guy black lable with the codine. The guy jst opened both mixed them and was drinking. Was just to shocked biko cos that was the 1st time I saw such.

3. Believe me, that's d lie a drug addict tells himself....'i dnt take too much'....'am not addicted'....pls just stop now before you kill urself!

4. Anon 4:15 me too o. I take it to sleep. What's my business with being high? I don't even go to parties or clubs. Na to just sleep jeje I use it for. But it's bad sha, this much I know.

28. Thanks SDK for the awareness!! Innocent me - I thought Benylin was used only for cough. So it is used if you wnat to ger high huh? Wonders will never end! Which planet have I been on all this while?!?!?!? I never knew this oh!! Now I can attempt to get high and see what happens..... Will let you all know how it goes.... I no go carry last....

1. Taking a cap or two if u have cough is alright. The abuse is when u down half a bottle or more..that's what makes them high not the minimal prescribed dosage

29. My husband's niece consumes codeine like crazy. As in everyday, at least a bottle of cough syrup. I knew it was a drug addiction but i always wondered if she was crazy or just plain stupid. Why would you harm yourself that way?

30. Hey!!! Me i take it to sleep, not for highness. I so wish i can stop it! God help me and my organs.

1. Me too ooo. We are plenty. We should go for deliverance. Mystery likes company. Lmaoo

31. correct itshekiri babe16 January 2014 at 17:25

Really! Oritse!ehen abeg abeg make go buy 1 bottle see as e b , make me sef get gist of the high and low effect

32. I'm truly shocked @ these comments. I only take benylin wiv codene wen I have cuff.and it's very effective.and I only take it @ night so I can sleep well and not wake up in d mid night cuffing.
    In sokoto wia I did my NYSC I had cough in camp and asked somebody to help me buy it. She came back to say It's not sold freely in sokoto becus d abokis take it to get high! That I may need to ask one of d soilders to get it for me, I was shocked. High on cuff syrup ke? That thing that makes u drowsy and limp.
    Infact I can't remember the last time I took it.
    Hmm something dey Oo°˚˚˚°! Any way let he that has ears, let him hear Oo°˚˚˚°!

33. People take overdose bcus of depression. A lot of ladies are too depressed in dis 9ija if not why would a single mother with only one child dnt like setting eyes on her child? She probably feels like killing him? Why would someone lock herself up and don't pick their parents call for months? Psychosis in the making, I pray dey get cure early enough before they end up in mental home

34. Stop waiting for doctors to give you free lectures, go to google.

35. I am sure addicts will get prescription from anywhere if dat is d only way to get d drug, I think d best thing is to get people aware of d dangers of drug abuse generally bcos I hv always known benylin with codeine treats cough not any other thing

36. I think officially buying of codeine was banned towards the end of last year. Now you have to have prescription to get it. But we know this is naija. Some pharmacy will still sale without prescription. Benylin with codeine is addictive.

37. My ex is a confirmed junky! He takes codeine wella to the point where it now affects his central nervous system hence he can't even clench his fist! I also noticed that he talks out of context most times we talked. Long term users like him when they try to stop come down with withdrawal symptoms. Codeine intake is no small joke people need to watch it and its so prevalent with the youths of today. Sad!!!

38. Plsss I hope cataflam is ok 4 pains since tramadol is bad? Help a sister.... God bless u!

39. Plsss I hope cataflam is ok 4 pains since tramadol is bad? Help a sister.... God bless u!