Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Movie Review - Lagos Cougars

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Movie Review - Lagos Cougars

LAGOS COUGARS
       1hr 45minutes

A lot of you must have read about the movie or even watched it, I'm reviewing this movie in layman terms, void of all the plenty grammar.

So its about three professional, single and bored women in their forties, who look for love...the twist, in way younger men.

THE ACTORS
Alex Ekubo: dude was as real as he could be, and he made my Igbo brothers happy with his interpretation.

Diana Yekini: fine black oyibo speaking babe, all through her scenes, I caught my neck moving as if I were the one speaking all that phonetics.

Uche Jumbo: Aret in the movie, babes came on with her werey'nism. She was the bad-ass momma, and her drama brought laughter to all.

Monalisa Chinda: Elsie in character, she became the character and played the role as only an original would, her expressions were something else, especially where Benjamin kissed her on the stairs and her eyes almost popped out of their sockets.

Shawn Faqua: Elsie's son, to see such a fine, well built young man act so natural was charming. Especially since that's the first movie ild see him feature in. Ladies, he looks like a keeper, start famzing him now oh, before its too late.

Danielle Okeke: Joke, the successful fashion designer. Great be thy everly endowed mama, even with her bad acting, most men were content just watching her behind.

Ifeanyi Kalu: fine model turned actor. He played a nice part as well, with his signature aboki scarf through the movie.

GOOD
It was a movie, one could relate to. It was funny also, good camera quality.

BAD
It was to cliché. And I couldn't believe that in this we own Naija, woman fit mount stage cry cos of man, call am out sef. Takes one of Stella's seats

UGLY
Danielle mama, with all her endowments couldn't act to save her soul.
She was stiff and I was wondering if the backside affected this, cos in the movie she acted as a ghost with Nkem Owoh, Ini Edo as his pregnant wife (remind me the name abeg), she acted well, perhaps cos the ikebe never heavy am then. #JustSaying.

In all it was an OK movie, and it was somewhat refreshing to see that Aunty Emem didn't feature her usual group of calabar actors. And uncle Desmond was a good director, but pay heed to little details in future sir, e.g sound check, and directing the camera at the right person, at the right time, not the back of the speakers' head.

Have you watched the movie?
If yes, what's your take on it?
If no, would you watch it?

FREE MOVIE TICKET TO THE BEST COMMENT which will announced as a comment on this post when the comments total 50.

Movie review will be weekly and is an initiative of a blog visitor who also has a personal blog,different from mine and seeks some traffic and few commentaries.
click HERE to visit her blog

50 comments:

1. Forgot to add based on the review I will watch it

2. What a nice way to attrack traffic, anyway I go hang in here.

3. I have not watched it and am not gonna watch....mtcheeeew naija movies and their nonsence story line....

4. Stella point of correction to the reviewer,that movie of Nkem Owoh and Ini it was not Danielle that played the Ghost, it was a girl called Chinelo,light skinned girl, Daniella cannot act that's a fact and that was why she didn't become a star in Nollywood,as for the movie same old RAA kind of movie and faces,Alex and co in all RAA movies

1. What's dis one saying??? Danielle was the ghost...d name of d movie is "true story" to think dt u even typed "point of correction".....mtcheeew...catfish!!

2. Common,go bk and watch d movie,it was danielle

3. The thing sef tire me, oga/madam please u v to watch the movie again to refresh your memory. It was Danielle who took him to the ghost's house!(She was d ghost)

4. Its nt Danielle oh....google is ur frend,thank me later

5. I'm yet to see it. I'd like to see it tho.

6. I've seen it, it's interesting

7. A Free Movie ticket to watch a Nollywood movie? No thanks! I'll rather pay 20k to watch Nickelodeon
    #doctorbobby

8. Free movie ticket ke ok now cupcake behave well . Nix movie watched all the episode already in my dream , can't wait to see Uche in action good line up , lol . On a serious note will watch the movie

9. Finally yaay, I would love to watch it, saw the trailer... Hope I win a ticket

Joan

10. I haven't watched it. But will do so and with a free ticket

11. Best movie ever!!..kudos emem,I just love that lady!

12. Sound Review, I've not seen it yet, I will definitely see it if I can.

13. Very lovely trailer and the cast alone is to die for, hope to see the movie soon and Happy Sunday everyone. #cheers#

14. This is what I call class defined.Check out the actors featured,the tittle and the picture effect.Its so cute.Not the normal boring Asaba Movies from a wonderful director though;Tchidi Chikere....I Can't wait to see Mercy Johnson-Okojie do Cinema movies not the "MUD OF TEARS" shit they always do. Nse Ikpe Etim is so classy....Ini,Monalisa, Beverly Naya,Uche Jombo..these bunch of ice-cream ladies are the Trend of Nollywood. Love them....@Emem Isong,she. Is the best producer.Her Royal Arts Academy is second to none...Unlike Ugezu.O.Ugezu who would want to feature in the rubbish he produces. All the imaginary "Royal this,Royal that"......
    More Grace to u Desmond,watched a couple of movies Directed by you,seriously u broke bounds.....The movie "In the Cupboard" is one of Ʊя wonderful piece.May God Bless Nigeria....We've got Talent.

1. Oh pls,I hate d poster! Tis only Uche and Alex dt brought life to that picture! Others look so stiff and Monalisa looked like she's trying to look good For d Camera! She shd loosen up alil

2. You are talking rubbish Asaba movies are not boring,infact those Asaba movies are movies frequently watched by people,people find Asaba movies more interesting,you need to see how much those marketers are making,and how people abroad even beg people to buy Asaba movies while coming to the states,besides Asaba movies make their actors more popular,that is why Cinema actors are not known outside,siddon there, Ugezu film sef dey sweet wella

3. All these cinema movies u listed I haven't seen them,but my Dumebi. the dirty girl,the illiterate sold like fire,people see those Asaba movies more

15. After reading this review, I feel like I have watched it already...oya now waiting for part 2!The Alex

16. I saw the movie already @ silverbird and I was entertained. Alex was ok, my 1st of seeing a move him in a movie. Oh I like him. I didn't like Daniella's scene when she was sketching n squeezing papers coz she misses Ifeanyi. Uche Jombo, my girl anytime any day was cool with her tiny teeth n sweet smile. Mona did a good job when she spanked her son for over stepping his bounds. In all I did enjoy d movie n went home smilling. I now support our film makers by paying to see their movies...depends on the producer n director of d movie thou.

17. Stella I agree wit u in all u said especially abt Daniella. Wth!!! Shez just same as Juliet Ibrahim. So stiff... who dey evn giv dem role sef? I tink danielas problm is dat her ass is so heavy on her but I snt get juliets ...dey nid a lng break frm acting

18. I would love to see this Movie!Cos I know Uche Jombo is an amazing Actress anyday anytime.Plss can I have the ticket!

19. D movie is just dere jor. It was my first time. Seeing a Nigeria movie at the cinema and I swore never again!!! Waste of money

1. That's what am talking about all these Nigerian Cinema movies are mostly boring,Alaba movies are very interesting

20. Lady, nice innovation and a nice way for u to get us to read ur blog but I must say that I checked out ur blog and u don't hav enough content yet. U post less than 10 posts in a month...SDK is a huge platform, b4 u advertise here, you need to get a lot of things in order. There are so many blogs and some pple can't keep up with much of dem. So u need pple like us wit a voracious appetite for consumin blognews to patronize u. We can only do dat wit d rite stuff on ur blog...I will use my self as an example...I come to d internet and I first go to SDK, den linda, den laila, den ladun, den soladunn, and eya's wivesconnection, that1960chick...I end wit BN...I do dis rounds not less dan 4 times in a day...wen I saw ur url...it wz very easy to memorise but I didn't get much content...update pls...nice style of writing btw!

1. Sure thing sire, thank u.

2. Not less than 4 times a day..on all these blogs you have mentioned .
      My dear these blog owners ought to pay you salary o.
      Haba you are trying o...
      Abeg apart from perusing blogs what else do you do?

3. Orela dear, could u stop being so DUMB! For crying out loud, ur age and immaturity screams so loud through your comments. The above comment is just a truthful opinion of the commenter, presented maturely, so what's ur point. Its funny with ur claim to medicine u also visit blogs regularly and so long as its no ones business, also stop poking ur nose into other peoples business. Most times, u take joy in being overly antagonistic to people who give their opinion contrary to SDK's, replying them all, but u play ignorance to similar scenario on Laila's blog. Pls get over ur Hypocrisy and let othe blog visitors be!

21. I will watch it just because of Daniella's ass.

22. I avnt watched the movie but I would so love to. Dat Diana Yekini is such a fine actor. He was in 'deperate housegirls' and he played his role so well......me likey. Make pesin beg Emem isong say me too sabi act abeg. Make she no dey use only calabar people. She is a good producer and working with her would be a breath of fresh air. We upcoming actors have to keep praying to God to help us get that break through.

1. Blood of Jesus, Diana Yekini a he? O_o and u want to be an actor, smh.

2. lmaooooooo...naija! kai

23. Seen d movie, like u said I like d introduction of fresh actors nd the end was not it for me. D movie should have ended with something believeable and African, dere was a bit of copying in d movie and we should be careful becos it becomes boring to sit thru it again

24. Alex Ekubo is a shit actor. And that storyline sounds played out.

1. Alex should just stop acting he is a terrible actor cos of him I stopped watching Rukky,s movies

25. SDK...thanks for the narration..in other words I have seen the movie...through your Narration he he he he. Ok ll go and wait for part 2

26. Sapelewaterpikin... Hve seen d movie ap the cinema silverbir and stella I agreed with u with you for your judgement my only problem with that movie is the last scene wia that fashion designer hve to cry on stage topick up an award. Nd u are crying for a man below her age cosof love, I think they lost t they dey probably do not knw how to end the movie, that was the part I don't like about the movie if not. The movie is not bad thou will rate dem 50percent ok

27. daniella and biola ige, who is worse? lmao hoes cant act to save their lives

28. kα̲̅γ̲̣̣̥ , I hv seen d movie, vry chic n classy. Daniella act pass lilian bach na! Cos dt one cldnt act 2 save naija hw much more ha life. So wht I dint like about d movie ws its predictability. Aldoh it is better than Rukky's gold diggin in dt aspect. Nigerian movies made 4 cinema r quite lovable n I go 2 seee dem 4 my Viewing pleasure wenenva I can. Ehen, Anoda tin I dint lyk about dt movie is d whole emmanuel issue, I dunno d name of d guy dt took dt role n 4 a gud rizon. Den even Doh I dnt knw cars, biko wht ws dt jeep he brot 2 apologise 2 ha? Wen d babe ws alrdy cruisin a range? kα̲̅γ̲̣̣̥. That kiss on d stairs btw Mona n lawrence ws hmmm. Moral of d story is dt lyf can b a bitch so mona cn kip entrin 1 chance. kα̲̅γ̲̣̣̥ bye

29. kα̲̅γ̲̣̣̥ , I hv seen d movie, vry chic n classy. Daniella act pass lilian bach na! Cos dt one cldnt act 2 save naija hw much more ha life. So wht I dint like about d movie ws its predictability. Aldoh it is better than Rukky's gold diggin in dt aspect. Nigerian movies made 4 cinema r quite lovable n I go 2 seee dem 4 my Viewing pleasure wenenva I can. Ehen, Anoda tin I dint lyk about dt movie is d whole emmanuel issue, I dunno d name of d guy dt took dt role n 4 a gud rizon. Den even Doh I dnt knw cars, biko wht ws dt jeep he brot 2 apologise 2 ha? Wen d babe ws alrdy cruisin a range? kα̲̅γ̲̣̣̥. That kiss on d stairs btw Mona n lawrence ws hmmm. Moral of d story is dt lyf can b a bitch so mona cn kip entrin 1 chance. kα̲̅γ̲̣̣̥ bye

30. Heard about it before but this review has made it way more interesting than I thought...can't wait to see it o jare!

31. The opportunity you have been waiting for is here beside you. Am William by name and i just want to tell you guys at there that this is my success story after i have been duped by so called agents. I have been looking for sugar mummy and my friend looking for sugar daddy for the past 1 year without getting it. But Agent George surprise me by hooking me up with one sugar mummy that just came back from Dubai. Now am chilling out with her giving me anything i wish from her. If you have been passing through fake agents just as i experience for my past. you can contact agent George today for one.

Here are his contact details: +2348131887148 or 08131887148 07057474783