Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kemi Iyanta - Widow Of Former Deputy Governor Recounts Her Ordeal With Her In-Laws

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Kemi Iyanta - Widow Of Former Deputy Governor Recounts Her Ordeal With Her In-Laws

Kemi Iyanta- widow of former deputy governor of Ondo state

What some people go through with-their in laws can only be left for God to judge...people have stories that if they tell,you just might find it hard to believe.....This brings me to the question...when the chips are down,why do in-laws show their true colours?
has anyone suffered great injustice in the hands of in-laws?
Surely,it cannot be worse than Kemi Iyanta's story?
Please read.......

Your husband passed on when he was climbing the political ladder, did you have a kind of premonition?
 No, I didn’t, because we were planning to do some things. I knew we would all leave this earth, but I did not know that it was going to be that soon and sudden. It came as a shock.  We didn’t know death would come like that, no. We had great plans for the people, for our lives but death came suddenly and took him away.

How did he die?
He died in an accident. We were travelling together in the same car when it happened. He was an area pastor of the Redeemed Christian Church of God. And as an area pastor, you are required to do monthly returns. So that was what he wanted to go and do when the accident occurred. He was the one driving. When I noticed the vehicle was veering off the road, I asked him why. But before I knew what was happening, the car ran into a ditch. All I could remember was our cry of ‘Jesus.’ I went into a coma. Some good Samaritans told his protocol officer who was calling to find out where we were that we just had an accident. We were taken to the General Hospital then in Akure. I did not know what happened until the following morning.

What did you do when you woke up?
When I woke, I asked after my husband. They said he was fine and that he had been transferred to Ife. I was just asking questions. I was discharged and brought to my sister’s house at Oba-Ile, because they did not want me to know what happened.

Who broke the news to you eventually?
Our provincial pastor broke the news. It was as if I was going crazy. I could not understand what he was saying. It was such a traumatic experience.

It is almost nine years now, how have you coped without him?
Life has been so harsh. I could not even imagine it. As if his death wasn’t enough trauma, my in-laws brought their own trouble.

How?
They asked for the house keys just as soon as they learnt he was dead.  Keys? My God! My father-in-law said they would collect the house keys from me. I could not understand what was happening. The keys were in the car, I did not have any idea of what they were going to do with them. My father-in-law threatened there would be trouble if I didn’t release the house keys. When I said I would bring them while coming home, his family said there was no need for me to come home because my husband was dead. I had to call my husband’s immediate younger brother who said I should not worry, that I should come home.

Did you eventually go home?
Yes. When I got home, my in-laws manned the gate. They had changed all the locks. They said I could not enter the house because I killed my husband. They all rose against me. I asked how they knew I killed my husband. They wanted to stone me. It was strange. The church intervened, but the family members insisted that I killed him. I did not take out a pin out of our house. And that was the house I struggled with my husband to build when we were working for government. They didn’t even allow me to take my certificate and my international passport. They were locked up in that house.  The family head came and told me that my father-in-law said he would only allow me into the house if I came to meet him inside the room privately.

Really?
Yes. He told me my father-in-law said he would like to ask me a few questions inside the room. I found that very strange because I didn’t know what he wanted to ask me inside the room.

Was that demand linked with any cultural practice?
No.  The normal custom is for a general meeting to be called and the widow would be brought to the assembly and asked questions being the person with him when he died. Since my father-in-law said the meeting would be between just the two of us in the room, I was advised to return to the hospital, because I came from the hospital.

But were you allowed to attend the burial ceremony?
Of course, I attended but at the burial, the family were so hostile. They wanted to lynch me. But thank God, the state government under the late Olusegun Agagu, arranged security for me. If not, they would have killed me, because they thought my husband had money somewhere and I was the only one who had access to it. They believed that if I got into the house, I would take all the money and the documents. But I said if they wanted to take everything, they should go ahead and allow me to mourn my husband. But I was molested, humiliated and dehumanised. It was traumatic. They said I was the one driving the vehicle and that I intentionally faced an oncoming vehicle to kill my husband, whereas it was a lone accident. Others said I struggled to take over the steering from him because I was quarrelling with him. They spoke as if they were there with us. They did not stop there. They were going about looking for where my husband kept money. Because they had driven me out, they could not talk to me again. They went to the Government House to change records that I was not the wife, but fortunately they met someone who said it would not happen. Agagu told them that he had gone through all the documents in the Government House and the only name he saw there was Oluwakemi. Even when they were told that, they would not listen because they had made up their mind to torture and dehumanise me.

What role has the present Mimiko’s government played in your plight?
That is sad and quite unfortunate. Governor Mimiko was a commissioner when my husband was deputy governor. When he died, Mimiko was the Secretary to the State Government. He was even the Chairman of my husband’s burial committee. He promised to do many things for me but he has not fulfilled his promises. I voted for him, I did not vote for Agagu because Agagu and my husband were in different political parties. I voted for him  but since he became governor, he has not given me a cup of water to drink. I went to him three times but he kept on promising me. He was the first person who received the news of the death of my husband. He went to the scene of the accident as the SSG. I used to call him on the phone until he stopped picking my calls. He had a good relationship with my husband, even with me.

What are you doing at the moment?
Since my husband’s death, I have been in politics. Because of what I went through, I have made up my mind to fight the cause of women. Just to keep myself busy, I have organised a women group, not women who are presently in full time politics, but those with the potential to become great women leaders. I go to people with the name my husband has left behind for me. I have not soiled that name. These women are coming together as a group and we meet twice in a month. It is called the National Association for Women Empowerment in Politics. We are interested in fighting the cause of the widows. If I, the wife of the former deputy governor, could go through dehumanisation from in-laws, you can imagine what will happen to the rural women who do not know anybody and do not know their rights. I want to appeal to women who are occupying high positions; they should not just sit down there and bear titles. They should attend to this issue. They should sponsor bills to alleviate the sufferings of women.

What is your relationship with your in-laws now?
I have put my nasty experience behind me. As a child of God, I had to put this behind me. I found it difficult to forgive and forget initially but now, I have nothing against them in my heart...culled from Punch

55 comments:

1. Na wa, what women go through , you don't marry......problem
    You marry........ Problem
    You divorce.......problem
    You are a widow.....problem.

Anyways, be of good cheer The Lord has overcome them all.

1. @ Anon12.21, you've said it all but left out a few things. You marry- no children......problem.
      You marry- only female children......problem.
      You marry- one child.....problem.

Women are really suffering. Only God can guide us through this life.

2. God pls help women

1. Tryin to view this logically.

I don't know this woman but she cuts across as a tale-talker.and people who like tales are usually adept in sweetening stories to evoke pity or interest.

first,why make it sound like her father-in-law wants to do more than talk privately with her?
      2. What did she do to make her father-in-law dislike her so much and she had not one supporter in the entire family?
      3.Ondo parents loves their kids marrying from their state and she's from Ondo,what did she do to them?
      4.Why was she accused of quarreling with her husband before his death if she doesn't ve records of being quarrelsome?
      5.Putting RCCG titles and positions forward is just to arouse support and establish empathy jare.

6.Dragging Mimiko and historical tales in the interview was just for the purpose of trying to steer up unnecessary sympathy and talks.

That said,I hope someone in the family too speaks on behalf of the family.

This is my opinion,feel free to dispute but apply brain.If you abuse or curse me....*smiles*....For your own good,Don't.

3. In-laws?heeeeh. Especially that one wey dey live with you wey you with am be paddy. Na dem dey give others information ooooo

4. Life of a widow. Cheers. Engr E

5. Na wah ooo...what of her children?....some inlaws are very wicked and heartless...chai poor woman

6. O ga oo... D things somebody Widows go thru after their husband's demise is so so frightening... thank God she wasn't asked to sleep wiv d corpse or drink d water used to bath d corpse as in some barbaric cultures... hmmmm

7. This made me cry..... This just made me cryyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! I can relate very well with this article considering all what I have suffered and am still suffering with my in laws right under my husband's nose. Like Stella said it is only God that can be the judge but they will surely pay for their sins nd the heartache caused me. its very hard to let go.

Mrs Afolabi Omowunmi
    YERS, the same Afolabi from Osun state.

8. Hmmmm Gov Mimiko what do you have to say about this? Checklist before you say "I do" on omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com

9. so sad.gud 2 know uve forgiven ur inlaws.its well with u in Jesus name,Amen

10. This is sad,very sad!!
    Like she said,if she as a deputy gov's wife could go through all these even with her being learned and exposed,how much more commoners?
    Women are suffering in Nigeria.
    May God wipe away such evil inlaws and put them all to shame IJN

11. And Pplee will accuse the igbos of being guilty of such harassment whereas all tribes are guilty of it.

1. Yes all tribes are guilty...dont know much abt hausa culture tho.but my yoruba and igbo pple do am wella.God av mercy

2. Mi sister...all tribes are guilty oh..mi late mom went thru same too...cept she was smart enof to hide d house documents dy would av sold that too...even afta she died 14 yrs lata...dy still av d guts to be asking me of d haus in lagos..knowing dt one will generate better rent than d ones in Akure...

12. D problem with a lot of Nigerians (married women in this case) is that they don't know their rights. Also, dere seems to be no laws protecting women & children. I feel so sorry for her, good she's using her situation and position to enlighten other women

Moving along,
    Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, Cheers

13. Sad! Where are her kids in all these?

1. Kids? She had none for the deceased.

14. I pray for good in laws like my late dad's family o! My mum is so lucky. I was scared initially because she is from akwaibom and my dad was yoruba but they rallied round, sponsored the funeral and even when one of my dad's relation moved in with my mum with the intention of stealing the house documents, they chased her out. They call my mum every week to check up on her. She is really fortunate o because it isn't like she had a close relationship with my dad's family before his death but we thank God because they are educated and exposed

15. When i read stories like this i kneel down and thank God for my marriage..hmm. As a sister in-law i will never ever do that to my sister in-laws, NEVER! I think it is wickedness, poverty and lack of exposure that make most Nigerian in-laws do shit like that. Women MUST learn to make their own money. What about the children? Or she has no child or children? If yes, what happen's to the children? This remind's me of when my dad died, his brother my uncle came and took everything away. Thank God, today i have many houses both home and abroad and i am doing great, i am richer than his children. Sweet revenge..Hmm.

16. Hmmm! Pple shld change n know that it cld be deir turn 2moro or sum1 close 2 dem. My mum didn't go thru dis I don't think dey hv d liver 2 do dat 2 her cos her own family no be here. But little wickedness lyk not including us in d vast estate deir own dad had, not caring if we exist or not, not contributing 2 d burial cos they thot my dad left huge sums n d burial was really exp cos my dad was a chief, stealing from him (us) etc. I just thank God cos he has been merciful. I see d way my mum is interested in her late brother's family only she doesn't hv d means 2 help but she prays 4 dem n helps in d little way she can. My dad's family don't know how we r @ any time I don't hold it against dem dey don't owe me only if they switched places wit my dad, he won't let any of deir kids suffer. Ur connection dies wit u when u die I can say that 4 a fact. We shld learn 2 be kind inlaws r human, inlaws r u n I.

17. This woman experienced unspeakable torment in the hands of so called inlaws From the degree of wickedness displayed its obvious they killed the man themselves to take over his property. The father even covets the poor widow.

18. Mimiko is the worst governor ever produced in ondo state. I know this woman but she doesn't know ♍ε̲̣̣̣̥,continue to trust in God he is Æ”☺ur hussband Α̲̅πϑ will take good care of Æ”☺ΰ. As for Mimiko let him be,d broom that they used.....is on roof Α̲̅πϑ will be used for him soon.Everyone is complaining in Ondo state but his inlaws are rocking d state as if its theirs.

19. Too sad. Why are naija so fucken greedy. Were they the ones consoling and satisfying the man when he was alive. Awon oloriburuku ole alapa mashishe inlaws

20. Men from ONDO, OGUN and all IGBOS are no go area for marriage o. Their beliefs of entitlement to their "sons" wealth after he dies is out of this world. Mba nu, no way, lailai. I wont marry from any of these places

1. Then make you marry a Boko haram aboki naa....wetin sef.... Mtschewww

2. What are you talking about?? Ondo pple are very nice pple. Its sad dat dis woman went thru all dese, buh it doesn't mean its dsame everywia. How many ondo fams av yu met? Mtchewww... You are even mentioning states nd d whole of igbo tribe like every1 is guilty of dis. Nawa o. May God help us.

3. What are you talking about?? Ondo pple are very nice pple. Its sad dat dis woman went thru all dese, buh it doesn't mean its dsame everywia. How many ondo fams av yu met? Mtchewww... You are even mentioning states nd d whole of igbo tribe like every1 is guilty of dis. Nawa o. May God help us.

4. My father is from Ondo. The statement above is correct. You don't know what this relatives are capable of doing till the man of the house passes on.

They have this communal mentality. But kindly add most part of OSUN state too....

21. This is truly sad. May God judge whomever is wrong in this. Maybe she didnt have kids. Wicked inlaws always feel more powerful when there are no kids in the marriage

22. It sounds like a scene out of a Nollywood movie

23. Hmmm there's more to this story ooo. She was treated badly cos she was a wicked woman. You should not judge from here own part o, also listen to the family's part too. She made Iyatan treat his biological son badly. She never gave birth. There's more to this story. U shouldn't judge cos she's a woman. Atleast the house she's talking about is there and nobody is living in the house.

1. Wicked inlaw! Its obvious you're one of d inlaws she s talking about?
      She neva gave birth? Are you God? Or you think she does nt like to give birth?
      Nobody is living in d house? So you are part of dose who chased her from her ause ryt? Just remember dat God is on d throne nd he will judge every1 accordingly.
      You're nt even ashamed of your wickedness! God av mercy.

24. Husbands shld be wise enough to make their wife or children their next of kin. Women shld also learn how to stand up and fight. We are vulnerable bt at least u can fight them by taking them to court n with prayers.

25. You think her in-laws are mad ?
    All you who commented on this issue should ask for forgiveness because you only read her own sweet story. Alas!You may be dazed if her in-laws come out to relate their own stories !
    I have seen things on my little years on this planet so I won't be believe any story unless is balanced !

1. Shut up! Are you even married? I hate when people bring sentiments into issues like this.

Once a man is married he Must LEAVE his parents to CLEAVE to his wife. If her in laws relate their stories that wat? They probably tress passed na? Have faced the height of oppression and surpression from in laws and I sure know how bloody it could get.

2. Two shall become one. Whatever a man owns is for him and his wife first before any selfish set of in laws.

This is where we get things wrong in this damn country. Communal mentality is so lame and really breaking homes. Am a victim of that! My husbands siblings feel they are entitled to stuffs from my hubby first before me and my child gets. And hell YEAH my man made that the norm. Omo mehn my eye son clear o, the rate at which I hustle and save up my 'own' money no be here now o. Ethical businesses tho

3. Eye don clear****

4. Eye don clear ****

26. Woulda loved to write so much about this woman and this post but, I'd reserve it for media sake. This story isn't complete.
    Sigh! Karma!

1. Abeg tell us so we know. Am a woman too, yes, but not everyone who cries wolf deserves pity. No one prays to lose their spouse in their prime.

2. shutup ur disgustin mouth u fool,which karma,d man was her husband,whatever happened between dem is nt enuf reason for d maltreatment she got.which karma?abeg shut ur retarded mouth joor.if she stopped d man from helpin his people,e no concern u,dem for still leave to manage and mourn her husband.u be woman ,no worry keep supportin rubbish.

3. May God Punish you xo

27. It all boils down to the love of money being the root of all evil.

Terrible wickedness.....mscheeewww

28. First of all, this woman has started to use make up and jewelries *hahahaha* sebi she is SU before. Secondly don't judge from her part, listen to the family's own story too and u'll be dazed.

29. Greed can make people so wicked. I'm glad this woman has been able to move on with her life. I had a similar issue with my in-laws. I was in the UK when my husband died of a sudden heart attack. We were estranged but trying to work things out. You won't believe my in-laws rushed to bury him without letting me know he was dead; so they could take over his businesses. I found out of his death after he was buried. I still have nightmares about not seeing my husband before he was buried. Even his close friends didn't know of his burial - they buried him like a nobody even though he achieved so much in his lifetime. The family expected me to start a battle and I know they would easily have gone diabolic/festish. I lost so much of my personal items left in my matrimonial home in Lagos - even sentimental things my father gave me while I was growing up. But i promised my mother that I would not look back as she didn't want me, her only child, to be killed because of property we cannot take to heaven. I will write my story one day. I haven't done it yet because I want to protect my late husband's memory.

30. Greed can make people so wicked. I'm glad this woman has been able to move on with her life. I had a similar issue with my in-laws. I was in the UK when my husband died of a sudden heart attack. We were estranged but trying to work things out. You won't believe my in-laws rushed to bury him without letting me know he was dead; so they could take over his businesses. I found out of his death after he was buried. I still have nightmares about not seeing my husband before he was buried. Even his close friends didn't know of his burial - they buried him like a nobody even though he achieved so much in his lifetime. The family expected me to start a battle and I know they would easily have gone diabolic/festish. I lost so much of my personal items left in my matrimonial home in Lagos - even sentimental things my father gave me while I was growing up. But i promised my mother that I would not look back as she didn't want me, her only child, to be killed because of property we cannot take to heaven. I will write my story one day. I haven't done it yet because I want to protect my late husband's memory.

1. Am practically shaking. That was gross..m. Sue their asses to court! Cos this is unbearable. Was it that they don't have your contact ni? Do you have kids with this man? Hmnnnnn... Heart attack?

31. My big bro is a very rich man. He has houses in almost all the big cities in 9ja. He used my greedy older sis n his son as his next of kin. I called him n told him pointblank that it is WRONG. Your wife nko? . I told him not to bring enemity between his family members. He can give anyone any of his properties but his next of kin should be his fat WIFE. He was happy with me

1. Chimo!!!!! Things are apuning o

32. We don't need analytical abilities to understand what widows go through here in Nigeria, we just need a first hand experience either personally or by proxy.
    My mother is a widow... I know in-laws.
    My take is once is your husband closes his eyes finally to this world, know that your marriage and your life as you know it is OVER!
    In-laws, you might dine and drink with them, they will still play 'in-laws' when their son dies.
    There is no need for harsh judgements... life is a teacher, we will all learn.

*Unbreak My heart @ http://alifediary.wordpress.com/ *

33. Anon feb 22 5:31pm....since the house is just dere and no one is living there now...y dont u just move in,,at least u people already succeeded in taking the house from her....where was d family wen she and her late hubby struggled to build that house??? you said she made the man to treat his biological son badly,,obviously that son was given birth to by a mistress since u said she has no child....show me that woman who will laugh wholeheartedly if her hubby has a child outside their marriage whether she has kids as much as a football team or not......Anon & XO.....are you God that gives children,,,or is it her joy that she has no child of her own?? Marriage is btw two people and no one irrespective of who ever the person is,,has no right interfere in the union...u talk about family,,,y cant the men in d family face their own wives and the women face their own husbands???if this woman's hubby was poor,,,will they have given her so much problems after the man's death???pls lets face reality...

Ijesa lady....if you are married,,you should know in-laws can go to any length to retrieve properties from a woman even if it means tarnishing her image.....u should also ask y the father in-law insisted on seeing her privately in the room....talk wey pass wetin third ear fit hear don dey turn something else,,abeg...

34. This is sickening! People are mentioning the fact that she didn't have a child for the deceased, why does that matter? So because she didn't have a child for the deceased, she is not entitled to what she's worked hard for? She wasn't staying home chopping big time money, she said she worked too. She encouraged her husband, she made sure the household was kept and took care of him when he was sick but since she didn't have a child, she is less than a woman and she doesn't deserve even her personal things that was in the house? Omo,sometimes educated people talk like pure illiterates and we wonder why Africa is called the dark continent! It ain't just our skin tone, it is our lack of enlightenment.

Evil in-laws exist EVERYWHERE! I remember a story right here in this America where I dey. A woman found a young Albanian woman to introduce to her son. Fortunately, they clicked and everyone was happy because they were a minority group in an all American white town. Mama in-law and papa in-law helped them buy a house but than mama in-law wanted to tell her what paint to put on the wall, what curtain to buy. She would go to the supermarket and buy foods for their house even though the girl asked to stop. Since the son worked at the dad's mechanic shop, she will hand him the pay check and calculate what he should do with the money. When the young girl now had a baby, mama in law wanted to tell her what to feed the baby and when the child got sick, she was boiling things and giving it to the baby even when the mother of the child said not to do it.

The girl filed for divorce. Mama in law hired a gun man who shot her dead as she came out of work.

Ladies, It is from the onset you have to set the ground rules! When you are dating a guy, you have to watch how he interacts with his parents and siblings. If the man can't change his underwear before discussing it with his parents, omo to hills o! Or at least prepare your mind for battle. Women go dey enter marriage with blind eye, love don't love nobody when it comes down to money in a place reeking with poverty and NO LAWS! Make copies of the documents, take the original to the bank and get a box in a vault (is this available in Nigeria?) for it. Keep your own money in a separate account. And make sure your husband puts your name on the deeds to the house and cars etc as co-owner. Get a LAWYER to document everything! DOCUMENT EVERY TIME YOU PUT MONEY TOWARDS THE ANYTHING IN YOUR HOUSEHOLD. Create a paper trail!

They can't fight documents in court. The worst be sey dem go start to dey bring juju into the matter and at that time, it not worth it.