Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mike Ozekhome Says President Jonathan Has Every Right To Suspend Sanusi...Read Why.

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Mike Ozekhome Says President Jonathan Has Every Right To Suspend Sanusi...Read Why.

Constitutional lawyer and Human Rights Activist, Mike Ozekhome says that President Goodluck Jonathan did not breach the constitution in suspending Sanusi Lamido Sanusi as Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).He stated this yesterday in Abuja in reaction to the uproar the sack had generated.

“Constitutionally and legally, what President Jonathan did was correct. He does not require the consent of the National Assembly to do so.
“Anyone who is an employee has to know that he is answerable to his employer. You cannot bite the finger that feeds you.The Nigerian Constitution and the CBN Act give the President the authority to suspend or remove the Governor of the CBN,” he said.

Ozekhome alleged that Sanusi deviated from his primary duty as head of the apex bank and made provocative and highly derogatory statements even about the monetary policies of Nigeria.
“A governor of a Central Bank in any part of the world should be seen and not heard.When he should be heard, he should only be discussing monetary policies which will uplift the economy of his country.In Nigeria, what we have is a CBN governor that has been fighting the government of his country.
When you say all that, then how do you want international investors to come to the country, when a very reliable figure is saying all these negative things about his country,” 

Speaking further, he accused Sanusi of acting like a political leader or traditional ruler by donating public funds to universities, political aides and at other functions.
He said Sanusi was not versatile and had made six mistakes on the missing funds from the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) within the last two months.
“This variation in figures of the missing funds has caused chaos in the country, which is not supposed to be so.People should look at this from all sides. It is easy for people to say Sanusi’s sack was because he exposed the truth. But, no! This is not it.
When Sanusi became the governor, the exchange rate of the Dollar with the Naira was about N130.

Today it is anything between N160 to N170 to a dollar. This is the poorest so far in the history of this country,” the lawyer said.
He said it was undeniable that Sanusi had some good impact on the banking industry ‘by weeding out bad banks and restructuring the entire banking sector”.

“He has succeeded in that area. No doubt. But his visibility and intrusion into matters that are highly political and have nothing to do with his office are questionable character,’ Ozekhome said......dailypost

*What do you think about Mr Ozekhome's views?

43 comments:

1. Princess Charming22 February 2014 at 13:04

Must you talk? @Ms who be this one. And to think you are a Nigerian, yet you don't know him still baffles me. Smh.

2. D one shuld go and sit down,human being dey talk,goat dey follow put mouth. Whoa oga jona if u like sack everybody we will not still vote for u cum 2015.

3. Who need your vote idiot like you. Dambruba shege. Have nit been told he was also fucking peoples wives and all shades of girls. Is that the type of man u entrust Nigeria peoples money to? A man who lacks morals. Rubbish! Before you know it he will empty Nigeria's treasury to this women.

4. @ Tessy he is Davido ,kpele na inyanya ema binu

5. @ Anon 11.05PM. If we are to judge leadership in Nigeria based on morality then the entire government should be sacked....including your dear GEJ. 'Nuff said.

6. Stella Dimoko abi na Stella Damascus, the next time you blog an inconsequential lawyer with a 3class lower call to BAR certificate, seeking popularity, I shall plunder you by withdrawing my investments from SKD.

7. @ anon 11:05 u r an imbecile!which of ur stupid nigeria leaders don't sleep around wit women including ur so called 'sleeping president'! Pls practice critical or analytical thinking b4 opening ur mouth!@ Ozekhome it is jst wot it is ur opinion! Doesn't hold water @ all.

8. Lil miss sunshine,i hope you made a first class in law school.

2. My Agenegbode guy , you are so on point. He became a governor he turned to political thug

1. This man is absolutely correct. He has given an apt analysis from the legal and political perspective. Very bare faced and transparent. Sanusi was overboard and what he got is what he deserves. He should quit playing the 'mini Messiah' because he is NOT. Why did he hurriedly seek a restraining order if he has nothing to hide? He did that so he can quickly prepare his defence against what the fed govt intends to prosecute him for. He's not so smart after all.

3. Truth be to, is sack oor suspension be legal or not, been right or not it iss of a truth dt Sanusi deserve it. Let's all tell ourselves the truth and remove sentiment dt man became a political thug wth huge money to give out

4. @tessbaby am so sorry for you if you say you don't know him, and then i guess you know nothing as a person.

5. He succeeded in weeding out bad banks forcefully thereby creating unemployment in the country. Soludo provided a discount window to help banks that are not too strong. Sanusi faulted it, exposed and forced those banks to close biz but later introduced AMCON to help the likes of keystone, Mainstreet and others,exactly what Soludo did with ease. Pls Sanusi deserve what he got. He shld go and rest.

6. I totally agree. Sanusi did become very power drunk. Checklist before you say "I do" on omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com

7. My intelligent lawyer! I love this guy! Nah APC cause Sanusi wahala. IT SERVE'S HIM RIGHT!!!

8. Oga you got some points wrong. Apex bank Governors of UK George Osborne and US Jacob Lew are always seen and heard, if they are not they are always queried by legislatures. it is normal for Sanusi to be seen and heard regarding Nigeria economic and banking problems. Do you prefer investors being lied to even when economy and situations are bad in our country?
    If our house of Rep and Senators are doing their job like their western partners we won't hear Sanusi talking about corruption, he will do his other jobs but in our case no one is ready to talk about the corruption our legislatures are looters they only care about their pocket.
    In the right sense I think he did the right thing by telling Nigerians about money that was stolen in NNPC. We also need the government to investigate him regarding gift he gave to university and emergency office last year, he need some kind of approval from government before he gives out tax payers fund. This Government should stop witch hunting the gentle man he is an honest Nigerian, I wish he can drop his Islamist behaviour and be more moderate. Sanusi said Northern Nigeria has been deprived in the past years I also disagree with him because same northerners misruled Nigeria for more than 40years,they are selfish leaders.

1. @JayMoore do you even know what you are talking about? Those people you mentioned (Chancellor of the Exchequer and Treasury Secretary) are the equivalent of Nigeria's Minister of Finance. In fact, the fact that you don't know about the Fed President and the Governor of the BOE is testament to what Barr. Ozekhome said, a Central Banker should be seen and not heard (or if he must speak, he should be circumspect in his utterances)

9. Lies. I don't think he is fit to be a lawyer considering how myopic his statements are. Besides dollar rate wasn't 130 but 147 when sanusi came on board and sanusi stabilized it at 150. Not the same can be said of all d cbn governors before him

1. So can you buy dollar 150 now? Everybody want to talk.

10. @ Jay Moore ... I too know that is worrying you...point of correction...George Osborne is not the governor of Bank of England... He his the chancellor of the exchequer .....that is like minister of finance position in Nigeria ... Mark Carney is the Bank of England governor....and he his only seen and heard when he his announcing the interest rate of 3 months, so please stop misleading people on this blog....

Sanusi and salama of court of appeal allowed themselves to be used by politicians, ..so he deserve what he got...

11. @ Jay Moore ... I too know that is worrying you...point of correction...George Osborne is not the governor of Bank of England... He his the chancellor of the exchequer .....that is like minister of finance position in Nigeria ... Mark Carney is the Bank of England governor....and he his only seen and heard when he his announcing the interest rate of 3 months, so please stop misleading people on this blog....

Sanusi and salama of court of appeal allowed themselves to be used by politicians, ..so he deserve what he got...

12. ... Jay Moore, you are wrong.. the governor of bank of England is Mark Carney and not George Osborne.. who is the chancellor. Carney only makes pronouncements on monetary policy and never politics.

13. Princess charming and chi exotic, as una know it all Y e hard una 2 answer the simple question? Busy bodies. Don't go get a life stay here and monitor those that knows it all in the country. As if knowing him n what ever rubbish he stands for makes u better than tessy. Idiots

14. Thanks for the information my educated professors. I mentioned both names because they head financial sectors in both countries.
    If we have a finance minister speaking out about misappropriation of fund and passing information to House/senate to act before EFCC comes in, i don't think Sanusi will have time to be speaking about fund misappropriation. Mrs Iweala i guess is not doing her job as she is also at loggerhead with Sanusi. Sanusi spoke out because the fund in question was suppose to be in CBN account. I am sure if this man do not speak out about missing fund now, he will still be blamed by us for covering up.*Myopinion*

1. Jaymoore please give up that you lack adequate knowledge about conduct and workings of central bankers globally.Since Mark Carney(a Canadian) and Jane Yellen became BOE Gov and Fed Reserve Bank chairperson respectively,the only time you hear about them is when monetary policies of these nations are being discussed.Imagine Yellen donating money to victims of hurricane in oklahoma or Carmey to the recent flood victims in south wales and and england.From whose purse/pocket? Sanusi stepped too much out limits,take it or leave it bro.

15. Jay Moore, oversabi wan kill yu die...

16. Imagine a CBN governor forming MKO Abiola,making donations as if he owns the world,instead of improving the economy he was busy making political statements,see whr APC and el rufai don land u

17. D man is power drunk and a political thug.... My confusion with Sanusi is...all dese years you have been working for this govt, if he didn't believe in the govt, why didn't he honorably resign?he doesn't recognize the enormous responsibility that comes with his office. He makes provocative statements and contradictory statements about the economy he is managing ..is dat not indicting on him? I believe he is being used by some wicked elements in the society. Time will tell

18. Sanusi deserve what he got from the federal government. Go meet tinubu and buhari and if possible el-rufai to find you job. Sebi u said u want to be selling tomatoes and pepper, I beg carry come lawanson market o. I want cook stew tomorrow morning. Ewu gambia u have allowed men like to use u to fight government you are serving.

19. Sanusi is a political rogue. Very incompetent and misleading. Very unintelligent and loud mouthed. He is yet to come up with a precise figure that was missing from the nnpc. I strongly believe that he is using nigerian money to sponsor bokoharam. Something soludo did quietly, it got to his turn and he made a big deal out of it like he is the first to do such restructuring.

I also want to address the fools that make it seem like fashola is the best thing that has happened to nigeria, please go to akwa ibom

20. Barrister Ekwurekwu,its ok,we have seen and heard u bt unfortunately for u,GEJ has already chosen d new CBN governor,so all dis ass licking no go work...or e fit work.oo,wit d way GEJ dey fire anyhw,mayb wen abati turn come,u fit step in as replacement.

21. As Mr Reno said: its his job that was suspended,not his mouth.....u cannot take away the microphone from his mouth...Sanusi is a tool in the hands of APC...he has been acting like an activist instead of a CBN governor...he can go to court after all El.rufai will escort him...

22. Ola , Politics aside, the SAN has spoken the truth.
    Cos, countries where economic indicators are very important and used, u can never seen the Central bank head to be reckless and inconsistent with words otherwise the economy of that country will be in trouble.

A mere rumor alone is a danger to the economy talk less of when the governor speaks .

U can imagine how foreign investor we look at our bankers leader who keeps on gallivanting and making so much noise as an impostor of being a perfect man with inconsistent books of records and inaccurate figures .

He has been infiltrated by these politician , that is why he speaks more of like a politician than more of an economist which i don't think he is anyway.

Being a former MD of a bank does not make him to be the best among others who where ahead of him , he got the job by virtue of shareholding . so get it right .

The bottom line is that he is reckless, disorganize in terms of proper book of record , poor economic policies eg printing of #5000 note which Nigerian don't even need ( waooo) imagine having #5000 note in Nigeria hmm that could have been the end of Nigeria

Mr. president , not that i like most of your policies , but asking sanusi to leave was the best new year gift to Nigerians.

23. Im happy nigerians are beginning to reason with their brains, pls lets all stop being tribalistic, lets put our political & regional affilations aside and ask a simple question, what style of leadship do we all think will b best for nigeria, d abacha style, babagida style, obasanjo style or jonathan style, which of these will move nigeria forward in 10-20yrs, mind u d problems of our great nation can not be solved fully even in 10yrs time talkless of within 4yrs, the question i have for jona is wat structures or policies have u put in place dat if there is continuity will beta nigeria & have positive effect on d common man??? As for opposition its a very good tin for any government because it makes dem sit up & be more efficient, so APC is indirectly making this govt more transparent & accountable to d people. Stella i would like u to do us all a favour, pls post an article on d various types/styles of leadership, let d good people of our great nation say which of our past & present leader fits or is close to d ideal leader, so they can educate & enlighten themselves prior 2015 elections, bcos i have noticed nigerians like noise makers, who announces every achievemt to d world. Im nt a politician neither im i in support of jona until e proves himself worthy of dat position. Im just a concerned nigerian. XxbarbieXx

24. I can cite examples of how sacking of employees has improved the services of an organisation esp within d nigerian context. We all will agree dat sanusi policy of sacking any banker found wanting or corrupt brought some sanity to d banking industry. Also nigerians in london would agree dat d nigeria house (nigerian embassy london) is a beta place to visit & their services have improved greatly, dis was becos the corrupt officers/staff dat made dat place hell were all sacked & d current staff are aware that if they get involved in corrupt acts or are not being transparent in rendering their services to d highest standards as its obtained every where in d UK, will be relieved of their duties asap. If this strategy is efficient, then i do not see anything wrong in jona using it. D only tin im weary of is he should not use it as a political tool against his opposition. XxbarbieXx

25. Im happy nigerians are beginning to reason with their brains, pls lets all stop being tribalistic, lets put our political & regional affilations aside and ask a simple question, what style of leadship do we all think will b best for nigeria, d abacha style, babagida style, obasanjo style or jonathan style, which of these will move nigeria forward in 10-20yrs, mind u d problems of our great nation can not be solved fully even in 10yrs time talkless of within 4yrs, the question i have for jona is wat structures or policies have u put in place dat if there is continuity will beta nigeria & have positive effect on d common man??? As for opposition its a very good tin for any government because it makes dem sit up & be more efficient, so APC is indirectly making this govt more transparent & accountable to d people. Stella i would like u to do us all a favour, pls post an article on d various types/styles of leadership, let d good people of our great nation say which of our past & present leader fits or is close to d ideal leader, so they can educate & enlighten themselves prior 2015 elections, bcos i have noticed nigerians like noise makers, who announces every achievemt to d world. Im nt a politician neither im i in support of jona until e proves himself worthy of dat position. Im just a concerned nigerian. XxbarbieXx

26. Lil Miss a Sunshine you are dumb, the man is a SAN.

27. This man is on point, I want to beg all. Nigeria pls my country people GEJ is our saviour

28. Sanusi sack was long over due