Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Bird Flu Outbreak‏ - Over 2000 Birds Lost In Lagos.

Saturday, January 17, 2015

Bird Flu Outbreak‏ - Over 2000 Birds Lost In Lagos.

The Lagos State Government on Friday acknowledged the reality of the bird flu outbreak in the state which it said had killed more than 2,000 birds in a poultry farm in Badore.

However, the state government said it had commenced intensive surveillance, which would focus on all poultry farms in the state in order to prevent spread of the deadly disease.

The Commissioner for Agriculture and Cooperatives, Mr. Gbolahan Lawal, disclosed the bird flu outbreak at a news conference he addressed alongside his health counterpart, Dr. Jide Idris in Alausa, Lagos.

At the conference, the commissioner said the name of the poultry farm would not be disclosed for security reasons, adding that because of the outbreak of the flu, 2,000 birds “have been depopulated from the farm while the entire farm had been quarantined.

Lawal said in order to contain the spread of the infection, the government had embarked on active Diseases Search by surveillance agents, Biosecurity Monitoring and Sensitisation in poultry farms and markets, disinfection of Poultry Markets and decontamination of affected farms and sensitisation of poultry farmers and traders on insurance policy issues.

At the conference, Idris said there was no cause for alarm and advised Lagosians to embrace basic hygiene to prevent contracting the disease, saying that people should ensure that they cook their birds properly before eating and report cases of mortality in birds in any area to the government.

Avian influenza (AI), commonly called bird flu, is an infectious viral disease of birds. Most avian influenza viruses do not infect humans; however some, such as A(H5N1) and A(H7N9), have caused serious infections in people.
According to the World Health Organisation, WHO, outbreaks of AI in poultry may raise global public health concerns due to their effect on poultry populations, their potential to cause serious disease in people, and their pandemic potential.

Reports of highly pathogenic AI epidemics in poultry, such as A(H5N1), can seriously impact local and global economies and international trade.
The body said majority of human cases of A(H5N1) and A(H7N9) infection have been associated with direct or indirect contact with infected live or dead poultry as there is no evidence that the disease can be spread to people through properly cooked food.

The WHO said controlling the disease in animals was the first step in decreasing risks to humans. AI viruses can sometimes spread to domestic poultry and cause large-scale outbreaks of serious disease. Some of these AI viruses have also been reported to cross the species barrier and cause disease or sub-clinical infections in humans and other mammals.culled

47 comments:

1. Ebola gone,bird flu here i come.it is well!

1. No small thing, even cholera out break in d eastern part of d country, it is well.

2. As if these diseases are recycling themselves, first ebola now bird flu...na wa

2. Its too early for this kind of problem... May God protect us.

3. Thank God it's not more december or festive period.... This would affect eateries again.....

4. Again??? They should try their possible best to control it to avoid it spreading oooo... May God continue to protect us....

5. Taking a break from "sikin" for now. Thank God there has not been any report on ponmo flu

6. Bird flu is back,no more chicken

7. Hope it doesn't pass on to humans o...

1. Na to boil all meats with spices for lengthy period

8. I'm a vegetarian! Chronic one.

9. Haba!!! Bird flu again? Well, wanna believe it was one of those rumors that made chicken very affordable back in the days of its reign. ExcePt that, then Lord please have Mercy!

I love CHICKEN like kilode.

#YourLegacyLivesOnProfDoraAkunyili*7/6/14
    *Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    For the ladies.....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

11. Na wa ooo

Abeg ooo....all ds airborne diseases.... I reject u in Jesus name

I can't do without "Afia efere" and pounded yam on Sunday cooked with chicken mbok

12. God help us oh
    Our borders should be well closed to some of the commodities that are brought into our country.even the frozen chicken should be totally banned because is not good for the health.the preservatives are not good for the body. if we can get an alternative; which is the life chicken; why go for the frozen ones

13. We ve lost over 15 in my house too.

#NahMe

14. God help us ooo,I thought this has been dealt with a long time ago... (FUN-NEL)

15. Hian nawa
    I was really hoping 2015 would be better than 2014, but the kind of bad news we hear everyday, makes me wonder if really the world is coming to an end!! God help us all...

16. God will defo deliver us! This one naa small ish compare to ebola! For those of u that likes cheap tns! If una see full chicken for 250 or 300 una go rush buy! Mk una use unaa head ooo! Sm pple go even chatter am cos say e cheap! God will see us tru

17. Ooh Lagosians...
    no more chicken. May God help us.

18. No more chicken and turkey for me till further notice.

19. Hmmmm. Bird flu again. So no more chicken till further notice. Pheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew

20. Bird flu again? Lord have mercy. But then government cannot contain the spread of any virus without d active participation of the masses. I know some people that cook soup, stew etc under 10 minutes and they call themselves fast cooks. Please cook your meals properly to avoid stories that touch. Those that operate poultry farms, please be sure to report any unusual happenings concerning their birds. Sometimes, contracting any disease is out of carelessness. Let's be watchful my people.

21. Jehovah! No more eggs 4 my son 4 now, badore near houz!

22. Government should act fast.

23. 2000 fowls already. Chei see fowls wey don escape death during christmas and newyear.

24. Just like Ebola, it starts with Lagos..

25. Dis bird flu tin always happens during d hamattan.and my dad had a poultry back in 2004,all d birds died from an unknown disease.i guess bird flu has bin around a long time.nd wen we were kids,we would still kill d chicken nd eat it wen it was sick.
    We didnt die...or fall ill.
    It didnt affect us den,it wont now.
    Jst cook ur meat properly for at least 30mins

26. Oh No! Not again. Thank God it was detected early.

27. Lol i will still eat the egg,,,can't eat noodles like that.

28. Ok, di one na gobe for poultry farm owners.

29. What a huge loss f d owner(s) of d farm but its all f d good of d populace. A stitch in times saves many.

30. Lagos again?!..

31. God dat help us fight Ebloa will not allow bird- flu in lagos.

32. PROUDLY VEGAN. -D Power of Alchemy

33. Abeg oooo, I hope they contain it b4 it becomes viral

34. Am ain't gonna eat be it chicken or turkey again. As I don't take read meat and ponmo. Stock fish is the next junction. Who knows what the next outbreak gonna be? Maybe......