Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Memories Of Old TextBooks......

Thursday, March 05, 2015

Memories Of Old TextBooks......

Memories of old comprehension textbooks and short story books are a part of everyone's childhood. It's Thursday, let's go down memory lane and have some fun.

Here are popular Macmillan textbook stories like..

'Edet lives in Calabar, he is 8 years old...' 

'Mr and Mrs Salami'...........

'Ali is a boy, Simbi is a girl'........

'Agbo lives in the town of Lagoon....'.......

'Mr Giwa is a shop keeper...'

Even books like 'Eze goes to school', 'Ralia the Sugar girl' etc

I loved Eze goes to school.....

Who remembers any other one and which was your favourite literature textbook back then.

Which ones are being used now?

274 comments:

1. Time changes yesterday, first book my dad gave me as a present!!

2. Ralia the sugar girl
    Akin goes to school
    As you go to college
    Without a silver spoon
    France afrique
    The gods are not to blame
    Our husband has gone mad again
    Stories my mother told me
    And the list goes on.......

3. Pokipo....or something like that.

4. Ahaannhaan Bootylicious i'm twenty something and I read Mallam Shehu(africa night entertainment) in Jss1 too, I also wore basket sandal, so maybe you enter Jss1 at 18 ni yen...

5. Ralia the sugar girl..
    Pace Setters series, blood bath at lobster close, ebvu my love etc...
    Chike and the river
    Eze series
    Drummer boy
    Lady bird series
    Without a silver spoon
    Dizzy Angel
    Koku baboni"baby born with a perfect set of teeth
    And the list goes on...lol

*ticktock

6. Yea I had 'my book of bible stories' those days mehn!!! So many memories to cherish...we were little then, didn't know there was more to life than the fulfilment we had then, lol

7. Omg!! Bata and cortina shoes, what a reminder, I remember konki and tinka too o, oh my days...those days were good ol days

8. Lmao!!old roger is dead and gone to the trees, um ah, gone to the trees, he planted an apple tree over his head, um ah, over his head, the apple grew ripe and ready to drop, um ah ready to drop blah blah....cant remember the other jare....fun fun days

9. Then came the quantitative aptitude test and that other one I can't remember the name, lol

10. My book of Bible Stories was da bomb.
    My kids went to my mum's house,saw mine and brought it to our house.
    Now they write on their books what I wrote in that book.
    This book belongs to .........
    Do not steal
    Angels are around it.

(Then I drew crosses on every page,then my name,nickname ,school ,mum n dad's names n my siblings names . Chei,I dey deface book then.)

11. I read Enid bottom in school too! Still. Have them sef, lol... Childhood memories... Twas fun then sha, played a lot, Oga, square, will u take my bread nd butter, hide nd seek, who will u marry etc! Break time was my best time in school, hehe

12. OMG, I'm just grinning from ear to ear as I remember those books. I love books like craaaazy! Read Akin the drummer boy when I was five. I remember passport of mallam illia, the boy slave 1and 2, bottled leopard, trouble in form six, all those books by lantern readers series..

My God, I lived for books. Enid Blyton books, malory towers. So many of them, Cyprain Ekwensi's books. Can't even remember the names o. Oh, lord.. I miss the days when life was simple, man!!

13. Oh,my.. I'm even tearing up. I miss those daysss!!

14. Hahaha@sizwe banzi is dead ooo! Sons and daughters. I especially loved the joys of motherhood.

15. Omg.. I remember without a silver spoon. Because of that book, I still don't put a spoon in my jollof rice when it's cooking till today. I skso remember my mother's daughter. Oh,my.. the memories.

16. Yesss!!! Dizzy angel oooo!

17. Lmao@six year old missing classmate. The world has turned upside down oooo!

18. Power rangers...lol

19. Princess Scheherazade5 March 2015 at 19:15

Pacesetters and the African Writers Series (AWS)...
    Reading is still my hobby but una say make I de go hang out ALONE so that husband go locate me.
    Baba God, abeg put hand for my matter oh, I like my peace and quiet.

20. Hahaha.. Enid blyton was my favorite author o. Mallory towers, famous five. Who remembers Darrell in Mallory towers? I read everything readable, man. Even my dad's books by pastor Daniel odukoya in primary school. Read the last outcast by Chris okotie in primary 4. Please who has read that book? Say what you want about Okotie but he is a gifted man.
    James Hadley Chase is an amazing writer, my dad didn't mind us reading anything even harlequin and M and B but if he dares see any james Hadley chase book, na to tear am finish.
    I loved reading, man.. I still do actually but books don't even come in hard copy anymore. The Internet has taken over everything. God bless my childhood days o, it really helped in making me the person I am today.

21. Menhhh, My book of bible stories, we stil have it o...my dad guided it so well n my niece is using it now .Infact d way she's handling d book carelessly is tearing my heart

22. Oh, my.. Mother's choice oooo!

23. You remember plenty oooo!

24. Yes oooo, born to win. Man of the people..

25. Superted was my best cartoon den
    @Dika I can relate with d flying n bouncing..lol
    Sweet memories

26. Without a silver spoon by Eddy Iroh

27. Nobody mentioned pepper soup by elechi amadi

28. I saw goody goody one day at one aboki's shop...if u see d way I rush am ehn!!! Lol. Why did I grow up nau?

29. Tales by moonlight was d bomb then...okorokoroko tin, tin, tin, okorokoroko tin, tin, tin...dat was d way I sang mine den

30. I remember @mrs D, miss those days mehn!

31. Animal farm o...dat song was d best then

32. Iyawwo Dimka kilowa she Loja ? no way RA ewedu no ewedu else lo ewedu onisisi tete maa loole won to fe pa Dimka puu puu

33. @esohe, u just spoke my mind. I love dt song n still sing it till date

34. @rubbynia, I do. I read all the stories back to back. I loved dt book . our crk teacher den taught frm d bok

35. The drummer boy, In the pot pourri,Beautiful ones are not yet born................

36. Mine was Second chance! Read that book 1 million and one times.

37. Good ol'days, i remember Enid Blyton books, Famous Five, Secret Seven... Chai. I miss my childhood.

38. I remember african night entertainment, the of kurumi rukiki hahaha.

39. I loved reading ade our naughty little brother, yoruba novel bashorun ga, m&b, james hadley chase. My favourite was titled the way the cookie crumbles.

40. So many interesting reads, but this song gets to me. Here goes: my mother told me not to have many friends. Beware (or the ways , can't recall) of your friends they can easily kill you. I throw the arrow away into the sky high high....can't remember again. someone knows?

41. Go to jw.org and download it for free, just type 'my book of Bible stories ' in the search column and u will get it. I did mine some days ago

42. Chai....queen primer...a cat, a fat cat, a mat. a fat cat sat on the mat......Alawiye.....Mr Sara is a farmer, he lives in Sapele...Akiti the ghost

43. Hahaha Hahhahahahhahhah Tanigororo....i remember

44. lizzy 1st yr in school
    our husband has gone mad again
    beggers strike

45. Iroko man and the wood carver. Nostalgic

46. Tinka and Konki, Brighter Grammer, NOEC, General Mathematics,, then my grandfather had loads of Agatha Christie series and Readers Digest. God bless him, Childhood was just perfect!

47. So is only me that read, "bibiana, I did not know, the evil forest, the 5 frogs, etc". This generation children are playin games oo, they have missed a lot.

48. Tinka and Konki, Brighter Grammer, NOEC, General Mathematics,, then my grandfather had loads of Agatha Christie series and Readers Digest. God bless him, Childhood was just perfect!

49. Omg anthills of savannah!!!!

50. I just remembered *sweet valley high* the novel...good ol days

51. My favorites were .. Without a silver spoon , drummer boy , the beautiful ones are not yet born , the Abiku poem too ** old good memories ** brings butterflies in my tummy hehe ��

52. @rubbynnia spot on Brighter grammar ehh!!
    The cat
    The fat cat
    The fat cat sat
    The fat cat sat on a mat ... Mehn growing up is a trap "sobbing "

53. How can I forget God's case no appeal ...
    The incorrigible jugge or so " brain cracking "

54. Beaming ear to ear with smiles .... "Fond memories " hmmm

55. Lolzzz@ Don jazzy !!chai chai chai

56. Childhood was fun...I remember

Ladybird series...Cinderella, snow white & the 7 dwarfs etc
    Eze goes to school
    Oliver Twist
    Aduke makes her choice
    Wedlock of the gods
    Enid blyton famous 5 series
    Mills & booms
    James hardly chase
    Drummer boy
    Great expectations..was so scared of miss havisham..lol...
    And of course can't forget my bestest and all time favorite Sesame Street...if u send us on an errand when they are showing Sesame Street na cry oh...lol..

57. You never went to school

58. I loved all these primary titles, but pacesetters did it for me then...
    For mbata and Rebecca
    Hopeful lovers
    Evbu my love
    And the likes...
    Bought a couple on amazon and still loved reading them in this my old age.

59. What about " Jimmy Johnson , Koku baboni, Chike and the river, The gods are not to be blame, Ige Adubi... Choi! I miss my childhood @Morayo

60. Eze goes to school, Edet lives in Calabar, he was 8 years old, Chike and the River, Oliver Twist, is it This is our chance? Chimere, Elelie Nw'ite ya agbonyuo oku, Obi is a boy-Ada is a girl, Robinson Crusoe, etc.

61. Eze goes to school, Edet lives in Calabar, he was 8 years old, Chike and the River, Oliver Twist, is it This is our chance? Chimere, Elelie Nw'ite ya agbonyuo oku, Obi is a boy-Ada is a girl, Robinson Crusoe, etc.

62. Mamodu ou es tu? Dan ma chambre maman.
    Ton Ami Kofi est la.
    Entre Kofi assetoi.
    Ta chambre ou est agreeable.
    CE sant te vetement?
    Oui.
    Ils sont tres chic

63. I Miss those days wen we went to school, lined up & the headmistress & teachers inspect our nails & uniform & den we match to our classrooms,U Remember na??• D days of Nasco Biscuit, okin biscuit, Trebor, Iced Colored water tied in nylon we called it "lolly"• D days of Goody-Goody & pako Biscuit. X_X• D days of ali & simbi, Mr Salami & Mrs Salami, Agbo lives in Calabar....,Edet is a boy• Chei, i remember those days wen one naira na money,wen groundnut was 5kobo & choco milo sweet was 5 kobo• days of messing game,who is in d garden, police and thief• D days of mama & papa play• days wen we use to build houses wit sand, play suwe game,tinco tinco,change Uя style, ten ten,skipping, stop! U remember nau!• those days wen we used to fly kite on streets, wen boys used to use d paint bucket cover as tire & their daddy's hanger as d steering• those days wen rubber band was stock exchange• Days wen votron, jimbo, power rangers, spider man was our favourite cartoons• D days of limca soft drinks& choco milo advert on black & white tv & sunday rendevous by1:30pm• when we say 'leke leke give me white finger'• Those days wen eleganza pen was d best• D days wen we used to drink water from d tap even suck out d water if its not coming out• The days wen NTA will show rainbow color for 30 minits then national anthem b4 they resume program @ 4pm• The days wen basket sandals,simbi & Bata sandals were d best• Days wen we all sing sandalili sandalili songs, Dstv has come. No more old fun.I'm really proud to have experienced all this. If u re not smiling it means u were not born in my generation. Which means u ar d INDOMIE generation! Abeg share make others laugh

64. Ahhhh, how time flies, I still remember all dz wonderful stories, "ralia the sugar girl, koku baboni, chike and the river, the gods are not to be blamed, Oliver twist, Mr gandoki, Ali and simbi, edet, agbor, n so many others. Lol. Dz stories I thought about has just made my day again. Missing my childhood days.

65. Smiles. Childhood memories. I can’t forget “ Mr Sada is a farmer, he lives in Sapele, he has a big farm. He grows crops like corn, cassava etc. every Sunday he goes to church and on and on. Smiles

66. Akin goes to school