Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Diezani Says They Lied Against Her Concerning $24bn oil swap/OPA deals

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Diezani Says They Lied Against Her Concerning $24bn oil swap/OPA deals

Former Minister for Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Diezani Alison-Madueke, has described the narratives of her former group managing directors, GMDs, Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, with regard to the ongoing legislative probe of the oil swap and OPA deals as fabricated tissues of lies.

Mr. Andrew Yakubu and Mr Austen Oniwon. The embattled former minister’s denial comes as she strongly refuted claims that she approved $24 billion for Renewal of the Crude Oil/Refined Products Exchange Agreement, otherwise called oil swap deals without contracts. From the inception of the deal in 2009, Federal Government was meant to realise about $1.82 million per 60,000 barrels per day, bpd, against the then losses of $1.47 million being recorded by the corporation.

It is uncertain if all the proceeds from the deal were remitted to the federation account. During their appearances before the legislators last week, Mr. Austin Oniwon, who was GMD, NNPC, from May 17, 2010 to June 12, 2012, and Mr. Andrew Yakubu, June 12, 2012, to August 2, 2014, said Alison-Madueke had granted them approvals for contracts extension. In a statement meant to set the records straight yesterday, she rejected some newspaper and online reports, which claimed that she granted an “extension” instead of ‘Approval for the Renewal of Contracts’ for the swap arrangements. Alison-Madueke, who is currently undergoing extensive cancer treatment in London, was quoted as describing the latest attack as “fabricated tissues of lies deviously concocted to sustain the escalating evil narratives against her person.” Contracts approvals 

The embattled former minister, who spoke through her spokesman, Mr. Clem Aguiyi, recalled that she gave the following approvals for renewal of contract: one-year term each for both Messrs Trafigura Beheer BV, and Messrs Societe Ivoirienne de Raffinage (SIR), in August 2010; two-year term in August 2011 for the same companies, and one-year term to NNPC subsidiary, Duke Oil, in January 2011. She added: “Two other approvals were consequently sought by the GMD, NNPC, the first of these on August 29, 2014, seeking to ratify all three aforementioned approvals, which had apparently variously expired during the course of 2013.” 

She said she approved all three “in view of the criticality of the situation. Expiry of those terms was put at December 31, 2014, following assurances to the minister that the contractual obligations of the parties to NNPC had, in fact, been fully met, despite the regrettable lapse in renewal time.” In her narrative, the lapses in expiration to renewal dates were put at seven months for Duke Oil, 10 for SIR, and 12 months for Trafigura. 

OPA approvals 

Furthermore, Alison-Madueke recalled that  she had given fresh approvals for Offshore Processing Agreements, OPA, on October 28, 2014, following the recommendation of the then Group Managing Director, GMD, NNPC. 

The approvals included a new term of two years commencing from January 1, 2015, for Sahara Energy Resources Ltd; Aiteo Energy and Duke Oil. According to her, “NNPC strongly recommended and outlined the benefits of the OPA over the swaps and put forward the case for migration from the OPA and crude exchange (SWAP) contracts to OPAs fully. “NNPC posited that the ‘experienced benefits of the OPA to the Federation’ would be much greater. All approvals were due process-driven and were only given by the Minister, following formal statutory written requests, which contained the technical basis for the renewal and were sent to the Minister by the GMD-NNPC, as is the normal practice. 

“NNPC had clearly requested for the approval of the Minister for ‘Renewal of the Crude Oil – Refined Products Exchange Agreement’ and ‘Renewal of Offshore Processing Agreement’ on all the various occasions outlined earlier in this press release.” Her spokesman further noted that “whereas, it is the Minister’s responsibility to either give or refuse ‘approval’, it was not within her purview as Minister to draft, initiate or conclude the processes of signing the final contracts. “It is the statutory responsibility of NNPC to ensure that all technical areas are duly covered and all requisite due process parameters are duly implemented.”  

Vanguard reportage...

39 comments:

1. Too long jere, she don well? Wow I am happy 4 her ooo.

1. I tire! So she's not dying or dead afterall.

2. Madam shit the fuck up. Produce the cash u stole. U must really think we are all fools.

2. Let her come home if she is innocent or is she still sick? Lol

3. Too long and boring. Won't read Mehn.

* Ayah Shehu *

4. Eku cancer o....Why are you telling us this right now? Guess she had selective amnesia! ndi oshi.

5. It is certain that they must lied against her to achieve their selfish interest

1. Ur silly bowtie is bigger than your big head. How can that be? Ugly being.

2. @ anno why com under someone's post and lay insult

Y u anno causing someone "Ugly"

Princess Diana abi nah prince Obj why no show your face

Shmmmm

6. I knew it!...
    Trust gullible Nigerians to believe whatever they were told..
    There's no way someone would have the gut to take such amount of huge money...

Even Dasuki and co didn't take such figures they were accused of!...
    The lies in this government is terrible...one day breeze go blow and fowl nyash go open!...

1. U dey mind dem. Govt of lies. I'm sure they coerced those ppl into saying that or outrightly bribed dem. Useless vindictive govt.

2. You knew what?
      Odenson!

3. My prayer is for this beautiful lady to get well and put all d liars to shame

They thought she'll not survive
      Useless people

7. I dont even know who to believe cos nigerian govt are pack of lies. No atom of truth from their mouth.

Otu mkpuru ezi okwu na anwu anwu adiro fa na onu.

8. No one lied joor, if u can steal our money, then u can steal any. Mitcheeew. Return our office money u took.

9. Mrs. Diezani God is watching o, fear God o.

10. No be her own deh do me this morning

11. Who does the approval then if not the Minister dan Allah?

12. Austin Oniwo the ugly man, you think Diezani is dead abi and she cant talk. Shame on you. I hope you will come face to face with Diezani and tell her she is lying.

Just know that the aboki no get time for una.

1. Dirty love me jeje, beg God to give you the grace to achieve one quarter of what " the ugly man " has achieved . Instead of running your dirty mouth on here .

13. Take all the time in the world to get well ma'am.
    I knew all along that there was some kind of lies and foul play.

14. Hmmmmm! I don't even understand again dis govt of change that av brought so many misery. God is d only change we need.

15. Madueke u will soon die! Say the truth and still make hellfire with ur generations, iwela own will be behind u.@chigurl

1. Na u and your generation go die....evil soul

Go read your bible or quran "whatever u wish u fellow human will also b unto you"

To your 10th Generations will not get to where she has been

16. PLease you people spill what you dont know we that work there know DIEZIANI Is a big liar , these men are NOW free to talk. All these PDP wailers see nothing wrong in looting that took place.There was no contract and the queen of the blog stop talking like you know trash you know nothing ,keep shut on things you dont know if you want to comment to be popular on the blog do that on what you know it will help you. If you like you and ur committee attack me but ur conscience of know nothing to feel relevant will judge you.

17. How is the cancer thing... is she alright now????

18. Ma'am pls keep quiet! No smoke without fire. If u thief #100 sef u brought it upon urself so they can only mention huge amount of funds u stole! Same as someone who steals a person's money, the person can say u stole more lol

19. Linda Eze you are an illiterate and can't understand issues like these. Keep out of it and stick to providing gossip on Flavour, Sandra and Ann banner issues.
    @anon 24 February 2016 at 08:42 thank you very much. Queen Ezewanyi SDK slave.