Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ijaw Youth Council Blast Nigerian Billionaire Mohammed Indimi For Donating N4.2bn To American University

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Ijaw Youth Council Blast Nigerian Billionaire Mohammed Indimi For Donating N4.2bn To American University

The Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) Worldwide has reacted angrily to the reported donation of 4.2 billion naira to an American University by Niger Delta oil made billionaire, Mohammed Indinmi, labelling it “an irresponsible and a global wastage of Niger Delta resources”.

In a statement signed by Eric Omare, the spokesman of IYC worldwide said “it is sad and provocative that Mr. Mohammed Indinmi who operates in different parts of the Niger Delta region and has failed woefully in his corporate social responsibility to the host communities could donate such a whopping amount of money to a private institution in far away America whereas the communities and people hosting his company, Oriental Energy wallow in poverty.

Mr. Indimi has no single record of contribution to community development in Nigeria, not even in the terrorist ravaged north east.
“We state that the money Mr. Indimi wasted in far way America is Niger Delta money and the people of the region must work towards recovery all their resources in the form of oil blocks awarded to people like Indimi.

IYC called on youths of the Niger Delta region to close ranks and work towards addressing the aged – long injustice of past Nigerian Presidents awarding oil blocks to their friends and relatives while the people of the Niger Delta region wallow in poverty.

Omare hinted that “The forthcoming IYC conference of Niger Delta youths on Thursday, the 26th of May, 2016 in Warri, Delta State provides the opportunity to start the journey. Niger Deltans must reclaim their resources.”
PMNews reportage.

47 comments:

1. Na wa for this billionnaires them. Anyway wetin concern me again

2. Some people are not just patriotic
    You donate such huge amount to another country while yours is at a point of recession.

You tried this one Indimi.

1. Okay, okay, so after seeing this post, I found it too one sided to judge so I decided to make a little research of my own, so as not to put out an ignorant comment.

I discovered the university in question is Lynn University. There was a fund raising for a centre and Mr Mohammed Indimi happens to be the highest donor and as such the centre was named after him. In addition, he is a recipient of the University's doctorate award and almost all his children also studied there. 

That said, I also discovered the total sum donated was $900k and not 4.2bn which is about $14m. And to say he has done nothing for his host community is wrong.

"According to the research I made", approximately 150 indigenes of communities currently hosting his company are currently on scholarship and so far, Mr Indimi is said to have awarded 8,400 scholarship to universities around the world.

I also read he has provided  free eye treatment as well as eye glasses to over 800 indigenes of said host communities‎. Also about 70 youths were trained at 7 skill acquisition centres in Uyo, Oron, Eket and Ewang of Akwa Ibom state.

In February 2013, Indimi donated a sum of two hundred million (N200,000,000) naira to the federal government flood relief and rehabilitation committee.

In November 2014, I read Indimi donated a sum of Five million ($5,000,000) US Dollars for the support of Victims of Terrorism in Nigeria.

This is just to mention a few of the things I read he has done for his Host communities and the country as a whole, listing them all here will bore you.

Now I'm not confirming it to you he did all these things as I lifted it off the Internet too and as you may already know, not everything you read on the Internet is true, but I believe there is no smoke with fire.‎ 

$900k or $14m, most people might consider it too much when it's not spent on their people, especially when those people truly deserve it. Whether American, Asian, European or African, I believe we are all one and money spent there is not a waste either. Regardless, I wouldn't support a man who frowns all the time at home and then goes out grinning at total strangers while saying good morning. In other words, give your best smile to your loved ones. ‎Good morning, folks.

2. Ur a fool! I hope some day ur father,husband or what ever will take what is meant for you and give to his girl friend and tell at list I av bread to eat at home why he gives outsiders......

3. Some mothers have'em. Lord Charles, can i be a friend

3. Tompolo and Co prefer personal enrichment.

Your governors are enslaved by the northern because of greed and selfishness.

6 years of GEJ reign and his homeland is still a waste land.

The Dick guy with one of the highest allocation, cannot pay salary.

1. Thank u anonymous J.... Thank you.

2. Anonymous J, you are blessed forever. These people keep looking for whom to blame for their woes. Their leaders sold them all to the northerners, empowering and enriching them. Yet they will come and still cry foul, instead of holding their leaders accountable. Majority of their indegenes don't go to school, they are touts waiting for their monthly share of the donated largesse.

Look at what Ooni of Ife is doing right now? That is what a typical traditional ruler if any class should be doing, but what do we have? Others sit down in their palaces waiting for their salaries from the government as well as looking for a billionaire to sell their community and their people to.

Mtchew...smh..

3. Ann. 13:52 u and James na mumu. Are you not Nigerians ?
      Why don't you have a block? You get light sef? How una take charge una phone? Ijaw no skool abi? Na una mama and papa they uniport,rust,delta uni and all.idiots

4. This news makes me shed blood, gosh Nigerians are terrible hypocrites.

5. The Ijaw youth whatever should shut up. Na dem go tell him how to use his own money? Jobless peeps

6. Don't mind the aboki doing eye service...
    Mtcheewww...
    O ka nma na ezi!...

7. Kaaaaiii did I just read this or my mind jst made up d figures? This is suicidal & height of wastefulness on the part of d privileged.

8. So a Nigerian can donate this amount of money to an institution not even a charity organisation that has no need for it, you donated money to people that regard you as fool, animal, uncivilized behind your back. Why didn't he use that money to take care of the millions of able bodied beggars roaming their streets. Anyway I pity the niga deltans that allowed things get this far.

9. Jesu. No been tomatoes dey scares so? Is not a bad thing to help others but please charity begins at......😷😷😷😷

10. haah! Adama Indimi come and see what your dad is doing. am definitely sure it"s Lynn university that he donated that huge amount of money. still love the Indimi's.

1. Fuck off @taichyy anumkpam

11. Were the Ijaw youths expecting him to donate the money to the Niger Delta university? Dreamers!
    Why are they even complaining? They never start to dey complain sef .They should get a job and keep themselves buy instead of looking for handout up and down.

1. At least you made sense today. Thumbs up!

12. This man needs to see a psychologist urgently if this news is true.

13. misplaced priority

14. Na wa for some of our Billionnaires.

15. Age-long injustice??
    Na now una wake up from sleep?
    No una follow sabotage d struggle for freedom in 1967?

16. Truly we all hear about this man's wealth but nothing to show for it. Sorry if I am wrong though. But giving an American Hbiversity this huge sum? Really? Does he think it will change their opinion where Nigeria is as a whole. Real misplaced priority. What happened to donating to the IDPs, building schools for the young ones, etc? Smh.

17. If truly he donTed such amount of money to an American university then he must be a very narrow minded person.

18. Stupidity of the highest order!!!!!

19. Charity begins @ home not abroad!!

20. Oka nma na ama...but it's his money shaa

21. I am not defending the man,but it is possible this man may donate a lot on the home front but decide not to use his real name. He may b using a lot of aliases to do his contribution here @ home. He may request that his philanthropic endevours b secret, but I am suprised @ dis open contribution to an American university. Well na ur money, but it wld b a terrible shame if u havnt done anything for d place where ur own oil well is located.

22. The Ijaw's want him to donate the money to them so that they can squander it or invest the money in their community so that they can destroy whatever is built with the investment the way they destroy and blow up all the investments in their state.
    His money will be put to good use and accounted for in the US and not wasted on the Ijaw community.

23. What did Jonathan do for them

24. You peeps think a business man like him will donate a large sum of money like that to an American University and get absolutely nothing back in return? think again.

1. Laundering services n i'm not talking dirty clothes but dirty mulla

25. Niger Delta Youths should go to hell. In 8 years, they could not hold their son to develop their region in retaliation for the neglect by previous administrations. They partied their lives away. Is it now that they are just waking up from slumber. I give them kudos for acknowledging that Jonathan did not help the region unlike Igbo people who got nothing from Jonathan yet want to die on top Jonathan matter.

1. Anon 12:48, pls where do I send your kisses to?.

They will now be shouting betrayals upandan. Whereas, they are their own enemies.

26. This is charity begins abroad. Its true that N4.2Bn can really do a lot for any community in any part of Nigeria.
    But why are the Niger Delta youths just waking up now. Is it because they've finished squandering all the money they made under GEJ government. They didn't invest the monies and are now broke again, so they think using blackmail and strong-arm tactics will fetch them more money.
    Sorry when oil sold for $120-$100 per barrel you didn't hold GEJ to ransom, all your governors were collecting huge derivation allocations yet you didn't hold them to ransom to account for such monies, ditto your Senators and Reps who represented your communities you didn't compel them to urgently develop your areas, they squandered the monies on women, cars, houses and pleasure things. Now that oil sells for $30 per barell and the country is broke you are now making noise. You are internationally certified jokers.

27. And the misguided Niger Delta militants keep blowing up Chevron, Shell and Agip pipelines when they have Oriental Oil raping them at their backyards and taking the money to the Norther part of the country. Stupid militants!

28. What do you expect from a cursed family?

29. What do you expect from a cursed family?

30. What do you expect from a cursed family?

31. Why do Nigerians like telling people how to spend their money? Indimi can donate his money any way he wishes. When Bill Gates donated money to Nigeria vaccines why didn't Nigeria reject it? Anyway I think Indimi donated that money to get his illiterate kids into the university tho

32. He donated $900k. That money would have been better utilized in his home state: Borno which is currently the most dejected area in Nigeria. Charity begins at home. Common sense is not common!