Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dos And Don’ts At The Oba Of Benin's Palace

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Dos And Don’ts At The Oba Of Benin's Palace

The over 900 years old palace of the Oba of Benin is located in the heart of Benin, the Edo State capital. It is adjacent to the Airport Road.

The palace attracts thousands of visitors yearly even though the visitors are restricted to certain areas. The chiefs in the palace know the various societies they belong to and their functions. Only the Oba understands the language of the palace societies.

Visitors are forbidden to do certain things in the palace, such as taking sand from the palace. The duties of some chiefs are to ensure that nobody enters the palace to take sand. Stories abound of what happened to people who attempted to take sand from the palace.

There are some places in the palace where women are not allowed to urinate. A story is told of how an expectant mother security officer almost died for urinating indiscriminately. She was said to have vomited until sacrifices were made to atone for her “sin”.

Pointing of fingers

It is forbidden to point fingers at either the Oba or his chiefs in the palace. It is said that the Oba does not point fingers at anyone as well, except in a bid to bless or curse an individual.

Whistling
The Bini ethnic nationality believe that whistling is a communication medium between mortals and spirits as well as the dead. There are several deities within the Oba’s palace and the belief is that no one is sure of which deity is roused during whistling.

Open umbrella during festivals
Only the Oba is allowed to be covered with an umbrella during festivities or when he is going out. All guests, chiefs and visitors are to bear any harsh weather.

Wearing black clothes

Anybody wearing black is not allowed to enter the Oba’s palace. Such a person is sent away because such attires indicate mourning in many cultures. Palace sources say it is a taboo for the Oba to mourn, no matter the circumstance. He is not allowed to see black clothes.

Women not allowed at Ehengbuda Shrine

Women are not allowed to go near the Ehengbuda Shrine. Historians say Oba Ehemugba was born a haemophrodyte and that after powerful witch doctors worked on him, the female parts were removed. He was later paraded naked around the community. Any female – girl or woman – who enters the area immediately becomes infertile. To avoid barrenness among Benin girls and women, a ban is placed on females from entering the shrine’s vicinity.

Male visitors not allowed into royal harem

Male visitors are not allowed to enter the royal harem where the Oba’s wives stay. Male relatives of the Oba’s wives are also disallowed from entering or extending hands for greetings.

Carrying Banga (palm oil fruits) around the palace

It is a taboo to carry palm oil fruits on the head in or around the palace. Even vehicles carrying palm oil fruits are not allowed to pass through the streets near the Oba’s palace. The presence of palm oil fruits around the palace is said to be an indication that the land wants blood.

Dogs not allowed within the palace
Any dog that strays with the palace vicinity is killed or dies naturally.

The Nation reportage.

*WOW..I love Benin Kingdom and Ife traditions

74 comments:

1. This people sabi forbid eh. Wanted to marry one, he keep telling me tgey forbid this, they forbid that. It was so annoying.

...TAG A FRIEND, COMMENT & PRAY 4 SDKBLOG...

2. Why we nor go forbid, shits. Y'all thinks we are like you bitches that fuck y'all husband brothers, fuck your next door neighbor, church members and marries y'all best friends boyfriends. Stupid igbos and Yorubas bitches

3. I don't respond to Annon bcos they are ghosts n fears face.

For your information your claims were never an issue. There are simple sentences that ae forbidden in your place. You guys read meaning to simple things of life. Its bored abeg.
      Ok, let me share one. I went to my would be mother inlaw who was sick to see my Pastor. On waiting, I stepped out to get water, i was shocked when she ran after me claiming she can't see the Pastor alone as it is forbidden to be alone with the pastor. Okpari!

Edo's are the known aristos abi na lie. Your men no longer marry your women. Una too diabolic.

...TAG A FRIEND, COMMENT & PRAY 4 SDKBLOG...

4. Anon 23:45! I bet you are not a true Bini person. The Binis are not bigots, ever!

5. Who cheat and prostitute reach Benin chicks,very backward and cantankerous people

2. As expected rules are needed to avoid chaos, not for ppl like me sha

1. That shrine would be good for women that are interested in family planning without taking medication

3. Na wa! So visitors that aren't aware of these sacrileges are in trouble. It's better not to visit that area mehn

1. Mtchew. Who even wants to go near una palace?

2. This is a rich culture and they are doing everything to preserve it. Oduduwa land and culture are generally rich in every part of the Yoruba land. Kade pe lori o.

3. Shut up yemi you wan claim Benin?Benin and Yoruba can never be the same,Yoruba the back stabbers

4. Africans with their traditions shaaa.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

1. Open umbrella during festivals
      Only the Oba is allowed to be covered with an umbrella during festivities or when he is going out. All guests, chiefs and visitors are to bear any harsh weather.

Warris this one kwanu? Na waaaah ooo

6. The best thing is to avoid Benin as a whole. Imagine rules? Just for ordinary oba of a city.
    Yet the only rule to enter God's kingdom is to live a holy life yet we don't adhere.
    Jesus is coming soon...

1. This your comment is making me look at life differently. In fact I think I'm having an epiphany. You made a lot of sense there.

2. Not ordinary oba? Mind your language, just try and do something over there,then you will know it is not an ordinary oba.

3. M thinking of what you just wrote seriously.
      God requires only holiness from us yet its very difficult for us to adhere.

4. M thinking of what you just wrote seriously.
      God requires only holiness from us yet its very difficult for us to adhere.

5. Is it not difficult to live a holy life? We have the ten commandments and other tenets of Christianity. If you no wan come Edo, stay off, no one will miss you, mtcheeew.

6. Sexy Ebony,everyone is ordinary before God,yes the only omnipotent, immortal,invisible being. Stella,you've not been posting most of my comments,I don't know why,you know I don't use inappropriate words and sentences.

7. Sexy Ebony, did you read what she wrote at all?

He is an Ordinary Oba compared to the supreme and overall Oba

8. Sexy ebony, it's ordinary abeg.

Is it greater than God's rule?

9. He isn't ordinary yet Benin king was banished in 1897 by a white man

7. Interesting!
    Thanks Stella, we learn everyday.

8. Hmmmm culture!

Culture varies,am OK with it

1. Very strong culture!
      I love to know about other people's customs and tradition.

9. Na so!!!

Make them continue.

10. Thanks Stella.
    #Tradition is a guide and not a jailer.

11. Na so,all na Wash.But whatever floats their boat though.

12. Benin traditions are among the best in the whole world, and we would have been making a killing from tourism if we were located in countries such as Egypt, Kenya or even Ghana.

# BiniLady

1. You don't need to be located anywhere....the govt just had to get to work and stop embezzling funds

2. Benin tradition is the best in the world indeed-you are the best in the asewo business in the world- that is your tradition asewo-

3. Benin tradition is the best in the world indeed-you are the best in the asewo business in the world- that is your tradition asewo-

4. At anonymous, what are you good at, tell me where you are from and let me tell you a little about your people.. Yeye dey smell. Omo navhan bear use😡👎

5. Among the best tradition in the 'WORLD'? i strongly doubt that miss. In Nigeria,i concur

13. With all this rules and regulation I still believe that God is the end,creator, and the beginner of life so rules or no rules where are the pple dt started it no more.

1. Even you have to obey Gods'rules or face the consequences.

2. The white dudes that wrote the bible and forced your slave ass ancestors into believing the only way to your blood thirsty God is through a dead Jew white man, where are they now? No more. Stupid Jew religion!

3. Repent now or you perish. It is only a fool that says there is no God. Don't be deceived.

14. #People who can easily help others with their problems are more likely to have difficulty solving their own*

15. Stupid traditions that add no value to humanity.....mschweeeeeeeeew

1. Have you researched? How do you know?

2. The tradition is stupid & don't add any value rather it is selfish, imagine ordinary oba that if god decide today he will kill him fiam ! Yet we can't obey God simple holy live no gerre us thats why we are suffering in this world cos we give the honor of God to human who can't do anything for us except marginalizing/intimating us. Nonsense Jesus is coming soon.

16. Nawahooooo
    Anon15:50 I live around games village send me mail if u re serious
    Long live Nigeria
    Long live sdks
    Forward ever backward never

17. So dem no dey chop banga soup be that nah

18. Hian! Too many rules abeg. Thank you Jesus cos your laws are not grevious. Strangers, corps members inclusive should just avoid this place abeg.

1. You are so funny. So your place has no traditions? Bini palace is one of the most welcoming but you must follow protocol. If you go to visit the queen of England you must follow protocol.

19. Dear bvs this is interesting. We should behold our cultures and be in awe of it. When the first white men came (portuguese) they regarded benin as the great benin Kingdom the streets were straight, the fences said to be as high as pyramids in Egypt, while the walls as long as the great Wall of China. At night The streets were lit with burning oil lamps. The oba 0alace was central with a large canal surrounding the four walls for safety. If you google you will see various drawings of benin kingdom done by British soldiers prior to the invasion. It was a beauty to behold. It is also said that the overall architecture and structure was more intricate and advanced than England. At a time were robbery in the likes of oliver twist were rife in UK, in benin kingdom, people slept with open doors. Such was the safety, trust and community. When the british had a clash with the oba, they overthrew him and burned down benin kingdom. Laid waste to all we had. All the intricate works of art stolen. Such was their jealousy and bad belle. They stole our culture and burned it down, made our medicine seem evil to us, (same herbs they still come to Africa to source for to make their drugs) banned our own type of alcohol (kain kain) all to make us dependent on them. So we had to start again, but buying it all from the white man, begging for many things in which we previously had a version of. All this is available with simple research but we dont even teach this history in nigerian schools!!!!So today when I look at us as a people and it's apparent they are doing better than us, I wonder how much more we would have accomplished without their interference. How will we not be struggling to keep up? The God given talent and blessing were stolen from us, how can we be a good version of another person's culture?? Sad. I'm not even benin but I feEl the pain. Long live all the oba in nigeria. Team made in nigeria.

1. Good of you to have researched instead of ignorantly condemning. We don't appreciate what is ours, then marvel when foreigners don't respect us. I find that foreigners love and respect our culture more than we do.

2. Stole ur culture but. Gave u civilization

3. N.a. Oyibo make una dey do prostitution?

4. @ jasmine if you understand the anonymous point above we had civilisation. Streets, security, law and order that is civilisation. Similar to China etc. Western ways were just different.

20. I no gree the reason for palmnut own, palmnut esp osukwu neutralizes juju......so use ur head reason why they no want am.

1. Are you serious? Noted!

I also heard that one cannot be hypnotized by an charm once you are chewing bitter kola or just have one in your mouth! Phmm

21. So the Oba will not mourn any of the wives peradventure any one dies before him. Okay oh

1. God forbid such happen, he will mourn but not wearing black around or seen crying.. Awaaaa! Abiuwa vfor?

22. hmmmm. I served in benin city and my CD was arts and theatre so we usually practice at orupoto hall just by ring road roundabout. I remember one tree there filled with bats even in broad daylight. Also as a JJC, I stood by the palace one day to wait for bus (I thought it was PH where you can stand anywhere and bus will stop for you) I was waving with so much enthusiasm and even waving my cap but bus drivers did not even look at me let alone stop to pick me; one private car finally slowed down and shouted at me, "corper!!! get out of there, get out of there" and then he sped off. Omo, fear grip me na so I begin run oh, I realized the paint wey dey the wall no dey finish, I come borrow myself sense, and ran across the road. one kind woman then explained to me not to stand there again to wait for bus, instead, I should walk down or ask for where the bus stop was. Edo people, I hail oh!!!