Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor/Movie Producer Femi Adebayo Salami Awarded N25million In Content Theft Lawsuit

Wednesday, May 08, 2024

Actor/Movie Producer Femi Adebayo Salami Awarded N25million In Content Theft Lawsuit

Nollywood producer, Femi Adebayo Salami, has been awarded a sum of ₦25 million in a lawsuit which involved his company and an unnamed YouTube content aggregator.

The case won was about the piracy of his 2019 film, “Survival of Jelili”. An unnamed media company exploited his film by superimposing images from his film onto another YouTube video, misleading viewers into thinking they were viewing the actual movie. This deception boosted the views of the other YouTube title, leading to unaccounted revenue streams over time.
After a three-year legal battle, the court ruled in Adebayo’s favor and awarded him the N25 million...
He made a post on his Instagram handle and ended it with ''This isn't just my win as a filmmaker and content producer but a win for all of Nollywood. We need to be ready to fight IP theft and piracy at all levels. Every win brings us closer to protecting and getting the true economic value of our works."

21 comments:

1. Congratulations to him. Make he come dash me small from the money

1. Mama Dee clean your hands Wella to collect your own ratios πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. If Femi Adebayo is hereπŸ˜„make he read my comment o. As I dey rush go clean my hand

2. There are alot of them on YouTube misleading viewers

3. N25 million?
    Our Judges should be more open handed in awarding general damages to teach those who reap where they did not show that "financially beneficial torts" are not proper means of earning a living.

#theLegalTrainee

1. You are right anonymous 12;01

2. This!
      I was about typing something like this cos that money is small to teach those thieves some lessons. They can't think and put in the work but reaping someone else's work

4. Congratulations Femi πŸ‘
    You deserve it

5. Hope this will serve as a lesson to others

6. Getting the judgement isn’t the problem, enforcing it is.

1. Oh don’t worry Nigeria knows how to enforce gbese payment. They will seize properties and cash. Dont worry

7. He is very hard working and very talented. Good for himπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏ. Him and uncle odunlade are my favourite yoruba actorsπŸ’˜

8. Very talented and hardworking actor
    Big congratulations to him

9. His case should have accounted for the loss of goodwill due to disappointed fans and also costs of litigation, added press engagement, other opportunity costs. That 25 million is too small a deterrent but it sets a good precedent. I hope he is able to enforce the judgement speedily.