President Bola Tinubu has officially removed Maryam Sanda from the presidential pardon list after public backlash and a constitutional review.

The decision to revise the clemency list came after consultations with the Council of State and widespread public concern over the inclusion of individuals convicted of serious crimes.
Maryam Sanda, who was sentenced to death in 2020 for the culpable homicide of her husband, Bilyaminu Bello.
The revised pardon list excludes individuals convicted of murder, kidnapping, drug trafficking, human trafficking, fraud, and illegal firearms possession.
Tinubu’s Special Adviser on Information and Strategy, Bayo Onanuga, stated that the President signed the necessary instruments to formalize the updated list.
Maryam Sanda who was sentenced to die by the hangman's noose for killing her husband will now spend 12 years in Jail based on compassionate grounds, in the best interest of the children and good conduct, embraced new lifestyle, model prisoner and remorsefulness..
So far, she has spent 6 years and 8 months in medium security custodial centre Suleja.
Tinubu’s Special Adviser on Information and Strategy, Bayo Onanuga, stated that the President signed the necessary instruments to formalize the updated list.
Maryam Sanda who was sentenced to die by the hangman's noose for killing her husband will now spend 12 years in Jail based on compassionate grounds, in the best interest of the children and good conduct, embraced new lifestyle, model prisoner and remorsefulness..
So far, she has spent 6 years and 8 months in medium security custodial centre Suleja.

I talk am, Tinubu no even know the crime of people he pardoned 🤣
ReplyDeleteHe knows, don't be deceived. It's because of the public outcry and international eyes watching.
DeleteYou seem to know so much what he knows or doesnt know...Its quite simple to see that he didnt know and he listened to the voice of outcry!
DeleteFan nwannem he knows, let's just say that he listened to the backlash and made amendments which is commendable.
DeleteYou are very funny
DeleteLol, na WA for you oo.
DeleteWhat is the work of his special adviser?
He had already pardoned her, this extra jail term is because people cried out.
ReplyDeleteRead and make sure you understand before commenting......She was to die by hanging.....he reduced it to 12 years and she has already spent 6 years, remaining 6
DeleteAnon 08:58, you need your own advice more than me.
DeleteShe was already pardoned and nowhere in the previous news that said her jail term was reduced until now that people cried out.
Thank God he listened to the voice of reason.I wonder who went through the list and gave Baba to sign such in the first place
ReplyDeleteHmmm 🙄🙄🙄
ReplyDeleteVictims father begged for her release so that she can be available to take care of his two grandchildren. It had nothing to do with Tinubu. Due to public backlash he reversed it. It’s the man’s family asking for the pardon and Tinubu should not have reversed it.
ReplyDelete5 years will soon be here, her husband's family have already forgiven her.....I hope she comes out a better person.
ReplyDeleteMariam
Lol at your last paragraph.
DeleteThat five years self too small
ReplyDeleteNa wah oh
ReplyDeleteSo murders now can show remorse and good conduct in the prison and get a release abi? Na who die truly lose
It better she spends the time, than that easy pardon, naahh
ReplyDeleteIt is well
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteFair enough
ReplyDeleteHe shouldn't have revoked the pardon.
ReplyDeleteHmmmm
ReplyDeleteA violent marriage does not end well.
I hope the children forgive her the way their late dad's family did.
In no time...d jail term will be over
ReplyDeleteShe will still be set free irregardless. Now or later. It is well.
ReplyDeleteI hope she's of good behaviour even as she hoes back then as a correctional facility 🤗
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmmm
ReplyDeleteSomebody that has left country immediately she was set free. How will she serve the remaining 5 years...if na you, you go still stay?
ReplyDeleteWhen a judge asks you to explain this claim, you will say it's "oppression".