Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Regional Monarchs Profiled.

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Nigeria's Regional Monarchs Profiled.

Nigeria's many traditional kings were formally stripped of their constitutional powers in 1963 But they continue to command great respect among their communities and wield considerable influence

God save the Kings:

Posing on his ornate throne, Alhaji Dr Ado Abdullahi Bayero is the current 'Emir of Kano', a position he has held since 1963. A former ambassador to Senegal he is renowned for his abundant wealth, which has been amassed by investing in the stock market and agriculture

HRM Agbogidi Obi James Ikechukwu Anyasi II, The Obi of Idumuje Unor, was until his death earlier this year, the longest reigning African Monarch

Robes of office: HRM Agbogidi Obi James Ikechukwu Anyasi II, 'The Obi of the Idumuje Unor kingdom', was until his death earlier this year, the longest reigning African Monarch. He was crowned king on October 9, 1946 at the age of 22. His robe, depicting a young Queen Elizabeth, gives a clear nod to the period of British colonial rule

The Emir of Kano is attended by aides as he sits on the back of his vintage Rolls Royce on his way to the Central Mosque in Kano

Out for a ride: The Emir of Kano Alhaji Dr Ado Abdullahi Bayero is attended by aides as he sits on the back of his vintage Rolls Royce on his way to the Central Mosque in Kano

His Majesty, Wilson Ojakovo Oghoghovwe Oharisi III was made The Ovie of Ughelli in 1980 and has ruled over the great kingdom of Ughelli and Urhoboland for more than 33 years His Majesty, Wilson Ojakovo Oghoghovwe Oharisi III was made the 'Ovie of Ughelli' in 1980 and has ruled over the great kingdoms of Ughelli and Urhoboland for more than 33 years

Alayeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade, the current Ooni of Ife, relaxes in his throne room surrounded by some of his royal aides. Born in 1930, he is the grandson of the Ooni Sijuwade Adelekan Olubuse I

Alayeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade, the current 'Ooni of Ife', relaxes in his throne room.  Born in 1930, he has enjoyed a colourful life first working for his father's business, then with the Nigerian Tribune newspaper, before attending Northampton College in the United Kingdom where he studied business management. In 1963 he became Sales Director of the state-owned National Motor company in the Nigerian capital Lagos. He later formed a company to distribute Soviet-built vehicles and equipment in Nigeria

His Royal Majesty Oba Oyetunji Jimoh Olanipekun Larooyell, the Ataoja of Osogbo in southwest Nigeria

His Royal Majesty Oba Oyetunji Jimoh Olanipekun Larooyell, the 'Ataoja of Osogbo' in southwest Nigeria. He worked as a teacher for many years, firstly at a baptist day school. He was crowned king in 1976 and rules over some 300,000 subjects. He has studied management in London and is a qualified chartered accountant

Born to rule: Sitting on a golden throne, Benjamin Ikenchuku Keagborekuzi I is the current Dein of Agbor Kingdom.
Born to rule: Sitting on his golden throne, Benjamin Ikenchuku Keagborekuzi I is the current 'Dein of Agbor'. Just two years and four months after his birth in July 1977 he was crowned king following the the unexpected death of his father. It meant he was the youngest king anywhere in the world. He is currently the Chancellor of the University of Ilorin, one of Nigeria's most prestigious universities

Omo N Oba N Edo Uku Akpolokpolo Erediauwa I is the reigning Oba of Benin Kingdom in the Edo state of NigeriaAlhaji Abdulmumini Kabir Usman is the current Emir of Kasina

Omo N'Oba N'Edo Uku Akpolokpolo Erediauwa I (left) was crowned 'Oba of Benin Kingdom' in the Edo state of Nigeria in 1979. Before that he studied at Cambridge university before being appointed to many top government posts. Alhaji Abdulmumini Kabir Usman (Right) is the current and 50th 'Emir of Kasina'. He was coronated in 2008 five days after the death of his father, Emir Muhammad Kabir Usman. He is remembered as a peacemaker during the Nigerian civil war and has a passion for Polo

His Majesty, Deinmowuru Donokoromo III, The Pere of Isaba has been king of Isaba in the oil rich South-West area of Delta state
 His Majesty, Deinmowuru Donokoromo III, The 'Pere of Isaba', poses with his royal sceptre outside his palace. He has ruled over the Kingdom of Isaba  in the oil rich South-West area of Delta state since 1983

source

60 comments:

1. Na only Edo, Delta, Hausa and yoruba kings u showcased?? **bbm raised eyebrows** where is the Obi of Onitsha?? Igbos no get king?? Abeg Stella pack well welll

1. My thoughts exactly. Was scrolling and hoping to read a profile on Igwe Agbogidi Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe......lol

2. Royal majesties, carrying great responsibilities on their shoulders. May God guide their hearts to rule wisely.

3. yaaay unilorin, one of d most prestigious unis in nigeria. that our chancellor na die, fine boy of life

1. Anon 9:27AM,
      Yeah, fine boy of life!

A classmate of mine who's a native of Agbor used to talk about him a lot. She said he became a king early and schooled abroad.

A young man(then) who was yet to get married despite having the power to choose any lady to be his queen.

Seeing his profile just refreshed my memory.

4. Beautiful write up....This is the first time I have seen something like this on Nigerian Kings....I suggest you expand this idea....it could make a beautiful magazine sef....

5. Nice work!! Waiting for the oda parts of nigeria ooh! *thumbs up*

6. May God spear the kings and guide them to make the right decisions.

1. Ha! Anon 10:43 am. "Spear" the kings???? I'm bleeding...

2. Like seriously?? **Spear the kings**??

3. Spear ke!!!!na u god go spear o....u wan kill our kings. Wicked man..

7. Stella, sorry I no be itk oo, but I think deres an error in d profile of the Ataoja of oshogbo, he is a new king, he is not d one dat was crowned in 1976. Pls check to confirm sha.

1. You're so right Anonymous! Oba Oyewale Matanmi was Oba until 3-4 years ago, the present one ascended the throne after the demise of Oba Matanmi.

2. The present ataoja is not a Chartered accountant and could only have studied management in London in his dreams. He was a political thug imposed on the people of Osogbo during the despotic misrule of Oyinlola to spite the people of Osogbo who didnt support him on the stolen mandate of Aregbesola. The fake ataoja is not of royal lineage and has been deposed by the State high Court since 2011. The case is on apeal right now. So please the throne is legally vacant. Thank me later.

8. Where is Owa Obokun of Ijesa Land, Timi Of Ede, Alafin of Oyo(Iku Baba Yeye), Oba Of Lagos and other prominent rulers. Please, don't bother us with Ghana must go obas.

1. Obama of Lagos is traditionally not one of tge important yoruba Obas, if u notice he has no real crown....the position of Lagos may have changed things a little for him in the hierarchical structure amongst Yoruba kings, but he still is not one of the top 10.

9. My King is his highness The Emir of Kano!
    Allay ya kare!
    Ranka ya dade!

Where is the hot Sultan of Sokoto? Saad Abubakar The third?

10. Beautiful piece Stella!

11. i like this stella...very informative! thank you

12. SDK, i dey vex, i no see my uncle name Agbogidi Alfred Nnaemeka Achebe, the Obi of Onitsha!

13. No Alaafin, he go vex una oh. Obi of Onitsha, Sultan of Sokoto, Oba of Lagos, Awujale and Alake nko, dem go vex oh.
    Ilorin prestigious UNI? I laugh in Ebira.

14. Is the Dein of Agbor sitting on a gold cast throne?So the Emir of Kano has a vintage Rolls Royce while his subjects are almajiris.Boko Haram no go see dis one ,na to bomb people wey no do them anytin. Why would Nigeria grow?

15. Our trado rulers are here and the nation is decaying?

16. if you know your history then you will know igbos dont really have kings

1. Taaaa shartaaap ur mouth.

2. The so called kings are off shoots of warrant chiefs created by the British colonial rulers who used their doctrine of indirect rule to govern.

Abi dem still dey teach history for schools now???

3. Hence the names Igboenweze, Igboamaeze

4. Oga instead of telling him/her to shartaaaap correct and enlighten.

Igbos had egalitarian societies. Each man could speak for himself. Igbo ama eze.

Igbos had their leaders (though these grew out of the Transatlantic slave trade - their kingdoms were on the route to the slave collection points).

5. Mechie onu nsi gi there!! Ewu!! Who said Igbos don't av king!??? Ibu ezigbo nkita ala!! Anu!

6. @7:36pm - onye na akpo mmadu nkita ala bu nkita ala. Jiri nwayo.

17. Oba gha tokpere!iseee! Iselogbe! Signed:wide eyed!

18. wat of Rivers state kings

share your US experiences here
    usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.com

19. Where is the Olu of Warri???? Ehnnnn Stella

20. For the first time Stella has posted an educative and informative material on this blog, well done.

21. For the first time, Stella has posted an informative and educative piece on her blog👍👍👍. Well done for some fresh air..

POLA

22. This comment has been removed by the author.

23. They are unique and still 'stand out.' Follow me on twitter @DSmartNigerian, let's have fun.

24. Thank you for impacting knowledge.

25. No royal father for obodo ndi igbo? Ee, sterra?

26. abeg how ee affect me now?
    Shay una don see Alafin of Oyo?
    Obong of Calabar?
    Oni of Ife?
    Oba opolopolo?

How all of dem affect me biko?

Dey ar just lazy Kings......dey do nothin...just eatin d poor citizens money.....

Oshisko

@Spy.

27. Well that Dein can rock my boat anyday...the rest can take their titles and shove it. O ga ju!

28. SDK stop misleading your blog visitors you ve made some gaffes and blunders in some if the kings profile like Ataoja of osogbo was crowned 2years ago not 1976 the one he succeed oyewale matanmi 111 was crowned 1976 and died three years ago correct your mistakes they are sensitive unlike sex scandal stories you ve masterd

29. Afi "spear" na! The "spear" in their kingdoms right?

30. Matanmi was the Ataoja until he died a few years ago right?

31. Pola first time she's posting something educative? Are you new here?

32. Pls is ghosts dat comment on Linda's blog?

33. Calabar pple nko Stella mind ur self ohhh...

34. Stella,this one wey some people dey ask of uncle Agbogidi so,Ethnic war wan start o!I no dey house!byeeee!Signed:wide eyed!

35. Is it only d emir ov kano we have in the whole north. Pls abeg I can mention a lot too from evri angle of naija but no time havn exams.

36. @stella,after all those names,who is the king of Nigeria ?from swiss

37. Na wa for you some of you guys oh.

It wasn't Stella that wrote this article; she culled it from The Daily Mail. Atleast she indicated her source or didn't you see it at the end of the article?

38. This comment has been removed by the author.

39. This comment has been removed by the author.

40. Wonder what the 'daily hate mail' was trying to achieve with this post. Their usual chav audience had a field day posting derogatory comments - f*cking wankers.

41. Oba of Lagos isn't in the top ten? Name the top ten please.