Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Which Nigerian Celeb Needs A Publicist?..I Mean Like Badly Needs One!

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Which Nigerian Celeb Needs A Publicist?..I Mean Like Badly Needs One!

C'MON LETS TALK................YEAH LETS TALK!

'Tekinology' is the key word and every one now has a ''past world'' (password) but despite that,some forget that real sense of keying in to the use of Info tech accurately.....*scratching head and confusing self*

Since the berth of Facebook,twitter,keek,Instagram et al,celebrities the world over have somewhat become their own publicists,they know what they want to put out there and they do just that...some of them even know how to play the game so well that they mess with the minds of website owners/bloggers.

Now fast forward to Nigeria,a lot of publicists no longer get paid by the Celebs they represent because these celebs now know that they can cook up their own scandals and brew their way out of it..They use all their social media handles and send out signals to bloggers who pick it up and help them turn it viral and then they scream blue murder....screaming? oh that's allowed.

The problem with being ones own noise maker is that with time,one loses a grip of sound and just puts anything out there,any sound out there as long as it creates a ricochet.....what am i getting at?

hold on,i am almost there!

Some these celebs now enjoy free press via their social media handles and have ended up doing their celeb profiles more harm than good....some lack experience and some have become so good at the game that they have become like addicts and cannot even control what info they put out there,they just do it!

I don't want to call names but most of the celebs getting bad press attention right now is as a result of something they posted or tweeted.they are free to anonymously disagree with my school of thought oh.

So the poser of the day is................
Which Celeb needs to get themselves a publicist fast?which ones are using their social media handles to do themselves all the good in the world?
which ones needs to give us a break?which ones need to stop playing games with their social media handles?
which ones shouldn't we take serious?as in ignore their rants and frequent hiccups.

Whilst commenting,please do not forget that this post aims to criticise and correct them...so please give all the advice you can because most of y'all blog visitors see their handles.

*I have run out of bitterleaf oh

37 comments:

1. Are they not keeping it real when they tweet? When their publicists tweet for them, they come out all scripted and robotic. Also, some publicists believe they are bigger than the celebs they are representing. I shall name no names but you know the obvious one.

If the celebs tweet and shoot themselves in the foot, they should be big enough to deal with the backlash.

1. This is the STELLA I know. Unbiased. U almost lost it. TONTO pls

2. Which Celeb needs to get themselves a publicist fast? - (Uche Ogbodo, Tonto Dike, Susan Peters)

which ones are using their social media handles to do themselves all the good in the world?- (Don Jazzy)

which ones needs to give us a break?- (Tonto, Annie Idibia)

which ones need to stop playing games with their social media handles?- Tonto

which ones shouldn't we take serious?as in ignore their rants and frequent hiccups.- Tonto

3. Thank you anon 10:27, i totally agree with you.

4. Tonto needs a good publicist and PR team like her life depends on it.

5. It has to do with the ability to adequately express your views in the way that you expect the public to understand. Most celebs don't have that gift or time to do that. Hence the Publicists are employed. Buhari is a HUGE example: During the Presidential debate in February 2011, where GEJ was obviously missing, general buhari said that there was "nothing wrong with our educational system" in Nigeria. As in...he literally vomited those words. He said that anyone who has got the means to pay for his ward's education can conveniently do so in Nigeria. This was disputed by Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, saying that our educational system is in the gutter. Perhaps what the general was trying to say was that it wouldn't cost the government much to fix the problem, or that companies could improve scholarship programs for people who want, and need, education. His message was misunderstood, even by me, because he couldn't express himself adequately.

6. Stella D K, u sure need a publicist yourself even though you aint a nigerian celebrity.You get too personal in your reports and use some words that appear like u r at war. Stella u berra post my comment and u stella's fans u berra don't curse me out or else God ll bend your lives. I am entitled to my opinion jare.

1. Lmao, how can she need a publicist ? She's her own publicist na. Lmao.

2. You are so spot on anon 11 : 01 AM

7. You are right Stella... That is good observation...

8. anon 11:01, u r very correct.. stella needs a good publicist herself... a blogger shud be able 2 maintain a neutral ground when reporting, u get way too personal, abuse and sometimes take side.. thats very poor and unprofessional.. u report like a baby reporter, though some of ur visitors might find it interesting buh it is very unprofessional.. No OFFENSE tho

1. I concur. you re very right.

2. GBAM! GBAMMER!! GBAMMEST!!!

9. Tonto Dike's new PR is quite smart. See the way he/she managed to turn people's view of her around.I for one did not and will not fall for her latest trick n stunt.
    Meanwhile,9jans will not cease to amaze me. Oh! I just remembered, we are all mumus,aren't we? Well good she got her self a good PR

10. Anonymous No 2, you are right. You forgot to mention Oge Okoye as part of the first row.

1. Oge needs a wall robe makeover, apart fro that,she's still level headed compared to other celebrities in No2.

2. Afr 'wall' robe naa, lmao!

3. Idea is need...atleast y got d point...what's d correct thing abeg,I remember checking google and ofejo.

11. Lol @ passing ! I just remembered one ' I must become publicist by force" I no wan mention her name. #okbye

12. The faded stars need publicists!imagine Hollywood without age long stars like harrison ford,Michael douglas,Julia Roberts etc!They ve been on the scene before some of us were born. They stayed on the scene because some smart team keeps making them relevant!Kenneth Okonkwo,Tony Umez,Keppy Ekpenyong Bassey,Eucharia Anunobi etc all need to hire publicists! Signed:Wide eyed!

13. My opinion, Genny publicist is the best! Unlike some publicists that come on social media dey write long epistle and yarn rubbish.
    Oge Okoye needs a publist!

14. @Wide eyed & Anon 10:27am, co-sign.

The thing is most people have this misconception about PR, which is you only need PR when shit hits the fan. Public personalities need PR when the going is good, bad, stagnant etc. My random list of those in need of urgent PR.

Tuface (He needs a mad, crazy PR machine)
    Buhari (Can he talk without being misquoted?)
    Tonto (Get her off twitter first!)
    All the Yoruba actresses (Please add stylists to the mix)
    Davido (He always comes off as a lousy braggart and a tout)

Good social media user: Don Baba J, Eva(good blogger)

15. Tonto, chika & Oge

16. 1.Chika Ike--So that her divorce should be handled well.
    2. Oge Okoye.
    3. AfroCandy
    4. Solomon Akiyesi
    5. Somadina Obi
    6. Bianca Ojukwu(someone dt will convince the world she did the FFK-rolling pre-Ojukwu.)
    7. Adaobi Uchegbu(she shud go off FB n leave her publicist to do some damage control)
    8. Last but by no means the least Tonto shud pls leave Twitter alone.
    9. Finally Femi Fani Kayode needs a Christiana Amanpour in his life now. Someone who can turn that gist around to favour him

17. Genevive has the best publicist ever. Tonto, oge, Susan, should look for one ASAP. Don baba J is using the social media very well.

18. stella u need to create ur own andrioud apps too, some of us need it

19. TONTO DIKE NEEDS ONE ASAP

20. Susan Peter and Tonto Dike,New Updates In Angel Maryjane David Blog.

21. Every one of the major Naija celebs needs a very good publicist, otherwise known as spin doctors, preferably one who has lived abroad, mature and educated enough to know what advise to give their clients on what to put out there. Some of these celebs just don't seem to know where to draw the line and with every little 'crises' be it major or minor, jump on the computer and tap away and at the end of it, end up looking like a silly deer caught in the headlights of an oncoming car.

While social media is a great Avenue to stay in touch with fans, it should be used minimally. A lot of celebrities abroad have two separate accounts of each account they own. One with a Pseudonym where they can enjoy social media and still remain private the other an official one, managed by a secretary who gives a feedback to the actual celeb in a subtle form.

As much as Tonto was trying to be open to the public about her suicide attempt, her past rants has left a lot scratching their heads,thinking she is the ultimate Ms TOO MUCH DECAY. Look at 2 Shotz who actually shot himself in the foot by unknowingly outing himself, look at that couple that got a Corvette after their wedding in Dubai and the hoopla and rara rara that followed. Now Fani Kayode?

Ok, aiyew ti laju,but loose lips sink ships. Sometimes silence is golden. Let people guess and speculate and Naija celebrities should learn that they don't always have to have the last say.

Stella, good work all the way and I hope to meet you someday, your blog rocks with mature comments from your friends and supporters and keep putting it out there.The good the bad and the Ugly, let free press reign and don't let anyone intimidate you because the truth is like smoke, it filters through. Now let me rush off to finish my project.

Hope my TORI NO DEY TOO LONG. @DSmartNigerian 0followers on twitter :(.

22. TONTO all d way...........

23. Good morning,

My name is Theresa I am a social media expert.

I am writing to apply for the job of publicizing your business. I can manage your Facebook and Twitter accounts along with the blogs. I will also attach a link to your website.

I can get people talking about you, your business and what you do non stop and of course raise the traffic on all your sites.

For a token of N50,000

To be paid in three installments of N15,000, N20,000 & N15,000

If at any point you feel there is no improvement, you are at liberty to cancel. I can say this I am good at what I do and I know you will not cancel. Instead you will be thrilled and will increase it the budget and take the social media marketing of your business to the next level.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Theresa Doghor