Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Facebook Suicide Alert That Came Too Late...RIP Asempete Fatima

Sunday, October 13, 2013

Facebook Suicide Alert That Came Too Late...RIP Asempete Fatima

Asampete Fatima Usman Commits Suicide

She is from a town called Hong In Adamawa state of Nigeria and she attended Federal Onitsha and then went on the the University of Maiduguri class of 1987.

She sent a few friends on facebook inbox messages informing them that she was planning to end it all....it sounded like a suicide note and after frantic efforts to contact her,she seemed okay so the few people she mailed thought nothing of it and let her be.

One of the ladies she mailed was convinced Fatima sounded like she would carry out what she termed 'ending it all' but the friend was pacified by those she told who assured her that perhaps she had read too much meaning into the mail....she let it be but alas a few weeks later on October 8,2013 three hours after Fatima posted her last post on her facebook wall,people started commenting that she had died.

Her lifeless body was discovered by her family.....She was dead!..She had indeed ended it all.

Fatima RIP,I pray God gives you peace now.

Moral of story-If someone reaches out to you desperately,please do not take their words lightly,find them if you know their address and do all you can to calm the situation,you might be saving a soul.

If only the friends that Fatima alerted that she was going to end her life had taken it serious and reached out to her,she might still be alive today.

I am shocked and very sad that this has happened.

RIP Fatima...may God comfort your family.

64 comments:

1. It's amazing the sad news we hear on a daily basis...I still cannot get the rationale behind this act people take...it's very sad...yes this would indeed serve as an eye and ear opener for me...RIP

1. Stella, plz write on smelling mouth and bad breath!!! My fiancee is loosing it n am silently dieing**crying**

2. Fatims never committed any suicide! Stop saying what yu dint know. She died in her younger sister*s house in masaka. ABUJA! AFTER A BRIEF ILLNESS.

3. Masaka(very dirty area) isn't ABUJA its in nasarawa state.....say what u know. RIP fatima

4. May her Soul RIP!☹

Please I need to say this without sounding mean,its a sin to take your own life,no matter what you are going through,some people have it worse,hang in there please!

2. It's amazing the sad news we hear on a daily basis...I still cannot get the rationale behind this act people take...it's very sad...yes this would indeed serve as an eye and ear opener for me...RIP

1. Have u eva bin so depressed d@ life loses all color nd taste?
      I remeba wen I was going thru d most trying time of my life
      I would sleep nd pray nevaa to wake up
      I'd wake up and curse God 4 keeping me alive.
      Worse of all, I cldnt tell a soul w@ I was going thru cos I knew I'd be mocked.
      Twas beyond me
      I ve reached out to God nd I can say d@ I'm gettin beta wit each day
      God has a divine plan for my life.
      I jst pray she finds rest nd God gives her d peace d@ she sought.

2. Have u ever felt like ur world is crumblin? Atimes I feel lyk slpin and neva to wakup. Infact I wish I died instead of my late broda.pls b sensitive to pple around u. Say positv things to dem no mata aw terrible dey are. Also, we shld give ourselves reasons to live and b happy whc I av being doin for somtime. Only U can make U happy!

3. @ miiii! Y r u "impersonating" me? *rme*

4. I wanted to end it all a couple of months ago. I couldn't go on again. I WAS DEEPLY DEPRESSED. Jehovah came to my rescue. I know all about depression. It is a horrible, horrible emotional trauma.

3. Wow! Really sad RIP

Please follow my weight loss blog www.itwillendinpraise.com

4. Sapele Babe in Lagos13 October 2013 at 09:54

Bet wai? Wai? Wai? Wai? Wai na? OMG!!! #sobs# may you find the peace that eluded you here. Na wa o. This life ehn...... only God knows what secret pains she was going through.

5. Sad news indeed, but SDK, RIP isn't said in respect to suicide victims.

1. Shut up please. So should we be saying they should rest in turmoil? Obviously the lack of peace in their lives led to their suicides so let them rest finally please

2. What do you mean? Sge coukdnt fibd peace here on earth and she decide to seek it elsewhere; you are saying that she is not entitled to it elsewhere. Thats wicked of you

3. Ah ahhh...make una calm down na. She was depressed, sadly too, and she has my prayers. But all I'm saying is suicide is like murder to oneself. Committing suicide is like claiming right to your own life, protraying GOD as a final failure since Death is tha finality of your earthly journey. I'm not condemning her in anyway, but praying that God would have mercy on her soul since she did it out of ignorance. RIP means Rest in Heavenly Peace for those that died through God's Will, not those that make it their will. No one has ever been eulogized for suicide in the bible.

4. Congrats on your appointment as Gods spokeperson on earth....so you already know those that will rest in peace and those that will not....Welldone

5. For all ye ignorant folks, the bible (not me) says my people perish for lack of knowledge. It also says which of u can add a hair to ur head? Memphis is absolutely right, sentiments aside He's totally right! Lets not sugarcoat this particular truth, people commit suicide out of ignorance. God will give u peace but do u recognize Him as the source? do u hav faith enuff to believe watever ur issues in life, things will get better?

6. Hmmm! What a pity. No matter what no one has the right to end his or her life! whatever she was passing through should not be enough to make her end her life (unless she was mentally unstable).

People don't know God these days. That's why we allow the small cross we are carrying on this earth to weigh us down to the extent of ending ones life. I wonder what could have made such a pretty lady end her life? I really hope and pray she finds peace with the Lord. May God comfort her family and loved ones.

If it were to be in my village this thing happened eeeh, her family don enter wahala be that. Her daughters will even find it hard to marry cos everyone will be seeing them as evil. May her soul rest in peace, Amen.

7. dat hausa girl that blogs13 October 2013 at 10:03

But why wld she commit suicide no matter d situation. Only God knows. RIP fatima

8. May her soul R.I.P. My sisters best friend almost committed suicide cos she was so unhappy in her marriage, but thank God my sis reached out and made her rethink. Pls if u are out thr and going thru some hard time, remember that if u ve life, then u ve hope and things can always get better. Suicide leaves ur loved ones in pain.

9. Sucide is not an option. Even in the most difficult situations, it can only get better. Victors don't quit, only cowards do. This reminds me of a story, a friend from Owerri once told me.

1. Anthony! Hian! You dey wait make we beg u to tell d story,abi?. Before I count 3,begin talk d tory oooo.

10. I only wonder y pple end wat they neva started. God determines birth n death, so sad but suicide is a loser escape route...my opinion dou

11. When are we going to hear of good news again, things are really going bad, deaths, rape, robbery, kidnapping, bad government, , ASUU and it seems there is no solution to them.
    Whatever it was that mad her end it all only God know about it..
    May her soul rest in peace and for us that are alive no matter the situation, we keep faith and hope for better days.
    Good things happen to those who wait and the Lord will make everything beautiful in His time.

1. I wonder when oooooooooh GOD pls heelp us

12. People who commit suicide are wicked and selfish cos they don't think of the torture they will put their friends thru. We all have heavy problems so do those friends she mailed. If we mailed each other every day with the phrase " I want to end it all" nobody will go to work cos we will be running from house to house to save them from suicide . I'm sorry she's dead but the truth is bitter.

13. God forgive her and grant her everlasting peace in her new home...

14. Its really sad stella. Some Nigerians can b really awful. Why they choose to ignore these warning signs beats me. I have had a similar experience on my fb wall where a secondary school friend of mine started writing that he was ending it all and telling us that he will b closing his Facebook and all. Immediately, we sprung into action, ministering words of prayer to him, casting and binding. We even went as far as contacting close friends and family nearby! No b small matter o!
    In short, dats how d guy no come kill himself again. Later, when he came out of dat deppressive state, he thanked us for helping him out of dose dark moments.
    People should take these things seriously.

15. Anonymous 10.33am you need to slow down on your rage and open your eyes to the signs.

The signs are every where around us, while we get angry label suicidal people as selfish and wicked ....HONEY open your eyes and spot the signs.....I had the signs exhibited close to me but I was damn too dumb to notice it.

1. Suicidal folks are constantly depressed
    2. Have a me against the world syndrome and think every1 is against them
    3. Gradually withdraw from any form of social activity and become recluses
    4. And are broken people who have lost a lot and think there's nothing to live for...

So while ur vexing at their selfishness, look out for the signs

And Yo! Bro Memphis.......lol......men forget that your "they don't say RIP" to people like that.....why do I think you are an Igbo person Memphis, I detect the usual stigma Ish that comes with suicide, mehhhhn sorry to disappoint you, all DIE na DIE.....whether we say RIP or No.

Mehn Stella, this post brings back raw memories I'd rather have buried......I STILL MISS HIM, still talk about him, if ONLY I saw the signs, I would have been there for him.

Look out for your family and friends, don't be too self absorbed, and NEVER say it can never happen to me....cuzz I never knew it would...

And to her family and friends, this post may haunt you, and break your heart but it might just be a chance to educate others .....BE STRONG .....forget the talk.....You all will be fine, I know, cuzz we made it too!

16. Mr. Onwu, na wa o. I don't really understand your comment "All DIE NA DIE". If you read my previous comment I didn't show any sign of indifference to the sad news. Note that there's no place in Christianity that suicide victims are eulogized. Even the one given to king Saul by David was done because David didn't know Saul killed himself (an Edomite claimed to be the killer in David's hearing). Committing suicide is like committing murder: taking life. It means that you've finally agreed that God is a failure, then you end it. That's abominable. But since it's done out of gross ignorance to the value of life we can instead pray that HE has mercy on their souls. That's different from Rest In Peace. All die no be die o, biko. And I'm an igbo, but not stigmatized in anyway guy. Hehehe

17. @ Milly: Another Onye Igbo, I can spot my people from their comments, Millyhun, chefuo your village people and their sentiments about marrying off of their daughters et all, that 1 no b issue for now....Gbado Anya, it may be happening to someone you love, forget Society, Sentiments and yea, u speak the truth, the Igbo's ostracize families for no fault of theirs when stuff like this happen. I plead with YOU......OPEN your eyes

18. Point of correction Stella, she went to FGGC yola. She was one of the first set of my school. Very sad indeed. May her soul rest in peace.
    Mrs A

19. She must have gone thru pain which her strength couldn't bear,that notwithstanding suicide isn't an option.we all go thru one shit or anoda,Just anchor on God and try to talk with trusted friends and family members,a problem shared is half solved.

20. That's really bad. Suicide is never the answer no matter what Fatima RIP. I know your family and friends will definitely miss you.

Visit koolblend.blogspot.com for true life stories you cannot afford to miss.

21. Too early to draw conclusions.
    We don't know if she had an issue with depression. That changes a whole load of things.
    Depression is not something to mess with. She was not wicked to her friends and family. She actually thought she was making it easier for everyone.
    As a society, we need to be more aware of depression and suicidal tendencies.
    I have been there and almost don that.
    It is not a respecter of persons or class. Neither is it determined by the seriousness of the issues you face. I still cannot summon the courage to read the AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF ROBERT ENKE.
    My thoughts are with her family in this difficult time.

22. it is time for us as Nigerians to stop the societal taboo attached to psychological treatment.majority of Nigerians are going through a lot hence have a lot of pressure on them mentally i mean who wouldn't be with the situation they have to confront daily?
    we need to unload our issues at the appropriate place in order to be managed and treated.if we go to the hospital when we need a GP why do we resist going to the psychologists
    may her soul rip

23. Guys, some people on here are asking why she did it. There are a number of reasons why she may. I am talking from personal experience. Two major drivers of which are loneliness and feeling hopeless that there's nothing you can do about your situation. You feel fear. Fear of failure, and with nobody to talk to, all sorts of thoughts start rolling in. Should I just end it? At least the feelings of lonliloneliness will stop. its the feeling of hopelessness and not having anything to live for. It has crossed my mind during my lowest times.

24. We have all thot of suicide once or twice..
    D love of God saved us 4m crossing over.... RIP

25. Not D best move no matter how much pain one feels towards life. I pray your soul rest in peace.
    http://EmploymentPay.com/?id=Rita

26. I've actually attempted suicide twice, apart 4rm d prayers dat I should die in my sleep or at least have accident,but I didn't die. I still wonder why I didn't die in those 2 incidents, but God is faithful I no he will see me through all my ordeals

27. I'm going tru pain its like notin matters to me ani more I alwaiz feel ma life is in ruins d onli person dat is surpoz to wipe ma tears have refused to speak to me silentli evritin is closing up....Nothappyme

1. MY Dear, what about Speaking to that that one Person that will really Listen and Understand u.. God! No Matter what u are going through, No Matter how overwhelming the situation is, seek the face of God, I'm no saint , trust me..but I can talk to God when it seems like Men/Friends are not ready to listen or offer solution, and somehow he ALWAYS answers! That's why he's called the COMFORTER, u could get some devotional like our Daily Manna , the 1st 6-8 pages cover any situation in life, with "Bullets" to kill all of them, God bless u , don't forget to talk to him(its ur right as a Heir).

28. Wooow! Still wondering how people can bring themselves to actually taking their own life. As in kill yourself? Haaaaaa!

Hmnnnn.....

29. Anonymous 2.43pm......we Sabi say you dey live for Aso rock. But really is this post about where the Lady resides and "how dirty" it may be? Abeg park well.....

30. Anon 2:04.......there is hope! All is not lost! You are still here for a reason. Cheer up! I wish I knew you in person...I wish I could speak to you. No more attempts at Suicide! Stop please Stop. I wish you could talk to someone who you are sure truly cares about you. THERE IS HOPE

31. Suicide is a serious problem and its absolutely disheartening that we have individuals who have no heart pass judgment and say hurtful things as "suicide is never an option" one even went as far as saying that they don't deserve a RIP. You ignorant illiterates make me really sick. What do u know about psychological and psychiatric issues?

Shame on u lot. Ignorance is no excuse for stupidity. Read folks; read. Everything in life is not about gossip and sizzling gist. S****

32. Memphis, i dnt no u bt i like d way u analyse issue, thank u 4 dis piece. Suicide is nt an optn, whosoever dat comits suicide at dis age n tym is nt ignorant of God n d person is nt liable 2 make heaven. Learn to lean only on God in situatn n circumstance, help ll surly com.

33. Aunty sterra! Dis is indeed a big problem! And it's happening everyday! May God help us! Sometimes I honestly go through depression too and it's so tiring nd then I think about my kids nd d thought that they will suffer when am gone scares me to death! May God heal all broken hearts and see each person on the verge of committing suicide through

34. @ anon October 13, 2013 at 4:14 PM so people who don't believe in God nko? You are the one who is ignorant and can't see some people don't see God, believe in God or know God.

35. You are absolutely spot on Memphis. People do not seem to have the spiritual grace to understand ur insightful comments. God will NOT pamper anyone who commits suicide. They are no different from the suicide bombers

36. Some of u ppl r just funny nd dis is how u knw dos dat hv actually suffered in life nd dos dat hv not yet suffered. Let mi tell u depression is a disease nd yes its a mental state dat u cn call abnormal its a very terrible place to b in its like hell on earth. Ppl wit depression alredy feel dead evn wen alive its not easy to break. Nd in dis our backward country dat if u evn narrate ur ordeal to someone dey will say ur possesed or utter one rubbish.
    Nd for dos of u who tink dey r now d mouthpiece of God yes suicide is a sin oh ho convenient for u to blurt it out now. But do u knw dat fornication is a sin yes havin sex wit ur boyfriend or girlfriend is a sin dat will take u to hell! Lying is a sin gossip is a sin malice is a sin JUDGING is a sin I can go on and on so before u come here to spew self righteous trash check urself
    Btw Shout out to all my people dat hv battled depression nd won!!!
    May God have mercy on d souls of dos dat lost d battle
    God help us all

1. I would have loved to read ur points word for word but for ur typo shorthand style. However I was able to decipher abit of what u are saying, that we should not judge, and as with other sins committed daily, suicide is no different ko? Well my dear, no one is judging her, well not me, and I don't think Memphis is either, from his explicit contributions.

No matter how u try to gloss over this situation, committing suicide will not attract self pity in the celestial realm. NO man has a right to take his own life, and u don't expect that we pamper this issue bcos you'll be encouraging another suicide attempt. It is cowardice, it is unfair to the family u leave behind. It is depression of the mind, and such a mind needs help. That's all

37. No matter how depressed I am, sdk's Blogger wil never let me commit suicide. It kips me going every hour of the hour

38. I've tried commiting suicide on two occassions...gladly they were unsuccessful...i came to the realization that only cowards commit suicide..there is a destination after here and killing urself outrightly leads u to hell..i wud have been burning in hell forever...there is nothing like rest in peace for this calibre of people..they can only rest in hell..it is real..i wud've been a victim but God saved me..one thing that increases one's chances of commitng suicide is keeping one's problem to oneself...Jesus cares..only if we can trust him enough with our problems...he heals

39. Looool, spiritual grace? I laugh again! I'm a CHRISTIAN! I'm not religious, that same bible says, DO NOT BE IGNORANT OF THE DEVICES OF THE ENEMY. The point here for me is the preventive measure not the consequence, we all know Malaria kills, we all know HIV kills, we ahould be informed too that depression leads to SUICIDE. Please let's get of our "religious and sanctimonious" Christian horses and open our eyes.

This is one HEAVY device of the Devil, "depression".....while we are busy jumping up and down about the final destination of the suicide victim, more folks around you die daily for the same reason.

Moreover while you are SO sure that suicide leads to Hell, make sure you don't end up in the very same place as the suicidal folk for not committing suicide.

40. Ever read about Robert Enke, the German goalkeeper? Who was severely depressed but would never admit it to even the team psychologist? Pampering is not the issue here, you may not pamper and tolerate, but we all can show compassion, offer a shoulder to cry on and lend a listening ear!

No amount of forceful proclamation and declaration can coherce anyone suffering from depression to open up. Some of them do a great job at hiding what they feel.

People make una chill, nobody dey justify suicide, HELP folk suffering from depression....be tactical, wise, and prayerful while you do.

Brashness and a hard stance will only make them recoil back into their shell and will never let you know what's going on in their heads. Make we shine our eyes, granted, thank the lord for Una o!, it can never happen to you, yes!, we don gree, but look out for others.

Ka Chineke Mezie Okwu a!

41. Do not Judge the Dead, just pray for their soul and also pray u don't suffer from depression or know any form of hardship dat wud make u wana end it all and if @all it happens pray God gives you the strength and grace to Press forward.

42. Only God know what she went through! I thought of it on daily basis but had a rethink when a very sad incident happened! I was standing with a friend who came from italy but I had to excuse myself to the loo before I came out people rushed in to tell me that he's been shot by a trigger happy policeman, just within a period of 2min I went to ease myself, I looked at how God spared my life that day, if I didn't go to the loo I would have been hit as well bcos 2 people died that day! After this I know God has a purpose for me so I had a rethink and am grateful for being alive! People don't really know what depression is all about, I was always sad but now I know that the only person that can make me happy is me! I reached out to people online & many ignored me but thank God for the 2nd chance am a very happy person! Fatimo I pray God forgives and grant you eternal rest & Zubby continue to RIP!

43. Who are you guys to say what God will do and will not do. No one knows what happens after life. Memphis and co u guys are judging. Jesus sed he who is witout sin shud cast the first stone. Depression is a terrible disease, hope none of us experience it. Rather judge the actions of the dead, pray to God for a better life.

44. Depression is real. I have been there and there were times i was suicidal but only the thought of my kids, mom and tell kept me alive. We need to reach out to people around us. People go thru stuff and sometimes it may seem like there is no way out. Seek God, wait on him and He shall renew ur strength. He makes a way where there seems to be none and makes all things beautiful in His time. When it seems like the has deserted you, look around and you ll find the love and mercy of the most high God. RIP Fatima and may God ve mercy on ur soul.