Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Read The Proposed Cyber Crime Bill

Friday, January 31, 2014

Read The Proposed Cyber Crime Bill

For using profane language on other people or pelting them with insults or abusive words on social networking sites, Internet users in Nigeria risk a jail term that ranges between 12 months and five years......Punch

Section 18 sub-section 1 of the Cyber-Crime Bill 2013, which is pending before the House of Representatives, expressly states that anybody who “insults publicly,through a computer system or network” commits an offence and will be liable on conviction to imprisonment “for a term of not less than five years or to a fine of not less than N10m or to both fine and imprisonment.”

Also, the bill prescribes a jail term of five years for anyone who circulates or makes any racist and xenophobic material available online.
Cyber-criminals, who hide under the anonymity of the Internet to bully, harass other users of online platforms also risk jail terms when the law comes into full force.
Section 15 of the bill, which deals with issues of cyber-stalking, prescribes a jail term of 12 months for anyone found guilty of posting messages deemed “grossly offensive, indecent, obscene” or messages aimed at “causing annoyance, inconvenience or needless anxiety” to another online user.

Besides, anyone who bullies, threatens or harasses another person, through “information and communication technologies” or posts messages online that contains “threats to kidnap or injure” another person will be jailed five years or pay a fine of N15m or both.

According to the bill, Internet service providers will be required to keep all traffic data and subscriber information for the purpose of prosecuting those suspected of committing cyber-crimes.
The service providers are expected to provide necessary assistance towards the identification, apprehension and prosecution of offenders, failure of which makes them liable to fines and or jail terms.

Part V, Section four of the bill prescribes the Office of the National Security Adviser as the co-coordinating body for all security and enforcement agencies when the bill becomes law.
One of the high points of the law is the prescription of death sentence for anyone who commits an offence against what it calls “critical national information infrastructure” which results in death.

Legal experts in the country have welcomed the efforts of the National Assembly to bring about a comprehensive law that will ensure orderliness on the cyber space.
According to them, the essence of such a law — coming rather too late — will go a long way in ensuring that people don’t suffer from acts of defamation and damaged reputation on social networks.

The Chairman, Ikeja Branch of the Nigeria Bar Association, Mr. Monday Ubani, says it is commendable that a law to regulate behaviour and activities which take place online is coming into force.
But he warns that the law, which seeks to protect the interest of people in the ever evolving virtual community, should not be wielded to restrict the constitutionally-guaranteed freedom of expression online.
He says, “The bill is good for our democracy. The purpose of law is to regulate human conduct. It is commendable if there is a law guiding such a very critical area of our life that records advancement almost on a daily basis.
“Although it is coming rather late, it is better late than never. Many countries have enacted laws to guide activities online many years ago. It is commendable that the law is being contemplated. However, when the bill is passed into law, it must not be used to oppress the people. The citizenry must express themselves freely on social media.
“If the people are saying a particular government policy is not favourable, they still have a right to criticise the government online as well as agitate and correct anomalies in the polity; this is allowed under the constitution. Any form of clampdown on the people under the current democratic dispensation will not work.”
He adds that Nigerians are free to challenge any deliberate attempt to use any law(s) to run against the express provisions of the fundamental human rights of freedom of expression by going to court to declare them null and void to the extent of their inconsistency.
Ubani frowns on the inclusion of death penalty in the cyber-crime bill. Noting that such form of punishment is no longer in vogue, he says the modern trend is not to kill offenders but to reform and make them better citizens.

“Why should they be considering death penalty for crimes against critical national information infrastructure? Meanwhile, some people are stealing billions of Naira and looting the national and state treasuries from every angle, thereby rendering many others unemployed and causing death due to the absence of basic amenities in the country. Yet, nobody has made them to face the death penalty,” he adds.

63 comments:

1. Hahahahahah Stella I cnt stop lafn seeing the pix of this cats. Dnt tnk they are going to approve the bill but incase dey do, it will be a plus. So all u bunch of anonymous lowlives dt diss me be ready cos amma track u down, hahahahah lafn in Greek.

1. Apart from the fact that this is absurd!!! Gej wants to also silence opposition towards his re-election becos he know the internet is a big threat! This country & law makers are so useless

2. They should go and sit down on Stella's peepee JOKO jare!
      Whatever happened to freedom of expression and freedom of speech?
      Abeg e! Bullying I agree, but allow people express themselves without fear o'jare!
      This naija government sef!
      Please you people should go attend to other pressing matters.ki lo de? Apparently the social media is a strong democratic voice speaking volumes and now they want to crack it. Baba blue! Helpppp!

3. Stella. Let me be the first to violate this bill even before its approval. Fuck them all. Yea I say so.

Meanwhile, if this is put to practice, that will mean the very END of daily manner for bloggers... Especially the Nigeria blogosphere.
      As the only catch to fun is always the comment sections which is never free of cyber bullies and insults to the presidency. I imagine that this bill is being proposed not so much for u and I who get bullied online. After all if u cuss me I go cuss u back. Shikena. .

I think it is more bcos of our president and his wife. For there has never been any president in the history of Nigeria that got insulted as much as GEJ and his wife continue to get till date. They have really suffered in our hands, Internet discussions has reduced them to ground zero. If they like they should come and arrest me. Freedom of speech gademnit...so much for democracy. Mshew

4. You can't even keep track of your own english,anyway stella I think oga jonathan has self esteem issues,common we have heard worse about obama and he didn't pass any stupid bill law or law bill,seriously dis guy shuld work on his self esteem issues,we all know he didn't do it for nigerians,he did it for himself,words really get to that man, but seriously I don't blame people that hurl insult at some people's comment or tweet or facebook status or d rest,d rest,d rest,some people can really say pathetic and annoying things. Nobody is gonna sign that shit cos most of them are guilty of it anyway

5. Which English matter is this anonymous talking here again? Anyway Oga Jona, so it has come to this? Have u forgotten so quickly how u insisted on being a president who's going to be interactive with 'style' on social media, during your first campaign? One which informed you to register on fbk because you said you wanted to get feedbacks form the youth? So now, u are no longer media friendly all of a sudden because u think that people go beyond their boundaries abi? If u are not doing it right, what do u expect? Ok o..we shall see. Shebi you'll soon start to seek our votes again.

6. I believe the law is the handiwork of mama peace, hehehehehehe instaed of her to repackage her razz personalty she and her mumu horseband want to start harassing people. GEJ the Internet is where Nigerians take solace you hear? You dey fear revolution ba? Uhmmm this guys want to cage Nigerians. Ok o make we see o. Oloriburuku politicians. GEJ tackle corruption first and make a law that will attract death by burning alive of offenders you hear? When you take away people's voice then what else do we have to live on? Demonic moron of a man.

7. Nooooo this can't be happening I feed on people's stupidity and misery,noooooo stella how am I going to feed,noooooo

8. Many hackers would send their enemies and the people they hate to jail

2. Hmmm naija my beloved country. I am speechless and the last cat really pictured my facial expression after reading this.

CeeCee

1. Lol......from gay law to internet freedom okay what's next freedom of speech ??? O that's already gone with the internet freedom hahahahaha

3. Akuko na egwu!!!....so this is our problem in naija issokay...so they don't want us to be opening their nyash...odiegwu...mtcheeewww...Jokers

4. ladun's lesbian lover31 January 2014 at 22:16

Stella ooo..LMAOOOOO! These images of cats got me laughing sooo hard! U no serious at all. Anyway, as per d post... *smh. #thatisall

1. I swear, d cats took my attention...I left d bill n went after d next cat....LMAO...lemme go back and read properly.....lol

5. Hmmm,

It's alright.

Cyber bullies, take note!!!

6. Draconian.
    Military mentality? Educated illiterates?
    Self serving governance.
    Ignoring executive corruption, silencing all critics of same.

7. D proposers n d implementators shud take several seats @ d back joor. Shey na dis one qo create job 4 d masses abi na dis one qo make boko haram2 stop bombin?

8. And I'm so guilty of all the crimes above but highly unapologetic.
    Catch me if u can,ayam not fearing anybody.
    Lol....this is a joke innit?
    How do they intend to achieve this?
    Blogs might have to shut down o.
    Stella,u got to b very careful with comments u approve after this bill is signed cos Goody is obviously pained by d cyber bullying over d years.....

1. "Disclaimer: Comments on this blog are not posted by the Blog owner,therefore, the blog owner will not be liable for any comments made by readers.Thank you"

9. if this bill was passed into law, some of my fellow sdkers will be among the first to be prosecuted oh. im not expecting to read any negative comments on this post

10. Government with misplaced priority. Every min of the day someone is stealing billions with PEN time spent on this kind of ridiculous bill can be channelled to more important issues. So what happens to Anonymous commentators u find them and jail them from abroad? Mr Shoeless President Do something about ur fellow looters and our unemployed youths corruption is too much in ur government.

11. Too long! But fuck it

12. Loooooooooooooooooooooooool Stella u don kill me with dose pictures loooooool lwtmb lwkm

13. i swear @sdk na witch

Wetin be ds CAT here n dere now

Abeg make i sleep

14. OMG! Stella, I swear u don kolo no b small. See me laughing while my hubby who's waiting for his daily dose of *** dey frown face. The facial expressions on those cats are HIGHLARIOUSLY priceless. I love u so much. #nohomo. *ehen, baby, where were u touching again?*
    Signed: Posh queen!

15. High time people are curbed!!

I support!

16. Stella....u got me cracking my ribs with laughter with ur illustrations........

Back to d topic......GEJ exhibiting his clueless and shoeless thoughts again.....always reasoning upside down giving priorities to irrelevant things.....

17. Hmmn...that's der business jare...
    In oda news...stella and SDKers , make una help me thank God o. My husband just got his visa approved to come live with me here. Can u imagine, he applied on Monday and got it on Thursday...something that usually takes atleast 4 weeks...mayb dis is a new policy o ...I don't know. I am just too happy.
    Stella, we dated for 5 years, no sex...got married, had only one week of sex as I had to come back to resume work...its nt been easy since then. These past few months were even worse than all d years we waited...now I know why its nt easy for girls who have had sex before to abstain...that feeling is like being in prison within urself...
    But I thank God and I trust him to sort all that concerns us.
    Pls wish us well.

1. E yah. I feel u. Congrats dear. He who started a new thing in your life is faithful and just to complete it. I rejoice with u.

2. I wish you well iyawo..may your home be filled with beautiful babies IJN

3. Congrats
      May ur marriage begin to experience so much bliss n pleasant surprises #Cheers

18. LMAO Stella, you're very creative. As for whoever brought the idea of this bill up u need to stop whatever it is you're smokin Lol

19. Lepa shandy- 25yrs in prisonment
    Billie jean - 50yrs in prisonment
    BlogLord - 5days in prisonment(saw ur outburst on a recent post)
    M-amie - hmmmn 2yrs in prisonment(reduced sentence so as to av acess to ur cream, we don't want u lookin lik som1 wu came out of a coal factory)
    Wu else
    Anony- life time jail(una mout too sharp)
    Pink shell- 2wks of rigorous n laborious community service (cos u dont speak until u are spoken to)

1. Hahhahahahahhaha....i go bail out! Na naija na, abi?

2. This gat me cracking!" lmao"

3. Lady you is so crazy. Loving you more.

Justice for Oluyomi Odukoya at last!!!!!

4. Honestly pink shell, you no well! !!! Lmfao @ m-aime comment. I de inside bar for Victoria island de laff like craze person! !!!!!!

5. @POSH
      15days imprisonment(after all d sch wey my papa send me na inprisonment I rite lik 5x #Chai)
      U say am nt well!
      Av u seen me?
      Dat is defamation of xracter
      Una no dey ear word.
      As for me I don change!

6. @galore= death by hanging
      Tony ihehire,moydot,alinko= firing squad

7. Swansea
      I no dey house oo

20. SDK and her pictures....lmao

Well, in a way I'm kind of happy about this. If you read newspapers online and browse through the comment section below a story, you'll just have a facial expression similar to the last cat. The tribal war on these sections are so gross and in most cases immature. It's a real shame. It's only when men are warned with grave consequences that they tend to use their 6th sense.

**Also, the bill prescribes a jail term of five years for anyone who circulates or makes any racist and xenophobic material available online** All ye tribalists, take note.

1. Honestly Memphis, you are about one of the most logical and reasonable commentator on this blog. Obviously, Nigerians are always sentimental without weighing reasons behind an action...they just talk and foam In the mouth! I read the law and its a relief. Pls, sdks, do yourself a favour; stroll into vanguard online, punchonline, even Linda Ikeji blog..then you will understand that truly their is need to curtail peoples tongue through the internet! Infact, whenever i read some peoples comment on these daily newspapers, i always feel like crying! By the way, Obama will not come and tell you they don't have internet laws cos they've been using the internet before us, they signed their own FOI bill into law before us and their media is not filled with hate, tribalism, sensationalism and yellow journalism like ours. What would it take to air your views politely?

21. Those expressions got LMAO. These Ppl are jokers, such laws wont/cant apply in Nigeria.

22. Those expressions got LMAO. These Ppl are jokers, such laws wont/cant apply in Nigeria.

23. stella this country is fucked, the government obviously don't have anything better to do with their time

24. Dnt care abt d bill,jst lmao cos of d cats n deir expressions. Eve E Ume

25. How about life sentence for corruption....mtcheew!

26. Story story!!!

27. Lwkmd..bt seriously o aunty Stella mayb GEJ reads ur blog o... Sure he has seen comments 4rm sompple(names unmentinable)

28. You see y I complaining about Jona n his cohorts,ow does that fit into his portfolio? With all that is happening his thinking of blog n bloggers.Bull shit, am so ashamed of him cus he doesn't think one bit,infact @ all.Tufuiaka

29. Doesn't make sense,its just a bill aimed at depriving the pple of their freedom of speech and expression, but hello!!i tot we have a democratic govt?#facial expression like Stella's cats#
    Nyway I hope by the time they decide to pass the bill,they would have broken thru and neutralised TOR(the onion router) encryption code#na beans#
    Co's pple that want to say what they want and professional internet trolls will def go thru it to post whatever message they want online!
    Abeg this is a failed project before it got started,Goodluck should face his bizness and stop looking out for cyberspace bullies to catch,wont be surprised if this bill was first proposed by Abati.Rubbish!

30. Lmao at d cats expressions...epic...stella no go let them sack me from work oh....well shebi d bill is to jail the pple in naija who re found guilty...we wey no dy dere free to rant all we can...kikikikiki...useless naija govt....they shud go n die! *in Oshiomole's voice* that reminds me...they shud hang him too for insulting a fellow citizen!

31. Hmmmm, i weep for Nigeria. Nigeria is such an unfortunate country governed by RETARDS and LUNATICS,Another case of misplaced pirority, how about JAIL TERM for corrupt politicians stealing and embezzling state funds everyday? politicians sponsoring sectarians inciting mayhems,terrors and all manner of insurgency? politicians marrying underaged girls?, Sorry for Nigeria, The national assembly has finally messed up this country, when will the stop this CRAZE! bunch of illiterates and fools piloting the affairs of such a great nation. I weep for my country!

32. Hmmmm, i weep for Nigeria. Nigeria is such an unfortunate country governed by RETARDS and LUNATICS,Another case of misplaced pirority, how about JAIL TERM for corrupt politicians stealing and embezzling state funds everyday? politicians sponsoring sectarians inciting mayhems,terrors and all manner of insurgency? politicians marrying underaged girls?, Sorry for Nigeria, The national assembly has finally messed up this country, when will the stop this CRAZE! bunch of illiterates and fools piloting the affairs of such a great nation. I weep for my country!

33. Makes a whole lot of sense to me. It's about time they put all you troublemakers in check. I support it 100%

34. SDK u re so funny I luv ur blog biko. U re my numba 1 blog ryt nw any day I dnt log into dis blog na specialist hospital get me dat day.

35. I have to say that Nigeria is indeed a confused country led by confused people. Instead of addressing real national issues, they waste sitting allowances discussing childish issues. I'm all for finding a way to limit cyber abuse on people but please let's not get carried away.
    Anyway, I got important matters on my mind. Mtcheeewwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!

36. this is just ridiculous! what is naija turning into sef. even during military regime sef this kain thing no happen. Goodluck fear God small o