Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Enugu State University Of Science And Technology Is Milking Students Financially!

Wednesday, February 05, 2014

Enugu State University Of Science And Technology Is Milking Students Financially!

Why is Education so expensive in Nigeria?
Why do some schools just take it overboard?

is this the new norm by schools to get rich quick whilst the students die trying to get the degree?
Looks like only children of rich people will be found in schools if care is not taken.....WTF!

Enugu state University of Science and Technology (ESUT). is asking for a whopping amount of money from 100 level law students .
These new Students are required to pay N200,000 and medical students N300,000 as accreditation fee ...

This is not even part of the school fees which is N124,000…if you add it up,then each student is supposed to pay #324,000 for law students and N424,000 for medical students.

The school authorities is telling these Students that these accreditation fees will be used to build more courtroom and libraries for the school!

Since when has it become the duty of students to finance school projects?since when???

The Enugu state Government needs to look into this ASAP please.

This is a rip-off!

38 comments:

1. This is jux wickedness, thank God I ve graduated before lasu increased their fees. Sewzann

1. Stella, thank u so much for posting this.

2. Go and school in ABU zaria the school fees no pass 50k
      How can I pay over 300k for a state university...mtcheww
      Only in Nijah sha

2. Ihekire Tony

I think all these greedy lectures who make life difficult for our children in school, deserve to die.

3. God hav mercy.........pls Governor,minister,president look into this matter,give the poor student,d orphan trying to struggle thru sch,the widow who wants a better future for her children a chance to realise their dreams.....give them a fair chance..I remember students union rioted back then in 2002 in uniport when we were made to pay 12000 accreditation fee......medical students pay higher,I did pay higher than my friends in school.

4. Stella r u new in dis country ? I knw u dnt live here bt atleast, u r a citizen. Dat one is an old story....almost all d universities does dat n it didnt start 2day, its startd lik 7yrs ago....jst dat d price increases daily. Chyqueen

5. Hian....this is too much....how can students build court room and libraries for a whole state university?....where is that wicked Sullivan Chime??....mtcheew

6. This is a total rip-off like u said Stella, it is also partially attributed to the corrupt nature of nation. Tell me how many schools in abroad will place such a whooping sum of money on their students? My goodness we are talking about approximately €3000 here! The government is totally corrupt they simply want to shy away from their responsibilities and if nothing is done, it will get worst.I'd rather send my child to a private University than pay such, this is crazy.

7. That is ridiculous, may God help us in naija.

8. Stella its true ooo! My sis paid 124k as school fees. + oda things she ws asked to pay 4 again. I taya!

9. Dem don dey maadt

10. Hian what's d diff btw ds school and a private school. D 100 level studentd better carry dat money n go to HNAU in cotonou sef. Rubbish

11. Dear Stella, it is not a new development. This has been going on for a while and the fees keep increasing everyday.
    It's not only ESUT, all state and private universities are like that. I wonder how much we will be paying by the time our children gets to university level. I fear to think abaout it...SMH

12. This accreditation fee issue is not a new thing in most medical schools,this however is very exhorbitant.back in medical school we paid a total of 60k for d same reasons stated above buh it was called developmental fees.now imagine the millions that was collected from hundreds of student and ask me wetin dem build?a ridiculously small bungalow(one building in 7yrs).God dey!

13. may God have mercy, ESUT do dey turn private university

NaijaGist without Borders

14. Na wa o! See my alma mater. When I entered in '04 schl fees was 25k, other sessions 20k. Haba!!!!!!!!

15. No be today yansh dey back. I graduated from Esut, the school is not meant for poor man. You MUST sort your way out. I think Esut is the most expensive State University in Nigeria.
    The school fees has always been higher than other schools.
    Textbooks are compulsory, and then we buy one for as much as 5k
    In a semester, you must sorts like 4 courses compulsorily with not less than 3k. At the end of the semester, if you are not careful you will spend like 70k on textbooks and sorting.
    Sullivan pls do something about this oooh! I pity Esut students

1. Mademiselle, abeg speak for yourself! the fact that you had to sort you way through school does not mean that everyone that passed through ESUT did the same.

It is people like you that make lecturers sell other student's mark.

2. Mademoiselle, which course did u study? I left ESUT 2008 and i cant remember buying any textbook more than 2k. Who said its compulsory to sort. original 00.

3. Pls oh speak for yourself... U sorted courses cos u r an itibolibo or u r one of those girls that don't attend classes and go for runs!!! I didn't sort anything in that school... I agree with the txtbk prices but for sorting... Nah!! Chime pls Oga governor pls do smth about it...

4. @ Mademoiselle Juliet: y d generalisation? abeg specify ur dept n stop painting d image of d school bad. U must hav bn an "iti" wen u were in ESUT. How can u say " In a semester, you must sorts like 4 courses compulsorily with not less than 3k." Nawa o ppl like u wnt b able t defend dier certificate! Mschew

5. Na becos of u i go comment.I left esut 2007 psychology dept.No text book is 5thousand unless u are buying foreign text books or u read one of dem professional courses which am sure u can never sort in such faculties.My dear no be esut u go and if na esut u no dey enter class at all.Ppl just claim rubbish.I agree esut is expensive and unorganised.I cant imagine a skool dat is not online in dis 2014.I need my transcript now i need to go to d skool and d money way dem go collect no be here oh.God help us

16. ESUT school fees is turning into something else.The governor is not even doin anytyn to help.children whose parents cant afford those fees re left wit no choice than to drop.its really a sad situation.this was ma alma mater n i entered wen d fees were still 25k or so.sullivan,ignoring d only state university in ur state does not say well of ur administration.good roads wil not educated next generation.look into education and improve workers pay package..

17. Haba,I graduated from ADEYEMI COLLEGE OF EDUCATION,ONDO STATE!(Degree) Its the first in nigeria dat awards degree since 1963,till I graduated,d highest skul fees I paid was 10k and its one of the best skuls in nigeria! U can confirm it.

1. best schools ba wo? you are having a real laugh.

18. What of IMO STate Univ, indigenes can't even gain admission thats Rochas free education, while non-indigenes are being given admission.... but shah Esut case na WAR, you must buy all textbooks published by your lecturers before passing his/her course. Sorting is another way they make money.

19. Wat, this is not fair. My last school fees in ESUT was 30k in 2009. Thank God Im out. Where would my dad have vomitted such money from?

20. They always try to frustrate the poor.

21. If only u guys know hw decayed d schl is d fees will be d least of ur problems. Sorting is also d order of the day dere. Dey pay so much dere nd come out worse dan dey were. U re either settling in cash or kind.its just terrible

1. Thanks miss objective.I dont understand all the ranting about fees.i expexcted more people to complain about the school itself,d moral decadence,its terrible. With 10k i wudnt send my ward to Esut,dont u guys get it.

22. I only paid N25k in my first year & N20k in others. That was b/w 2002 & 2006. 6 years after, the fees have gone up to as high as N124k simply because Gov. Chime decided to use ESUT to settle his polical score with the former governor Nnamani who selfishly relocated the school from Enugu to his Village, Agbani. There is no justification for the hike except that men have been a punishment unto others.

23. Damn! to think I paid 20k as school fees in 2006 in ESUT! The annoying thing is that the quality of education is going down the drain & the fees are sky rocketing. Where/how do they expect minimum wage salary earners to train their kids? And to think that Enugu is highly populated with civil servants. It is well

24. For security reasons, i have decided to maintain my silence.... Juts few words will do; God is Surely watching all the south east governors and their respective state university VC's and Lecturers who still know how hard things are, yet they make sorting, text books and everything compulsory with other dues they keep bleaching with different grammar. Etc..The most recent now is project due, after one must have spent fortune, time and others in writing a project he/she will still be asked to pay a heart blowing stipulated fee by their supervisor bfr summition else it will be void... Lots to write about, but lemmie stop here for now sha......... Its well.. @i_ChoPtas_Not

25. What was the essence of the asuu strike afterall? Smh