Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Defence Minister Musiliu Obanikoro Lies About Own Annual Pay

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Defence Minister Musiliu Obanikoro Lies About Own Annual Pay

Premium Times reports that the Minister of State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro’s claim on a television programme on Monday that he draws N4 million annually as salary and allowances is false.

Mr. Obanikoro, alongside other Nigerian ministers, earn far ahead of that figure according to government schedule of remuneration for ministers, and in four probable rates computed by this newspaper based on stipulated guidelines, the lowest amount a minister could take home is N6.59 million per annum and the upper limit may hit N12.97 million or more.

The rates include a minister’s basic salary, and allowances for accommodation, motor vehicle fuelling and maintenance, entertainment, utility and newspaper/periodicals. The upper limit reflects payment for furniture and an official car.
But speaking on Channels Television’s breakfast programme, Sunrise Daily, Monday, Mr. Obanikoro said his basic salary as minister is N2 million, and N4million if allowances are included.

The minister, who joined the cabinet less than two months ago, cited the figure as he ridiculed the Lagos State government’s claim of constructing low-cost houses for residents.
Mr. Obanikoro said the claim is deceptive as the buildings were being sold by the Lagos authorities for N16 million per two-bedroom apartment, and as such cannot be categorized as “low-cost”.

Mr. Obanikoro is an outspoken critic of the Lagos State governor, Babatunde Fashola.
“How can a governor in good conscience tell me that a N16 million two-bedroom flat is low cost?” he asked during the programme. He said even as minister, earning N2 million, he could not afford the new houses.
“When Alhaji Jakande was governor, I bought a form for 1 Naira 50kobo, I was a clerk working in Union Bank, he actually built for the poor. I bought a form, I bought a flat, and you paid 1,500 Naira to be a house owner at that time.”

When the presenters of the programme asked him whether he arned N2million or N$2million, the minister insisted, “My annual salary is N2 million, everything put together plus my allowances is N4 million”.
The claims do not conform to rates provided by the Revenues Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission, RMAFC, the government body responsible for specifying the earnings of political office holders and judicial workers.
Under the 2008 Remuneration Act, ministers are classified alongside the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Head of Service and Chairpersons of statutory bodies such as INEC and National Human Rights Commission.
Those officials receive N2.026 million as basic annual salaries and their allowances cover an array of privileges stretching from accommodation to estacodes.

Allowances Case 1
The calculations cover only the basic salary, accommodation (200 percent of basic); motor vehicle fuelling and maintenance (75 percent of basic); entertainment (45 percent of basic), utility (30 percent) and newspaper/periodicals (15 percent of basic).
The minister’s salary here would translate to N9.4 million per year.

Case 2
In 2009/2010, the federal government announced cuts in earnings of public office holders. The revenue commission proposed that the basic salary remain same as above, accommodation be reduced to 150 percent; motor vehicle fuelling and maintenance 50 percent; entertainment scrapped and provided by government; utility 25 percent; and newspaper/ periodicals 15 percent- all of the basic salary.
An official of the commission told revealed the proposal was never implemented.
If it ever was, then the minister should earn N6.6 million per year.
Cases 1 and 2 do not cover other allowances such as furniture (since the amount is to be paid every four years); car loan (every four years); estacode and duty tour allowances (since they are to be earned only during travels); domestic staff and personal assistants (since the allowances are in turn paid to beneficiaries); leave allowance and severance gratuity.

Case 3
However, should furniture and car loan be included as they still represent the minister’s earnings though coming after four years, then based on the 2008 Remuneration Act, which provides furniture (300 percent of basic) and car (400 percent of basic), then the minister’s earning will translate to N12.97 million.
That is with the furniture and car loans spread across four years.

Case 4
If the payment is based on the new proposal by RMFAC, then with car and furniture, the minister’s earning would be N8.6 million.

*Musliuuuuuuuu!!!!

21 comments:

1. Oloriburuku......oloshi.......tif.dats who they all r....gud mornin madam stelisko...u no dey sleep?haba

1. Lagbaja Epe...
      La ro kutuku!

2. Na big lie, u can see it thru his smile

3. Hahahahaha! One chance. Obanikoro, Jonathan? The same 10 and 10 pence. All KRIMINULZ!

4. Huummm!
    I heard it live on that thaton channels tv. He said he earns N2m and was wondering if it was monthly but to my greatest surprise he said anually habaaa!!!
    Civil servants even earn more talk more of a minister
    E joo, oje yen o je wa, e wa nkan miin so

1. Exactly o it ws 2million I heard

5. Na slip of tongue. He should take it easy ooo. GEJ dey find who to fire ooo

6. Whether he earns 2m, 4m or 6m, the point he is trying to make is that a low cost 16m house is a ridiculous label for "low cost housing"
    One would expect far lower for a 2 bedroom flat (haba)

I known Obanikoro may have zealously understated his figures, but let's call a spade a spade and strike off "low cost housing" from this Lagos state label in this case.

16million naira is not low cost and is ridculous for a 2bedroom flat.

7. Doesn't undermine the truth about what he said tho. Let's not stray away. The low-cost housing units are too expensive. The ones they built in my area (over 200 units) has not been occupied by a single soul. They are even starting to rot. I tot they would have reduced the price by now or device a good payment scheme.

8. I watched d interview live. Hw can a Gov claim 2 build low-cost houses 4 d governed on water at d cost of #16m 4 a 2 bedroom flat, if d common man had such money am sure he'll get a more befiting duplex 4 himself in a low-cost area. Abeg Fashuola ur 2 bedroom flats are far 4rm low-cost! Thank u!

9. Abeg the gist too long

10. How can he earned 2m per year,immediately I read that I knew it ws lie,when our iryne is earning 900k/month that aside, this man got a good gene, hiis son looks older than him

11. 16million for "low cost housing? Fashola is a joker.

12. Actually, truth be told. Fasholas Government is extremely capitalistic. I am a Federal parastatal worker in Lagos State. From last year, my tax deduction shot up from 12,000 to 38,000. It was mind boggling. I do not steal, I work dedicatedly. Yet my tax deduction is equal to my pension deduction. We were told we can apply for these housing units since we now pay the "correct" tax-only for us to find out that a 2 bedroom is about 8-16 million depending on the location and you will have to put down at least 3million as down payment. Where in the world will a dedicated civil servant get such money from if he doesnt steal? Im really tired of the tax squeeze in pursuit of money from Fasholas government. Its very heavy.

13. Haba!low cost houses for 16m. Fashola pls are these houses 4 d common man or who are they really for?.

14. Fashola is a biggggg thief OLE nla. Stupid governor

15. Did any of you believe he earn's 2 million naira per annum???..Well, i didn't!! What those take us for? nursery children? If they earned 2 million per annum will they be killing themselves to get there?

16. They all are thieves!!! They don't really care about us, Time and chance will happen in Naija soon. Enough of this corruption already. What work does a minister or senator do for such an amount paid as salary??? Also 16million for low cost housing? (that would fetch a duplex in Magodo) they should recall that they won't live forever.... it's a matter of time.
    We are the change we seek Nigerian youths. Enough of this rape!!! Our leaders have failed us as a country.

17. This is where fashola fucks up.theres no way a hard struggling person can buy these houses .his govt us for the rich.very sad,in a way am happy is tenure

18. Haba 4 Fasola ,wit 16 m won't u build ur own house nd even start a big business dats y in Lag most pple work in d island nd live on d mainland cos of house rent.

19. Why are we all any surprised? Musiliu doesn't know exactly how much he earns. And probably most ministers too don't. There is so much free money going around for them.., entertainment allowance.., inconvenience allowance..,security allowance.. estacode for travelling... etc that a minister may truly not know what he earns. So Musiliu said the first figure that came into his head. because actually, he doesn't truly know-how much he earns!!