Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Detain Lagos DPO For Alleged Rape Of Idowu Akinwunmi.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Police Detain Lagos DPO For Alleged Rape Of Idowu Akinwunmi.

The Lagos State Police Command has arrested the Divisional Police Officer in charge of Onikan Station, Mr. Adekunle Awe for alleged rape and threat to life.
 Two other policemen of the rank of inspector were also arrested as part of ongoing investigations.

A 31-year-old cook, Idowu Akinwunmi, had accused Awe of raping her in his office on April 15, 2014.
A reliable source revealed on Friday that the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar, the Lagos State Government and other human rights groups were interested in the matter.
The source said, “The DPO has been detained at the Special Investigation Bureau at the command headquarters. Two other inspectors, who were on duty when the alleged offence took place have also been arrested.

“The state government frowns at rape and if you recall, a new law on rape was passed not too long ago so we shall be leaving no stone unturned.
“The complainant and the accused persons as well as very senior officers of the command all had a meeting in the office of the Deputy Commissioner of Police in charge of Administration and I can tell you authoritatively that no stone will be left unturned.”
Police Public Relations Officer, Ngozi Braide, also confirmed the development on the telephone.

She said, “As you know, allegation of rape is a very grievous one and we have commenced investigation into the matter. The DPO has been relieved of his post and is in custody so as not to interfere with investigations.
“I want to assure the public that the command is not taking it lightly and will make sure that we get to the root of the matter.”
It had been reported that the victim, who worked at an eatery on Keffi Street, Ikoyi, had been arrested by the police at the behest of her boss who accused her of allowing a stranger to sleep over at the restaurant.

The police were said to have arrested five others including one Friday for disobeying the rules of the restaurant.

The victim had said she was forced into having sex with the DPO after he had threatened to kill her and throw her and the other suspects in prison.culled

*This Policeman should be used as a scapegoat if he is found guilty of the alleged rape!

16 comments:

1. Just because of a few minutes of pleasure he has rubbished his life! Men and this their 3rd legs! Na waàaoooo

2. Nice one...no one is above the law...useless man

3. Hope the investigation is done fairly and thoroughly; the guilty must not go unpunished.
    Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, cheers

4. Good to hear dat. This man spoil his career just for his stupid pleasure

5. Even the owner of the eatery must answer to the law. How can you just ask police to arrest people because someone was allowed to sleep in the restaurant? Did they steal or damage anything? On what grounds was the arrest made? Oppression of the helpless is common in Nigeria and this case right here is a typical example.

-Ajala

1. d owner of the restaurant,what he did was pure abuse of power and intimidation with wealth!dats what poor pple see everyday,but I am made to wonder,isnt the police supposed to have a guideline for arrest or like a list for offences that are arrestable or not'?well dats y d nigerian police is pun' in the hands of every big man!

6. Stupid useless po-po. Ur. 3rd leq shud provide sch fees, feedinq n oda thinqs 4ur kids n wife naw. Ewu maiduquri!

7. I hate policemen.. I hate them so much. I don't even like been stopped by them.. They are not even authorized to shoot and yet the bring out their guns and threaten people,sometimes even shooting them and killing them and they case would be swept under the carpet....

They stay on the road looking for who they would collect money from aggressively. I don't even give them a penny... I make sure I have everything that is required.

All of them are so bad.. I wish they can be abolished... Very stupid and insensitive people... Let me just stop here because if I continue,I would just keep ranting and ranting... They are supposed to be protecting us rather they brutalize,rape and kill those they are meant to be protecting. Police ja our friend indeed

8. Ife di na dick and pussy too dey cause wahala
    The alleged rapist should face the law if he's truly guilty

9. Hope he s severely punished,dnt trust ds 9ja police atall. EVE E UME

10. Just watch, lazy ass Naija media will not bother visiting the station to verify that he is indeed locked up.

11. It has been happening since nah!This is what d police men and dem oga does to any victim.I recalled a house gal in my area ,Raymond njoku,ikoyi.She was swindled by dose 419 then.She was asked to go and collect her lebanese rolex watch and some dollars and she did,few minutes l8ter she realised wot had happened 2her.She informed her boss and d guy handed her over to d police @ awolowo rd police station as he neva believed her story.To cut a long story short,we went to see her @d station in order 2giv her food as she might be starving ,it was then she told us of how d Oga @ d top had promised 2release on d condition that she allow him sleep with her.She was totally confused as she cried cos he(IG)had threathened her if she didn't comply.
    I felt so helpless as I myself don't know what 2d to help dis poor gal frm d hands of those Bastards!!!!

12. I hope he get's punished.

13. Calling police for people is the fastest way Nigerians get people to behave....sadly some people are innocent and get to be molested by police if they have no one to help.....a baba security on my street was taken to the police this weekend cos an agent came to inspect a house in the close he was working.....the baba had opened the house fir prospective tenants before at the request of the landlord.....unfortunately this agent ran away with 600k and the prospective tenant came to pick up the baba......the other Mallam who took good for the baba the next day was arrested...lol....meanwhile the police refused to bail the baba till they see landlord and agent.......how can he dupe someone and still remain at his duty as a maiguard? Of course the police was asking the kind Neigbour who went to secure his bail for 20k.....a man whose shop is not even up to 5k? Nigerian police, stupid, idiotic, corrupt and totally clueless on how to be civil.......it's a shame....I pray she gets justice and the stupid dpo thrown behind bars.......I can bet my royal arse this is not the first time the he- goat is doing that cos I have heard that is one of the ways the police collect payment from female suspects.....

14. What do u mean if guilty???WTF! A grown up woman wl nt just wake up one morning and fake story against a DPO...and the stupid court should nt tell us case adjourned for further hearing shit or case closed 4 lack of evidence or third party witness.
    Evil leaders bringing curse of God on this nation,thunder wl finish u all.That idiot should be sacked and imprisioned for 6yrs..I hate it wen they say ''we ar investigating d matter"

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

15. Me I don't understand this case again but I have a huge feeling that she tried to exchange sex to expedite her release but only found out she was swindled coz she still had to pay