Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola - Emma Ugolee Writes On Fallen Port Harcourt Doctor

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Ebola - Emma Ugolee Writes On Fallen Port Harcourt Doctor

''.....My best friend, in Unijos was a Med student. I also got to date another Med student, in my Uni days. My only brother, is a pediatrician consultant in PH. I know better than to dare underrate what it takes to be a medical doctor.

Hard Hard work from day1. No corners to cut, no luck, no godfathers. You just have to deserve it to be called a "DOCTOR" 

Then post graduation, there is the life of unbelievable sacrifices. Outside the input, there is the output of the lifesaving nature of their jobs. Doctors save thousands of lives everyday in Nigeria. 

Now the reason for my concern, the average doctor is grossly under compensated. The doctor lives in a weird society where one senator earns more than 50 doctors in a month. He lives in a society that thinks it is ok to pay Davido N6m for 30mins and him N190k after 30days. 

It is with great pain that I learnt about a school mate in Unijos. Tall handsome bespectacled guy. Graduated in 1999. Easily the tallest guy in Med School then. We called him "Iyko La La". Beats me why he would breach all medical protocol to go treat that Ebola infested Diplomat in a Hotel room in PH. Yea the EV panic worsens for his sake. 

Very reliable sources confirm that money and lil favors a doctor should ordinarily have no issues having was the root of the unethical behavior. That is just one guy in the open. Only God knows what Nigerian doctors have to do to make ends meet.

Not trying to hold brief for his irresponsibility but truth is you can't exempt the system from the lowering values and standards. Not everyone has the strength in character to be dr Ameyo Adadevoh. There would always be weaklings who wud rather rob, prostitute etc than earn peanuts from dignified labor.

Be it a home, a literal building, a business, a faulty structure is the start to eventual collapse. EV shows that a faulty system can also suffer repercussions that is instant and direct. Dr IK Eneouh messed up, but the system painted the bigger picture. 

Witten by Emma Ugolee

•  

76 comments:

1. May hz soul rest in perfct peace

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

1. You have started again o! Hit that keyboard one more time na. "His"

2. Emma blaming d system or d govt for the late Dr's decisions is wrong. Blame it on his greed. Even some unemployed graduates would rather starve n wear rags than engage in undignifying jobs. We should learn to take responsibility for our actions rather than push it around. Dr Ik will still cut corners even if u pay him better than a senator. But in all said, I pray he rest in peace, even if his actions has brought panic n fear to d east.

3. So true greed that's the cause if his death.

4. As you lay your bed, so shall you lie. Sorry to say this but he deserved to DIE.

2. hi Emma,i know ur brother Jerry,he was my Sr while i did housejob,cool funny chap ...how is ur health? have u got the transplant yet? i like how informed of the medical profession u are,Dr Iyke did unethical stuff for the money,but then it wasnt worth losing his life for,goes to show,money isnt everything afterall

3. Hmnn but whatever d case is, he shuldnt av put his life and dat of his family at risk. I pity him tho. It's true, docs are not well paid in nigeria. After all d hard work dey do to save lives, dey are being paid peanuts.

4. Sad, but he is not here to say if he truly knew from day 1 that the person had the virus. I believe he thought it was just a home call and when he found out it was to late to withdraw. I dont believe in putting the blame on some one that cant defend himself. He did not do well but lets find a way to sort out the problem

5. The writer lost me at the part where he compared davido to doctors. Davido is not a government worker. He's an entertainer and works his finger to the bone for his money as well. I agree that health workers should be paid very well (even the janitors because they are at risk as well) but in a country like ours, what can we do?

1. What he wrote was, that a senator will happily pay Davido N6 million for 30 mins performance n pay a Dr that saves lifes 190k a month.

6. Una wan start anoda world war,
    If u want to make a point, u do so without making comparison.
    If my sister apen to be on dis blog, hehehe she forr tear shirt, com ask u d difference btw nurse n doc.

Everybody plays an important role.
    Davido is an entertainer, after a busy week, u ask ursef, I deserve a treat, and den buy a ticket, to go watch davido.
    Besides no be govt dey pay davido n so I don't see d reason for mentioning his name here.

If u feel u aint happy wit ur career, or u feel its not worth the risk, its better u have a rethink and change career, b4 u kill som1(by prescribing wat dey don't need in oda to mk extra doe).
    Nigeria aint USA.

If u want to be wealthy, try options like bizness, politics, drugtrafficking, and 419.
    If u want job security den try professional jobs. #ShinesTeeth! Hehehe don't tk it personal oo, I just feel like warming my mouth 2day.

1. So being a doctor is not professional enough? I pity you! Well am not surprised...your comment always show how low your IQ is..
      And don't bother coming to bark like a mad dog as you usually do. Il be too busy to respond.

2. 2:16
      U are damn too dull!
      Am not replying u cos I want ur response and repying u to enlighten u.

Doing a profession course doesn't guarantee u wealth, nope, it only assures u of job security, which means if u are a doc, and u get sacked 2day, u can take a room outta ur 3bedroom flat, and practice ur medicine dia .se O ye!

3. Pink shell you are indeed a fool...you cant even spell...sad product of our educational system...daft idiot trying so hard to sound smart...

7. I absolutely agree with Emma and it's not difficult to see how completely messed up the Nigeria system is. Our doctors are grossly underpaid and horrendously overused, and their kids have to go to the same schools as others, and wives shopping in the same market as everyone else! What about rent? Do landlords charge them less cos they save lives and work odd hours? In our dreams maybe. No one knows what pushed this young promising doctor to do this. It could even be a simple act of kindness because I don't believe it's always about money. May your soul rest in peace and may God deliver Nigeria from the curse of having so much and yet nothing to show for it in real terms.

8. I absolutely agree with Emma and it's not difficult to see how completely messed up the Nigeria system is. Our doctors are grossly underpaid and horrendously overused, and their kids have to go to the same schools as others, and wives shopping in the same market as everyone else! What about rent? Do landlords charge them less cos they save lives and work odd hours? In our dreams maybe. No one knows what pushed this young promising doctor to do this. It could even be a simple act of kindness because I don't believe it's always about money. May your soul rest in peace and may God deliver Nigeria from the curse of having so much and yet nothing to show for it in real terms.

1. Everyone is responsible for the decisions they take..If this Doctor knew that diplomat had Ebola and still exposed his other patients,families and friends to it,he was totally wrong!!

2. Its a lie. Their children do not have to go to a school where d school fee is 1.2m per term.
      They should cut their coat according to their material and maintain their lane.
      If they feel the job is not paying enuf, its better to resign and do something else than risking the lives of 170million Nigerians.

9. Oooooh shut up.i call it greed.what non sense?is he the first to earn N190000.

10. True. Sad. Disturbing but True. But then again, you can't blame society for everything. We should shoulder some of the blame. After all who makes up the society? Not ghosts or animals... YOU & I

May his soul rest in peace

11. You speak truth, my brother....not everyone has that strength of character...

12. This Ebola is just consuming intelligent individuals with a whole great future in front of them.

It is well even in the well.

May his soul rest in peace.

13. Very Sad. Wonder why he allowed circumstances to make him do that. May God continue to deliver us. Ihubaby

14. Honestly,doctors and teachers in Naija should be earning more than politicians...
    Our family doctor still drives his old 1999 toyota camry with no Ac...
    I don't envy them at all..
    RIP to the dead though he killed himself..

15. May he rest in peace. Unijos my alma mata.

16. He's still greedy, after all said and done. Rest in peace Doc

1. How much do you think one can be paid to give his life and that of his family? Isn't it obvious the doctor wasn't aware of the man's status? Moreover home service has never been a crime in the medical practice.
      Several doctors go to meet up with "bigmen" to administer their various drugs even those that are HIV positive! So kini big deal? How much was the Ecowas guy paying sef! Mtcheewwww

17. No excuse whatsoever Mr Emma. .now he's wife and Lil baby are at risk of joining him god forbid. .The repercussions of greed...I feel for the poor baby that trusted her parents to protect her but what a shame that she has been exchanged for a money. There is no difference btwn Patrick sawyer and ik. .rip

18. Rip Dr IK

Whether you did this for money or favour...
    I still blame Patrick Sawyer for your death!

1. What's this one saying?
      What this doctor did is no different from sawyer.

19. He brought it on himself. He shouldn't have hidden the fact that his patient had EVD. God knows how many people they have put in danger due to their reckless action.

20. Hmmm

Langleychic

21. Thank God you know he messed up....RIPP Dr. Iyke

22. Thank God you know he messed up....RIPP Dr. Iyke

23. who was there with them to know what truly transpired? who can say for certain the poor doctor was aware of the infected status of the diplomat before meeting up with him in an hotel room? if he was aware i am certain he would have dorned protective apparels which invariably would have attracted the suspicion of the hotel workers and other guest. this ode sounds like a typical Nigerian rush to judgement

1. You know,I have been thinking about this a lot..I am like,if this man knows the patient had Ebola,he would have worn his protective suit and all,so at what point did he wear the suit to avoid raising suspcion in the hotel? Was it when he entered the room,the corridors of the room or what?

2. And why didn't he tell his colleague that treated him that he had Ebola since he was treating the man? Why did he go to another hospital and told them hr had just malaria,thereby putting other drs life in danger... The man just as wicked as Patrick... And we were busy calling Patrick names nm knowing we Nigerians are more wicked

24. May his soul rest in peace...so sad!!!
    http://musingsandjumbledthoughts.wordpress.com. pls read and comment

25. ANGELRAY SAYS
    His soul will never rest in peace for turning a hotel into a quarantine center.

26. QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
    phase 1 Clinical Trials of NIAID/GSK
    investigational Ebola Vaccine
    August 28,2014.

Q:Can a study volunteer injected with the investigational NIAID/GSK vaccine become infected with Ebola?

A: NO!
    The Ebola genetic material contained in the investigational cannot cause someone to become infected with Ebola.

WWW.niaid.nih.gov/news/QA/Pages/EbolaVaxQA.aspx

27. And thasts what someone said he wants to go so he would be infected and then rested forgetting he has a wife and kids that would not be in a good mental shape if treatment fails,oh well,what do I know....

1. If dat thing that Dr Okechukwu said is true, then he's one of the most 'stupidest' people on earth. Bravery my foot

28. Shor, na sin again for Dr to make house calls. My Dr comes to d house oh. He works round d clock n house calls isn't a crime. The problem here is d Dr not reporting the case of Ebola. May his soul rest in peace.

29. I know we shouldn't condemn people or speak ill of the dead but really what was he thinking?! He knew how deadly this virus was and still went ahead... Of what use is it to gain the world (money) and lose your soul? And we later complain about our politicians being corrupt.

As for the diplomat, I don't know how he can bear to live with himself knowing he's directly caused the death of another person / got blood on his hands. Selfish man. The kind that would give his wife AIDS and be treating himself solo. Na wa.

30. This tribute makes no sense. If everyone starts cutting corners because the system is not favourable so wat happens?
    Why didn't he volunteer to help Ebola patients in Lagos when LASG needed volunteers?
    This is just a result of greed.
    He should have opened up when he started showing symptoms or ebola has destroyed the truth cells in his brain as a blog visitors once said.
    Anyways hope he RIP.

31. God!!! D doc was greedy, he got tempted by d cash, and @d end of da day his fingers got burnt. May his greedy soul rest in peace. Quite painful he infected his wife, he may also have infected his new born, time will tell if d baby will make it. Such a pity, ds is not d way it shld end @all.

32. Maybe the doctor didn't know, maybe the doc did some test and then found out but then it was too late. May his soul rest in peace. Sparkle

1. Too late to report to d appropriate authority?
      I don't think so.

33. Maybe the doctor didn't know, maybe the doc did some test and then found out but then it was too late. May his soul rest in peace. Sparkle

34. I feel so sorry for the doctor, he never envisaged it could cost him his life, he left a wife who is already sick and a 3 months old baby, what the?

Was money really the motivating factor for him? Tell me to go near an Ebola patient and I will be paid 5m,taaa I can't and won't, even if am a doctor.i will run four forty.

We are not talking of HIV here, Ebola, a virus that wipes people out in a jiffy,that has no cure? Jeez, no way.

35. I really wish i understood what this guy was writing about? what does david o have to do with anything? if you feel you want to entertain, they sky is free. go all out and entertain. The doctor KNEW THERE WAS SOMETHING SUSPICIOUS ABOUT THE GUY. HE WAS FROM ECOWAS FOR GOD SAKE. This is a doctor that should put two and two together. ebola is in town, sawyer had contact with an ecowas official and now you are treating an ecowas dude in a hotel. he didnt care about people that will come in contact with the the diplomats clothing item, food, etc. that was just plain plain wicked. i cant feel sorry for a doctor who is that reckless. compare his actions to that of the late Adedevoh. please nor make me vex i beg...

36. Emma, how dare you send this rubbish! Don’t patronise us, what impunity! So you actually have the guts to justify your friends’ demonic act? How insensitive can you be? I see friends of the same feathers flock together! You have no right to mention the late Dr Ameyo in the same write up as your friend...in case you don't know, he has rubbished the effort she made (risked her life) to curtail the spread of the Ebola virus in Nigeria. Your friend is a Judas and for you to blame his wicked and greedy act on the system is pathetic! I am sure you would do worse! So because of the system, all unemployed Nigerian youths should take up arm robbery, kidnapping and prostitution! Your friend had no business to have practiced the noble medical profession, he lacked the pedigree; he wasn't forced to remain in it if he was so dissatisfied! Your comparison with Davido is childish and foolish! It wasn't too late for your friend to turn into an entertainer too! Your breeds are the problems Nigeria has to contend with; selfish, greedy and self-centred; Lazy bones who blame every of their misfortune on the system. The Ebola virus is highly contagious and if your friend thought pouring bleach in the room of the diplomat will kill the virus, he was really a joker....burning the hotel would have been more like it! When he became ill, did he report that he had been in contact with an Ebola patient? He put the hotel (staff, guest and their families) at risk. He also placed the hospital (staff, patients, visitors and also their families) at risk. What does that tell you? He has placed Nigerians at risk of a virus that was already been controlled. His action is worse than Sawyer and the diplomat put together! According to you, was your friend trying to pay back Nigeria for a failed system?

BrendaN

37. Naija i hail thee... We ascribe Dr adadevoh's heroic deed to her personal character but the PH doctor's questionable deed to "the nigeria issue". Hmmmnnn

38. R.I.P to the dead. You know how Nigerians are with big men. I am sure because he is a diplomat he was allowed to get away with all sorts. Imagine a whole doctor, even education has not changed the way people think in that country. That BASTARD of a diplomat should be charged for murder, after all he was aware , but the Nigeria i know nothing will happen, they will continue with their big big grammar

39. Plz.... He didn't know d guy had Ebola . don't say what u don't know. And don't judge d dead. Thnx

40. Shame on Koye Olu Ibukun for infecting that doctor.

41. I FEEL YOUR PAIN BRODA BUT WHAT UR FRIEND DID IS SO UNETHICAL AND A NO-NO, WHAT WAS HE THINKING, THIS IS EBOLA FOR LIFE'S SAKE! AND SPARE US THAT DAVIDO COMPARISON, DID U JUST WAKE UP TO REALIZE HOW UNFAIR LIFE IS? EVERYBODY IN NIGERIA WHO DEPENDS ON GOVT FOR SALARY IS PAID THE SAME PEANUTS! EVERYBODY APART FROM THE THIEVING POLITICIANS! DOCTORS EVEN EARN GOOD MONEY, SO MANY NIGERIAN GRADUATES EARN 20K A MONTH, MANY STAY JOBLESS FOR YEARS UNENDING..

AND WELL, ITS THE SAME EVERYWHERE BRO, DOCS IN AMERICA EARN LESS THAN 200K$ A YEAR, WHILE BEYONCE/JAYZ TOUR OF ONE MONTH BROUGHT IN $100MILLION.. NO DOCTOR CAN EVER MAKE THAT, LOL
    I THINK THE WORLD IS BALANCED ANYWAY, LET THE BRILLIANT ONES GO ON TO BE DOCTORS AND AVERAGE, LET THE DUNDIS AND CAST OFFS GO ON TO BE MUSICIANS COMEDIANS.. ITS NOT GOD'S FAULT, ITS CALLED TALENT. IF NOBODY FORCED U TO BE A DOCTOR U SHOULD KNOW UR PRIMARY AIM IS TO SAVE LIVE. IF U CANT, PLS DONT BE.PLEASE! if he was alive, he would still have lost his license.. he put even his wife and child at risk.

42. Oh please! His actions should not be blamed on the system, people earn way less....typical Africans blaming all their wrong decisions and bad behaviour on d system......I understand he was ur friend but please, do not for one second justify his actions coz he was completely selfish and wrong.may God forgive him and us all, that's all I can say, Amen.

43. Bullcrap..... We can't all be politicians so pls nobody has an excuse.... If u don't think ur proffession is paying u resign and go join the thieves making money......and honestly am tired of hearing about dr ameyo being a hero, they did not handle sawyer well.... As a consultant they should have been ready for any Ebola case..... U have an epidemic and a sick person from that country yet it takes u 3 days to test for Ebola...... Please...

44. The name of the hotel is called Mandate Garden. So if anyone has stayed in this hotel. quarantine yourself.

45. **Confused**.may he rest in peace

46. House calls are a mine field, woulnt do it where I'm based talkless of a 3rd world country. If my safety cant be ascertained, I'm not getting involved. Will email my resignation letter, lots of less stressful side hustles to fall back on. Being a dr was just to satisfy families expectations and fathers wishes.

47. Funny, you blaming the system.
    Our revolution here isn't one only for the system but an ethical one.

The mentality of Nigerians have to change.
    Every doctor knows the importance of public health and it's ethical values.

He had ample time to report.
    1)when the man called him(at d backdrop of the trending topic)
    2)even if the man didn't manifest full ebola symptoms,he Mustav known at a point
    3)when he discovered
    4)when he began to fall sick

That which is hidden in shame will be fully brought to light.
    Now it's all in the open and we never can tell what really happened.

**bonaparte N.N**

48. I don't see any excuses being made by the writer for the doctors behavior. He correctly points a finger in a direction worthy of note and concern. It would be nice to get the message before making baseless attacks

49. The difference BTW a nurse and a doctor is that last year my father in-law was in intensive care unit at UCTH before JOhesu, nurses inclusive went on strike. Johesu is a body of other health workers fighting against d drs. He received complete treatment from d drs before he was discharged, even while d so called johesu were on strike. When drs went on their just concluded strike, I went to same hospital and lo and behold it was like a graveyard.... The other health workers can't even attend to a patient with malaria..... I know our drs can be arrogant a times, but if johesu stop all this their bitterness and face their profession, our health system will be better.
    Dr Ik... Ur action was ignoble, RIP.

50. Just want to throw some light on the davido comparism. I don't think the writer meant that davido was being paid by the govt, but by you and I. We'd all to spend our money on fun stuff the on our health. I am a doctor, and I'm not making any excuses for the doctor, he obvious did the wrong thing. But, countless times I have seen people come straight from a club fight smelling of cigarette smoke and alcohol and yet have no money to open a card. Who is fooling who? That is the society we live in. Everyone expects the doctor to be humanitarian and forget that they too have problems to take care off. Visit my blog kaysfittings0211.blogspot.com