Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: AFRIMA 2014 Unites Africa At Spectacular Ceremony In Lagos

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

AFRIMA 2014 Unites Africa At Spectacular Ceremony In Lagos

The 2014 All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA, brought together some of the best
talents from the five regions of the continent to the 2014 main award ceremony
held on Saturday, December 27, at the Grand Ballroom, Oriental Hotel, Lagos
Nigeria.

Starting from the red carpet to the stage embellishments, Africa’s enduring
cultural heritage and creativity were on display at the highly-anticipated
awards ceremony that also welcomed guests which included African Union
Commission, AUC, officials, government officials from ministries of culture,
ministries of trade and industry and captains of industry across Africa.

AFRIMA 2014 opened with a dramatic appearance on stage of the 11 feet high
‘Adagbe’ drum; arguably the world’s tallest drum -rhythmically beaten by
drummers on stilts while fire breathers brought a fiery glow to the performance.
The capacity audience was further awed by the presence of veteran Nigerian
culturist and actor, Pa Peter Fatomilola who emerged on stage to chant a litany
of prayers and proverbs in Yoruba language.

The event’s 14 ushers wore the Benin queen and Egyptian queen attires –seven
apiece, while the 16-man strong security team wore the traditional regalia of
Zulu warriors of South Africa to man the event venue and the red carpet area
where guests were treated to assorted drinks, finger foods, photo shoots and
interview sessions.

The costumes donned by the awards’ hosts, globally renowned African music star,2Baba Idibia and Togo’s bilingual radio and TV personality, Marisse Akotie,
remained true to the cultural concept of AFRIMA 2014. The event’s first music
performance by 2Baba saw him wear the royal outfit of a Pharaoh -a ruler in
ancient Egypt- to perform his hit single Odi Ya to backing choreography by 54
children representing the 54 countries on the African continent.

Marisse,
complemented 2Baba in her Egyptian queen outfit as she joined her co-host on
stage after his performance for the formal opening of the night’s event.

Other sizzling performances came from top African performing artistes such as
Dear Zim from Zimbabwe; Wiyaala from Ghana; Radio and Weasel from Uganda; Bez,
TemiDollface, Niyola, Timi Dakolo, Oritsefemi, Davido all from Nigeria among
others.

Nigeria artistes also took home the highest number of trophies, 13 in total,
with O.B.O crooner, Davido, carting away four of the coveted 29.3 carat
gold-plated AFRIMA trophies. 2Baba won the Best African R’n’B & Soul category
endorsed by Channel O, while Afrobeat creator, late Fela Anikulapo Kuti received
the AFRIMA Legend Award. The legend award was presented by the Head of Culture
 Division, Social Affairs Department, African Union Commission, Mrs. Angela
Martins (who also represented the AUC Chairperson at the awards ceremony) and
received on Fela’s behalf by his first daughter, Yeni Kuti. Some presenters of
awards for night include Rikki Stein, international adviser of AFRIMA (UK),
Kenny Ogungbe (Nigeria), Delani Makhalima (Zimbabwe), Peter Mscheu (Tanzania),
OJB Jezreel (Nigeria), Tee Mac (Nigeria), Ahmed Soultan (Morocco), Steve
Ayorinde (Nigeria), Davina Green (Zimbabwe), Richmir Totah (Republic du Benin)
among others.

Reacting to the awards won by his artiste, Jonathan Sherren has this to say
about AFRIMA, “Wiyaala really appreciates this award, we are proud of her and
this is a challenge for her to do more and we promise she will live up to it.
AFRIMA was bigger than we expected, we will definitely promote AFRIMA in Ghana”.
 Wiyaala is from Ghana and she won the Revelation of the African Continent and
Most Promising Artiste in Africa award.

‘’It was an excellent night. We had fun all the way. Every scene or performance
was fabulous. While there is room for improvement, I still find it difficult to
believe that this beautiful show happened in Africa. It was awesome! I will
definitely make the AFRIMA 2015 with my family and friends”, enthused Emmanuel
Satuyi who came from United States of America to see the AFRIMA 2014 in
Lagos,Nigeria.

AFRIMA, in partnership with the African Union Commission, is a platform to
reward the creative excellence of African talents and provide a platform to
showcase the culture of Africa globally. The 2014 awards ceremony was supported
by ONE.org, Africa 2.0, Nigeria’s Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and
Investment and Nigeria’s Federal Ministry of Culture, Tourism and National
Orientation. Corporate sponsors are Kenya Airways, Procter and Gamble, Peugeot
and Diamond Bank.

Reacting to the awards won by his artiste, Jonathan Sherren has this to say
about AFRIMA, “Wiyaala really appreciates this award, we are proud of her and
this is a challenge for her to do more and we promise she will live up to it.
AFRIMA was bigger than we expected, we will definitely promote AFRIMA in Ghana”.
 Wiyaala is from Ghana and she won the Revelation of the African Continent and
Most Promising Artiste in Africa.

25 comments:

1. Any day any time,2baba is always representing...

1. Yea I watched it. 2baba played a cool host. He was funny and cute.

Cosy Orjiakor. very annoying voice and dressing. Already looking 50(the pic up thr did her nice and young). Trying to be funny and asking all the guys that came upstage to hug her. Kmt

The overall show was a ****
      Sound, always going off.
      Lighting eww!
      The hall was a no no.
      When will Nigeria grow, quality wise?
      A lot of celebrities whr absent, I guess cos they have shows to attend.

That Ghanaian lady with with the 'haircut' made me proud with her songs n moves. She's kinda like a beginner and she's doing well.

I love watching awards.

I love 2face plenty. He really made my night.

*Oya stop blabbing*

2. Aren't these old skools tired of these awards. Let them give the youngies a chance abeg.

My Birthday loading... January 5th...#TeamCapricorn #TeamJanBorn

»»Jealous SDKer««

3. Nice pictures.
    Nigeria always representing.

4. The lady on blue,where are her boobs
    Most of them like palace slaves

5. Heeya. The lady on blue dress sha. *lips are sealed*

Sips green tea.

6. Congrats to all d winners.....
    Tubaba on point.... I rep Idoma...

7. CREE LUVS STELLADIMOKO31 December 2014 at 09:30

Congrats to all the winners.
    Tubaba; a musician with a class. Always killing it.

8. Sounds like an epic event. Tuface and others, una well done.

9. Nice onE to all d good pple of AFriCA I hail.GOLDeN

10. Baby alaso blue yii gidi gan nii o

Nigerians always repping.

11. Tubaba looks frosh...award every now and then for him shaa. Hard work things....
    The lady in blue look awkward. I just wonder why nudity is preached every now and then. Not making sense at all....
    Yeni kuti, mama ni yen. Looking good as well

12. Still pleading on anyone to assit me with foodstuffs for d NY things are vry bad over here pls kindly help a BV in Lagos Ajah,God bless aunty stella God bless all the givers nd recievers also all SDK BV,EJI

13. 2baba is always representing

14. Queen and the Boss of this blog31 December 2014 at 10:08

Hello everybody.......team raw kpanshing........Alloy chikezie collect my phone number from Sdk I have something for you ... ...carribbean bitch are you still alive......

15. Congrats to those that won...
    Naija always representing!!

16. The lady wearing blue, the hell is wrong with you?
    And is that Cossy wearing faux leather? Oh my, she looks so pretty and innocent I just want to hug her.

17. Awww i love this. Stellastica the mama, Happy New Year to you and your Family. Love you loads.

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I wish i was there though.... Congrats to all them winners...
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

19. Congratulations to them. ..but that lady in blue tho***lipsealed***

#abbytohxoft