Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Supo Shasore Joins Lagos Gubernatorial Race 2015

Wednesday, December 03, 2014

Supo Shasore Joins Lagos Gubernatorial Race 2015

The excitement in the air since the entry of Olasupo Shasore into the political terrain of Lagos State has been so thick and palpable that it could be grabbed with both hands. The added fireworks and intrigues his declaration for the Lagos gubernatorial contests are indications that Lagosians will be witnessing one of the fiercest gubernatorial races in decades.

Quite a large number of people have applauded Shasore’s throwing his hat into the ring and others ask ''Who is this man whose entry has been causing seismic eruption in Lagos political landscape''?

Many have described Olasupo Shasore, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), as Governor Babatunde Fashola anointed and protégé, groomed to take over the reins of political leadership of the State of Aquatic Splendour. But beyond this attribution, Shasore has behind him years of sterling performances in the public administration.

Fashola’s success as governor is rooted in the constitution a team peopled with efficient technocrats and administrators who shared similar vision and passion for a New Lagos; a team of which Shasore was a prominent member. The bespectacled legal luminary and erudite author was a very important figure in the Fashola government from 2007 to 2011.

Shasore served as commissioner in Fashola’s first cabinet in 2007. After playing a key role in the government, where he oversaw numerous legal reforms, Shasore left the cabinet in 2011, a move which many considered as strategic by Fashola to get him ready for the job in 2015. As chairman of the Lagos Home Ownership Scheme (Lagos HOMS) committee, Shasore was saddled with the responsibility of delivering home ownership to Lagosians. This was seen as part of Fashola’s plan to get the Lagos Island-born lawyer to familiarise himself with the key constituencies in the state.

The 2014 National Conference threw up many villains; it was a veritable platform form for Shasore where he exhibited heroic exploits as a seasoned nationalist and a repository of knowledge brimming with practical solutions to the country hydra-headed problems. His voice was one of the loudest and most respected on revenue re-allocation, youth employment, local government administration and legal reforms, about which the committee came up with recommendations in its final report.

Shasore is an accomplished lawyer like the incumbent governor, a scholar of note with published books and journals (international and local) to his credits. The historian and a well-documented writer recently wrote and launched a book on Lagos, titled ‘Possessed: A History of Law and Justice in the Crown Colony of Lagos 1861-1906. The energetic, go-getting and charismatic Shasore embarked on a three year research journey trans-Atlantic to come with the book which major aim is to remind both residents and indigenes of Lagos alike of the glorious past that the city was known of and the exciting history of the state which was fast moving into the arcade of oblivion.  

The book has continued to receive rave reviews from the reading pubic and scholars. Its timeliness has been appraised auspicious and expansive details adjudged apt. The launch of the book drew who-is-who in Lagos political and socio-economic establishment from their different abodes to City Hall where Governor Fashola and Oba Rilwan Akiolu of Lagos led dignitaries to grace the epoch-making event.

The reform of the Criminal Code Law, the Administration of Criminal Justice and the Magistrate Courts framework, all are to the credit of the leadership of Shasore when he held sway as Attorney-General of Lagos State.

His passion for social welfare was on display as the head of the Lagos HOMS. Through the scheme, through which LASG seeks to address the lack of adequate housing opportunities for the citizens of Lagos State, he has been able to deliver two hundred homes per month for mortgage-assisted purchase by the people of Lagos.

With resounding success in HOMS scheme, Shasore’s focus turned to the Rent-to-Own program. This program allows an individual to enter into a contract with the LMB which provides that individual with the option of buying the property they rent and reside in, at any point during the rental period.  The only precondition is that such individual must be a tax payer in Lagos State for a period of five years.

With the intellectual profundity and managerial capacity Shasore is endowed with, the affairs of Lagos State can be said to be in a safe hand. ‘A lover of Lagos’ as he is popularly addressed, the incontrovertibly factual Lagos born and bred exudes unparalleled passion for the state.

His assumption of the exalted post of Lagos State governor, no doubts, can only take Lagos to a state of near utopia, as the foundations have been well laid by predecessors whose efforts have turned the state around.

Shasore was born in Lagos Island, Lagos, 50 years ago to Taoheed Shasore, a diplomat, and Bilkis Oladoyinbo Adufe, a civil servant and businesswoman. He attended Christ Church Cathedral Primary School, Federal Government College, and Igbobi College, Yaba all in Lagos. He earned a bachelor of law from the University of Ife, Ile-Ife, in 1986 and a master of law from the University of Lagos in 1990. 

48 comments:

1. All the best to him.

1. Yes o. An exceptionally erudite guy. Fashola insisted it's him or nobody else. Hmmm Hamzat, Ambode, leke pitan, Ganiu Solomon and co...una take the back seat o. interesting development.

2. Abegiiii, Tokunboh Wahab is the breath of fresh air we need in Lagos jare.
      Tokunboh Wahab as Governor, Lagos state.

1. 2015 would def. Be interesting, he sounds seasoned tho

3. He don win!! Impressive Resume /CV. Ermm hope you create positive change as promised oo * side eyes*

~Peace Ambassador ~

4. He looks more like fashola to me. His baggages seems to carry great potentials to deliver&continue frm where fashola stops. Lagos is like a country on his own wt d rapid developments,anyone dt has rule lagos successfully can unbiasedly rule Nigeria as a president.

5. I hope he paid well for this advert? Lol.

6. Sounds like a good man on paper buh that ain't enough...Good luck to him

7. Too much to comprehend abou him
    Summary; he wants to contest lag gov elctn 2015
    Will wait for his debate next year!

8. Stella share the money

9. Who the cap fits time will tell.

10. I like him
    For no reason whatsoever
    Lool

Good thing I don't have a voter's card
    We cant be voting with sentiments

1. Me too! He has a likeable mien. For those who will think otherwise, that's your medulla oblongata twisting things.

11. If he's Fashola's annointed then 4gerrit.......He's the chosen one

12. See Biography...

Anywaiz I love his pix where he wore suit.very lovely!!!!

13. Gud fr dem

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

14. Atleast with Lagos State you know they are putting forward men of intergrity who will deliver, not like other States where all they have are peopele who are patiently waiting to loot the State's funds.

15. Nice one, I have seen the man for Lagos State.

16. Raji fashola 4 president n Rochas okorocha 4 vp......nice combo #iwant#

17. Lemme not lie:
    I had to skip some part. The letters were dancing.*in 'Ishan's' voice*
    Wetin concern me sef? I couldn't bring myself to go and collect my PVC, I know they will call my dad's name(since we registered together) and to cry for public no be am.

18. No to lagos island again,na only them dey lagos?the ijebu ekos are next in line,kilo de?na ikorodu & epe suppose produce next governor,they should nt try rubbish.yetinde.

19. No to lagos island again,na only them dey lagos?the ijebu ekos are next in line,kilo de?na ikorodu & epe suppose produce next governor,they should nt try rubbish.yetinde.

20. No to lagos island again,na only them dey lagos?the ijebu ekos are next in line,kilo de?na ikorodu & epe suppose produce next governor,they should nt try rubbish.yetinde.

21. Stella Dimoko Nwunye Korkus, I can see the cash raining on you in the coming days! It's your time madam yellow pawpaw-enjoy!!!

22. I dont know him but I just spoke about him this morning. For some reason, I feel comfortable with him. Let's pray he delivers.... Me I am sha voting him. That Ambode wey be lie joker from the start...
    Shinning Star..

23. Make dey observe Na. Stella share d money.

24. Rubbish. So just cause he is a SAN does it mean he can perform. He wouldn't be given the ticket not as long as Tinubu has a say so.

25. Rubbish. So just cause he is a SAN does it mean he can perform. He wouldn't be given the ticket not as long as Tinubu has a say so.

26. shashore is going to be a great governor. at least we know where hes coming from. that's how Fashola too was introduced at the late hour. this guy shows up barely two weeks before the primaries. Lagos needs an intellectual man with integrity and I think we just found him.

27. First time I would ever comment.
    Stella, I am an ardent reader of your blog and I must commend your ingenuity and the unique manner you interact with your readers. Your “Read and be inspired” section has really touched so many lives in a very positive way, unlike THE other popular blog that promotes nudity, fake celebrity lifestyle and promiscuity.
    Now to the point. This man is an epitome of excellence. Very principled and disciplined individual. An orator and a philosopher of an uncommon kind. A repository of knowledge. If you engage him in a discussion, you would know that he has the genuine interest of the people of Lagos in his heart. He has a lot to offer and not to loot the treasury of the State, he cares so much and passionately about development of Lagos and the welfare of the people. This man is natural Leader.
    But truth be told I heard he has not been anointed by Jagaban – that would make it prohibitively impossible for him to win the primaries. But if he does win the primaries, Lagos State would witness monumental developments.

1. I don't like your introduction

You people should learn to respect other people's hustle

Even though you didn't call anybody's name, we all know who you were referring to.

If you don't like her content, stop visiting her blog

Btw, I love both of them

#tongueout

28. Pls tell Amosun to make Ogun (sango esp) better abeg. Dat sango is so terrible n dirty. Liters everywhr, is it dat d local govt r nt working or wat. So annoying a place

29. Ganiu olanrewaju solomon (GOS) for Lagos State Governor, only that Tinubu will not let him get the ticket the party member like him be a loyal person.This man call Ganiyu solomon is the man of common people on the street scan free and Sup Shasore is another good person but Tinubu will never let them win the primaries as long as is alive because that are not is boy.Tinubu may want to give Ambode the ticket which PDP will be real happy all about and that will be the end of APC in Lagos state. ......omoApc say.

30. Fashola has no say on the next Governor. That is for Tinubu to decide so Mr Sasore SAN pele.

31. Can you lessen the burden of taxation in lagos by BRF et al? Can you improve on what's on ground and fearlessly abolish touts in lagos etc. The parks/flowers don do abegi more affordable houses otherwise the jagaban abi GF will arise a second time. Eko oti baje Mba, iroooooo!!!

32. Make no mistake, this is the man for the job!