Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UK To Deport South African Man Because His British Wife's Salary Is Too Small...

Saturday, December 13, 2014

UK To Deport South African Man Because His British Wife's Salary Is Too Small...

A man faces deportation from the UK after a court ruled his British wife's salary was not high enough.
Michael Engel, from South Africa, said the "bizarre" immigration system rules were "attacking British citizens".

Mr Engel, a 31-year-old yacht engineer living in Cornwall, said he and wife Natalie plan to go back to South Africa with 18-month-old daughter Nyana.
A Home Office spokesman said the rules were designed to stop foreign spouses becoming reliant on UK taxpayers.

The couple were told of the immigration tribunal's ruling after they had appealed on the grounds of a right to family life.

UK top three and bottom three areas average gross full time pay (ONS figures April 2014) - Cornwall was in the lowest 10% of 410 authorities but under rules introduced in 2012, British citizens who want to bring a foreign spouse to the UK must earn £18,600 a year and a further £3,800 - a total of £22,400 - if the couple have a child.

Mrs Engel's craft-making business made £19,786 in 2014 which was deemed not enough by the tribunal panel, which met on 3 December.
She said the decision made her feel like her family was being "kicked out" of the country.She said: "I'm gobsmacked, lost for words, angry and deflated. I'm not so proud to be British right now."

But Judge Michael Wilson, who heard the appeal, said UK taxpayers "should not be expected to have to financially support the appellant in the event of him not obtaining work".

The couple are now awaiting a deportation date.

Mr Engel said: "We did everything in our power to tick all the boxes.
"They are just attacking the wrong people - they are attacking British citizens."
The couple met in 2009 working on a cruise ship and lived in South Africa for four years.

They moved to the UK in January 2013 with Mr Engel on a holiday visa, living first in Yorkshire and then in Cornwall.
In a statement the Home Office said: "Our family rules were brought in to make sure that spouses coming to the UK do not become reliant on the taxpayer for financial support.
"This is fair to applicants and to the rest of the public, and has been upheld by the Court of Appeal."

Average gross full time pay in Cornwall was £23,305 for the year ending April 2014, compared with £27,195 for the UK, according to the Office for National Statistics.

Cornwall was in the lowest 10% of 410 authorities that provided figures.
North Cornwall Liberal Democrat MP, Dan Rogerson, said in October: "It's absolutely right that anyone who comes to settle in this country has the resources to do that and is not going to claim benefits straight away.
"But I think it's also important that we get the thresholds right, so that in low income areas like Cornwall, we are not disadvantaging people.

"We need to keep families together who want to settle here."BBC

*This probably explains why most Nigerian men in the UK cannot send for their wives.Most of them aint working and dont earn a dime.The hustle is real and eople always say the suffering outside of Nigeria is better than the suffering inside of Nigeria.
What ya say?

69 comments:

1. Let them go back to South Afrie together since they planned to already.

Nigerian guys hustling for oyibo wife, una don c am bah?

1. Wow! Wasn't the dude working there as well?
      Y did the authorities just calculate only the lady's salary?

2. Stella, "most Nigerian men in the UK are not working and don't earn a dime" are you sure about this? Is it evidence based it you are just running you mouth

3. Stella I think you got it wrong this time. Why the stereotype judgement?
      I no support you for this one o!

2. UK must protect their tax payers. I agree completely with them.

3. Its his fault. They should have known better. What he should have done was to come in with a student visa or some form of working visa and not visit visa.

1. It's not even about the type of visa he entered with. Same discrimination would have applied to him since the judgement is based on their continuous financial livelihood in the UK after all is said and done. Basically they are refusing them based on their income as a couple. Perhaps he couldn't get a good job alongside his wife because he had wanted to do things legally since his status hadn't been decided. That could frustrate getting a good job.

Stella as per the Nigerians u mention. Don't forget that most of them do not go through the right channel to legalise themselves abroad, not only in the UK but in other countries too.

Most Nigerians are hustlers who wouldn't live on one job alone...esp when illegal. Not to mention those that indulge in frauds. That is why some can spend money like it's that easy to live abroad. Any one who works and earns by the hour will spend more prudently. And that is why those who have their wives with them ensure that the wives take professional courses, like nursing were the pay is higher, to support them when they get into trouble with the law, or when their fraud isn't yielding returns. For the upright living men that are sensible, the wife works and they also work, they should be fine if greed no enter their matter.

Each person with their peculiar means of living abroad. It is those who migrate there illegally that usually get little pays from doing menial jobs. Except they are so sleek would a person living illegally work in an establishment with very good pay. Of course they use other people's identity to work. They enjoy it until the law catches up with them. Suffering in Nigeria sometimes can be better than suffering abroad, running from the law and not having peace of mind can fit to make them grow old fast with hypertension.

4. Well, I continue to work in Naija, when I vacation in UK and I'll come greet you hustling brothers and sisters. It's good in a way but sorry for the British lady affected.

1. See story! Where are the real hustlers? Is it in a country where over 70% of the population is living below poverty level or in a developed country where the system works? Continue to fool yourself !

2. Anon3.56 thank you jere...
      poverty to nigerians is normal now. When they buy a washing machine and flat screen tv they feel they have arrived... water and constant light dey nor get....those are basic nessecities that should not make you feel important.

3. Read btw the lines.... btw, I live on Chillerton road; ain't stating numbers. Shld know where that is?!?

4. I don't care if you live in Mayfair or Bishop Avenue! Stop spouting rubbish if you don't know the meaning of hustling. You think because you have a good job and can spend your holidays in London, you are okay? What about the millions of Nigerians who don't have 50 naira to their name? Would you blame them if they find any means to travel abroad to hustle?
      That is the problem with Nigeria; the me me me syndrome. Even with all the vacations abroad, you all still go back to the bombs, ritualists, kidnappers, thieving politicians and large scale corruption. You are not living, babes. You are SURVIVING! So don't blame anyone who wants to travel abroad to live rather than survive.

5. The only reason the UK or the U.S and other developed countries can sustain their unemployed is because they have welfare set aside to give weekly or monthly allowance to the unemployed folks. And even those with children have the luxury of child benefits, housing benefits etc, even in their unemployed states or as the case may be. That is why these countries can have the unemployed people living luxurious lives compared to their Nigerian counterparts who have nothing from their govt. If welfare wasn't in place we would be on the same level. Bad on us looks good on them unfortunately.

5. I can only leave my country if d job is certain with employment letter, accommodation inclusive with allowances that will cover my spouse. Outside that, I prefer to roast in my country cos this is my root

1. Hahahahahahahahaha!
      So says the person who doesn't know where any embassy is located in Nigeria.
      Nigerian, I hail thee!

6. Ogaaa oo! UK can be stingy. So tay dem no mind to deport their daughter with her husband. Issorait!!

7. Nawa o.

D truth is that Britain has no money do they are very wary of non-britons who live in their country.
    Their are no colony countries to get money from no more, the oil wells are in Scotland that nearly broke out from them the other day.
    The Queen is almost broke as was reported the other time.
    Charles and Kate don't spend extravagantly like American celebrities.
    The fame is more than the fortune.
    So any chance to get rid of non-britons, they take it.
    And they can be racist ehn!

Don't be surprised, they will still deport more people for flimsier excuses.
    Nigerians in America are better off than ones in Britain.
    All in all, there is no place like home..

1. Hmmm home... where bombs go off everyday, where kidnappers negotiate ransoms like garri, where thieving politicians loot billions everyday while the masses have no electricity, good roads, water, jobs, and security...

I love this your home o! Nonsense!

2. My God! You are so dumb! Everything you have said here now is absolute nonsense! If you think the Queen of England will ever be broke even in a million years then you must be kidding me..

3. You lie! Of all the countries in the European union, UK is one of the most generous. Even to the detriment of tax payers and that's why a lot of immigrants head here. Most especially the eastern Europeans.

4. Ma dear o

Make una no vex o.

No place like home - no be talk am first. Biko, as Naija be my home mk I kill masef?? Hian.

M dumb, I agree. Thank u. No b quarrel.
      As for the Queen gist, na even E! Carry the news.
      So abeg, stop crying you both.

Oya bye.
      Muah!

5. Olivia iro oooo. Where u from get this na? The Queen broke? Ah not in our life time dear. Charlse and Kate can be modest, dont forget Diana was the most humble and modest in her life time...so u know where her kids got it from. The British monarch can never lack until it is discontinued, if at all.

8. A friend of mine has never lived a day with her husband despite the fact they have 2 kids, the first being 7 years old because her salary isn't enough and the guy doesn't have a source of income in Naija. The home office needs to see that you can sustain yourself and the family when you arrive the UK. I think that's fair.

1. If they have never lived a day together how did she get pregnant?
      Na for inside dream?

2. If her husband was Italian, French or even Romanian she would not be having this issue. As they are eu citizens they can enter uk whether she had a job or not and the worst part is that they can claim state benefits too. The new policies effect mainly Asians and Africans. Terrible system.

3. She goes to naija to see him where he lives in his mother's house. That's not an ideal husband and wife situation is it?

9. Why nah? Did they beg them for money? All this nonsense rules . I tire ohhh

1. No they dont beg for money but uk is run in such a way that you can get excellent healthcare school places....good roads and excellent travel links and housing for free or at minimal costs compared to america. But the government uses taxes as revenue so expect outsiders to be looked after by their spouses till they are able to work and contribute in form of taxes....thats why there are no buglary proof windows because who wants to steal when government pays people out of work money weekly...pay their rent etc till they are back in employment.

10. Stella same law applies in Germany here...you ought to know dat.....u can't bring your wife to Germany officially if u do not earn enough or if u receive any form of social welfare.

11. This is for those who think the grass is greener on the other side.

12. The kind of make sense but is a bit harsh. No matter the situation in Nigeria, I won't swap my citizenship for anything.

1. Hahahahahahahahahahahaha!
      My belle oh
      Hahahahahahahahahahahaha!
      You cannot swap your citizenship?
      Hehehehehehehehehehehehehe!
      Na there I ask am reach!

2. I'l give up my green passport without blinking...dis rubbish country wey I never get light pass 3 hours in 7 days

3. Lmao!
      Bitchplis- you sure say you get green passport sef?

Come make we go Barbados go dance for beach biko.

4. Lami u don de used to d situationship for naija dats y, travel out one day nd see how nigerian govt have bin raping this country with no light , bad road and poor health facility, nobody go tell u before u troway ur citizenship

5. Lobatan!!!

Bitchplis,Oliviasilk is asking U out on vacation....Bwahahahaha......

I like Ur wooing tactics @ Oliviasilk,bwahaha!!

I never pictured U and Bitchplis tho...well,shit has been known to happen...not that am insulting U oo @ Oliviasilk...I kinda pictured U and Peter, U know him naa...that Sdk resident bitch d one we used as doormat that fizzled away.

Let me not be a spoilsport biko.
      Have fun**
      Winks****
      I want d whole juicy details ****
      I heard maintaing eye contact make women fall more in love guys;;;eye contact bro and Ur life will never be d same.

13. no place lyk home o I swear nw dem dey wait for deportation date o

14. Eyah,don't worry man,your hustle go pay

15. Why the guy leave him work for south africa come tanda for another man country without work permit.

16. I don't blem UK biko. They need to manage their little resources. Unlike Nigeria where there are excess of everything n they can't manage it.

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I still prefer the suffering over there abeg.. We just dey manage naija....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

18. Here in Sweden, you can bring your wife or husband as long as you have citizenship. You don't even need to have a job, their only concern is if the marriage is authentic or not.

1. So why is my fiancé delaying in bringing me over then?

2. D problem wv Sweden z dat u have to learn their language to b able to survive. Datz y most people head for English speaking countries buh finally get bundled out at d end of d dae

19. Very strict people! Law too much

20. Good move. They should start this in Australia too.
    Chinese couple sleeping on tax payers money.

21. Stella ''many Nigerian men are not working in Uk'' thanks , how many Nigerian men and women are working in Germany let us know. we still got more Nigerian men and women in work than Germany if only you will not lies.

1. Infact naija from germanu run to uk and get jobs

22. Wow am realy happi now i need u guys to gues wat make me happi n chop kissssss

23. aunty Stella the number for picking up arrangement for the shoe is not complete o

24. Na waa,oyibo ppl and their strict rules.

25. Nawaoooo does that mean the wife dnt hav right as a british citizen even though she married a foreigner

26. Stelladoll dis na anoda naija movie or na real? BS if it is!!!

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

27. The lessons here is, next time if you filing your income tax, start from 32,000 for about 3 years and No Government Support!!
    27000 na one year mortgage for some people o.

28. But why calculate based on only the woman's earning?