Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Edward Brooke First Elected US Black Senator Dies At 95

Monday, January 05, 2015

Edward Brooke First Elected US Black Senator Dies At 95

Edward Brooke, the first black senator to be popularly elected in the US, has died aged 95, Republican Party officials say.
Mr Brooke was elected to Congress in 1966 by voters in Massachusetts at a time of widespread racial unrest.

A former lawyer, he had also been the first African-American to hold the post of attorney general in any state when he was elected senator.
Two black senators before him were both picked by state legislatures.
President Barack Obama said in a statement: "Senator Brooke led an extraordinary life of public service.
"Ed Brooke stood at the forefront of the battle for civil rights and economic fairness."
Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick said: "I have lost a friend and mentor."
Senate Republican leader Mitch McConnell said: "Senator Brooke's accomplishments remind us that anything is possible in our country."

Mr Brooke served in the Senate until 1979 and is one of only nine African-Americans to do so, including President Obama.

President Obama attended Mr Brooke's reception of the Congressional Gold Medal in 2009
Mr Brooke built a reputation as a Republican liberal during his time in the Senate. He opposed Republican President Richard Nixon and was the first Republican senator to publicly call for Mr Nixon's resignation after the Watergate scandal.
He was instrumental in passing the Fair Housing Act of 1968, which prohibited racial and religious discrimination.
Mr Brooke was re-elected in 1972 by a huge margin but by the time he ran for a third term, he was involved in a divorce which attracted national attention and raised questions about a false financial statement he had made regarding a $49,000 loan.
He lost his bid for the third term in 1978 and returned to private law practice.

In 2002, Mr Brooke was diagnosed with breast cancer and became a national leader in raising awareness of the disease in men, which occurs much less frequently than in women. - BBC report

33 comments:

1. he is light skinned though..Rip

1. BLOG ANALYSER: A life well spent! I celebrate him.

2. Prince there are lots of light skinned in Africa na , shuooo, even Ethiopians have straight hair nd Somalians have curly hair too

2. Legend! RIP to him...but breast cancer sha. It must be very rare in men.

3. R.I.P. to him. Tho he looked more white than black.
    -Wembi.

4. Sri to d family....but is kind of a celebration cuz he lived for 95yrs

5. rip sir.

please BVs please help my hubby with an electrical/engineering job in abuja so we can be together. plsssss
    stella(at least thats what you asked us to call u) }pls dnt use my comment to cook soup again,i really need my hubby around pls SDKERs.

6. May his soul rest in perfect peace..

7. May his soul rest in peace. He don try

8. RIP SIR.
    There shall be a black pope one day and a white president one day in Nigeria.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

1. White President? *Bites u back to reality*

9. RIP. Kemi kane

10. May his sould rest in peace. Amen

11. he lived long..Congratz sir!
    In other news..i hereby declare myself a bonafide bv of this blog..having acclaimed the title of "matured minds of the blog" as i turned 19 last month..pls welcome me..lol

12. 95 you say?
    He's has tried na
    This should be celebration of life instead of mourning

13. Rip sir.

Stella bring back that tales by moonlight's IHN theme.

14. 95? He is lucky. Sleep on paleh.

15. A life well spent, RIP.

Naija boy