Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fashola Says PDP Lagos Guber Aspirant Jimi Agbaje Evaded Tax For Four Years

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Fashola Says PDP Lagos Guber Aspirant Jimi Agbaje Evaded Tax For Four Years

Lagos State Governor Babatunde Fashola yesterday took a swipe at the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate, Jimi Agbaje, who he said evaded tax for about four years.

The governor spoke at a gathering of stakeholders across various sectors at the annual state taxation stakeholders’ conference in Ikeja.

Fashola said Jaykay Pharmacy at 9, Randle Close, Apapa, which is owned by the PDP candidate, owed the state N1, 629, 064.62 as Land Use Charges for 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.
He said it only decided to pay for 2013 and 2014 because of Agbaje’s plan to contest the February 28 election.
The governor described such act as irresponsible, stressing that for someone  interested in seeking public office, Agabje should have known the implication of his failure to comply with the state tax law.

The governor said: “Let us do the mathematics to see how many facilities the funds would have provided in our hospitals and stationery in our schools.
“This was the same person who was complaining that the government spent three per cent of its budget on education. The local government is responsible for the management of primary schools and yet he has withheld their taxes.”

Fashola explained that payment of tax is a social contract between government and citizens, stressing that anyone who asked the people not to fulfill this obligation should not be entrusted with any leadership position.
“Anyone who advocates the non-payment of taxes is as guilty as the tax evader itself. It is prescribed by the 1999 Constitution in Section 24f.
“And it states that it shall be the duty of every citizen to declare his income to the appropriate and lawful agency and pay it promptly.
“All those who have paid their taxes have shown that they are lawful citizens. And anyone who has failed to pay is a bad citizen.
“He is also a cheat; such person should not benefit from the commonwealth-the roads, hospitals and other facilities provided by funds generated from taxes paid by residents. Land use charge is ground rent and tenement rate; they are consolidated.
“I know that you have to vote next month but look at that candidate well. And be careful of who to vote for. You will remember that in 2007, that Jimi Agbaje claimed that he was in Democratic Peoples Alliance (DPA) and later crossed over to PDP.
“This is the man who wants to be your next governor. And I will advise you that you avoid deception and tax evader.”
Fashola said there was a reduction in the number of residents prosecuted for tax evasion, noting that residents now pay their taxes voluntarily.
“It shows that the message and our prophecy seven years ago have come to fruition. When our opponent complained that the state government was imposing more taxes on the residents but they have forgotten that they enacted that law.
“Where we were years ago is where the Federal Government chose to start. It showed that they will always be behind us.”
Agbaje said he was surprised at the “rather personal and unprovoked attack on his person” by the governor.

The PDP candidate said he received a letter of commendation from the commissioner for Finance, praising him for his faithfulness in payment of taxes relating to his residence.
In a statement yesterday, he said: “It is a curious contradiction that several days later, the governor himself would express sentiments clearly in contradiction to the spirit and letter of that voluntary and unsolicited commendation from the state.

“Although he founded JayKay Pharmaceuticals, Agbaje left the directorship of the company in 2006, and this is on record with the state. He is no longer involved in the running of the company. And today, he is not even an executive director.”culled the Nation

53 comments:

1. okay I don hear una y did he decide to say it nw to ruin agbaje career lol is DAT wat afeecee(APC) stands for gmb

1. Now...this is what I call a constructive political antagonism. Not the hurling of personal insults, or digging deep into private family history, or using health issues and devastating loss of loved ones to score cheap political points. This is more like it.

2. And d mudslinging continues!
      Politricks' is truely a dirty game,but who cares#rme#he should go and pay his tax.

2. No permanent friend or enemy in politics. Only permanent interest.

3. ghen ghen.. When your village witches remind you that karma is a bitch.

Lmao Jimi Agbaje have not said who helped him evade the tax. From the look of things Fashiola would soon say Jimi is too old for the office.
    It is well.

4. Na their way. Tax paying is not for the "big men". who does he want to govern? Except of course he will stop everyone from paying tax, then I will vote for him.

5. LMAO...onigbese,its too early o,make una help me o,I'm seeing GEJ in my sleep,I commot face for am I no send am,him no sure again,I've made up my mind on his matter,stella if u like no post,GEJ bestie*rolling my eyes*.

6. Replies
    1. you know bad belle is allowed...it is welll

7. Lol tax evasion, he would have been jailed if he was abroad

8. LMAO...onigbese,its too early o,make una help me o,I'm seeing GEJ in my sleep,I commot face for am I no send am,him no sure again,I've made up my mind on his matter,stella if u like no post,GEJ bestie*rolling my eyes*.morning sdkers,its being a while & I'm so Happy & grateful to Almighty Allah for my friends;Ayinke & Akin,funny couple they're nw parents wow,Ayinke's slim body still makes me laff wiv d belle but Alhamdulilai sha.

9. Like yea bring ur comments on mofos!!!!! V got a very tough skin so notin u say cn penetrate!!!!! Now to d matter, in ref to d 2face saga; first of all m an ardent reader of SDK Nd LIB so no favouritism but d amount of hatred u ppl spill out here over LIB is fucking annoying Nd degrading of u all c'mon, dis r two bloggers making money off u yet u come here with ur stupid tongues wagging n typing trash!! Must u b so bitter abt someone else???? Dts hardly Smtn dt apen on d oda blog cus yea they may cuss each oda out bt Anoda blog they don't; funny enough all of u r d same set of ppl dt will stil go bak der Nd b ass licking m not calling out any fucking someborry jus telling us all to STOP HATING!! Y'all giving nd praying for each oda here bt need I remind u how much God detest a hateful heart nd a home full of hatred..evn if der was feud btw both of dem try to settle nt stir things up n if u think u r helping or defending any of dem well U R NOT!!!!wateva they blog, how they blog is der business so don't make it urs!!!!!! Long live SDK!!!! Long live LIB.. Post my comment stella

1. Trash!

You don't just know how to express yourself.

2. Rubbish! Next write better English.

10. So who is telling lies? My dear Uncle Fash, you've done well for Lagos State....Move on with shoulders raised high and let Lagosians pick someone else....its almost time already....Naija politicians never get tired of digging...thet will still dig up dirt even 24 hours to election day...kmt.

11. What again? So tired of all these allegations and conter allegations. This is supposed to be an election not a fighting ring. Jeez! STOP BEING CHILDISH @Fashola and co

12. FASHOLA go home and allow Lagosians decide who they want in 2015. We know you are a living Saint but only time will tell. Don't stoop so low. After all your principal "Tinubu " has bee stealing the state blind for the past 8 years but you lack the moral courage to stop him. Go home please and let's decide with our votes.

13. FASHOLA go home and allow Lagosians decide who they want in 2015. We know you are a living Saint but only time will tell. Don't stoop so low. After all your principal "Tinubu " has bee stealing the state blind for the past 8 years but you lack the moral courage to stop him. Go home please and let's decide with our votes.

14. FASHOLA go home and allow Lagosians decide who they want in 2015. We know you are a living Saint but only time will tell. Don't stoop so low. After all your principal "Tinubu " has bee stealing the state blind for the past 8 years but you lack the moral courage to stop him. Go home please and let's decide with our votes.

15. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Expose them nothing do yu.....

16. Fashola,go and sit down if u don't have any work to do.
    Stop this political arrant nonsense.

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

17. Okay but why telling us this right in the middle of campaigning?
    Just asking...

Dry,Brittle Hair? Try This Coconut Oil Hair Mask

18. Awwww,Fashola has finished ds man.

19. Na wa o!!!! Can this election come and go.

20. Failure to Fashola and his Cohorts. JK We know JK we trust. Next Governor of Lagos State. Fashola is already reading the hand writting on the wall. He already said once after leaving the seat of Governor he doesn't know the faith of his political Career. It will be as dead as a rotten Maggot in a Gutter. No more God fatherism in Lagos State. LASSA Chairman is on Channels lying of not removing the Billboard and Posters of PDP Candidates. Saying arrant Nonsense that the Agency bare you not to place billboards on High Way where as APC has decorated the Whole of Lagos State as if they run Lagos State as their private Business. We will vote them out Feb 28th.

1. Please what is your business with lagos state? Are you not igbo? Please go to your state of origin and vote. Mschiewwww

2. Anon u are faceles masqurede. Am a Lagosian by birth. All my life is in Lagos. Am a tax payer so I have every right to drop my opinion
      Fool

3. Lagosian by birth aren't you foolish. Me being born in kano does not make me hausa. Stupid goat. A yoruba person born in anambra cannot run for any post there. If you want to talk lagos state politics, leave it to yoruba people that understand it well. No one cares if your a tax payer, dont pay tax whether you won't end up in imo or anambra. you are claiming lagos yet your name is chinyelu better go to your village and vote.Rubbish.

21. If he's not d Director, how comes he paid the taxes in 2013 n 2014? Pls help me ask, except he's nt d 1 dt paid 4 dose tax sha.

22. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

I like this man scatter.
    ^
    ^
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

23. They all are looking for who to confuse. They are mere distraction to the people. It's all' politricks'. These people shake hands and dine behind.

24. Naija Politics is all about propaganda,
    People will now start remembering their oponents sins and little mistakes and even creating some where there is now.
    Let's see how the ball rolls in february.

25. Hmmmmmmmm oooh
    Agbaje don fuck up,but thats how all of them acts
    But hope ambode or what's his name is a saint

26. If trully JK evaded tax why now?
    Since 2009 and it just surfaced why haven't we heard about this since and JK I will always say this go face your profitable phamarcy biz and leave politics to these people.
    Should I just say it is greediness that is disturbing this man, cos he's making more than enough with his profession

27. Ahh, Agbaje come clear yourself oh. Tax evasion for Lagos na serious offense oh. APC don go dig out his portfolio. Hehe

28. Another way to discredit an opposition. I like you Mr Fash no doubt but this attitude of digging out dirts to fight an opposition is not cool during election. Why did you keep quiet all these years JK didn't pay his tax?

29. Does Fashola think I would not vote for JK because he did not pay tax? Everybody tries to evade tax as much as possible. The fact that Ambode retired from the Lagos Civil service is enough for me not to vote for him. Lagos state workers are the most corrupt people you will find on earth, they will even tell you how much they want as bribe and in tens of thousands.

30. Now, that is a strong alligation.

31. Story,fashola we all know you want your fellow APC member to rule after u...leave agbaje alone

32. If you think theres no record keeping in Nigeria, you better think again!! They will keep all your fuck up it you want a public office or want to fight govt.

For all those people that are planning to vote PDP, una days of begging recharge card on sdk is just beginning.

33. Dis Fashola man should just go n rest. He talks too much, leave d talking for d women pls.

34. This people can play dirty.

35. It is important to make a label that's perfect for the name is Lina.
    Wash click here the sink so your clothes are a product.
    A patch pocket here. So go ahead and turn into a wine store a 16 by 9 inch rectangle.
    The DuraLabel PRO series of printers to mark cables
    and wires.

my blog post - do you agree