Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Twins Alive Foundation Hosts Twins From Different Parts Of Nigeria For Mary Slessor Centenary Celebration (1915-2015)

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Twins Alive Foundation Hosts Twins From Different Parts Of Nigeria For Mary Slessor Centenary Celebration (1915-2015)

The Event was held at her late residence, Use Ikot Oku, Ibiono, Akwa Ibom State, the very place where she died.
a commemorative statue was unveiled in her honour at her last residence.

Activities at the event below:
Event Highlights for Wednesday 14th January, 2015 at Use Ikot Oku, Ibiono, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. Time: 10am

the sleeping twin be like ''abeg make i sleep small ojare''lol

* Unveiling a commemorative statue in her honour at her last residence.
* Non-Denominational service at her hilltop. (Special prayers for multiple births, Born / Unborn & Others)
* Special Twins anthem / Songs for Mary Slessor
* Candle light procession in honour of Mary Slessor and other Twins / Multiple births that are in paradise.
* Special group photograph
* Documentary / Commentary of Mary Slessor (Twins Alive)
* Documentary of Nigerian Twins / Multiple births
* Live musical show {Special Twins}
> Hanny House Entertainment
* Love in Sharing
* Visitation to orphanage homes

Twins Alive Foundation also Joined the Calabar Twins Foundation in Cross River State @ a village called Akpap Okoyong where all the Twins were hosted in the Mary Slessor Centenary Memerial Celebration. The itenary for the event includes Carnival float, Twins Banquet, Documentary, short play on the killing of Twins.

BRIEF HISTORY
Mary Slessor, Scottish missionary in eastern Nigeria, was born in 1848 in Aberdeen. Her father, a shoemaker, was an alcoholic and her mother a deeply religious woman. The family moved to Dundee in 1858 where Slessor began working in the linen mills at the age of eleven. She joined the local Christian youth club and became convinced of a call to be a missionary.

In 1876 the United Presbyterian Church agreed to send her to Calabar as a mission teacher. She worked first in the missions in Old Town and Creek Town but in 1888 went alone to work among the Okoyong. For the rest of her life Slessor lived a simple life in a traditional house with Africans, concentrating on pioneering. Her insistence on lone stations often led her into conflict with the authorities and gained her a reputation as somewhat eccentric, but she was heralded in Britain as the 'white queen of Okoyong'. She was not primarily an evangelist but concentrated on settling disputes, encouraging trade, establishing social changes and introducing Western education.

Slessor frequently campaigned against injustices against women, took in outcasts and adopted unwanted children. In 1892 she was made vice-consul in Okoyong, presiding over the native court and in 1905 was named vice-president of Ikot Obong native court. In 1913 she was awarded the Order of St John of Jerusalem. Slessor suffered failing health in her later years but remained in Africa where she died in 1915.

Mary Slessor lived for a long time among the efik people in Calabar in present day Nigeria. There she successfully fought against the killing of twins at infancy. 
Witchcraft and superstition were prevalent in Nigeria when she arrived there because traditional society had been torn apart by the slave trade. Human sacrifice routinely followed the death of a village dignitary, and the ritual murder of twins was viewed by the new missionary with particular abhorrence. Her dedicated efforts to forestall this irrational superstition were to prove a resounding success, as photographs of Mary with her beloved children testify.

She died there in Calabar in 1915 and was given a state burial- wiki biography

63 comments:

1. Mary Sclessor was indeed a woman of substance, and lots of twins would have been killed if she had not launched a campaign. I love twins and I pray to have a set of them

1. I love this. Good work. My dad is a twin and i pray to give birth to twins someday cos i so much love twins.

2. God, i want my own set of twins, love then to bits.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

3. Lol..I'm a twin and we are so identical

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. Those guys with silver boots tho. Lol.. THEY should have invited P square na to grace the occasion

4. Hmmmm, what a rare gem she was.

5. Hmmmm. God bless her for me oh

6. ehya....twins r so cute.. yet our ancestore b like CHAI ABOMINATION!! ignorance

What is your addiction? Mine is reading stories
    If you love good stories, join me. click this link
    STORY JUNKIE

7. Awww Mary was also honored by the Scottish, as they have her picture with the people of Ikot Obong on their 10 pounds.

8. Dear bvs
    Pls am newly married
    Hubby's younger Bro n sis live with us. They r twin and am just some months older than them.
    But the brother Will always bring girls to the house
    Take her upstairs n they spend hours in the room
    When I clean the house n dispose the trash can in the room I usually see used condoms meaning they usually have sex there.
    I hate that.
    Now my problem is if I should tell him kindly not to bring his female visitors upstairs which is like the private part of my home . They should spend time at the sitting room downstdownstairs. Or should i tell his twin sister(she's not so nice tho I just take her excesses for peace to reign). They r both serving. Or I should tell my hubby that I don't like that so maybe he can talk to him. I guess he was doing that when he was staying with hubby as a bachelor but seriously this is now a home. And I already have a baby. Or am I just being unreasonable. Or shud I just ignore n keep the anger to myself... I just don't want in law wahala but I also need my happiness.

1. My dear, never u confront him, tell ur hubby to talk to him cos they will go nd report u to ur inlaws nd say things u dnt even do, so dnt be confrontational, tell ur hubby u dnt like it, I also hate such things

2. Please dear Anon 15:52, talk to your hubby about it NOW.
      Provide evidence too because that silly boy can deny it and claim you are levelling false allegations against him.
      I know his type.
      Your hubby should be the one to caution his kid brother in such a situation since it seems his brother doesn't have enough respect for you or even your husband.

Imagine the impunity!
      Common sense should have told him that it's very wrong to bring in whores into a family house talk more of sleep with them there.
      Even if it's his gf, it's still wrong.
      He is exposing you all to risks.
      Those girls can be thieves, ritualists, witches, husband snatchers, etc.
      They can even drop poison in your pot of soup.

Ha! Nne this is more serious than you think oh.
      Report to your hubby ASAP!
      You should have done this since.
      In short, the first time he brought a girl and took her upstairs, you should have stopped them immediately and firmly told him to take his visitor to the sitting room, where everyone can see what they are upto.

He has no rights whatsoever to bring in different female visitors into your home, talk more of taking them upstairs to the room and even f*cking!
      It seems he lacks proper home training or he is a spoilt brat.
      The horror!
      I can't take this shit in my home.
      Never!
      I don't tolerate nonsense from any bloody person when it comes to my home, my territory.
      Be it inlaw or hubby's friends.
      No one from my end dares such in the first place. They already know what I'm capable of.
      I'm disgusted!

3. Talk to your hubby about it as he is in A much better position to know how to talk to his brother about the situation.these inlaws that can disrespect person sha.

9. Am a mother of twins. I tell you twins are a blessing, they only visit special parents.

1. Taa! Shut up. Stupid woman.

2. Orishirishi! Visit only special parents indeed. What won't I read on this blog?

10. I love twins too all thanks to Mary sclessor

11. Thank God for her life and her fight against the killing of twins. So she never married?

1. A fellow missionary by name Charles Morrison engaged her and presented his marriage to the mission board for the mission to join them in matrimony. When the mission board saw what Mary Slessor had already accomplished for them,they felt they should deny her marriage so that they can use her the more. Mary and Charles felt frustrated till their death. The mission board used Mary Slessor for their plans without considering her happiness and after using her they dumped her.Google her letters and see her photographs,you will see frustration all over her face.Poor Mary, May her soul rest in peace, Amen

12. Thanks a lot Mary, the efforts you made while alive still has it's marks even after a Hundred years.

I pray I leave such an impact in the lives of people.

13. I love and adore twins, especially identical twins of the same sex.

1. Identical twins are always same sex,madam.

Its almost impossible to be identical and be different sex.

14. Mary Slessor was indeed a great woman. It was really good that she stopped the killing of twins. Oh! I love twins. I pray to have them by God's grace

15. Mary sclessor was really a great woman,thank God that she stop the killing of twins

16. love this woman.Pray God gives me twins.

17. Mary Slessor was born in Aberdeen, Scotland. My brother still talks about her works till date. She had to learn their language to mingle with the indigenes. What a brave women she was!

18. @Mary slessor stopped the killing of twins

God bless her in heaven

By God grace I will have twins

19. Thank God for her,where for dey today?

20. Thank you Lord for using Mary Slessor, if not for her were me and my twin for dey?

21. Mary sclessor was indeed a great woman to celebrate. God rest her soul.

22. i was not even born when all this things happend.only read it.she must be a strong woman to stopping the killing of twins.God bless her soul and bless me with twins.

23. Thank God 4 Mary Slessor. She deserved even much more honor. Still, good initiative by d twins alive foundation.

24. I love twins also, God Bless Mary Slessor.

25. I have actually bn longing to hv a set of twins, wish God would grant my heart desire. Pls visit my blog - www.alabekee.blogspot.com

26. Am in love with twins,,,i pray dat God wl bless me with twins... #Twins#

27. Killing of twins is only reserved to Calabar people. Not Yoruba people. Twins in Yoruba culture has always been like gods sef. So careful with the over generalization.

28. Her name stil lives on
    IG:Marthadiva01

29. I love twins
    I don't have twins
    My Prayer is this:
    Lord abeg give me triplets na.

30. Oshey to that wonderful women who saved twins back in the days, who knows what would have happened now? Na Twins I pray fervently to get.. hehehe

31. Ejire ara Isokun
    Edun A gbori igi regerege
    Winini winini loju orogun
    Eji woro loju iya e
    O be kisi be kese
    O be sile alakisa
    O so alakisa donigba aso
    Okan mo ni n o bi
    Eji lo wole to mi
    Bu mi ki nba o rele
    Yin mi ki npada leyin re
    Nijo ejire ti daye ko jale ri
    Oju oloko ni se je tie
    Mo lepo nile
    Mo lewa loode
    Ejire eyilaki maa bo lodo mi
    Ireke mi ree
    Aadun mi ree
    Mo fe bo ibeji oro
    Oniruuru omo lo nbe laye
    Ninu omo to je abami
    La gbe ri ibeji laarin won
    Eni ejiree nwuu bi
    Ki o yaa niwa tutu
    Tori pe osonu ile ko bi ejire
    Oninuure ni bedun
    Ejire okin maa so mi lokun lona ofun
    Iya onikaluku won o so kale
    Won abimo won okan soso pere
    Eni oninuure lOlorun oba nfun lore
    Eyin ko mo pe ore lejire ara isokun
    Iyawo mi lejo
    Emi naa le sodi wuke
    Ejire oriyaki maa bo lodo wa
    Atike atige laa fi sike ibeji
    Atowo atiyi lejire fii sike eni
    Oga lejire oriyaki laarin awon omo to nbe laye gbogbo
    Ejire akobi alafin
    Abi gbeyin Oni

*kneels down* Baba God, please bless me with twins. In multiple sef. Amen #AyaMiOJaLatiBiIBeJi

32. Thank God for Mary Slessor o. Twins are so adorable

33. I love twins,God bless me with twins,i want to marry from a twins family!!!!am sure the killing of twins happen in calabar way back

34. Love twins.....want them when am married ooo

Hey guys,visit this blog and you won't regret it
    Ifeomaadoh.blogspot.com

35. God please bless me with twin boys next,
    Amen
    Amen
    Amen
    I loveeeeeeeeeeeeee twins.
    I can't wait to carry mine.
    I pray God grants me my request oh.

36. Thanks to Mary Slessor. My hobby is twins. And i so much love twins but unfortunately I did not give birth to twins. I hope my children will some day give birth to them.

37. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Interesting..... I will love to have a twin boys IJN.......
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

38. I can't see psquare .abi they ain't part

39. Me love twins scatter! God please I want twins, a girl and a boy Amen! Great woman you were Lady Slessor, continue to rest in peace Amen.

40. She was a great woman.

41. genny baby u talk too much...oversabi...i pity your husband walahi

42. genny baby u talk too much...oversabi...i pity your husband walahi

43. @genny baby . Very quarrelsome individual you are ,always looking to fight. Keep fighting it will land u in hot soup one day. A grown man that has a girlfriend not girl friends shouldnt fuck her in his place of residence??!! He should take her to a hotel on what grounds??!! Cos his bro married an unaccomodating goat he shouldn't fuck his girlfriend there again !!!tomo u will start crying wolf inlaw did this inlaw did that ,ull forget ur unreasonable behavior towards them . Let's say he brings different girls every other day that's diff but his girlfriend.??!! And the goat said upstairs is her private part of the the house !!! Thank God it's not ur private part ( ur punani ) . Take a chill pill that ur married to their bro doesn't mean the world will stop evolving . Choose ur battle wisely .

1. You are worst than the so called Genny. I can imagine how confuse the lady with the question will be right now....must you use gutter words to describe this...hmmm

44. Wow! God I need twins, so much love them.

45. Wow! Luv me some twins.
    Rest in God's bossom Mary Slessor. A rare Gem you were.

46. Wow! Luv me some twins.
    Rest in God's bossom Mary Slessor. A rare Gem you were.

47. My grandma had twins and triplets and one of my aunties has 4 twins and a triplet another of my aunt has 3 twins. . The other has twins too except my mother.