Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Cindy Crawford's Lingerie Image Stirs Debate Over What 'Real Women' Look Like

Sunday, February 15, 2015

Cindy Crawford's Lingerie Image Stirs Debate Over What 'Real Women' Look Like

An apparent image of 48-year-old Cindy Crawford in lingerie is stirring discussion about what "real" women look like -- but not for reasons you might expect.
The practice of photo retouching in fashion publications renders most models completely free of blemishes or imperfections to the point of being unrealistic. But this photo of Crawford bearing her sun-kissed torso is drawing praise for showing her in a realistic light.

The image of murky origins spread through social media on Friday after British ITV News anchor Charlene White shared it on Twitter, attributing it to Marie
Claire magazine. The American version of Marie Claire, a joint venture between Hearst Magazines and French-based Marie Claire Album, called the image real, honest and gorgeous, but denied any connection to the photo.
"Its origins are actually from a December 2013 cover story from Marie Claire Mexico and Latin America. 

It appears that this unretouched version is a leak," the magazine said in an online post Friday. Representatives from Marie Claire Mexico, which is owned by Mexico-based Editorial Televisa, did not immediately respond to CNN's request for comment.

White said she first spotted the image on a friend's private Instagram feed and sought it out on Twitter. She said she found it on a fashion blog whose name she couldn't recall, and she shared the image from there.

Regardless of the photo's origins, White said she took comfort in the image as a celebrity whose looks are constantly scrutinized.
"Women come in all sorts of different shapes and sizes," she said. "I think it's important to see all sorts of body shapes on our screens and in our magazines so that people have a true reflection of what people look like," White told CNN.

Many agreed, including actor Jamie Lee Curtis, who applauded the image on Twitter and shared an image of herself in skivvies. "Bravo Cindy Crawford," she said. "Beauty is truth, truth beauty, that is all Ye need to know on earth, and all Ye need to know."culled

WOW!!!...take a bow Ms Crawford.

28 comments:

1. Nwuye General
    Goldscent Diamond
    Chick Felix
    Iphie dearie
    Sisi eko
    Genny la baby la epistle writer
    Linda Eze

Where are you guys nauuu???

Abi valentine never finish for una side?

*folds hands, squeezing face*

1. I will have to call Goldscent today,
      She must be swamped with activities.

2. All these celebrities that make us regular women feel there's sth we aren't doing Right....

2. Please someone should summarize this post for me. They say wetin hapun?

1. Mi sista, dem say woman wey look like her real sef for pishure and not like a cartoon drawing na news for the kin world wey we dey today. You're welcome.

3. Hmmmm her tigh has retired buh she refused 2 take a bow! ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,lol

4. Wow! this is commendable. I was beginning to wonder if these celebs live in the real world. Glad to see that we are not the only ones ageing. She looks good.

5. Chikito a.k.a FinalSay15 February 2015 at 16:24

The day I saw the applications that could be bought on Photoshop, I weak. It's not always as it seems oh.

6. This comment has been removed by the author.

7. Real woman

Visit
    Pamscrib.blogspot.com

8. She still looks good for her age.

9. Photoshophas definitely caused a lot of havoc. Am sure this would be a consolation.

Lol.

10. 48 years old ,with this banging body is alright

11. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

She doesn't look appealing at all
    ^
    ^
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

1. if she doesnt, na una dey encourage all the photoshop and lies. this is real

12. Weird things like this always happen to me. How's it that I started thinking of 'Ode to the gracian urn' yesterday after about 17yrs and went back to read it, only to see that line about beauty being truth in an article a few hours later. Would never have remembered the origin otherwise. So strange. .. really.

13. Wow, I doubt she wud love dis. Can't forget a movie I once watched, d girl asked her mum y she doesn't look like d models she sees on magazine, her mum replied, even d models on those magazines don't look like dem selves.

14. IN DEFENSE TO ETCETERA'S CRITICIZED MUSIC ALBUM
    http://thepatriotng.blogspot.com/2015/02/in-defense-to-etceteras-criticized.html

15. She embraces the perfection in her imperfection,she was one of my cougar-crushes growing up.

16. Stella take a bow you say? What's wrong with her? Haven't you see the over 80 year old model? Cindy is gorgeous thus she can afford to do this until she feels like retiring. Don't forget she models for other stuffs as well not just lingerie, omega watches and the likes, so no I don't support you wanting her to retire, she's still got it.