Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Arrests Man Who Stole N3.2M During PDP Campaign Rally

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Police Arrests Man Who Stole N3.2M During PDP Campaign Rally

A 49-year-old man, Tokunbo Ojo, has been nabbed by police after stealing N3.2m from a car parked at the campaign rally of the Peoples Democratic Party in Abeokuta, Ogun State. 

It was gathered that, Ojo who hails from Aramoko, Ekiti State, was nabbed by operatives of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad with a master key on Tuesday,
April 14. He says a master key he owned made it easy for him to steal from vehicles during public functions such as weddings and burials.

According to the police, the suspect consulted a welder in 2013 to make the master key for him, which he used to open parked vehicles, carting away money and other valuables in the vehicles.

He allegedly attends weddings, burial ceremonies, political campaigns and other functions where he uses the key to break into parked vehicles.

While speaking with PUNCH, the father of two, who lived on Agbotikuyo Street, Agege, explained that he usually dressed well and pretended to be one of the invited guests at functions before carrying out his criminal acts.

“I used to work as a house painter. But in 2013, my work was no longer flourishing. So I developed the idea of using a master key to steal.

“I consulted a welder friend to make the key for me. I got it from him for N500. Since 2013, I had gone to high-class events for operations. I usually dressed like one of the guests and would mingle with other guests as if I was invited.

“Later, I would go out as if I forgot something in my vehicle. And I would proceed to one of the expensive vehicles where I suspected there would be valuables. The master key could open any vehicle," he said.

Ojo added that during the recent electioneering, he stole N3.2m from a car parked at the venue of a campaign rally in Abeokuta, Ogun State. He said he also stole laptops, phones and jewellery from other cars he opened.

He said, “The campaign rally was in Abeokuta, Ogun State, and it was the PDP campaign rally. I saw N3.2m inside one of the vehicles I opened. Nobody suspected anything. I used the money to get a Toyota Highlander. The police have taken the vehicle from me.

“My wife and two children did not know this was the work I did. I stole in order to survive. I regret my actions now. I wish I could be forgiven.”

The police caught Ojo red-handed and arrested him at a function in Lagos after they got a tip-off about his activities at public ceremonies.

The police said investigations revealed that Ojo did not work alone, adding that they were still on the lookout for his fleeing accomplices.

The Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Kenneth Nwosu, while confirming the arrest added that the police recovered a vehicle from the suspect.

Source: Punch

See confession!

27 comments:

1. 99 days for the thief one day for the owner....

2. Yet he looks like someone who has never seen 50k in one bundle.....all these poverty striken fellows....it's in his DNA.....now just go and do time for your crime.....ole Oshi........Stella u must enjoy me

1. asin my tots exactly
      u nor dey use the money baff up ni
      anyways the hand of the law don gbaabu u
      266yrs in prison
      bt wth where they doing with N3.2m in a car?

2. thatgirlyouwant23 April 2015 at 13:50

Upon all the money wey u thief, you be like the Cole Cole wey kon park my bin this morning....chai

3. Does he look like someone who don eat three square meal in the last three months abeg police don torture him into admitting both what he did n what he didnt na their way, dem fit even tell am to say na him make Gej loose election fear naija police.

3. issorait time to dance to the music mehn my bro was having that key but it was thrown away by a neighbor which we stole water from her drum lmao

#GODWIN

4. Ehen! When people are digging it on the dance floor the owanbe way he is busy forming owner in someone's car. What a way yo steal, Nigerians are hardened, the've got guts

5. If it's true then I hope he pays dearly for his crime!

6. The man is ugly na. see person that stole N3.2 million looks like ogogoro man.

what of those that use pdp money to buy houses and cars what will happen to them

7. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    What was that car doing in that car in the first place.....

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...

10. Hmmmmmm !
    @ High-class Public function you cart away people's valuables! !

When a thief is caught he refunds 7 folds...

11. He must face the full wrath of the law..

12. So he was caught red-handed with the 3.2 million according to our Mr.Olopaa,and he confesses to buying toyota highlander with the same 3.2 million....i tire for the way stories are reported this days

13. He should face the consequences....
    Be making people cry
    Ole oshii!

14. The money that was meant to share to Ogun people to vote for GEJ, u stole it. Now d election is over and GEJ didnt win in Ogun only for u to come out to tell him u ar sorry, after seeking for his downfall.Lol! Pray patience J do not get to hear about it, she will skin u alive.LOl!

15. Everyday for the thief,one day for the own.

16. Everyday for the thief but oneday for the owner.

17. MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Thank God he was caught.
    ^
    ^
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

18. Hmmmmmmmmm, nawa oooo.....he must face the full wrath of d law.

19. Useless thief! see his face like squeezed paper bags.

20. Only the poor face justice in Nigeria, those that stole millions and billions gets pardoned. It's not always high profile cases as the poor man who stole campaign money or the one who stole 2k. I'm not condoning the acts of these said pple. Whether u be big or small here, if the hands of law Knapp u, u go face court.

21. A thief can never do any meaningful thing with what he/she stole, all na for stomach to anus. He even bought Highlander which eventually took him to prison. Oga make u dance shoki for there o.