Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians On Twitter Disagree Over Petition To Withdraw Okonjo-Iweala's Yale Honorary Doctorate Degree

Saturday, May 23, 2015

Nigerians On Twitter Disagree Over Petition To Withdraw Okonjo-Iweala's Yale Honorary Doctorate Degree

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the outgoing Nigeria's finance minister was recently awarded a honorary doctorate degree by Yale University and caused quite  a stir on social media as some Nigerians petitioned Yale University to withdraw the award .....

Few Nigerians supported her .......
The matter recently trended on Twitter and this is what Nigerians on Twitter had to say...

In case you missed it, the citation from Yale University read:

"Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Doctor of Humane Letters. You are a citizen of your country, your continent, and the world. Shaped by challenging experiences during your childhood in Nigeria, you have made social and economic reform your mission. As Nigeria’s coordinating minister of economic development and minister of finance, you have tackled corruption, created a vision and path to long-term economic stability, and worked to build a culture of transparency. At the World Bank, you made food security a priority and provided policy advice and capital for the world’s poorest countries. With wisdom, a fierce dedication to doing what is right, and unflagging energy, you have transformed the economic landscape of your nation. We are proud to name you Doctor of Humane Letter"

So what is your own opinion?  Do you also support that the honorary degree be withdrawn or not?

55 comments:

1. I see it as a total waste of time, strenght, MB, breath.... Withdraw or not, she has made her millions and her name printed in history books, critics stay the and be queing for fuel to charge ur fones and talk rubbish.

1. Truth is she successfully did America's bidding, hence her reward, what Obj didn't let her do, Mr classic cluelessness fell head long for it..... good riddance both ways

2. They should withdraw it ojare. Which mumu impact did she make, madam Fantacy, that sings about their invisible acheivements.

3. They should withdraw it ojare. Which mumu impact did she make, madam Fantacy, that sings about their invisible acheivements.

2. I support it 100000000%. Yes she merit it. Then Nde ara go and die. Nigerian hate for anything Igbo. Ngooo all the way. Merde. Bonjour stella.

1. Tribalistic mugu, "hate for anything igbo" are you with your sense at all?
      We are one Nigeria and once we see the truth we say not minding the tribe. So just STHU if u have nothing to say next time.
      And yes I support the withdrawal. Y? Because she has contributed to our economic downfall, she was supposed to be a watch dog over our finances but instead, she made it a friendly feast for the people who looted. I am not saying she took out of the country's purse but her eyes were wide opened when them dem dey carry am.

2. Tribalistic mugu, "hate for anything igbo" are you with your sense at all?
      We are one Nigeria and once we see the truth we say not minding the tribe. So just STHU if u have nothing to say next time.
      And yes I support the withdrawal. Y? Because she has contributed to our economic downfall, she was supposed to be a watch dog over our finances but instead, she made it a friendly feast for the people who looted. I am not saying she took out of the country's purse but her eyes were wide opened when them dem dey carry am.

3. Does who are against it should wait for their turn to Corlet a doctorate degree,lol

1. Your grammar is appalling.

2. Terrible,guy na wa o,wch uni u go?

3. Like somebody asked,where were all these morons when BokoHaram leader was honoured by Times Magazine?Yeye dey smell
      #rootzy#

4. Kevin u can't live abroad and type this way. Don't u av any formal education? Pls try to proof read bfr posting. Or go back to school. Its so disgraceful. Unfortunately u don't take to advice!

5. At Anonymous 13:32 u don kill me with laff, Sir kelvo your English needs amendment. Can Madam Ngo confidently say she has done well during Oga Jona era?

4. Even if we sign, can they actually withdraw it? If they will, I will goan sign sharply....

Anyways I don't think they will withdraw it.

Coordinating minister of Economy my ass...

Ignorant ppl just accepted that the economy grew, if only you all know what damage has been done. I agree with Ali baba, "A very BIG MUG that is empty" is just what happened. We should even have a normal sized MUG with liquid in it than a giant MUG with nothing in it.
    Thank God for a change in govt....

1. It can actually be withdrawn, America is a free society

5. My Opinion???

U Really don't wanna know...

6. It should be withdrawn. Now this is my opinion. If you are around people doing shady things you don't sit down and continue with them. She had the option of resigning!!! Abeg if yale dey find who to give honorary degree make them give am to whole of the Nigerian masses that have endured 16 yrz of misrule. Infact we don turn Dr in suffering.

7. Wtf are these twitter fools saying? withdraw what? A well deserved honour?

From the name of the fool that started this petition and the ones supporting this nonsense,you will know who they are.
    Brainless Nama's.

8. Removed abeg. The woman really messed up our economy

9. Withdraw wetin.
    It's just an award people, not a ticket to heaven, still vanity.

10. Nigerians always thinking they've got an opinion in everything, mtsheeeeeeeew. If ah hear say Yale dey even read una tweet.

1. Yale will get to read if their twitter handle is mentioned in them.

11. My opinion
    :
    I dont give a rat's ass.
    I am stuck at home
    No movement
    Above all,my son has been gisting me about every GTA cheat and i really want to sleep.

1. Hope ur son is above 18, if not u might need to sit and watch him play cos GTA is violence and sex filled. I love it though especially GtaV, but am a grown man

12. I care less about the whole thing!
    My own is that the government should do something about the fuel scarcity!

1. 400 naira per litre for black market, that is, if you see. My dear, I don tire.... And these ones are here shouting withdraw kini?

13. See her cheeks.

It's her luck that she's being honoured.
    Make she carry go. Nothing do her.

14. Nigerians need fuel ohhhhhhh! Hian! Am irritated n pissed!

15. Nobody from this Jona's administration deserve anything be it honorary degree or award, in fact Jonas should return his university certificates and be left with pry school certificate.....lol

16. Enemies abound everywhere, Yale is a prestigious university and for them to award her a degree they saw something good in her. APC goons, cyber bullies and enemy of progress wants to run her down but they will fail

17. No no no. They just just let her be. These Yoruba pple and trouble. I see jealousy o

18. Totally against, the reasons Yale start for the honorary award is quite contrary to the reality on ground.
    The essay, Prof. Soludo presented shows how unrealistic and assumable are programs was.
    She solely depends on World Bank and UN statistics while millions are starving.

She deserves to be honored for her efforts but not according to the reasons stated by Yale

19. It's a good thing she's given, but d reasons they make me laugh tho!!! "She tackled corruption? Lmao!!!!

20. Yale has already given her the award. Why the petition? Nawaa o. Nigerians una can sha show unaself

21. Did I just read up there that she fought corruption? When, where, how. A woman that kept lying that the country wasn't broke until she was forced to say that money was borrowed to pay salaries. The same woman that during Obj's regime worked with him to get our debts written off is the same woman that watched as finance minister and our debt grew again. The issue of subsidy and the fictitious payments are still there. In my opinion, she doesn't deserve that award.

1. Ada Mazi, u wi grow old, live long and prosper

22. She doesn't deserve it,giving her the award is celebrating mediocrity .

Before the bigots start cussing,take a step back and assess the economy in the last six years.If she was a northerner,what would you say?

Nigeria cannot and will not move forward until we're honest with each other and realise we're all Nigerians first and foremost.

1. Bigotry makes people blind, dumb daft and dense. Dont blame them, pity them.

2. One particuar tribe is the biggest problem we have in this country, they tribalise everything but God will help us turn their brain to start thinking and acting as rational humanbeingS.

23. Yoruba people and their envy. They never see anything good in other people. Enemies of progress. This is why thier villages are filled with mud houses. They can't stand other people's success.

1. May God run your life the way Okonjo supervised and coordinated Nigeria under Jonathan administration. She performed woefully and stop your brainless clannish yarns

2. Kai! What has Yoruba got to do with this ehn Ndi ala, aragalatia, Ubanka shege

24. She may not be a saint but her award shd not be withdrawn afterall d Yorubas are celebrating Tinubu who has colonized half of Lagos and other SW states finance and properties.

25. Joke, waste of time. Yale isnt withdrawing shishi!
    Whren many corrupt leaders in naija get honorary from local universities, why una no do petition?
    She even has an earned PhD from MIT.
    Go and tell the others who gave honorary doctorates before to withdraw, incl the following prestigious schls

Brown University, Providence, RI, USA.
    Trinity College, University of Dublin, Ireland.

Misplaced priorities.