Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Stigmatise HIV/AIDS Patient And Risk Six Months In Jail

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Stigmatise HIV/AIDS Patient And Risk Six Months In Jail

Ondo State Government has warned that anybody caught discriminating against the PLWA (People Living With AIDS) in the areas of employment, medical treatment, hiring, assignment, promotion, demotion, transfer, retirement, among others, would face the law.

The Secretary to the Ondo State Government and Chairman, Ondo State Agency for the Control of AIDS, Dr. Aderotimi Adelola, stated this in a statement on Monday.

According to the statement, Adelola spoke in Akure on Monday while delivering the keynote address at a sensitisation programme held to facilitate the enforcement of the HIV discrimination law in the state.

Adelola warned that those who transmit the HIV to anyone risk a 10-year jail term and a fine of N500,000 or both.

The law, according to the commissioner, will check the spread of HIV and AIDS and eliminate the discrimination and stigmatisation of the PLWAs, saying most times, the rights of the people living with HIV are violated, causing them to suffer both the burden of the disease and the consequential loss of their rights.

“The stigmatisation and discrimination discourage individuals infected with and affected with HIV from accessing health and social services, hence, the law stipulates further that anybody who discriminates against people living with HIV commits an offence and is liable to a fine of N100,000.00 or imprisonment of six months or both.

“This may obstruct their access to treatment and may affect their employment, housing and other rights which   adversely affect the vulnerability of others to be infected,” he said. 

Also speaking at the event, the state Commissioner for Information, Kayode Akinmade, said, “ Ondo State is the first state in the country to make a law which broadly addresses the rights of the people living with the virus.”

Akinmade urged infected persons to declare their status to their spouses or sex partners, children and parents and also called on health care professionals to take seriously the confidentiality of all medical information, particularly the identity and status of the PLWA in their possession.

*Original reportage by Punch rewritten here *

hmmmmmm.....

41 comments:

1. It is not easy to declare like dat ooo. but i like that if you stigmatize you go to jail or pay fine.

HIV people are suffering and smiling at the same time. God please bring cure to this ailment in Jesus Name - Amen.

2. I like mimiko, dunno y. Maybe because I went to akure and saw good roads even in d rural communities or because he built a beautiful complex and rented the shops out for N2500 monthly or because I know a very good friend that works hand in hand with him.

I shall like him. I like him very much.

1. E reach to like am with all these ones wey u mention.

Ehn ehn, so those who accuse people of having AIDS cos they look slim or are sick nko? That should be punishable too. Making unfounded accusations can be detrimental. Anyway dem try

2. Quicksilver I no know am na, if I know am, u know where I for dey today?

3. if I hear Nigeria and laws who will implement it abegy

#GODWIN™

4. Is that the governor 's priority, stigma again HIV patients?

5. Correct!!!

But where's that oloriburuku oloshi bloody thwart lol,Na dis hiv AIDS go kill you and your agbepo family!!!

6. I didn't read but the heading for me laughing

Well....good one

Not met anyone with the virus and even if I do I won't stigmatize...

7. Nice!!!
    The only problem would be them sticking to it cos it's easier to say bt harder to implement.
    1st nice thing worth commending from d stables of ondo state govt

8. Nice one. Ppl are scared of d stigmatization from d public, dts y de don't go for d test for fear of being positive and stigmatized at d same time. Nice one.

9. The Governor should also be talking about long jail terms for HIV patients who infect others.
    On another note, I think the FG should make it compulsory for everyone to know his or her HIV status. Like making it compulsory for anyone to provide his HIV status paper to access things like banking services.

1. There is a guy living with HIV in lagos and spreading it, his name is Shehu Sani

2. Ahn ahn.. so if a person tests positive they shouldn't withdraw their money again? So bank officials should know ur status?

**scrolls up to see ur name.** oops** should have known.

10. Mrs LEE please tell your HORSEBAND to leave Small Small Abuja girls alone. Infact look for a rope and tie that man and make sure u drag him wherever u are going before he infects u with HIV.. Enoff said.

11. Dats gud to knw,because naturally is not dere fault dat dey contacted d virus,so dey should not discrimate or whatsoever

12. Lolz, lack of awareness that causes the discrimination

13. Is he leaving with HIV?

14. I follow say hmmmmm

15. Declare their status as if it's some kinda property. Pple will still discriminate no matter how much they claim to show love.

16. Good start

17. it is only ignorant people that still discriminate PLWA

18. They are many in government now so the government will take this serious.

19. good one also see http://ebalb.blogspot.co.uk/

20. And his nephew is spreading STD's up and down in a desperate bid to park his failed life somewhere. Arrest your family member first. Stupid man

21. Jailing is not the answer. Who gives these kinds of advice .Education and awareness is what is needed. What will jailing archieve.

1. When u finish educating and them no wan hear you slap them a jail term and the conform

22. I follow you say hmmmmm.........All these laws that are never implemented, just on paper.