Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Okonjo-Iweala To Answer For New Missing $2.1bn -FG

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Okonjo-Iweala To Answer For New Missing $2.1bn -FG

The immediate past Minister of Finance, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala might be called upon soon to answer for missing billions of dollars from the federation account.

The National Economic Council, chaired by Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, on Monday accused the former Minister of Finance of spending $2.1bn from the Excess Crude Account without authorisation.

“We looked at the numbers for the Excess Crude Account. The last time the former Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Mrs Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, reported to the council, and it is in the minutes, she reported by November 2014 that we had $4.1 bn.

“Today, the Accountant-General Office reported we have $2.0bn. Which means the honourable minister spent $2.1bn without authority of the NEC and that money was not distributed to states, it was not paid to the three tiers of government,” Edo State Governor Adams Oshiomhole told State House correspondents after the NEC’s 58th meeting in Abuja.

Oshiomhole who spoke to journalists after the National Executive Council was inaugurated by President Muhammadu Buhari insinuated that the former World Bank, Managing Director, might have a case to answer.

The ‘unauthorised’ spending, according to the economic council, is among the several anomalies discovered in the management of the nation’s economy between 2012 and May 2015.

Within the period, the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation was said to have earned a total of N8.1 tn but remitted only N4.3tn.

Consequently, the Federal Government has constituted Oshiomhole, Kaduna State Governor, Nasir el-Rufai; Akwa Ibom State Governor, Udom Emmanuel; and Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo, into a panel to probe the NNPC and the ECA between 2012 and May, 2015.

Oshiomhole, el-Rufai, Emmanuel and the Zamfara State Governor, Abdulazeez Yari, jointly briefed journalists at the end of the meeting.

Yari told the journalists, through the Director of Funds, Office of the Accountant-General of the Federation, Mr. M.K. Dikwa, that council members received the report of the ECA and unremitted funds by the NNPC.

He said, “On that line, a four-man committee consisting of the governors of Edo, Gombe, Kaduna and Akwa Ibom states was constituted to go through the books of the NNPC and Excess Crude as well as the Federation Account.

”The four-man committee will check the books of the NNPC, most especially the issue of excess crude and what is not remitted into the Federation Account.

“The Federal Government, in conjunction with the Central Bank of Nigeria, will look inwards to see how to support and how much they will give to states, especially on the issue of outstanding salaries owed by the states and even the Federal Government.”

Shedding new light on what transpired at the NEC meeting, Oshiomhole said the NNPC and the Office of the Accountant-General of the Federation were compelled for the first time to provide information on the total sales of Nigeria’s crude from 2012 to May 2015.

The Edo governor said, “We are talking about transparency; we are talking about change. And what we saw from those numbers, which I believe that Nigerians are entitled to know, is that whereas the NNPC claimed to have earned N8.1tn, what NNPC paid into the Federation Account from 2012 to May 2015 was N4.3tn.

“What it means is that the NNPC withheld and spent N3.8 tn.

“The major revelation here is that the entire federation, that is the Federal Government, the states and all the 774 local governments, the amount the NNPC paid into the Federation Account for distribution to these three tiers of government came to N4.3 tn and the NNPC alone took and spent N3.8tn.

“This means that the cost of running the NNPC is much more than the cost of running the Federal Government. That tells you how much is missing, what is mismanaged and what is stolen. There are huge figures.”

Oshiomhole said the only lawful way decreed by the Constitution was that if the NNPC needed to spend money, it needed to prepare its budget like every other business enterprise, get it scrutinised by the executive and then forward same to the National Assembly for appropriation.

He added, “If the Federal Government cannot spend without appropriation, why should any agency spend without appropriation.

“This is what the Constitution provided for and this is what President Muhammadu Buhari has promised to do; henceforth all money must go to the Federation Account.

“If you were doing that, you would not have a situation where the NNPC alone will spend N3.8trn and remit to the federal, states and local governments N4.3trn, which means NNPC is taking about 47 per cent and that explains all the leakages you are talking about.”

El-Rufai recalled that he was part of the decision to put in place the ECA during the tenure of former President Olusegun Obasanjo between 2004 and 2005 as an administrative arrangement to save for a rainy day.

He said the account was set up in order to be accountable such that every state and local government would know what they had in the account though they could not spend it.

He said, “The Excess Crude Account is 52 per cent owned by the Federal Government and 48 per cent owned by the states and the local governments.

“So the decision of the NEC is to set up this committee of four to look at the operations of the Excess Crude Account and make recommendations to council on its future.

“The other thing the committee will do is to look at the operations of the Federation Account, particularly the shortfall and again come back to council with very clear recommendations as to what to do.

“We have not been given a time frame but as you can imagine state governments are under pressure, many of our state governments are unable to pay salaries on time without recourse to borrowing, so this is very important to us.

“This is an all-governors’ committee; we wear the shoes and we know where they pinch. So we are going to do this as quickly as possible.

“The next meeting of the council is on July 23; we hope to complete our work and be in a position to report to council on that day. So within the next one month, we will be done by God’s grace.”

*Punch Reportage

OTURUGBEKEEEEE!!!!

50 comments:

1. Ghen Ghen Ghen! My ear dy scratch me.. I need rumour has it. Lmfao

1. The $2.1b is the money Jonathan frittered away for election.

The kind of shenanigans that went on will soon be exposed.
      Thank God he was booted out.

2. We are sometimes the ones that give these people the guts to be dealing with us without hesitation. At our level of education we don't know that the appellation 'honorable is reserved for people who have been honoured by the people in this case people who the people honoured with their votes to win election. Apart from parliamentary democracy where people win elections before becoming ministers and Nigeria where anything goes which presidential democracy addresses their ministers or comissioners appointed by one man as honourables.. When we give them these unmerited titles, why won't they shit on our heads and dare us to do something they know we won't eventhoygh we cam

2. Enough of this endless cock and bull story from the Buhari team. They should start governing. All I see is talk but no action.

3. See gobe,probing things.but this woman should be smart enough to cover her steps cos definitely she don chop enough.

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Niceone VP osinbajo... This woman needs to visit the jail and very quick i swear...

5. As if they don't know what happened to the money. politicians and there merry go round, always chasing each other.

6. Whomever Buhari and his team suspect of corruption should be taken to the court.
    Enough of this blame game.
    I thought that Alh Buhari said he met an EMPTY treasury. How come the Accountant- General Office is reporting that we have $2. 0bn "today"?

1. Gbam! This is the exact question on my mind. Empty treasury indeed. Smh....

2. U're both stupidity personified if u think $2 billion in d coffers of a country with d population size of Nigeria's anything 2 write home about,fucktards!

7. Ghen! Ghen!

8. I hope Buhari and his people will not spend their tenure blaming the past administration for their cluelessness and failure to deliver the countless mouth watering campaign promises.

1. Before Nko....they don't have structure

Only to blame and keep blaming

9. Woow!!!
    I had to stop reading cos d money being called got me in a depressed mood. Chai i should have studied political science o or something related to politics whether by crook or by norm

10. I pray God give them the power and strength,to do everything,as quickly as possible...

11. Thief!!b! Ow I hate politics

12. Thieves probing a thief. Lets see how Okonjo will defend herself. afterall i no enjoy Jona's government at all.

13. They have shifted from dieziani and moved on to Ngozi. Ngozi, I sha hope u are Clean cos I believe u are. I need these witch hunters to be put to shame one more time.

Stella, u have refused to carry d news that buhari's brother debunked his arrest news. Why? Na question oh, no vex in advance.

1. Na here u still dey?Reverse-thinker

14. U be thief, I no be thief, u be rubber, I no be rubber, u be armed rubber, I no be armed rubber, argument argument argue, catch am chatch am thief theif, catch am catch am rubber rubber, lol Ngozi Okonji abi Okonjo I fear ooooooooo, I sha smell a rat. Kikikikikiki

15. U be thief, I no be thief, u be rubber, I no be rubber, u be armed rubber, I no be armed rubber, argument argument argue, catch am chatch am thief theif, catch am catch am rubber rubber, lol Ngozi Okonji abi Okonjo Iweala, the truth be say "Ala de vex for u according to the meaning of ur name ooo, " I fear ooooooooo, I sha smell a rat. Kikikikikiki

16. Ekwe nche!
    Prof Ngozi Okonjo Iweala ke.
    Abeggi. If she appears before d proceedings and interrogation team now, one reply from her n all these Mutulas making noise will tuck their tails in between their legs.

This woman na Harvard Trained oo, no be anyhow person. She is so in tune with "PROTOCOL". It's in her system. So Awon Toronto Graduates mai una ready oo.
    Stella Kork biko give us 2nd base ojare. Goodmorn to you and lovely blog visitors(except d bitter anonys).

1. Harvard trained my foot! Go tell dat to olodos like u who fear pple based on their paper qualifications andd not based on what they have upstairs. She has been fooling the lawmakers because those ones are actually fools who know nothing. Let her go on a debate with the likes of Oby ezekwesili who knows what she knows. Did I even say Oby ezekwesili? Let her come n debate with one of these sound bank MDs like Bisi Onasanya and watch how they will floor her. Shebi Soludo floored her and she couldn't talk again. She instead started praising Sanusi that she once said messed up the banking sector. When we see sound pple, we know them. I don't expect u to know cos u r more interested in paper qualifications. Shebi she was once a world bank MD, the question u shld ask urself is how many of world bank policies implemented in third world countries actually worked? As a former MD of world bank used to advanced countries economies, she definitely could not manage our own economy.

2. Harvard trained my foot! Go tell dat to olodos like u who fear pple based on their paper qualifications andd not based on what they have upstairs. She has been fooling the lawmakers because those ones are actually fools who know nothing. Let her go on a debate with the likes of Oby ezekwesili who knows what she knows. Did I even say Oby ezekwesili? Let her come n debate with one of these sound bank MDs like Bisi Onasanya and watch how they will floor her. Shebi Soludo floored her and she couldn't talk again. She instead started praising Sanusi that she once said messed up the banking sector. When we see sound pple, we know them. I don't expect u to know cos u r more interested in paper qualifications. Shebi she was once a world bank MD, the question u shld ask urself is how many of world bank policies implemented in third world countries actually worked? As a former MD of world bank used to advanced countries economies, she definitely could not manage our own economy.

3. Lol @xhlrted,a 30 minutes interaction with the" Toronto "graduates is enough to clear their doubts.

4. Okonja is a world class, Harvard trained economist. These old men can't stand her explanations and vocabulary.

17. All the monies these folks are stealing, na wah o. But seriously, 2.1 billion dollars, kilode?

18. When they are calling mothers this thief we show up. Shame on her

19. 3.8 trillion! !!!! You kidding?

20. Sure woman

What a man can do..a woman can do it better

Abeg chop knuckles

1. Lolll. All I see is her gele and chubby face.

21. They should leave this woman alone plz. Same thing about the 20billion. Okonjo will put them to shame. I know Oby will be laughing where she is

22. Hehehehe. I have always had my reservations about this woman. She is always on the defensive whenever it comes to financial defunct. Oya ooo madam professor, the way you have been defending organisations like NNPC when our money went missing come and defend yourself o aunty Iweala. If this is true tho, i'll just lose trust and interest in female politicians. First it was Patricia Etteh, now it's Okonjo Msheeeewwww
    SDK's certified MD

23. Oooooooooooh my...!

Mr Osin pls leave her o
    Is ur hand too clean?

24. I've just learnt to not judge a book by its cover alone, I need to open the book page by page. FG please keep em coming!

25. How come there is now $2.0bn. The treasury is no longer empty. Anyway I don't think madame will be callous enough not to cover her tracks well.

1. 'Callous enough not to cover her tracks well'...now I regret joining issues with u n d broke money maker above...na illiterates full dis una blog

26. This comment has been removed by the author.

27. Mtcheeeeeeeew
    They should leave this woman alone
    I doubt this gist,work of APC

28. That moment...been waiting so long for it!!!

29. Seems Buhari's regime of governance is centered on NNPC. Is there no other work in this country for them to be engaged in? Na so so looting investigation he has been doing since he entered. Get to work biko.