Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section.

Friday, July 10, 2015

Doctors In House Section.

Doctors this is serious oh!

STIFF VENTRICLE

Dear doctors,
About 4 weeks ago, while hanging out with my friend, my heart started beating fast...for no reason.
I couldn't breathe well; was breathing through my mouth.
Now, this has been happening randomly over the past year, and it ceases after about 5 minutes of awkward pumping.
But on that night, it was over an hour, so I knew that it wasn't normal.
I went to d hospital the next day being a Saturday, saw the doc and narrated the situation.
An ECG was recommended to be done on Monday.
On Monday I went to do the ECG.
The doctor looked at the result and was frowning.
I asked him what's up. He said the result showed an abnormality, and referred me to a cardiologist.
I saw the cardiologist, and he too also frowned, and recommended another ECG, Holter ECG, and a heart scan.
I did the ECG and heart scan last week, and the doctor said that the left ventricle is stiff.
He said I'm to start medication, and come in next week for a review.
I asked him what the consequences of a stiff ventricle are, but he wouldn't tell me.
He said that I should take the drugs as prescribed, and that when I come for the review, then we can talk about that.
My questions for the doctors are:
What are the consequences of a stiff ventricle?
And what can I expect?
I am currently taking medication, but I still experience the irregular heartbeat, and most times it feels like I'm not getting enough oxygen into my lungs, and it makes me take deep breaths.
I'm still pretty young...not yet 30.
I don't smoke, I drink occasionally, and I'm a female.

Muchos Graçias.

61 comments:

1. God is still doing miracles. He would sure heal you

1. Don't worry my dear, God is the ultimate healer. Pls make sure that you don't wear tight bra, also check if you have peptic ulcer, watch what you eat, any food that precipitates that,just avoid it. Eat well and healthy. Good luck

2. Jesus fix this

2. Ask google! U can type memo bt u can't ask google with that same Mb! Mtchewww

1. Google is my best friend.
      I have looked it up on Google before coming to find out from doctors who have had practical experience with patients who suffered same.

Thanks for the hiss.

2. Shut up Aunty goat

3. Bitter Idiot!!! There are more sublime ways to pass your message without sounding rude. Be forming tough online...

4. Painful soul

5. @gwegwegwe, easy, easy ok. She did not type it with ur hand or phone. Learn how to talk to someone in a polite manner.

6. Trying 2 imagin hw u look,na wa sef.

7. Anuty gwegwegwe Na chizoba now can't u see the way she writes?

3. Compel your doctor to tell you the true position of your health!

4. Jesus will heal you. Just put your trust in him. when taking your med, be praying to God so that your healing will be permanent and may be for now you should stop taking alcohol. kindly be drinking water only.

1. Exactly!!!! Yeye dey smell

6. Stiff ventricle... Nothing surpasses God's power. .. He created these things and I'm sure He will fix it

7. Sabo gida ora where art thou ,agworturembe has the india and american ifa left u ,where art thou

8. There is balm in Gilead. Ancient of days will heal you just ask and believe. He changeth not.

9. Dear, there are two phases of the heart cycle - contraction and relaxation and there can be abnormalities in either of these phases. D one most pple know abt is the prob with contraction also called heart failure.  The problem with relaxation is a bit more complex.  It is usually due to long standing high blood pressure. D treatment is medications that help the heart to "relax" and I tink dts what he gave u.  With treatment the condition is usually well tolerated.

1. But I do not have blood pressure.

10. I dnt really knw much about dis... Bt I guess its heart failure... Just chill till u see d doctor next week.. I'll put u in my prayers.

11. Google it and stay away from dancing,any kinda sport and aggressive prayers in church.
    God bless you

1. Lol @ aggressive prayers.
      E.g mountain of fire prayers.

2. True, I just asked a doc and he says stay away from exercising or strenuous activities. Call on Jesus my dear, call on Jehovah Rapha fast fast.. I'll have u in prayers dear. The Lord is ur strength

12. Why not wait till your next visit to your doctor so you can get details about your question from him. I guess he didn't tell you when you asked because he's trying to prevent anxiety which might not make the drug work effectively. My opinion though. I'll advice you focus on taking the drugs as prescribed, worry less, stop drinking and above all, pray. It is well.

1. Yes o, abeg worry less. U need to get anxiety stress and worry far away at this point to prevent a heart failure I guess that's why they don't wanna tell u the consequences so u don't get scared and worsen the situation, geez I'm so worried, I can't imagine how the poster feels.. I'll be praying for u..

13. Haba naw ask google the question u are asking us, most of us are not doctors.

14. THELMA ENEMUWE said..
    QUIT totally from drinking,be steadfast with your medication,pray about it and wait for the next visit to your doc..
    In house doc,,y'al needed in here...
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

15. And if ure d type dat take oily things or fried tihing.. Pls make sure u reduce d intake of fried things cos it affect d heart too.

16. You probably have asthma or symptoms of heart failure/ stroke
    Start praying and give your life to Christ.

17. If whilst still taking d drug ur still experiencing d abnormal heart rhythm,den uv gotta treat d underlying problem causing it.
    Are u diabetic,hypertensive,a congenital heart defect and so on?. Uv gotta treat d precipitants 1st

As for wanting to know what to expect,go read about diastolic heart failure.
    Wish I could explain more to you bt den again u cld surf the net. Type diagrammatic representation of normal heart circulations,ud understand better d d functions of the right and left ventricles,y u r experiencing that which u are and den the complications dt could arise.

Basically d right vent pumps blood from d pulmonary valve to d lung and den d left pumps blood 4rm d aortic valve to d brain.

So depending on which ventricle is stiff,i feels iv made it easier for a layman to understand.
    Don't mean to scare u bt pls tk ur drugs judiciously,imagine if blood stops getting to ur brain or lungs?

18. May the almighty God lay his healing hands upon you..Amen

19. Hmnn..i experienced the same thing some weeks back oo..heart was beating wierdly fr like 20 mims..felt like i was gonna die..it has happened once after that..i smoke occasionaly amd drink too ..what could this be?

20. I think the doctor that prescribed those drugs know what he is doing...Believe

Nma 

21. Always pray n av faith, u will be heal in Jesus name

22. Peace, be still... Seeking answers here may counteract your doctor's mission. He needs you to relax, take your drugs and be calm FOR NOW. Pls take your drugs, believe that God can do all things and keep your next appointment. You Will be healed in Jesus name, amen.

Andy Sho

23. Pray hard. Believe in miracle.

24. Hmmmmmmmmn. Heart matters nor be small pikin tin ooo

25. Stiff ventricle can lead to arterial hypertension, myocardial infarction and even ischemic heart disease. Just take your medication like you ought to and talk to your doctor.

26. Finish ur medication then go back and see ur doc.Jesus will fix u.

27. The Lord is your strength dear, receiving the healing in the blood of Jesus.
    I look forward to your testimony here.. xoxo

28. Believe and have faith in Jesus. By His stripes ye are healed. I advise u always recite healing scriptures to urself in faith. God bless u.

29. Your doctor should have explained the result of the ECG and the echo (heart scan) to you, instead of just handing you medication to take. Given the fact that I haven't looked at your results, it's difficult to give you complete answers.

Generally in lay man's terms, a stiff left ventricle means the last part of the heart where blood enters before it is pumped to the rest of the body, is having trouble contracting and relaxing. In order to fill with blood, the left ventricle needs to relax in the diastolic phase, then it pumps out the blood, when it contracts in the systolic phase.

If your left ventricle is stiff, it's not able to get enough blood to pump out to the body. Blood carries oxygen, not enough blood leads to shortness of breath which you seem to be experiencing. You have some sort of heart failure going on. Like I said, it's difficult to tell given the limited information and I have no clue what's going on with u besides what u wrote.

Did they tell you what your ejection fraction is? What medication are you taking? Anyways, go back to your doctor and insist he explains what is going on with your heart. It's your right to know. Otherwise, find a better doctor who will explain what's wrong.

You shouldn't have to come to the internet to ask for answers after seeing a doctor. That's just poor patient care.

30. Av had de same b4 and the only thing my doctor told me was to loose weight with no medication or exercise.just a little food a day.and it worked!

31. From your history of previous shortness of breath and heart beating fast (palpitations) you might have suffered some level of Ischemic heart disease (the muscles of your heart not getting enough blood) this can lead to the death of some parts of your heart and eventually heart failure. A stiff left ventricle sounds like LVH (left ventricular hypertrophic) meaning the muscles of your left ventricle have increased in bulk due to them trying to pump out more blood to sustain your body. If not properly managed it can lead to complete heart failure. I would advise you go back to your doctor for proper explanations or get yourself a new one. All the best!

32. Poster pls note that such condition as indicates an underlying disease. You have the right to know what is wrong with you, and the causes. PALPITATION! is a major symptom of Thyroid disease. If you take medication for the heart ailment without handling the underlying cause with medication as well,you won't get a lasting solution,it may even worsen. Tell yourdoctor you want to go for a Thyroid function test.
    If you are in Lagos,avail your self of attending the HEALTH AND FITNESS PROGRAM OF LETS PAINT LAGOS SDK. You will get to know more about your thyroid gland,the diseases and the symptoms and cure. The awareness train is coming there. If not call this number for counselling and advise.08033348888.
    God is the ultimate healer.