Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wimbledon 2015: Serena Williams Beats Garbine Muguruza In Final

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Wimbledon 2015: Serena Williams Beats Garbine Muguruza In Final

Serena Williams beat Spain's Garbine Muguruza to win Wimbledon for the sixth time and complete the 'Serena Slam' as the holder of all four major titles.
The 33-year-old American won 6-4 6-4 on Centre Court to claim her 21st Grand Slam title and third of 2015.

Williams withstood a late fightback from 20th seed Muguruza, 21, to come through in one hour and 23 minutes.

She will head to the US Open next month aiming to complete the first calendar year Grand Slam of her career.

Muguruza was playing in her first Grand Slam final and took a 4-2 lead, before giving the top seed a mighty scare by battling back from a set and 5-1 down with two breaks of serve.

She could not quite complete the comeback, however, with an error-strewn service game setting up Williams to clinch a landmark win when the Spaniard found the tramlines.

"There was definitely pressure towards the end," said Williams, who also completed the 'Serena Slam' in 2003.
"Garbine started playing really well and I just had to think to stay out there and work really hard.

"I am having so much fun out on the court. Everyday is a pleasure to be playing and winning Wimbledon."

Williams won her sixth Wimbledon title and her first since 2012
A victory in New York would see the world number one match Steffi Graf's calendar Slam of 1988, and tie the German's open era record of 22 major wins.

Williams, who turns 34 next month, replaces Martina Navratilova as the oldest Wimbledon champion in the open era, and the nine-time winner was among several former champions watching history made from the Royal Box.

BBC reportage

Congrats Serena!

27 comments:

1. Congrats girl - your family must be immensely proud of you

1. Pls pardon my ignorance: why dem give her "tray" and not regular trophy? I've been pondering since ooo

2. The muscle woman from Michigan is on course to become the greatest tennis player of all time. Presently, there're only two players in the world in her category...Serena & the rest. Go get 'em girl!

Ghanaman signing out!

2. Wow
    21 Grand Slam Title
    Congratulations

1. Please Bvs living in Germany, does anyone know where I can get whole goat meat in bielefield? I need for an upcoming party. Thanks.

3. Wooow!. So happy for her
    Victory is sweeet

4. I'm just happy for dis lady

5. Congrats to her..she is a living legend..

6. Yeah. Congrats babe. Was worth the watch. A SLAM it was 6-4 6-4 straight up. Garbine really pulled some resistance but Serena kept producing scintillating displays, while her Sisters watched with rapt attention. Family is everything jare.

Sweet Victory, though her fore ground breaks were not fantastic, she was still lucky to hit kind net cords.
    Big Ups Serena.
    And she had to balance d Trophy on her head like a typical Isale Eko woman(Alabaru)? Haaaaa Nigerians, anybody wey our blood cross, e no dey hide.

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. She is really a rare gem. Very energetic. Congrsts to her

9. Tensed match after Serena got broken on the first game, eventually broke back and broke again to take the first set. Muguruza fought hard but...
    Serving for the match twice and got broken. I had almost given up at that point but my girl broke to end it. Mwah! Mwah! Mwah!

10. Congrats, Serena. You are indeed one of the world's finest tennis players, a strong, powerful woman and role model for other young girls. So, proud of you and more grease to your elbows.

11. Go girl !!!!!, if na Africa dem for say u use na juju take win hahahahah, sweet victory

12. These girls are something else! They keep winning and winning. Shegejagwa! Always where they are meant to be, on top. Congrats mehn.

13. You go Serena, undefeated and undisputed tennis champion of all time. How I just love her

14. This woman is very good. Congrats Serena.

15. I love u gal, making d blacks proud!

16. Congratulations to her, she is focus, talented and humble.

17. Serena! Serena!! Serena!!! Come chop kiss abeg. You are too much. I so so love her. And come to think Muguruza thought she could beat her to win that trophy simply because she had beaten her once last year. From the way she was crying after the match she must have forgotten that only few people in fact cant remember exactly whether 3 or 4 have beaten Serena more than once. Especially in a final mehn you cant beat her when she sights a trophy. Its not really strange to be beaten by a number one so those tears were really not necessary. She should try harder next time. Serena is simply the best ever. No doubt about that. Already a living legend. WOW! Will always love her. My Serena.