Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Fires MDs of NNPC Subsidiaries

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Buhari Fires MDs of NNPC Subsidiaries

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday evening fired the managing directors of the subsidiaries of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation and retired 38 top management staff of the firm, trimming down their number from 122 to 83.
The President also approved four new directorates for the national oil corporation and appointed four directors to man them.

Buhari further allowed the firm to recruit 12 private sector players into its
management cadre to help it jump-start a new business outlook to enhance its operational environment as a profit-driven business and wean the firm from its present civil service orientation.
The four new directorates are Exploration and Production, Finance and Services, Refining and Technology, and Commercial and Investment.

As the restructuring at the corporation went on, our correspondent observed that a good number of staff members of the oil firm stayed back on Tuesday evening, even after closing for the day’s job.
Many of them were spotted discussing in hushed tones, while a few visibly tensed workers made it clear that there was fear of job losses in the air at the NNPC, going by the downsizing of the executive positions from eight to four and the trimming of top management staff from 122 to 83.

Punch had reported exclusively that the approval of directorates and managers to occupy the positions were delayed by the President.
This, however, was confirmed by the corporation’s Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs Division, Mr. Ohi Alegbe, in a statement on Tuesday in Abuja.
The corporation, in the statement, said, “The management of the NNPC has appointed four new group executive directors to man the four new directorates that have been approved by the Presidency.”
The new Group Managing Director, Dr. Emmanuel Kachikwu, disclosed that the new appointments were in line with the Federal Government’s aspiration to transform the corporation into a lean, efficient, business-focused, transparent and accountable national oil company in keeping with international best practices.

The appointments which were approved by President Muhammadu Buhari include Dr. Maikanti Baru, Group Executive Director, Exploration and Production; Mr. Isiaka Abdulrazaq, Group Executive Director, Finance and Services; Mr. Dennis Nnamdi Ajulu, Group Executive Director, Refining and Technology and Dr. Babatunde Victor Adeniran, Group Executive Director, Commercial and Investment.

The statement noted that a new company secretary/legal adviser and managing directors were also appointed for the firm’s strategic business units.
It said they include “Chidi Momah, Group General Manager, Company Secretary and Legal Adviser; Mrs. Esther Nnamdi Ogbue, Managing Director, Pipelines and Products Marketing Company; Mr. Chinedu Ezeribe, Managing Director, Warri Refining and Petrochemicals Company; Mr. Babatunde Bakare, Managing Director, Nigerian Gas Company; Mr. Inuwa Ibrahim Waya, Managing Director, Hyson; Mr. Abubakar Mai-Bornu, Managing Director, Nigerian Petroleum Development Company; and Mr. Ladipo Fagbola, Managing Director, NNPC Retail.
Others are “Mr. Rowland Ewubare, Managing Director, Integrated Data Services Limited; Mr. Modupe Bammeke, Managing Director, NNPC Properties; Mr. Abdulkadir Saidu, Managing Director, Duke Oil; and Mr. Dafe Sejebor, Group General Manager, Nigerian Petroleum Investment Management Services.
The statement added that “the corporation also retired 38 top management staff reducing the number from 122 to 83. Also in line with the aspiration to reposition the corporation, 12 personnel have been recruited from the private sector into the top management cadre to jump-start a new business outlook to enhance the operational environment as a profit-driven business as against the current civil service orientation.”

The restructuring at the NNPC started last week Tuesday after Buhari fired the former GMD, Dr. Joseph Dawha, and replaced him with Kachikwu.
A day later, the President sacked the firm’s eight group executive directors but announced no replacement.

The restructuring continued on Friday as Kachikwu redeployed the Group General Manager, Crude Oil and Marketing Division, Mr. Gbenga Komolafe, and replaced him with Mr. Musa Usman, who was to serve in acting capacity.
About two weeks ago, President Buhari declared a strong stance to fix Nigeria’s oil sector, rid the industry of rot and probe monies stolen by operators in the sector.
The President had in late June dissolved the NNPC board.
The Federal Government, through the NNPC, regulates and participates in the country’s petroleum industry.
An Act to dissolve the former Nigerian National Oil Corporation and to establish the NNPC was promulgated in 1977.

The NNPC was established on April 1, 1977, as a merger of the Nigerian National Oil Corporation and the Federal Ministry of Mines and Steel.

Punch

Na wah....This sacking up and down is becoming worrisome to me because the unemployment market is already too over crowded.

43 comments:

1. Wetin Stella they talk? It's good he sacked them, those bunch of fat belly thieves. They shouldn't only be sacked, the should also be probed.

2. If you ask me,i will say it is a nice move but the truth is that it's a political move.
    Na political sack sack... as per no be me put u there. All the appointees of the pdp government should expect more of this

1. So for your mind you don make sense abi?

3. Stella forget that thing, its good like that jare.. do u know how much junior staff in NNPC earn? not to talk of managing directors and top management staff. they have made their money abeg.... too much money self and can never ever be broke again so forget about unemployment talk.

4. Apart from travelling up and down,the only other that Baba GoSlow has done since coming to power is sacking and firing people.

1. Didn't GEJ do the same thing after he lost the election? So what's the big deal?

2. How come u didn't comment on the appointment of Igbos in the NNPC abi u no see am? Itibolibo

3. Ghost 16:32,na wetin carry tribalism enter dis talk, u tribalistic bigot.

5. Our Oga don dey shake everywhere!
    The rot in dat NNPC is neausating....Chai
    Errrr...Wil some of dem,dats dose dat are found guilty of gross embezzlement going to be jailed??
    Others,public firms,Ministeries,use ya tongue n count ya teeth....
    Cos change is here!

Sai,shake everywhere into place ojare...

Chibaby @ Chi Exotic,nne how far?
    Rosiebaby,Sweerie m,kedu ije?
    Moneymaker,Nna how far?
    The Queen n Boss Herself!!! I dey Greet o!

LMAO

It is well o jare...It is well!

1. Nwunye General,akam di na elu...
      Kedu make ndi begi?..I hope na unu di oyi!...

6. Make i dust my cv i put inside cooler go submit for NNPC. Me too must chop oil money.

The labour market is over saturated. At least all those fired has eaten more than enough. let it go round to the others.

7. Sacking is not worrisome jor. The people he sacked don chop already. so no wahala. let them go and enjoy the looting with their generation. with more business plan and strategy there will be job creation.Graduates get ready for the next big thing.

8. Baba don dey go fast ohhh.

9. i can imagine d ppl that were retired. grandpas and grandma's who wont want to step aside all becos they want to keep collecting salary'. for development to take place sacrifices must be made so if all this firing and downsizing will make NNPC transparent and more accountable, then all good.

10. And the post of the group executive director goes to his fellow aboki...
    Pure nonsense!!...

1. Nne kee ije? R u for US dis summer? We r already there. Wish we could hook up if we re in d same city. We ve 2more wks here. Tnx n ve a nice day

11. Jeeeeeeeessssssuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuus.

12. When 1dollar=1naira.....I wll believe this old man

13. So stella,those ones wey don over chop belleful na them you dey worry for as regards unemployment? Na wa for you oh!

14. Wot wil happen to us dat are awaiting NNPC interview? Pls Mr President luk into our case. It been 3yrs now.

15. I will say it is a welcomed development if it will end the decadence in the oil sector.

16. Sacking and no provision of job opportunities for our graduates.

17. GUD ONE...TOMJERRYSWIT

18. Presido ain't playing.
    Stella, worrisome ke? How long have those people been there, chopping money? Abeg, it's a welcome development. NNPC is rotten to to the core.
    The only thing constant in life is change.

19. Stella! You no dey use your up?

20. Abeg let him be sacking and be employing fresh blood like us ooo...dats d only way we'll move forward....everything's working in our favour

21. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Baba is really working..... But destroy this boko haram no tym......

22. all this piece meal handing of issues. today it's NNPC tomorrow its Ministry of Transport.

can he adopt a more coherent approach to the change he's pushing? what is his economic blueprint for Nigeria? timelines? budgets? no be all this sensationalism up and down every day.

23. And the sacking continues! Change has come

1. Too many biz sch theories. In reality it doesn't work the way you were taught in biz sch, that's way biz sch professors can't manage small business not to talk of a country. Pele don't be disappointed!

24. Stellastica oga juuuu. Will they bring in Angels or Saints.