Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Says He Believes In NYSC

Thursday, August 06, 2015

President Buhari Says He Believes In NYSC

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday said that the National Youth Service Corps was still relevant for national integration and unity.
To this end, he had pledged his administration’s commitment to take all necessary actions in maintaining the programme.

President Buhari gave the assurance after receiving a briefing from officials of the Federal Ministry of Youth Development led by the Permanent Secretary, Mrs. Rabi Jimeta.

The President who affirmed his confidence and trust in the programme said that the objective for which the scheme was established in 1973 was still very relevant for national development.
“I firmly believe in NYSC and I think it should remain a national programme to promote integration.
“Whenever I go home to Daura, I look out for Corps members from Lagos, Aba and other parts of the country.
“I am always thrilled to learn that except for the NYSC, some of them have never left their states of origin to visit other cities in the country,” Buhari said.
Jimeta had earlier told the President that the increasing number of NYSC participants posed a challenge to the scheme due to the dwindling revenue, from the national budget, to cater for their needs.
According to her, the annual enrolment of corps participants had increased from 2,364 at inception in 1974 to 229,016 in 2014.

“Given the increasing number of tertiary institutions, our projection is that the number of corps participants may rise to 300,000 by year 2020,’’ she said.
Also, speaking, the Director-General of NYSC, Brigadier-General Johnson Olawumi, told the President that there were plans to make the scheme voluntary and reduce the corps population to make the programme more sustainable.

Vanguard report.

The Corps members passing out need more jobs to walk into.I remember when i finished serving In Ilesa osun state.When i got back to Lagos,reality kicked me in the face because there were no jobs to embrace jobless corps members.
Integration is nothing if NYSC does not involve proper job creation.

43 comments:

1. Buhari should provide job for the youth corpers entering the job market.
    Empty talk is not enough.

1. STFU... nuisance.

2. I think there should be some sort of job opening for corners just entering the Labour market to give them that working experience companies ask for.. Maybe they should work there for like a year or 2 and allow them search for better jobs.. The rate of unemployment is alarming..

3. Dis otomokpo broke azz
      Ur family must be regretting
      Ur existence aswear

**Adaorah**

1. His he gonna increase the alawee or wat is he talking abt self?

2. Kikikikikikikikikikikikik
      Dey v payed Corper allowance 2day.....
      Buhari, where were u during my time?

3. Allowance increment won't be a bad idea

4. The runs girls and boys would have gone round Nigeria already. Do they still need NYSC?
    The duration should be reduced to 6 months abeg.

5. I believe in NYSC too. No matter how much people complain, there are still some corps member who get retained in the companies they were posted to. Some of these corps members would never have the opportunity of being invited for an interview or a test in the said company. .............::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::Click my name to contact me for lovely office wears

1. Not when 90% are being posted to schools

2. I believe so much in NYSC!
      I loved my service year.

I just wish the issue of insurgency and wicked killings of NYSC members in villages will end.

6. They should have just scrapped it. Whi NYSC don help? I served Nigeria "diligently" as a ghost corper, no time to waste abeg *shining teeth*

7. The purpose of this scheme has been defeated, I sincerely believe it should be scrapped.
    My experience as a corp member then was fantastic. I remembered when i served in Lagos u dare not come to camp with pregnancy but reverse is d case now. Three yrs ago when I visited d camp all I saw was pregnant women n Nursing mothers and I asked myself what are they doing in camp.
    The orientation of the scheme has changed and all I see is more disadvantages moreso no available jobs after the scheme.

8. Stella im with you on this...

9. me stil dey fast n pray on top d 39,800 wen dem wan bgin pay. stress n runs go reduce

1. Seriously hoping for an increment...

10. Increase Allawee or scrap it Abeg!

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    With baba there is hope....

12. Nysc is as irrelevant as the "P in pneumatics".It should be scrapped.It just a waste of one's precious one year.

13. Well spoken Stella. Churning out graduates yearly without creating jobs for them makes NYSC a useless venture

14. Personally I feel it should be scrapped

15. @ golden mummy I wonder if you have brain at all... So wifes should abort their pregnancies or abandon their infants at home bcos of nysc?

1. Anon 10:45 Daft is your name, so can't they wait until they put to bed before going for Nysc? Golden mummy made so much sense abeg.

2. @anonymous you are the one that lacks a brain why can't pregnant women and nursing mothers have priorities.? They should remain at home and attend to the pregnancy first ..If pregnant and nursing a child ,defer going to camp. .. Then mobilize and join the next batch....mind you.. They meant camp and not the service year
      Now receive some sense.....
      All these kids with data that lack an adequate functioning frontal lobe for daily activities and mental tasks

16. So he didn't mention anythin abt the allawee increment?.. so where is the news coming from that allawee is now 49k.. hmmmmm

17. Aaaabeg tell President Buhari to increase our salaries , the staff of Nysc is poorly paid , that is why some of them are corrupt again he needs to look into staff welfare .

18. IMO, NYSC is still very relevant. Forget everybody complaining about allowee and no jobs. You think if u leave from school directly into the labour market in naija of today u will get a job automatically? NYSC broadens ur horizon, it also help some ppl cope financially even if it is just for a year. Some people get oppurtunity to learn skills they wouldnt have come across ordinarily. We should stop complaining and pretending as if there is a golden job NYSC is blocking. Is it not the same labour market that is waiting for you after NYSC? I thank God for nysc sha o, that N9.7k was gold to me. I know where i was coming from.

1. Thank youuuuu!!!
      I remember during my set how people screamed that they couldn't wait to leave the camp.. but trust me,a lot of them snuck back there to sleep until they got decent accommodation.
      I also know that some corpers send atleast 5k out of their allowee to their families that can barely eat 3 square meals..

Some even wish to serve again,others come back as ghost corpers repeatedly because of that "paltry sum"

No matter how you look at it,NYSC is very important to an average Nigerian that do not have a godfather to line up jobs for them.

People get retained where they served and years later,they are still in the organisation earning so much.
      I will forever be grateful to NYSC. It just needs some tweaking here and there. Provision of standard hostels,amenities,maybe further increment of the allowee etc.

2. Oh btw,i was able to get my NIM certificate. NYSC paid for us and I benefited seriously,i enrolled for it and got my cert after our exams.

3. Thanks anon. NYSC is a golden year. As year to learn and upgrade. Every training is given to you on a platter of gold. Free workshops, training, seminars, certificates up for grabs. It's only the simple minded who spend the whole year roaming around that don't see It's relevance.

For those who are yet to serve, please see the NYSC as a springboard to the heights you want to reach. Participate in as many activities as possible. Register for as many seminars and trainings as possible. Learn new languages and cultures! It's an opportunity that comes only once in a lifetime.

19. Goverment should increase the Allawee first

20. What's the essence of Nysc if graduates can't be guaranteed of jobs when they are out? Organizations keep asking for years of work experience that can't give fresh graduates the opportunity to get jobs.
    He should look into this abeg.

1. It helps to impact skills into them. For the ones that r ready to learn. U can learn how to bake or sow during that period. I want to serve and wear khaki o. Buhari, just hold on a little

21. Better but the Hausa chics should be allowed to serve in the East n West too not only Igbo chics are good to be posted in the North. Look into this Baba.

1. As in. They'll send all the igbos to the north/ west, send all the yorubas to the east and leave hausa babes in their home. Mix them up.

22. Create job!!! D person bringing d idea to scrap off nysc is crazy... D growing population of d intending corp members should be a tin of joy to them sef...

23. If NYSC is scrapped, Who will teach the sec school children in the north who depend on different batches of corpers year after year because their teachers spend more time running their private business and collecting salary while leaving corpers to teach all subjects?

1. Abia state is worst,Abia state doesn't even hv teachers