Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Climate Change: Senator Ashafa Advocates for Use of Cooking Gas over Kerosene‏

Monday, November 30, 2015

Climate Change: Senator Ashafa Advocates for Use of Cooking Gas over Kerosene‏

The Senator representing Lagos East Senatorial Constituency, Senator Gbenga Ashafa, has called on the general public to join in the fight against the adverse effects of climate change.

Speaking on Sunday at an event targeted at addressing the effects of climate change and eroding poverty, the senator advocated for the constant use of cooking gas as against the use of charcoal or kerosene.

"We all should inculcate the use of gas which produces pure energy and clean environment, as against kerosene or charcoal that increase global warming and ozone layer depletion which produces intense heat that we all experience today," Senator Ashafa said.

The senator also donated cylinders of cooking gas to beneficiaries at the event.
Below is the full speech by Senator Ashafa at the event.

OPENING REMARKS BY SENATOR ‘GBENGA B. ASHAFA AT THE POVERTY ALLEVIATION / REGRESSING THE BAD EFFECTS OF CLIMATE CHANGE PROGRAMME HELD ON SUNDAY, 29TH NOVEMBER, 2015 AT MERCY HALL, NO. 3 CMD ROAD, IKOSI-KETU, LAGOS
Protocols
Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen, I am pleased to welcome you to the maiden edition of the revamped empowerment programme targeted at small and medium scale businesses.  It is indeed a maiden edition of the success story that began in my first term and with exemplary impacts on the businesses of artisans and small and medium scale entities across the district.  The success story recorded on this initiative, in part, led to the increased grass-root participation of artisans, students and youth in the last election that ultimately gave victory to the APC.

Throughout the last dispensation, we embarked upon various forms of empowerment programmes and thankfully, hundreds of thousands of our people benefited across the Senatorial District. For the record, allow me share just a fraction of the recorded success story of the empowerment programme undertaken in my first tenure:

 Over 16,000 constituents benefitted from our weekly and mega empowerment programmes through the collection of tools and implements such as Sewing Machine, Pepper Grinding Machine, Vulcanizing Machine, Hairdressing Dryer and Wash-Hand Basin, Barbing Kits and Generator Set, Welding Machine etc.

 A total numbers of 558 youths were trained in the monthly ‘Gbenga Ashafa ICT Training Programme, with about 100 of them collecting Desktop Computers with Printers

 Another one was the Multi-Million Naira Youth Energy Career Programme organised in partnership with the Lagos State Electricity Board and SIEMENS Power Academy. This was designed to train some graduate youths in power/energy system. Many of them now work with the Lagos State Electricity Board (LSEB), Oando Gas, Eco Solar, Marine Power, General Electric USA, ALM Consulting etc

 Under the Gbenga Ashafa Trust Endowment (GATE), many small and medium scales business have been encouraged through financial assistance and several scholarships awarded to indigent students from Primary Schools to Higher Institutions across the Senatorial District

 Our farmers were not left behind. During the first edition of our Back-TO-FARM Initiative, many farmers collected farm inputs and implements like Fishing Nets, Bags of Fertilizers, Cassava Stalks, Plantain Sucker, Maize Seeds, Herbicides etc.

Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen, as I mentioned earlier, the increasing numbers of unemployed among our people calls for worry, and as the saying goes: “an idle hand is a devil’s workshop”.  It is our commitment to keep coming up with special intervention programs that would empower the youth of our constituency to become self-reliant and entrepreneurially inclined.

In the same breath, the incident of climate change has caused drastic changes in weather conditions which in turn has made the seasons largely unpredictable. The direct effect of this is the fact that our farmers are on the receiving end when seedlings are planted at the expected planting season but the rains refuse to water the grounds due to the effect of climate change.

We all have a part to play in the reduction of dangerous greenhouse emissions that are caused by release of CO2 into the atmosphere through the uncontrolled burning of coal, usage of kerosene burners and other fossil fuels. It is for this reason that we are sharing amongst others these gas cylinders.
Therefore, we all should inculcate the use of gas which produces pure energy and clean environment, as against kerosene or charcoal that increase global warming and ozone layer depletion which produces intense heat that we all experience today.

I congratulates today’s beneficiaries and I urge you to make the best use of the empowerment tools you are about to collect today.
Once again, congratulations and I wish you all journey mercy back to your various abodes.

SENATOR ‘GBENGA B. ASHAFA.

19 comments:

1. Cooking gas? Really? Kerosene is 100naira per litre.
    How much is gas again? 3kg is about 1500 or there about.
    Let us focus on getting food on people's tables before we think of how to cook it.
    Increase salaries, employ people. So many people do not have anything to eat belente how to cool it.
    FOCUS people.

2. Well, they all have their hazards, be it electric, gas or kerosene stove. The important thing is to be careful. And of course, the need to make available the ones that'll be affordable for the lower class folks.

3. How will the poor masses afford cooking gas? People are struggling to survive now dem wan increase am?

4. It's A good one though.... Oga Gbenga, wat about those that can't afford gas and have to resort to firewood??
    Should they stop cooking?

5. Ana-akogheri! How many Nigerians can afford cooking gas?

6. Really! So who will give them the cooking gas?

7. Is he going to buy the gas 4 the poor masses?
    Mr senator,pls face front.

8. Very good.. Be sure to share gas cookers to every Nigerian household this December.

9. Ok we av heard n still about to see d change bc we haven't seen any.

10. Gas finished. Does anyone here do home delivery?

11. Really? Gas? Cylinder? Will they use their spittle to refill since una wan reduce minimum wage?

Duncish thinking! Mtsheww

12. What about those that cannot afford cooking gas, Should they stop cooking?
    We need a better Nigeria first.

13. Please mr Ashafa can u please give me a gas cooker?i will gladly throw my stove away

14. Sometimes I wonder if our lawmakers have our interest at heart. People that can't afford kerosene should go and buy cylinder n gas abi? God is watching you guys in 3D.

15. Is it that people automatically become fools once they win an election or that only foolish people gun for political office in Nigeria? When people are struggling to even afford Kerosine or charcoal you are asking them to use gas? Na teeth them dey take buy am? You want someone that does not have 3 meals a day to worry about the environment? Why don't you talk to rich people about the cars they drive, using smaller engine capacity cars that are kinder to the environment. Next thing they will start talking about endangered animal species and say people should not kill all those pythons turning up in Lagos because they are endangered. They should allow them wrap themselves around peoples necks or their kids and kill them, rather than kill a python.