Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Teenager Who Fled Home To Be With Boyfriend Sells Baby For 50,000 In Lagos Gov Hospital

Saturday, November 07, 2015

Teenager Who Fled Home To Be With Boyfriend Sells Baby For 50,000 In Lagos Gov Hospital

It may sound like a fairy-tale or moonlight story told in a remote village but the truth is that in this age and time in Nigeria’s Centre of Excellence, Lagos, a registered midwife in the state government-run hospital is at the moment helping the police to unravel why she bought a day-old baby boy for N50,000 from his teenage mother who was delivered of the baby in the health facility.

Initial police investigations revealed that the baby-for-sale-chain extends beyond the popular hospital, Maternal and Child Health Centre (MCC), strategically located at First Gate, along First Avenue, Festac Town, Amuwo Odofin Local Government Area of Lagos.

Saturday Sun exclusively gathered that the 19-year-old mother of the baby, Chinyere Amechi had fled her parents’ house in Lagos for almost one and half years during which she got impregnated by her boyfriend, one Nonso Nnamba and ultimately delivered of the baby, which she eventually offered the nurse at MCC, Mrs Virginia Nwauzor who in turn took him to another woman, a 51-year-old member of the syndicate, Mrs. Rose Ekewe to also trade with.

The deal, however, fell apart like a pack of cards when Chinyere returned to her parents as a prodigal daughter. Obviously glad that they eventually found their daughter that has been missing for months, her parents took her to a private hospital for medical check-up. The medical examination, however, revealed that Chinyere had given birth. 

Armed with the medical report, her parents asked for the whereabouts of the baby but she told them a lie; that the baby had died and buried. Not satisfied with her explana­tion, her parents probed further and under pressure, Chinyere eventually opened up to her parents on how a nurse at MCC gave her N50,000 to get the baby from her. She also alleged that she gave the money to her boyfriend and father of her baby who used it to rent a room apartment at Orile area of the state. With that, the matter was reported to the Satellite police station which had so far invited and quizzed the medical director of the hospital, while the trio of Mrs Nwauzor, Mrs Ekewe and Nonso were arrested and still being detained as the investigation goes on with the baby still missing.

Chinyere’s confession also led to the arrest of three other staffers of the hospital. They include the gynaecologist who took delivery of the baby, the matron in-charge of the nurses and another lady in the administrative section.

Realising that their game was up, Mrs. Nwauzor told the police that she assisted Chinyere to get admitted in the hospital when she learnt of the pathetic situation that she was in. She claimed that Chinyere told her that she was a destitute and needed a home to keep the child once he was born.

Upon delivery, Mrs. Nwauzor took Chinyere and the new born child to the house of her friend, Mrs. Ekewe who was living alone in Satellite town. She claimed that it was Mrs. Ekewe who gave N50,000 to the Chinyere to assist her since she was a destitute. The amount, she said, was meant to help her get an accommodation and start up a little business.

When the police asked Mrs. Ekewe the whereabouts of the baby that was left in her care, she confessed that she handed the baby over to a childless couple since she could not afford to take care of the child. She promised to help the police trace the couple whom she sold the baby to.

However, a senior police officer on the case who spoke with Saturday Sun, explained that the police are currently searching for the family who bought the baby from Mrs. Ekekwe.

WTF....the Chinenye should also be detained because she also committed a crime by selling her baby...ah ah!

51 comments:

1. Poverty illetracy and greed

2. But this women involved in this are shameless and a disgrace to the society. Wetin God go judge eh......hmmmm. They must have really brainwashed that girl. Now she will grow up so fast, regret her actions and if she still has small sense, tie her legs and pretend to be a mermaid.

3. Igbo ppl and money.. only an igbo man wld sell his child/mother for money..shameless dirty tribe

4. Blessed Naija Chic7 November 2015 at 17:05

Anonymous 15:44 you are Yoruba right? I am Igbo and I thank God I have met Yoruba people that do not have your mindset, if not I would have given you a piece of my mind. However I say it is well with you and I pray that the heart of hatred you have for Igbo will be reversed in Jesus name. AMEN! May Ezekiel 36:26 be your portion. Ise!

2. I saw this story in Saturday sun or so.
    Oh well too bad what our generation has turned into.
    Sex is all most youths think of never the consequences.

1. Yes yes! And worst for her is, she's fleeing home to have sex with a destitute boyfriend. What a shame.

Guys please don't forget to vote Stella Dimoko Korkus as the BLOGGER OF THE YEAR for the 2015 edition of Nigerian Writers/Bloggers awards.

To vote, send Stella Dimoko Korkus as an email with the title BLOGGER OF THE YEAR (which is her category) to nominate@nigerianwritersawards.com

Please hasten up as voting ends on the 14th of November 2015.

Also remember to click on the reply link to verify that you are human for your nomination to pull through.

Lets do it the SDK way!

Gracias!

2. Nahh.. linda ikeji wld probably get it

3. My God. Why she no give me. I loves kids like madness.

4. All I saw was chinyere, nonso, etc! These people will never learn.
    How anyone can say we are one with them still dey baffle me.
    Abegi biafra come carry them go them dirty village. Tufiakwa

1. You are a big fool. Anuofia ana azuhu azu. Efi nwuru anwu. Oluku. I don't blame you, you managed to get a cheap phone and 200 naira data to show how hateful you are. Coward.

5. Stella na Chinyere oo. Lol

6. Sexxxxxxxxxxxxxx ehhhhhhhhhhhh why can't teenagers learn to close n focus up building dia minds and heads.

7. Replies
    1. Stupid bigot, end time is all u can say if it was a Yoruba person that was involved in the atrocity reported above, u will have been running your mouth like a tap abusing the language people alongside fellow bigots like you.You are such a two faced evil person.

2. Money make is nothing but a foolhardy. Each time I get to read his comment I always wonder if it pus or embalming fluid he has in his skull. Agbaya

8. Finally,i know the couple that got this baby will give him a good life...but why will this girl have the mind to sell off her child?

I know how these teenagers scout hospitals looking for who will take their babies. Some don't even want money,they just wanna dump the baby with someone and run!

Government should have appropriate offices where genuine cases will be looked into promptly....Make adoption processes easier,safe,confidential and affordable!

1. Its also possible chinyere's parents will give him a better life too. The child is their grandchild, wanted or not.

9. SDK, I'm disappointed that someone of your calibre and exposure will be asking for 5he vulnerable 19yr old girl to be arrested. Smh.

1. What's this fool saying,a 19years old that is old enough to have sex and carry a full term pregnancy and give birth to the baby,should be old enough to know what's right and wrong and old enough to face the consequences of her actions, so yes she should be arrested.

2. Vulnerable ke, biko go and sit. If she can do the crime, she can also do the time. Was she vulnerable when she was dancing kerewa? She is an adult and so should know her left from her right.

3. Bottom line is.........she wouldn't be arrested, so go and die.

4. As iphie dearie had stated earlier,d ppl who may have dis baby may gv d baby a life wch he might hav neva enjoyed. The main thing here is govt shld provide easier access to adoption centers make it easier to adopt and drop ur children off for adoption.

10. Wtt, tell her to go to school she no go hear now see wat prick has done to her lIfe.

11. The world e aff endED ooooooooooooooo!
    Sell all your shares
    Spend all your money
    Pack up your things
    We are going home

12. Imagine!
    Wetin fuck don cause 4 this life eeeh!

13. Babies are now sold like commodities... Lord have mercy!

14. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Atlist this one didnt ditch her kids like others though....

15. Amazing cakes Awka7 November 2015 at 13:42

Just negodu.

16. Amazing cakes Awka7 November 2015 at 13:44

And some people don stay for 20 years no child, dis girl go sell her own. Na waa ooo

17. What sex will cause in this generation sha. 50k that some pple use for grocery shopping. *sigh*

18. Oh God! Bc of 50k? Can u imagine what prize ppl now place human life.

19. 19yrs old is an adult! So pls don't call her vulnerable! She should have taken the baby to her parents! If she wasn't capable of takng care of d child, afterall from all indications it shows her parents re okay to cater for d child

20. Hmmmm lord have mercy!

21. How a mother can give out her baby without baiting an eyelid still baffles me,no amount of money can ever make me give my child away,God forbid.

22. So d 50k don solve their financial problem abi?Useless girl when them see man their body go dey shake anyhow

23. Why can't the government just do things right by providing a place to adopt babies without stress and affordable

24. She is 19 and not a baby. She willingly sold the child. Though not legal, but she did. The parents have no right arresting all those people

25. hmmmm, na wa ooh, may God have mercy on the so called chinyere, is understandable that the challenges of caring for a baby is much but i can't imagine one disposing her baby after delivery. what happens to the love/bonding between mother and child? abi she don forget the pains so soon?

26. i gave 200k in 2005 for my son; he is im boarding school for very smart boys: 9

27. Na waooo!MCC kwa?Nsogbu dikwo!!!