Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ambode Shuts Down Oshodi Market Over Insecurity

Wednesday, January 06, 2016

Ambode Shuts Down Oshodi Market Over Insecurity

Lagos State Government yesterday shut Owonifari market within the notorious loop of Oshodi, Oshodi/Isolo Local Government, aimed at addressing the security challenges. 

It will be recalled that the State Government often arrest hoodlums in Oshodi to stern the activities of petty thieves who often deprive commuters of their property.

Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Steve Ayorinde, who disclosed this, lamented that the market has constituted a menace and an eyesore within the locality.

Ayorinde noted that they have relocated affected traders and shop owners to the newly built Isopakodowo market stalls at Bolade area in Oshodi.The government has also commenced the fencing-off of the set-back on Agege Motor Road that stretches from Ilupeju end of Oshodi all the way to the PWD/Ikeja GRA end of the area.
According to the statement, the Owonifari loop will be transformed into an ultra modern bus terminus with new bus shelters that are befitting of a structured park in a mega city.

It added that the fencing-off of the long stretch of the set-back is being undertaken to assist the Federal Government and the Nigerian Railway Corporation in particular with a view to beautifying it and safeguard lives along the railway corridor by discouraging street trading and indiscriminate use of the space.

He stated further that Lagosians should expect from this transformation exercise, a new Oshodi that will be sane and safe and where both traders and commuters would be pleased to visit and trade.

vanguard.ng

If you ask me ,Oshodi is so jinxed that i think that they should even rename it and remove all traces of area-boyism from there.

38 comments:

1. So what happens to traders that survives there daily?

1. Stella, That same oshodi has birthed many area boys millionaires. Eheh

1. Where u go since? U left ur "end time" ministry for that copycat...natt Nathaniel

3. If it's going to make the area safer, then it's okay.

4. Hmmmm..that area is one place I dread

5. all those living around that area, how una dey manage??

6. Osho Di it means sturbbon/wicked demon!
    Wat du u expect!
    Dat place is anoda country

7. LASG is gradually chasing area boys to other parts of Lagos. I guess it will beautiful afterwards.

8. It will be beautiful afterwards

9. Should I say good or bad news

10. I support your idea stella

11. End time ijaya shutdown / security serubawon

12. When I passed thru oshodi this morning I was surprised to see the shops demolished already, many things will be lost and na Igbo people full that side I really pity them cos it's not easy starting again especially for those who travelled home and has no opportunity of removing dir goods.

1. Pls stop causing trouble with your statements. Didn't you read that traders had been earlier relocated?

13. Fingers crossed.. Hoping for the best. Mr Ambode

14. Now this is music to my ears...Ambode is working.

15. Lagos govt has built plaza inside the mkt for people for buy comfortably

16. If only lasg can rid Oshodi of touts n agberos

17. Stella the market has been demolished to ground level this morning! You need to see full grown men crying uncontrollably because the fully-armed-to-the-teeth policemen that surrounded the market while the demolition was going on, did not allow the traders to retrieve their goods and wares! Ambode and company has ran to the press (as you are incompletely reporting here) to claim that they have built and relocated the traders to a better place! Nothing can be further from the truth! Granted that they built new shops, but they have sold it to their clique who are renting and/or re-selling them at exorbitant prices beyond the reach of these traders! This market is dominated by Igbo traders by about 95%! Ambode has shown once again that he is a hater of the Igbos! He and his tribesmen derives joy in frustrating the Igbos! They are yet to learn that the Igbos are like the cedar of Lebanon! The more you cut it, the more it flourish and blossom! It is evergreen and resilient whether in drought, winter, dry Season or rainy season! If they have good motive, why didn't they demolish the shops between September and December last year when most of the traders would be around?! Why did they choose to do it when most of the traders are yet to return from their Xmas and New Year travel? Why is it January when people are starting a new year? It's better imagined, the untold hardship and misery which Ambode and Co. has brought to these traders and their household! Ambode should know that there is repercussion for every evil deed!!!

1. Even if u have valid points, ur underlying statements can arouse unnecessary controversy.

If a certain tribe begins to think that they are the "cedar of Lebanon" as u put it, it makes me wonder on whose account they flourish. What I'm saying is that no one or tribe is indispensable. Who are the people patronizing the Igbos and making a success of their trade? Are I suggesting that they are a community of their own, patronize themselves, without other tribes contributing to their successful trade??

No one is conniving to inconvenience the igbo traders. If they did, they'd also suffer because they buy from them too. So it's best that u look at this from a non tribalistic point of argument, and see what the government is trying to achieve in sanitizing Oshodi and it's environs.
      Fashola started it and this was how people criticized him at first, then later everyone started to applaud him when sanity resumed that axis.

Oshodi is not exclusive to the Igbos, so please don't instigate any propaganda by highlighting a certain tribe amongst the rest. Let us join our hands to support the government because in the end we would all enjoy the peace and sanity together.

18. Goaldyn Boy why are you so bitter. According to igbo people Nigeria is a zoo so why do you want to remain in the zoo. This is another opportunity for igbo people to move to biafra.
    Go and build your empires in your biafra and not in yoruba mans land.
    Why are igbo people afraid to build their shops in their land and make their billions there. Is it by force to live in yoruba mans land? Go to your biafra and ask your governors to build shops for you there.

I really dont see what your rant is about.

19. Goaldyn Boy, Its not possible for the government not to have given them prior notice. I am not saying it was nice they were not allowed to take their goods though.

It is well oooo.

20. goalden boy or whatever u call yourself, so because they are ibos lagos should not move forward in the area of security and beautification?
    This repugnant attitude of ibos should stop, you are subject to laws of wherever you find yourself, you either comply or go back to where you came from. Lagos is not a lawless society and we really being here means you are subject to our laws. Lawlessness should end in your place not another mans Land
    when Peter obi sanitised Onitsha you didn't accuse him of being anti ibo, but now Ambode is doing same you are quick to label him a tribalist. Why do u always have a persecution complex that tends to make you repugnant to your hosts everywhere?
    SMH