Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fashola Unfolds 13-point Agenda To Revive Power Sector

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Fashola Unfolds 13-point Agenda To Revive Power Sector

The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola, on Monday unfolded a 13-point agenda to drive efforts towards enhancing power supply in the country.

Fashola said in Abuja during his maiden meeting with power generation, distribution and transmission companies, and other stakeholders that the agenda was drawn up to ensure effective monitoring of the sector.

The minister said the agenda involves continuous public engagement on tariff collection, debts, power generation, maintenance, ancillary services, dispatch orders and discipline.
Others areas include gas requirement and constraints, transmission constraints, 33KV load offtake, imbalances-locations of excess, overload safety, service quality, new captive and embedded generation, franchising and other issues relevant to the growth of the sector.

According to Fashola, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved that all stakeholders in the sector should hold monthly meetings on issues concerning the industry.

He said that the meeting would be rotated among the various GENCOs, DISCOs, TCN and other stakeholders across the country.
Fashola said that all decisions reached in such meetings would be binding on all the stakeholders.

In this respect, the minister stated that the various companies and stakeholders would each be represented by a management member with authority to take decision on behalf of their companies.
He explained that in order to minimise the cost of hosting the meetings, the companies were advised to jointly pull up resources required to hold the meetings.
The minister further said the meetings would also involve lawyers, engineers, planners and other stakeholders, adding that the ministry would issue a communiqué at the end of each meeting on steps taken to address challenges in the sector.

culled:vanguard

23 comments:

1. Story story. The Problem of power supply in Nigeria is spiritual. It is almost impossible to overcome.

2. Bimfem hair care products for edges and healthy hair. whatsapp (07032378915)12 January 2016 at 06:13

I trust you BRF. The only minister I trust 98%

3. I am looking forward to Fashola's good works already.

Good news!
    People can now pay in Foreign Currency into their domiciliary accounts!

It only gets better.

1. I trust Fashola with everything. In fact I know Nigeria will be better for this. One of the best decision was his appointment to this sector. Lagosians testify. Eheh

4. Great move. Though we have steady light in this State. But the bill no be small.Upon say we no get meter. People In authority should do something about it.

5. go uncle fash!
    Ibo, Zulu and Masai dancing gazonky on stage... http://y2u.be/vvky0YNaXlo

6. Nice one fash..I hv faith in u..

7. The power sector is a total Failure. all they do is distribute massive bills for little or no energy consumed

8. Fashola abeg do something! We never have light where I live

9. Anuty stelladimoko good and good morning to all bvs.. I think change is just around d corner.

10. If fashola cannot solve dis power issue in nigeria, then i give up

11. baba fash carry go joooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

12. Oga fashola u ar d only person dat can do it better,respect sir

13. End time epileptic power supply.

14. Monthly meetings and Agendas for power.Hope it meet ends mean.

*Sassy Fire...asawo kobokobo*

*The sin and Dog of this blig....Special Assistant to Satan on misleading people on moral issues*

15. Fash baba carry on I believe u will deliver

16. Well,the power sector looks to sensitive and major already;i won't buy any lip-service till I can see some improvement ;a step in d right direction sha