Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omolara Adebisi Says Lekki Toll Gate Nearly Killed Her....

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Omolara Adebisi Says Lekki Toll Gate Nearly Killed Her....

''Hello Aunty,

I am sending this on behalf of a friend. Her name is Omolara Adebisi and she nearly got killed by Lekki Toll Gate. This was caused by their nonchalant attitude of the LCC and now they have refused to claim responsibility and are trying to blame her. Please help her by sharing her story so others will be aware and maybe something will be done about it. Here is her account of the incident. 

''My name is Omolara Adebis. I was driving through the e tag express lane on the 19th of Jan 2016 with three other people in the car on my way from the office to pick my son from school. 

I had a balance not lower than twelve thousand naira on the toll account. The car's e-tag was scanned and the barrier remained open as usual for me to pass when the thing suddenly dropped on my windscreen as i passed through and the whole screen cracked almost crashing on my face. I parked and they lead me to their office where they apologized and asked me to fill a form which I did. They were very apologetic and i just gave them my details without causing a scene. I waited for them to contact me and to my surprise they are singing another story.

Now the claim is that the toll did not open for me it opened but for the car before me. A toll that closed when the car before me passed and opened again for me to pass? I expected them to show me the footage of the accident that day but they didn't. Now they say they have looked at the footage and i am at fault. I suspect they have manipulated the video. 

Aunty my point here is that there was a  toll malfunction that endangered the lives of all of us in the car and the LCC is refusing to take responsibility

and trying to put the blame on a paying customer. I have attached the picture of the car and the form i filled. 

My car is a BMW X3.

Please help me broadcast so i can at least get justice. It is very unfair to blame me for their mistake!''

Has this happened to anyone reading this before?

37 comments:

1. Na wah oh! Madam thank God you safe

1. It has happened to me before also but what I can't understand is the fact that the barrier is heavily covered with foam so how did it break her windshield please? Plus where are the pictures of the cracked windshield? In other pictures you can see a lady showing the peace sign meaning it wasn't that serious. Maybe she's blowing things out of proportion, no?
      LCC needs to look into it though

2. Thank God for her life.
      I hope they have rectified the problem with the gate.

3. Thank God you and others are fine.

LCC people are thieves. Tell them you must see the footage, if they refuse, tell your lawyer to write them.

My experience with them plenty but I've not had this type or know anyone that has.

4. All u need is a video of the scene, can't be manippulated

5. @Stella if said that some of the people who comment on your blog are practically brain dead as in even stupidity will deny them.

Manon where are you seeing peace sign. Someone used 2 fingers to hold up a form for viewing so that her full hand doesn't block the form and you call it peace sign? Grand idiot.

6. Lol! Mzanon, no be peace sign o, na 2 fingers holding down the paper so wind no go blow am! Shit, u for real, peace sign!? & look closer please, u'll see the cracks! It happened to you my foot, pants on fire!

7. Anonymous, Mzanon is right. There are two ladies in the car.. the one in front has a peace sign and made it look like a joke. Not to remove the seriousness of the matter, but they should have been more serious themselves.

Notwithstanding, the toll gate management should be responsible for this. Get yourself a good lawyer and you'll be smiling to the bank. I see the crack on the shield. Package your document and proceed to the court. But I assure u that after the social media publicity they'll do the needful. It shouldn't cost much to get your car repaired, considering the amount of monies they make per hour in that place.

8. olodo, there is someone in the car with the peace sign.. You are tge grandest idoit.

9. I swear. I tot she had another pic i wasn't seeing. Which one b peace sign .

10. You want her to sit on the ground with hands on her head before you know she's serious? Too much yeye experience with LCC; money in ur acct but barrier refused to open nko!!

11. Mzanon I think u need an eye treat. U mean u can't see the cracked windscreen in the first pic??? Oya go to Lasuth asap!!!

2. She must get justice! Careless peeps. Your President Bohari is to visit Kenya! Nice one.

Lucinda

1. Lucinda i bet my big booty you dont even know what part of Africa kenya is,Nigeria is a lawless country where everything is being manipulated,if is here you will just sue their ass ,Nigeria is country governed by few cabans,i swear if i ever become president of Nigeria ,i will build a personal prison for past and present even cockraoch that ever served in past government from when i was born

3. Well,I think you need to sue them..the video cannot be manipulated abd beside,its not ur fault cuz that barrierwill never move up for you to drive in without ur car been scanned..so don't be hoodwinked to believe u r at fault dear..do something fast..

Delay defeat equity..don't delay ur actions

4. Thank God u and ur frnds re ok.

1. Real end time toll gate. Most authorities here don't just like talking responsibilities for their mistakes. Mtcheww

6. Dont think you may be at fault. That barrier would not have opened if that light had not turned green for you to pass. And it does change so long as it has cleared you for passage too. Carry your lawyer and go and meet them oh. For them to apologise to you then shows that it must have happened to someone else, maybe chances are like 1 out of 100 cars or more. Fight for your righr. I cant say for the manipulation of the video sha. Sorry

7. Yes this has happened to me too but mine was the lekki- ajah toll gate. Thank God it did not crash my windscreen. They were apologeticas usual. Mine happened in 2013. They are just messed up. It happens every once in a while. I feel very sorry for the lady

8. Wow,we are refusing to take these thing for granted anymore. Good,good.

People might say,what is the big deal..no life was lost but if we keep quiet,we might never correct the anomalies.

9. So with a d money dey are making!

10. You need to sue them, just gather your evidence together.

11. i'm laughing in swahili,i told my friend that i'm sure that barrier will be made of iron or any metallic object.I live abroad and so many times i hit the barrier it can only swing and not even a scratch on my windscreen.Everything will be different in Nigeria

12. I'm also a victim of this scam, here is the stupid letter they sent me.

We refer to our Customer Complaints Form which you completed on December 17th 2015, in relation to an incident which occurred on December 17th 2015 while you drove your vehicle, with registration number ......., through the Admiralty Cicle Toll Plaza. You have complained of damage to your vehicle by the boom-barrier at the Toll Plaza after, by your account, you had waited for passage of your vehicle to be processed in the Express lane.

Lekki Concession Company Limited ("LCC") sincerely empathizes with you over the reported damage to your vehicle, and for any unpleasant experience/ inconvenience arising therefrom, as it is our aim to ensure that all our Customers have a smooth ride while making use of any of our Toll Plazas along the Eti-Osa Lekki-Epe Toll Road.

In addressing the reported case of damage to your vehicle, one of the key points we have considered is to evaluate your passage vis a vis the proper procedure for making use of the Express Lane as contained in the “Express Lane Tutorial Guide” given to you at the time of registering for your eTag.

In reiterating the content of the said User guide, the procedure for using the Express lanes requires you to maintain a safe distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you, and to also observe the traffic lights specifically situated in the lanes. The boom-barrier is opened only after an eTag has been successfully read on approach to the lane (traffic lights turn green) otherwise, the signs direct unsuccessfully read eTag to use the mixed-use lanes (traffic lights remain amber). The boom-barrier (which works in sync with the Traffic Light) will automatically come down, immediately after the passage of the preceding vehicle properly cleared for passage, thus colliding with a vehicle attempting to proceed through the lane, even though passage had not been granted to it. This is also why it is of utmost importance to maintain a speed limit of no more than 40km/hour in the Express Lane, as we have indicated at the lane entrance.

From the investigation carried out, all indications point to the fact that your vehicle's passage through the e-Tag-dedicated lane was against the pre-programmed sequence of the boom-barrier, as described above.

In the circumstances, LCC regrets to advise that it is unable to address your claim for repair/costs of repairing your vehicle . In view of the foregoing, we wish to encourage you to kindly pay more attention to the Traffic Lights and the other directional signage in all the lanes at the Toll Plazas, including the Express Lanes. Attached are some valuable tips on how to use the Express lane.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

1. This is how they continue to escape justice and place the blame on customers, raging theives.

Madam fight for your rights, enough of the horrible corruption. Take them to court. If one of you had died, they would have neatly placed the blame on you.

2. I assure you that this is a template that they send to any customer with relative queries. They didn't carry out any independent investigation on your specific situation.. all they do is edit the car registration where necessary and send u the mail. Very complacent and inefficient.
      Ask for a CCTV footage to carry out an independent assessment. Then you'll hear plenty grammar. Lol.

13. I understand this woman perfectly. two cars cannot pass through the barrier at once. It must be raised before you can even think of passing, there must have been a malfunction. They might deny such allegations, to avoid public indictments. All the best as you follow the case. #LCC,we are watching

14. If you know you are right, Sue them to court.

They will be forced to produce the video.

15. Thank God for you. Hope you sue them.

Na every story somebody brings, you too much share your own. Everything happen for your side. Am sure you dont have bicycle. when people talk, you too join talk.

1. She's privilege to live in lekki and she has met people. Jealous idiot. As you no dey fear why you no mention name.

Live in your dungeon and poverty will kill you for life. Even if she no get car she dey use the toll gate. You no even know where the toll dey sef, na that one she take pass you.

Na that your useless push and start you dey call car? Better start entering Keke and stop causing traffic on the already busy abule egba abi na iyana ipaja road wey you dey stay. Useless woman.

16. U need to be slow at the toll, only one vehicle pass st a time. Many want to rush and follow the car in the front

17. Poster, u seem to have distorted the truth. LCC has, if not the best customer service in the service industry. I have people that this happened to as i also live in the axis. I have the eTag too, so i know what i am saying. You cannot totally erase the fact that system malfunctions and this is not peculiar to LCC.If you don't accept their conclusion, you will be invited to watch the video and see things for yourself. Stop looking for unnecessary attention. We hope when you eventually see the cctv, you will come back to retract your story and apologise. The company has its shortcoming no doubt but their customer service is superb. If it's their fault, they will take responsibility.

For the Sympathetic Undertakers (respect to Biyi-Bandele Thomas)abi bvs, who are fond of PLUNGING into conclusion, what happens when she discovers that she was actually at fault. You will change your songs. That's how you agree with everything Stella says be it chronicle, "what are you having for breakfast"...please have a mind of your own and not judge a one sided story.

1. You work with LCC obviously. What u have said makes no sense. Rubbish!