Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: University Of Port Harcourt Ranked As 6th Best University In Africa

Monday, January 04, 2016

University Of Port Harcourt Ranked As 6th Best University In Africa

According to the latest ranking of the World Economic Forum,WEF, the University of Port Harcourt,UNIPORT, is the sixth best university in Africa.

The federal government-owned institution trailed four South African and one Ugandan university in the list of top 30 schools.
Noting that the ranking is “essentially based on the amount of citations there are for the university’s work”, WEF quoted Times Higher,Education "THE" noting that the universities are “derived from the methodology for the current world
university ranking.

culled:dailypost.

How can Uniport be the sixth best?What of UNIBEN?

68 comments:

1. Unique Uniport

2. The truth is that Uniport has since upgraded. The tech Former VC (AJIENKA) did so much work interms of Information Technology. Prof Nimi Briggs also did so many upgrades as well.
      Uniport was the first uni in Nigeria to start Online exams (with minimal supervision and once the time is up your result comes up on your screen immediately).
      The numerous oil companies also saw some projects done in the school. Plus any bank that must operate inside uniport must undertake a project( esp hostels etc)

3. Yayyyy
      My almamata
      Unique uniport

2. And where's the full list of the 30s? Who knows, we might probably have more that one Nigeria varsity on it. Schools like UI, OAU Uniben and few others have been recognized internationally in the past. Why not now?!

#January 5th is almost here.
    Birthday boy mode activating...

3. This is a very big lie,Uni port?

4. Stella thank you oo, or. UI or OAU, when it is not 1st in Nigeria?

5. Stella it's not a must your Alma mater is recognised na.... Them no win am so rest abeg

6. UNIBEN was rubbed like Headies did to lil' Kesh.
    What a fake analysis. #rubbish!

-Stella DimokoKorkus'Blog, my Tv-

1. your English is the reason why

2. your English is the reason why

7. Exactly the question in my mind. UNIBEN nko? Lol am biased sha. Uniben ko uniben ni

8. Unique uniport

9. Ewoooo, and we are here in Unilag doing. "University of first choice and Nation's pride" lol. Oga Rahmon must hear this.

10. Yeahhhhhh..proud alumni

11. Uniben and Uniport no suppose dey top ten for Nigeria mbok

12. That's good at least Nigeria is rated for something good.

Stella shun uniben oh

13. Simple! Uniben is the six worst

14. Replies
    1. Greatest osuite! Ago/oru/I-igbo...where u live for skool?

2. Jayem dat one nor be school nah.... lolz

3. @Anon...Ago, Mini campus.

@Okija wife...please don't disgrace us OOUites. Hahahaha

15. 6th indeed. Rotflmao

16. UNIBEN fire???? Dat school can block for Africa.
    8th comment 2016

17. If u no attend uniport, na lesson you go!

18. Yesssss uniqueee uniport, my great school

19. Stella, you wanna cry because your greatest uniben isn't on the list..
    You're talking uniben. What about University of ibadan?

20. my school will forever remain the best!!!

OAU

21. my school will forever remain the best!!!

OAU

22. Say what? With Graduates like Oga J and Mama P? Where does Universites of Ife, Lagos, Benin, Ibadan, Nsukka and Jos fall in.?

23. Lol,Stella y u dey beef my skul na!

24. Unique uniport..

Good school with great lecturers but no classrooms.
    So slow wt the academic calendar but thank God for the new VC. That man is sent from God..he has pushed us forward in less than a year.

Hostels...neat but very expensive and not enough for just jambites talk less of the whole school.

School fees...OUTRAGEOUS!
    Student govt. Slowly waking up
    Electricity on campus has been good

What else.......

1. Unique uniport....warzone I tell u..if u make it in uniport,u can make it any where

25. Yaaaaayyy, my school.but wait, which work?Oh, I understand, Unistress,and their hardwork. They deserve it tho.

26. Story, U.I beats Uniport hands down

27. Uniport bawo? For where University of Lagos, Akoka dey. Mtschewwwwwwwww!

28. Yaaaaaayyyyyyyyy, we rock jare!!!

1. Unique Uniport!
      If u no attend Uniport na lesson u go.

29. Na real hmmm..uni of self reliance. Unique!!!!

30. THE ANALYSES WAS NOT DONE BY NIGERIANS ......SO NO POLITICAL NOR ETHNIC YAHOO-YAHOO...SUCH AS SOME GAME PLAN WHERE A PARTICULAR UNIVERSITY IS MAKING OVER 50 FIRST CLASS IN ONE YEAR!

31. Unique uniport that can stress students, but it all good sha

32. Best in what way? With no facilities and a run down unkempt environment?

33. And WES would not evaluate results from uniport

34. Hmm.. Yet our own vc is applying law of diminishing returns on the sch yearly.. Issorai!

35. What about our Unical? Great Malabites n Malabresses!

36. People are just busy commiting fallacy of "ignorantio elenchi"(missing the point).Who among all of us is aware of the total number of citations and research paper realized monthly 4rm the so called ui,oau,unilag or uni whatever? The criteria 4 the ranking is clearly stated "NUMBER OF CITATIONS FROM THE UNIVERSITIES WORK AS WELL AS RESEARCH PAPERS". UNILAG,UI AND OAU are gr8 schools bt that doesn't imply that they are more than other unis in all respect. Who is even talking of facilities and unkempt environment? Your statement is just an archetype of what the nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie describes as the "danger of a single story". You think is all abt big buildings,big names and graduating 125 first class in a set? we are talking of the quality of human resources...I mean sound professors who are ready to go into research and not those who depend on "already made food".pls let's argue like educated people and stop arguing baselessly.